- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
As we know the top 5 doesnt become the top 5 so you never knowHighly doubtful bet you never know

West AdelaideIs it me or does McKay move a bit like a young JPod?Highly doubtful bet you never know
The knock on Michael is he gets monstered by the big forwards and is more suited to the 3rd tall role which we already have a plethora of options for... (Lever, Otten, Shaw, Cheney, Hendo). We need more guys that can handle the big boys cause if Hartigan or Talia go down we'd be looking at Lever on Tom Hawkins- I reckon in time Lever can play on the big guys but in his 2nd year he won't be strong or big enough to handle the big bodies over the course of the season.Wouldn't you think if had plans to take a KPD, that we would have taken M.Talia as a FREE Hit?
Depends on whether they wanted a depth KPD, or one who might actually find his way into the best 22. Depends on how they see Hartigan really, and I think they see enough to persevere for now.Wouldn't you think if had plans to take a KPD, that we would have taken M.Talia as a FREE Hit?
West AdelaideCollins is the same height as Lever .......why oh why do we still feel the need to draft a KPD ....we've got him alreadyDepends on whether they wanted a depth KPD, or one who might actually find his way into the best 22. Depends on how they see Hartigan really, and I think they see enough to persevere for now.
The way I see it the situation you've described is a decision making failure, not a kicking failure. The problem with Matt Crouch is that he'll often kick the ball long, missing the target by 5m and putting it to the advantage of the opposition.For example, if Matt Crouch (who I don't think has poor disposal, but let's use him as an example), kicks long to a contest involving Eddie Betts on Jeremy McGovern that's spoiled by McGovern, this is considered an "effective" disposal to a "50/50 contest" despite the fact that McGovern v Betts is not a great contest.
West AdelaideLever is stronger and smarter than Hartigan ......don't let physical mass determine strengthThe knock on Michael is he gets monstered by the big forwards and is more suited to the 3rd tall role which we already have a plethora of options for... (Lever, Otten, Shaw, Cheney, Hendo). We need more guys that can handle the big boys cause if Hartigan or Talia go down we'd be looking at Lever on Tom Hawkins- I reckon in time Lever can play on the big guys but in his 2nd year he won't be strong or big enough to handle the big bodies over the course of the season.
Oh Bicks look a dare, are you going to do it or are you chicken?
West AdelaideHe's not Robinson Caruso in that regard ......IMO Maturity will rectify some of those issues with M.CrouchThe way I see it the situation you've described is a decision making failure, not a kicking failure. The problem with Matt Crouch is that he'll often kick the ball long, missing the target by 5m and putting it to the advantage of the opposition.
The way I see it the situation you've described is a decision making failure, not a kicking failure. The problem with Matt Crouch is that he'll often kick the ball long, missing the target by 5m and putting it to the advantage of the opposition.
Nice insight
Any reason why you have Mathieson listed as a possible at 8 but not predicting anyone take him before or including us at 13 despite having players picked (e.g. Tucker) who you dont think are in the mix at 8? Ie why do you see Mathieson as in the mix for us at 8 but not Tucker yet us taking Tucker at 13 even Mathieson is in the mix (I know nothing about either so I'm guessing Mathieson could be a KPP and you dont think we would take 2 KPP)
So let's think about these picks rationally.
Before our first selection, 8 non-academy kids will be drafted.
What we know for a virtual fact at this stage (barring a late injury) is that 5 of those 8 selections will be Weitering, Schache, Parish, Weideman and Curnow.
This leaves 3 more to be selected. Francis, McKay, Oliver, Milera, Mathieson and Collins appear among the most likely. Maybe there's a late bolter. Who knows.
To me, the worst case scenario for us is that these 3 remaining selections before ours are Francis, Milera and Oliver (just my opinion, not the AFC's I'd suggest). If this does happen, we'll surely take H McKay, who the club appears to be very keen on, so that hardly seems like a disaster. Personally I'm not a fan, but who knows. Maybe he'll develop into a star. I'd love to see us take any of Francis, Oliver or Milera ahead of McKay (in that order) if we have the opportunity though. If we take anyone else here I'll be stunned.
Now, there's actually only two non-academy selections between our picks 9 and 13. One to Carlton and one to Richmond. It appears pretty likely that Richmond will take Ah Chee - every year they are linked to someone and every year they select that player - at this stage Ah Chee seems to be their guy. If McKay is still on the board he'll go to the Blues but they may have already taken him with their previous selection, or maybe we've already got him by this stage. Either way, McKay ain't there at 13.
So it's probably likely that we'll be looking at one of Tucker, Mathieson, Hibberd, Collins, Balic, Cole, Gresham, R Clarke, Burton, Bonner or Partington here. A few of those probably won't even come into calculations at all but whatever.
So all things considered, I like any of the following outcomes the best:
Francis and Tucker
Oliver and Burton
Oliver and Tucker
Milera and Burton
However, I think by far the most likely outcome is probably:
McKay and Tucker
I can't get excited at all about H McKay at our first selection but our development of talls is second to none so I won't be too displeased with this result. I personally think Tucker can turn into a highly productive midfielder with dash (more than "just another half back flanker") so I reckon he's great value with our second pick.
I also think the club is ideally looking to take a mid and a forward with the two picks, and this will only change if Francis drops to us.
Less than two weeks to go now until arguably the most important draft in our club's history.
West AdelaideBicks ...it's called "the Ignore " function ......feel free to use it mateI don't dance to WW's tune, not now, not ever.....in fact like a lot of other AFC supporters on this board I find him to be the most irritating and self opinionated poster on the AFC Big Footy board.
I put up a list in order of who I personally would take in the draft a few pages ago just like others have using the "limited" resources I have at my disposal, and I'm not alone there.

Both have deficiencies.I like both. but if we would compare them as inside midfielders lets see
Lyons is better at first touch of ruckmans hand.
Lyons is a better kick
Lyons is cleaner
But lets write him off as the previous coaches prefered to play the 27-30 year olds instead of a developing 19, 20, 21, 22 year old. That is to be expected. Unless the kid is a top 10 pick
He is 23 next year. I would like this to be the year that Thommo, VB MAckay step aside for B Crouch, M Crouch and Lyons.
Lyons 2012 played 3 games
2013 played 9 games
2014 played 10 games
2015 played 13 games
So he has improved in games played each year. I am hoping that this year now the sub rule has gone (thank God) he will show us all what he is capable of.
Don't think you will have to worry as I see H McKay going to Carlton at 8...Reckon he is on top of our board , but we may end up with Francis which is a blessingSo let's think about these picks rationally.
Before our first selection, 8 non-academy kids will be drafted.
What we know for a virtual fact at this stage (barring a late injury) is that 5 of those 8 selections will be Weitering, Schache, Parish, Weideman and Curnow.
This leaves 3 more to be selected. Francis, McKay, Oliver, Milera, Mathieson and Collins appear among the most likely. Maybe there's a late bolter. Who knows.
To me, the worst case scenario for us is that these 3 remaining selections before ours are Francis, Milera and Oliver (just my opinion, not the AFC's I'd suggest). If this does happen, we'll surely take H McKay, who the club appears to be very keen on, so that hardly seems like a disaster. Personally I'm not a fan, but who knows. Maybe he'll develop into a star. I'd love to see us take any of Francis, Oliver or Milera ahead of McKay (in that order) if we have the opportunity though. If we take anyone else here I'll be stunned.
Now, there's actually only two non-academy selections between our picks 9 and 13. One to Carlton and one to Richmond. It appears pretty likely that Richmond will take Ah Chee - every year they are linked to someone and every year they select that player - at this stage Ah Chee seems to be their guy. If McKay is still on the board he'll go to the Blues but they may have already taken him with their previous selection, or maybe we've already got him by this stage. Either way, McKay ain't there at 13.
So it's probably likely that we'll be looking at one of Tucker, Mathieson, Hibberd, Collins, Balic, Cole, Gresham, R Clarke, Burton, Bonner or Partington here. A few of those probably won't even come into calculations at all but whatever.
So all things considered, I like any of the following outcomes the best:
Francis and Tucker
Oliver and Burton
Oliver and Tucker
Milera and Burton
However, I think by far the most likely outcome is probably:
McKay and Tucker
I can't get excited at all about H McKay at our first selection but our development of talls is second to none so I won't be too displeased with this result. I personally think Tucker can turn into a highly productive midfielder with dash (more than "just another half back flanker") so I reckon he's great value with our second pick.
I also think the club is ideally looking to take a mid and a forward with the two picks, and this will only change if Francis drops to us.
Less than two weeks to go now until arguably the most important draft in our club's history.
West AdelaideWeideman is the lynch pin to how the draft order could be thrown around .....if he slides, Carlton would take him at #8I suspect Carlton will take McKay at 8 knowing we might pick him at 9 (and therefore he won't slide to 10) and they need a key forward. In that situation I think we'll take Oliver and possibly Tucker, Burton or a similar type
He's far from Robinson Crusoe.. but his problems are worse than many.He's not Robinson Caruso in that regard ......IMO Maturity will rectify some of those issues with M.Crouch
West AdelaideDo you think Carlton will take two KPP in the top 10?Don't think you will have to worry as I see H McKay going to Carlton at 8...Reckon he is on top of our board , but we may end up with Francis which is a blessing
Smoky for our 9 is taking milera before Francis , wouldn't do it myself but not the worst result
Very sure that the type of player we get at 9 will effect our choice at 13
Ie don't think we would take milera and then tucker ...or francis then hibberd
If we somehow could take McKay at 9 and still have either milera or Francis at 13 then I will be over the moon but can't see it
Don't even know if Burton is even in discussion , have a feeling he slides to the second round
I suspect Carlton will take McKay at 8 knowing we might pick him at 9 (and therefore he won't slide to 10) and they need a key forward. In that situation I think we'll take Oliver and possibly Tucker, Burton or a similar type
I hear you.I think we should take Riley Bonner with 13. He will make it easy, can play midfield back and forward. Has a great kick and would slot in nicely, also offers great flexibility. With him, smith Seedsman and Hampton, I think they could rotate though half back wing and half forward.
This kid is gonna make it
West AdelaideGiven iam a BIG Shaw fan ......iam going to give M.Crouch the same allowance on his disposal given the # of games he has playedHe's far from Robinson Crusoe.. but his problems are worse than many.
My preference (and a very strong preference at that) is to take 2x mids. I don't see us taking a KPD at all. Just trying to explain the rationale why they might.Collins is the same height as Lever .......why oh why do we still feel the need to draft a KPD ....we've got him already
Bicks ...it's called "the Ignore " function ......feel free to use it mate
Mmmm a Big Footy poster with an opinion .....what will they think of next
Not game to rank your preferences in your signature hey Bicks ......want an escape clause iam imaging ...that's ok, many hear hate to be wrong so never actually put it on the line
Always a bit each way so you have the ability to never be wrong
West AdelaideI hope they do take him. It guarantees us one of Oliver, Francis or Milera which is pretty awesome from where I sit. I'm actually starting to like Oliver just as much as Francis. Milera is a bit more of a risk, but he could become a genuine winger with pace and skill which is certainly something we could use.
West AdelaideI agree we won't take a KPD .....and two mids are a distinctive possibility .....an inside/out and outside/in mids would be greatMy preference (and a very strong preference at that) is to take 2x mids. I don't see us taking a KPD at all. Just trying to explain the rationale why they might.