Recruiting Draft Watch 2020

• Thread starter Thread starter eDPS

Which do you prefer, if you have to choose?

• Nik Cox

Votes: 53 77.9%
  • Zach Reid

Votes: 15 22.1%

Last edited by a moderator:
I’m very sceptical on selling the farm for a big key forward, if the last decade has told us anything about drafting it’s that they rarely come as advertised and aren’t difference makers

Would think draft will go;
Crows: Thilthorpe
Dogs: JUH bid
Roos: McDonald
Swans: Phillips
Swans: Campbell bid
Hawks: Hollands
Suns: DBG
Then we're up with our run

I'd sound the cats out on bruhn and see if 6 and change gets us the GCS mid round comp pick plus Clark and constable.

Would think draft will go;
Crows: Thilthorpe
Dogs: JUH bid
Roos: McDonald
Swans: Phillips
Swans: Campbell bid
Hawks: Hollands
Suns: DBG
Then we're up with our run

I'd sound the cats out on bruhn and see if 6 and change gets us the GCS mid round comp pick plus Clark and constable.
Right now I have:

1. Thilthorpe
2. Hollands
3. JUH
4. McDonald
5. DGB
6. Phillips (thank god)

What seperates McDonald and Thilthorpe then? That is probably the more important question.

Would people be ok if we traded up into the top 3 to get Hollands? Exactly the type of player we need.
I worry about Hollands coming off an ACL, questions marks if he can move into the midfield, doesn't get much of the footy. To me there is just too many question marks. Mind you Bruhn would be worse

Yeah I'm firmly in the camp of not trading 2 of our 6, 7, 8 (or whatever they get moved down to) up to 2 for McDonald. There are zero guarantees in the draft, as good as a prospect can look. Give me multiple bites at the apple.

Now if it were 6 + 7 for 2 + 20 or something equivalent, and they think McDonald is worth it, I'm listening.

Right now I have:

1. Thilthorpe
2. Hollands
3. JUH
4. McDonald
5. DGB
6. Phillips (thank god)
Then Cox/Reid, Perkins and someone else

Right now I have:

1. Thilthorpe
2. Hollands
3. JUH
4. McDonald
5. DGB
6. Phillips (thank god)
Can't pick which way the roos go
Key forward with go home risk or local fwd/mid

I reckon they'll bid on JUH though.

Phillips won't reach us. Swans or suns will surely grab him

Given he is mates with Rowell and Anderson youd bank on the Suns grabbing him

Yeah I'm firmly in the camp of not trading 2 of our 6, 7, 8 (or whatever they get moved down to) up to 2 for McDonald. There are zero guarantees in the draft, as good as a prospect can look. Give me multiple bites at the apple.

Now if it were 6 + 7 for 2 + 20 or something equivalent, and they think McDonald is worth it, I'm listening.

If you're not expecting to turn 7, 8 and 9, regardless of the downgrade, its the 7th to 9th live pick in the draft, into 250 game guns there is something extremely wrong.

Did Thilthorpe have any leg/groin injuries when he was younger?

In watchiong his highlights video, his running gait in the earlier games looked compromised to me - but I'm no expert.

And that's something to be celebrated.

As for North, Xerri and Larkey look pretty solid and we haven't see any of Comben yet but he has good wraps.

Did Thilthorpe have any leg/groin injuries when he was younger?

In watchiong his highlights video, his running gait in the earlier games looked compromised to me - but I'm no expert.
Has battled groin issues last year and this year

Ok - there you go.
I thought the later videos showed he looked freer than his younger clips.

His stride just never looks solid, if that makes sense. It seems to have a lot of lateral about it, as well as being well short.

Ok - there you go.
I thought the later videos showed he looked freer than his younger clips.

His stride just never looks solid, if that makes sense. It seems to have a lot of lateral about it, as well as being well short.
Yep think your 100% on the money

eDPS

I read an article suggesting Edwardes could be a bolter at 195cm can play wing or inside mid also friends with Brand

Any thoughts on him?

And that's something to be celebrated.

As for North, Xerri and Larkey look pretty solid and we haven't see any of Comben yet but he has good wraps.
Depending on who we trade in from a midfield perspective I'm warming to Reid, cox and Perkins as our ins, and ideally callow with the raz pick then brand and Eyre

eDPS

I read an article suggesting Edwardes could be a bolter at 195cm can play wing or inside mid also friends with Brand

Any thoughts on him?
No chance he plays as an inside mid imo, I wouldn’t draft him

I still wouldn’t take him, I feel there are better options
No worries just an idea and there is nothing on him

It's metro Combine today im excited

What style of player is McDonald?

Reading between the lines it seems to me he's in the Lukosious mould of big flanker than he is a high marking player like Wiedemann (to take 2 guys of a similar size and shape).

Luksious went at pick 2 of what is almost certainly going to be the best draft of all time because he was supposed to be a key forward.

What is it being suggested we would dilute a few excellent picks for?
This style:

I worry about Hollands coming off an ACL, questions marks if he can move into the midfield, doesn't get much of the footy. To me there is just too many question marks. Mind you Bruhn would be worse

For mine it’s McCartin/Petracca again. He’s the obvious number 1 talent (outside of JUH). I think at a minimum he’ll end up a 40 goal a year forward in the Toby Green mould.

For mine it’s McCartin/Petracca again. He’s the obvious number 1 talent for mine (outside of JUH). I think at a minimum he’ll end up a 40 goal a year forward in the Toby Green mould.
If you are happy with him being a forward id be happy but just questioning 2018 was good 2019 pleatued 2020 injured

I'd be confident of him at least being part of a midfield rotation. Something like how Fyfe was used this year, or Dangerfield in the finals.