List Mgmt. Draft Watch 2015

If Francis goes before our first pick I'm keen on Harry McKay and Balic.

McKay looks bloody amazing to me.

If Francis is still there we have to take him; a mid and tall forward are ideal though.
Harry MCKay was talked up as a selection by a few on the first page of this thread before a national champs game had even been played

I wasn't talking about who the press linked to us, I was talking about who this forum decides we need to pick and are going to pick - usually takes a few pages, but eventually a consensus forms on someone - to the point of obsession, and I don't recall it being correct outside of the telegraphed M. Crouch pick in recent times.

The press with inside knowledge may have been linking us to Lever, but this forum was set on someone else.

I remember Vic Crow getting us all very wound up about Sidebottom in his year... Then he kicked 10 in the TAC Cup GF and became a massive bolder and unlikely to last to us... Then he did last to us... Then we picked Phil Davis and Collingwood took Steele with the very next pick.

You are forgetting Brodie Smith. Re Lever he was the popular pick but some wanted Cockatoo. Lever was the clear favourite though. Phil Davis had been touted for weeks as well.

No, I'm referring to this annual situation:

I remember Vic Crow getting us all very wound up about Sidebottom in his year... Then he kicked 10 in the TAC Cup GF and became a massive bolder and unlikely to last to us... Then he did last to us... Then we picked Phil Davis and Collingwood took Steele with the very next pick.

Not who the press touts, not a retrospective approval, but the player most people decide they're certain we're going to get, and then never do.

The way this thread is going, Francis is either going to Essendon with pick 5, or he's going to be available and we'll pass on him, and Carlton will take him 2 picks later.

Sorry to intrude. If you formed that view of Oliver you probably didn't see him live. He's very damaging. He bursts from packs and uses it well. He can drift forward and take a mark. He's a ripper. If he's there at 9 and you pick him, be delighted.
He bursts from packs against kids half his size. Uses it ok. We have this sort of player. We don't need more.

Thanks for all the players by the way. Hope Trigg isn't doing too much damage. He's bad like that.

Sellar was wished for, but unlikely - then slid.

Pfeiffer was tipped.

Previously we were strongly linked to Cam Wood, but Meesen slid.
Sellar's a good reminder that whoever you think is guaranteed to be a star, isn't. All these guys look like being great players but the facts are that most of them won't.

You are forgetting Brodie Smith. Re Lever he was the popular pick but some wanted Cockatoo. Lever was the clear favourite though. Phil Davis had been touted for weeks as well.
Nearly everybody was posting for Cockatoo last draft. Lever was mentioned but it was all about the risk. I wanted Duggan or Marchbank. Some two metre Peter fans as well as Lachie Weller. Plus the downgrade pick swap occurred so there was lots of changing and rearrangement.Lots of names :drunk:

Sellar's a good reminder that whoever you think is guaranteed to be a star, isn't. All these guys look like being great players but the facts are that most of them won't.
I think recruiting departments are much more sophisticated than they were 10 years ago. I'd expect four of the top five, seven to eight of the top 10 and two to three of the 10-15 of the (actual) draft to be A graders and best 22 players.

They may be but they still miss a lot. Of the Top 20 of 2012, more than half have either been traded or not part of the regular side (funnily 5-10 is way more impressive than 1-4).

Nearly everybody was posting for Cockatoo last draft. Lever was mentioned but it was all about the risk. I wanted Duggan or Marchbank. Some two metre Peter fans as well as Lachie Weller. Plus the downgrade pick swap occurred so there was lots of changing and rearrangement.Lots of names :drunk:

No, Lever was the clear favorite on the board. Some like Cockatoo, but far fewer than Lever.

The way this thread is going, Francis is either going to Essendon with pick 5, or he's going to be available and we'll pass on him, and Carlton will take him 2 picks later.
Can't see many people who think we will pass on him?

I really like the sound of Burton but the injury is a major concern.

A genuine kpp or genuine midfielder. No in betweeners and at least one of out top 2 an SA lad.

Lever was pretty well rumoured. It was a bit all over the shop last year, some had us with Laverde, some with with Marchbank, some with Cockatoo. Lever was the strongest rumour.
Davis was strongly rumoured. He firmed as the draft got closer. The original idea was Johnston, until the rumour started circling that we'd hidden Davis away.
Smith was linked to us, but it was a case of whether he would last to our pick. I think I remember Atley being one linked to us too?
Talia was to be gone by our pick. Jasper and Tapscott were the ones most linked to us, from memory. Talia was a major slider on draft day, that still makes no sense to me.
07 was definitely Ebert, or maybe Veszpremi. Dangerfield was a left field one.
Any further back, I didn't really take any interest, so no idea on Sellar/Douglas/Pfeiffer or previous.

We didn't hide Davis away. He did a shoulder playing school footy at the start of Yr 12 and didn't play again that year.

I really like the sound of Burton but the injury is a major concern.

A genuine kpp or genuine midfielder. No in betweeners and at least one of out top 2 an SA lad.

Your two statements don't make sense. One of the concerns with Burton, other than his leg, is that he is an inbetweener (although a highly talented one). He is a mid sized forward who isn't KP and is yet to prove he can play midfield.

Burton said in his interview on afl.com.au that he has not cartilage in his knee, sometimes scar tissue can grow so it replaces the cartilage, but if it doesn't his knee will be bone on bone for the rest of his life. If it's bone on bone he will be like Cooney and not able to train during the week due to swelling after the weekends game. Drafting him will rely on whether they can detect if the scar tissue has developed.

The article said that we didn't talk to him at the combine, that we would catch up with him back in SA, this is probably because we will see if he lets us do a full scan on his knee.

I never understood this expression.
Players who are able to do that would be 30 metres tall.

Amen. This expression shits me like no other.
Should be that a player has the ability to time his marks to catch the ball at the highest point of his leap.

I disagree, I reckon the slight majority were hoping for Lever.

I went and had a look at the competition thread last season for pick 14. Lever had the most selections at 20. So I stand corrected.:oops: There were also selections in the teens for Cockatoo and Wright. Noting that people changed their selections towards draft day notably as CC was posting some info just prior.:rainbow: So Kristof :$

What is this resistance to the in-betweener height?

Like having a Hird, Fyfe or Cripps is a terrible thing.
Yeah I think now more than ever it's a non issue. Players with versatility who move well, can mark well overhead and kick well are great.

I'd love to have 3 of them. One in each third of the ground.
Burton up forward
Francis half back
?? in the middle

To top it off, if they could all play 2-3 sections of the ground, that would be awesome.

What is this resistance to the in-betweener height?

Like having a Hird, Fyfe or Cripps is a terrible thing.
It's not the height that is the drawback, it's the lack of a clearly defined position to play. A key forward who isn't tall enough to play key forward. A ruckman who isn't tall enough to ruck. And that player hasn't proven able to play a different role, so we aren't sure where they fit in.
McKernan and Sellar were tweeners. Talented, but they didn't fit at AFL level where they played their best footy pre-draft.
A tall midfielder is fine. A failed key forward that might be able to play midfield isn't. That's the resistance.

It's not the height that is the drawback, it's the lack of a clearly defined position to play. A key forward who isn't tall enough to play key forward. A ruckman who isn't tall enough to ruck. And that player hasn't proven able to play a different role, so we aren't sure where they fit in.
McKernan and Sellar were tweeners. Talented, but they didn't fit at AFL level where they played their best footy pre-draft.
A tall midfielder is fine. A failed key forward that might be able to play midfield isn't. That's the resistance.
Well Burton is the same height as Tex, maybe a little more built than Tex was when drafted. He also played all his junior footy as a midfielder.