Draft

Draft talent analysis: tall forwards

Tall Forwards

Lewis Johnston
DOB: 03/3/91
State league: SA
Club: North Adelaide

McCartney says: "He was in my mentor group this year at the Academy and just had an outstanding season. Lewis has got fantastic hands and is a great mark whether it's on the lead or contested. He's a thumping kick, but one of the things we addressed with Lewis was his ability to spot up the short free target and I think he did that really well.

"One of the things I was really pleased with this year is we were able to change his focus a bit and impress on him that his running game needs to be his strength whether you're a centre half-forward or playing as a tall defender. He had played more of a power forward role and his focus was that he thought he needed to improve his fitness, but it was never that, it was more of a mental thing. But we did eliminate some of the weight sessions he was doing and added some cross training and we played him as a third tall defender in Perth earlier in the year and he was outstanding.

"On the wide open spaces of Subiaco he was getting the ball in the back pocket, hitting up a short option and running on to receive it back; it was just phenomenal. He showed a great running capacity and then at under-18 level he's gone back to centre half-forward and he used his new strength to great effect.

"When we first picked him for the Academy the tag was that he was a bit unfit or a bit lazy, but his running has become one of his greatest strengths now and he's able to run blokes off their feet.

"He'll go very high in the draft, there's no doubt."

Paul Cahill
DOB: 19/8/90
State league: SA
Club: Sturt

McCartney says: "Paul's a bit of a jack in the box and he came to a camp we held back in December and he's really a fantastic athlete. He played centre half-forward, full-forward in the game that SA played against Tasmania in the champs and they were in trouble in the first half, but they ended up winning the game because Lewis Johnston went to full-forward and kicked four goals and Paul came out to centre half-forward and just marked everything in sight.

"He's got a fantastic vertical leap, he's interesting, he does tend to double-take the footy, but it's always at its highest point. He troubled Michael Hurley in a game and it was because he's got great bounce and agility. He played some really good footy throughout all the under-18 games."

Aaron Cornelius
DOB: 29/5/90
State league: TAS
Club: Tassie Mariners

McCartney says: "Aaron was in the Academy two years ago and it was an interesting situation with Aaron this year. He's a very good player, All-Australian the year before last and was in our Academy as a bottom-ager, is a really good mark and played senior footy for the Devils this year and last year. I saw this year as not super by Aaron's standards, but I saw it as a tough year because he would have got picked up last year, so it's been a bit of a holding year.

"One of his games in the Division Two qualifiers was really good, but being the main target for Tassie, he tended to get double-teamed a lot. He probably found the going pretty tough in Division One, but what was pleasing was that he came to Melbourne and his second-last game, where the team got toweled up at Casey, was just fantastic.

"He was at centre half-forward, on the move – that's his go – and he tends to take a really good contested mark where he can run and jump and float across the pack. So after what was probably a disappointing first three games he finished off really well. There will be a lot of interest around him no doubt."

Liam Jones
DOB: 24/2/91
State league: TAS
Club: Tassie Mariners

McCartney says: "Liam was in the Academy this year and his father, Bob, played some games for St Kilda, so he's a mad Saints fan. Liam didn't play under-18's for Tassie because he was at Scotch College and he hurt his knee at training and didn't end up playing much footy for the majority of the year.

"Liam is a fantastic mark and we played him mostly as a defender at the Academy and he'd only played a few games down back, but he was terrific. He's got great anticipation and he didn't spoil the ball much because he just got in front and marked it.

"He can tend to fall off the ball a bit when he kicks, but he's got no major dramas there. What's also pleasing is that you look at him now compared to when he came into the Academy and he's grown at least three centimetres."

Jackson Trengove
DOB: 01/11/90
State league: VIC
Club: Calder Cannons

McCartney says: "Jackson was in the Academy this year and is an outstanding young man, but unfortunately only played the one under-18 game against Vic Country because he tore his hamstring off the bone at training.

"I see him as very versatile and he's got a great leap so at a pinch he could go in the ruck, but I see him as having the ability to play most positions down the spine. The question will be how he's recovered from that injury, but all the reports have been really good.

"He's a great competitor and what sticks in my mind is during that one game at the champs he was playing at centre half-back in the third quarter when the pressure was on and he went back a couple of times into packs and just came away with the ball."

Jordan Lisle
DOB: 12/7/90
Club: Oakleigh Chargers

McCartney says: "Jordan was good to watch at under-18's level because I hadn't seen a lot of him. I saw him play at centre half-back and be very good in the air, very good one on one and set up a lot of play. With him and Michael Hurley down there the opposition didn't have much of a chance, but I also saw him go forward a couple of times and kick three or four goals.

"His dad played some games at North and he looks to have good footy smarts."

Tom Lynch
DOB: 15/9/90
Club: Sandringham Dragons

McCartney says: "I think Lynchy had an outstanding year from where he was coming from. He had an ACL the year before and his preparation was unbelievable throughout his time at the Academy with a real attention to detail with his training. What that allowed him to do was play his first game for us when we were on tour and because his preparation was so good he played at a good level straight away.

"I thought it might have been good to let him play at centre half-back and just let him play his way into some form, but he played at half-forward and did very well. When he does play down back I thought he read the play very well and he was good with his hands and had the ability to cut across in front of traffic.

"In one of the trial games for Vic Metro Tommy took five or six marks in the first quarter and he has great fitness and great agility. At an AFL club I could see him fitting in as a third forward type, but with his endurance he could even play through the middle."

Jack Watts
DOB: 26/3/91
Club: Sandringham Dragons

McCartney says: "Wattsy is just a super talent, but before the Academy I hadn't heard much of him. What I had heard was that he was how good he was at basketball and he had a fair bit of pressure from that side of things with an AIS Scholarship offer, and he was managing basketball camps and his footy.

"Allan McConnell had a lot of talks with him and his parents in the lead-up to the under-18's because we felt something was going to give. He was training and playing footy as well as his basketball commitments and he was starting to get sore groins and there was potential for some OP-type damage. We encourage the boys to continue other sports, but just to manage their commitments.

"In the end Wattsy made what was a really tough decision, because he's very good at basketball – that he wanted to concentrate on the footy.

"I'd seen glimpses of his talent through the AIS. He's super quick, very athletic and that's the basketball background coming through. I'd seen bits and pieces, but to see him play centre half-forward in the first game of the championships and the surety of his hands and the way he controls the footy sometimes was amazing.

"He has good decision-making, but the mark he took with a minute and a half left in that game – he was three or four deep in the pack but he just clunked it and went back and kicked the goal that won the game. Allan and I were joking that what he would have liked more is if the siren had gone while he was lining up to kick; he's got that sort of confidence.

"He's a super-intelligent kid and what we found was that what we were delivering to the other kids he finds a bit boring and mundane, so you have to challenge him.

"He's a massive talent."

http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=69438

Draft day: the countdown begins

Matt Burgan 8:00 AM Thu 30 October, 2008
Beams246xWIM.jpg

Queenslander Dayne Beams is a potential high pick in the 2008 NAB AFL Draft
Related content

--------------------------------------------------
Over the next 30 days we will have interviews, bios and video with 30 key NAB AFL Draft prospects. First up is Queenslander Dayne Beams.
--------------------------------------------------

Dayne Beams

DOB: 12/2/90
Height:184cm
Weight:81kg
Club: Southport, Queensland

A versatile midfilelder who can go forward or back, Beams is a high possession winner who is balanced and composed in traffic. A Queensland representative in the 2008 NAB AFL under-18 championships. From Southport FC.

Watch highlights of Dayne Beams in action

What sort of player are you?
I'm an inside midfielder. I like to dish it out to a few people and get on the end of a ball every now and then and kick a goal.

Strengths?
I like to pride myself in being hard at the footy.

Weaknesses?
Probably my work off the ball – shepherds and tackles. It's something I'd like to work on. My set-shot goal work is also pretty ordinary. I'll line one up and kick one through, hopefully, one day.

Which AFL team do you support?
Essendon. I'm originally from Victoria, so I'm a Bombers man.

Which AFL player do you feel you most resemble?
I like to base my game on Simon Black. I love watching him play footy. He's great with his hands and hard at the footy. He's just got good skills. I watch how he plays, and that's how I try to play. I've had a chat to him at a private function, but nothing personal.

Draft profile: Matthew Broadbent

By Chelsea Roffey 8:00 AM Fri 31 October, 2008
Broadbent246xWIM.jpg
South Australian Matthew Broadbent is a key prospect in the 2008 NAB AFL Draft
Related content
Matthew Broadbent

DOB: 1/8/90
Height: 189cm
Weight: 81kg
Club: Woodville West Torrens/Henley

A hard-running defender who can also play run-with roles, Broadbent is courageous and has clean hands. His long kicking was a feature for South Australia at the NAB AFL under-18 championships this year. From Henley FC.

Watch highlights of Matthew Broadbent in action

Strengths?
My main strengths are probably my decision-making and clean hands.

Weaknesses?
My skills were not up to scratch early in the [under-18] carnival. And my work rate, too.

Port. I’m a Port man.

Which AFL players do you try to model yourself on?
I watch (West Coast’s) Andrew Embley for his run, and (Port Adelaide’s) Travis Boak has come through this only a few years ago so I look up to him a bit. He’s stepped up to the pace of AFL pretty well. Brett Kirk, I love how he gets his head over the ball and takes whatever’s coming.

Draft countdown: Paul Cahill

By Chelsea Roffey 12:01 AM Sat 01 November, 2008
Cahill246x316a.jpg
South Australian Paul Cahill is a key prospect in the 2008 NAB AFL Draft
Related content

Paul Cahill

DOB: 19/8/90
Height: 192cm
Weight:80kg
Club:Sturt/Mitcham Hawks

An athletic tall forward who impressed with his quick leads and clean hands for South Australia the under-18 team this year, Cahill has good goal sense. From Mitcham Hawks FC.

Watch highlights of Paul Cahill in action

Strengths?
I’ve been fairly consistent. [I’ve shown] the ability to kick a few goals, pushing up the ground, quick leads.

Weaknesses?
Defensive pressure. That’s what I’ll be working on back at home – physical presence when tackling, just getting my attitude right as well, not dropping my head when things don’t go my way.

No-one. I used to be a (Adelaide) Crows fan but I don’t like the style of footy they play anymore, so I just watch the good players that I aspire to be like. I just watch them and the games they play in.

Buddy Franklin – he is the one for me. I love him stacks. I just love the way he plays. I model myself on him. He’s just electrifying. You can tell half the crowd’s there to watch him and the way he performs under pressure. He’s so young and he deals with all the pressure and media and all that off the ground and still performs. And he kicks a few great goals as well.

Nick Riewoldt is a bit of a softy but deals with all the hard nuts that are put on him. He doesn’t brawl. He also shows maturity, having taken on captaincy at a really young age.

Draft countdown: Aaron Cornelius

By Chelsea Roffey 12:07 AM Sun 02 November, 2008
Cornelius246xWIM.jpg
Tasmanian Aaron Cornelius is a key prospect in the 2008 NAB AFL Draft
Related content

Aaron Cornelius

DOB: 29/5/90
Height: 192cm
Weight:84kg
Club: Tassie Mariners, TAS

A tall marking forward who is strong on the lead and has very clean hands. Cornelius reads the play well and has experienced senior VFL action with the Tassie Devils. He won All-Australian under-18 honours in 2007. An AIS/AFL Academy graduate. From Glenorchy FC.

Watch highlights of Aaron Cornelius in action

What are your biggest strengths as a player?
I think my ability to read the play and take a strong mark. I’m also pretty sneaky around the goals.

What are your weaknesses?
My deficiencies are probably the defensive side of my game and my endurance, so I need to work on that. The defensive side is so big in the AFL now – you can kick goals from those kind of efforts as well as from taking marks.

What type of player are you?
Maybe a third tall, not so much a key position, but someone who can take a mark and rove at the same time.

Which AFL club do you support?
I go for St Kilda. I actually trained with St Kilda through the AIS-AFL program during the pre-season. You see guys like Robert Harvey on the telly and the next thing you’re meeting them. You receive the ball off Harvs and then you’re kicking it to Fraser Gehrig, so it was a bit of a dream come true.

Which AFL player do you most resemble?
One of the recruiters said I reminded him of Ryan O’Keefe from the Swans, so that was a compliment.

This guy has his head screwed on properly. :thumbsu:;)

Draft countdown: Matthew DeBoer

By Ben Broad 12:01 AM Mon 03 November, 2008
DeBoer246xWIM.jpg
West Australian Matthew DeBoer is a key prospect at the 2008 NAB AFL Draft
Related content

Matthew DeBoer

DOB: 10/3/90
Height: 187cm
Weight: 85kg
Club: Claremont/Swanbourne JFC

A medium midfielder who is strong overhead and a prolific ball-winner, DeBoer runs hard for his team and is courageous in his attack on the ball. A WA under-18 representative in 2008, winning All-Australian honours. From Swanbourne JFC.

Watch highlights of Matthew DeBoer in action

I play a lot on the wing, both in the [NAB AFL under-18] championships and for my club side, Claremont. I pride myself on being really competitive.

Strengths?
I’m pretty competitive. I hate losing, so I try doing anything to prevent that.

Weaknesses?
Probably my consistency through a whole game, and also my kicking – more distance and penetration.

The Eagles.

I used to crave being like James Hird, just because he could turn a game, but I don’t think I play like him or anything. I guess if I had to choose someone I’d probably say Daniel Cross or someone like that.

Draft countdown: Christopher Hall

By Chelsea Roffey 12:01 AM Tue 04 November, 2008
Hall246xWIM2.jpg
South Australian Christopher Hall is a key prospect in the 2008 NAB AFL Draft

Christopher Hall

DOB: 25/6/90
Height: 175cm
Weight: 70kg
Club: Woodville West Torrens/Flinders Park

A courageous small midfielder with clean hands, who is very creative. Hall has good awareness and also seems to have time and space. South Australian under-18 representative in 2008. From Flinders Park FC.

What sort of player is he?
A brave small onballer with good awareness, Hall was pleased with his consistency throughout the national under-18s carnival.

Strengths
Setting up the play, quick hands, getting the runners involved. I can get around players easily. My evasive skills are a bit better than some of the bigger guys.

Weaknesses?
I probably need to work on my size a little bit, need to get a bit stronger. And my chase-downs as well; keeping the ball inside the forward 50.

I’m a Crows fan.

Dale Thomas, Andrew McLeod and Brett Burton. I like McLeod because he’s just so clean with his hands, such a silky smooth sort of player. And Dale and Brett Burton are playmakers of the team, sort of the X-factors. When they fire it’s really good to watch that sort of thing.

Draft countdown: Hamish Hartlett

By Chelsea Roffey 8:00 AM Wed 05 November, 2008
Hartlett246x316a.jpg
South Australian Hamish Hartlett is a key prospect in the 2008 NAB AFL Draft
Related content

Hamish Hartlett

DOB: 14/8/90
Height: 182cm
Weight: 74kg
Club: Port Magpies/Pooraka

A medium midfielder who reads the game exceptionally well, has clean hands, vision and kicks the ball superbly. Hartlett won All-Australian under-18 selection after his performances for South Australia in the NAB AFL under-18 championships. From Edwardstown FC.

Watch highlights of Hamish Hartlett in action

Strengths?
I think my work rate has always been a big strength.

Weaknesses?
I think my skills let me down. Usually I like to think they’re one of my strengths, my skills, but they were pretty average today and throughout the [under-18] carnival. There is a bit of nervousness, bit of anxiety, extra pressure and that sort of thing playing at the highest level, I suppose. There’s a bit of extra pressure there, but you’ve just got to get used to it.

I’m a [Adelaide] Crows man at heart but have been jumping on the Carlton bandwagon, now they’re playing all right. [Hartlett's brother Adam is on Carlton's list]

I love the way Gary Ablett junior and Chris Judd go about their business. Their balance and composure and that sort of thing; their poise is fantastic and first class. I suppose if I said anyone, it would be those two. I admire (Melbourne/Adelaide’s) Scotty Thompson. He has a fantastic work rate and finds the ball a lot of the time.

Draft countdown: Nick Heyne

By Chelsea Roffey 8:00 AM Thu 06 November, 2008
Nick_Heyne_countdown_246a.jpg
A graduate of the AIS/AFL Academy, Nick Heyne could figure in the NAB AFL Draft

Nick Heyne

DOB: 22/7/90
Weight: 79kg
Club: Gippsland/Orbost Snowy Rovers

A versatile medium forward/midfielder who can provide good run, Heyne is a strong mark and also possesses good goal sense. He is an AIS/AFL Academy graduate. From Orbost-Snowy Rovers F.C.

Watch highlights of Nick Heyne in action

I’m a wingman/full-forward type of player. I’m pretty quick on my feet and fairly strong in the air.

Strengths?
I like to think I’m a fairly good running player both ways.

Weaknesses?
Ground balls with two hands … I can tend to go at them with one hand every now and again.

Kangaroos.

Probably Andrew Embley from West Coast. He’s a tall wingman who runs pretty hard, so [he’s got] pretty similar attributes as well. I like to watch him mainly, so I try to base my game around his.

Certainly wouldn't mind Cornelius on our list, just dont think he's worth our first pick and doesnt sound like he'll last till our 2nd.
Yeeah especially as he barracks for the saints . and that perfect 3rd medium lead-up forward we need .

Certainly wouldn't mind Cornelius on our list, just dont think he's worth our first pick and doesnt sound like he'll last till our 2nd.

Geeez, just as well you stepped in brother. CHBench would have had a whole page of posts to herself!

Draft countdown: Nick Heyne

By Chelsea Roffey 8:00 AM Thu 06 November, 2008
Nick_Heyne_countdown_246a.jpg
A graduate of the AIS/AFL Academy, Nick Heyne could figure in the NAB AFL Draft

Nick Heyne

DOB: 22/7/90
Weight: 79kg
Club: Gippsland/Orbost Snowy Rovers

A versatile medium forward/midfielder who can provide good run, Heyne is a strong mark and also possesses good goal sense. He is an AIS/AFL Academy graduate. From Orbost-Snowy Rovers F.C.

Watch highlights of Nick Heyne in action

I’m a wingman/full-forward type of player. I’m pretty quick on my feet and fairly strong in the air.

Strengths?
I like to think I’m a fairly good running player both ways.

Weaknesses?
Ground balls with two hands … I can tend to go at them with one hand every now and again.

Kangaroos.

Probably Andrew Embley from West Coast. He’s a tall wingman who runs pretty hard, so [he’s got] pretty similar attributes as well. I like to watch him mainly, so I try to base my game around his.

what do the rest of you guys think about Heyne? i reckon he'd slot nicely into our side, pretty pacey/flashy tall wingman who has a decent workrate.
i'm bias but i definitely wouldn't mind at all if we took him with our first rounder..

also, i'm currently involved with the phantom draft on the D&T board. it's my pick and i'm considering Lewis Johnston (best available) or Swift, McKernan or Heyne. what do we all reckon? i'm thinkin LJ

Just wanted to say, well done Benchy for the low-down on all that stuff. Great workrate - Harvey would be proud.

what do the rest of you guys think about Heyne? i reckon he'd slot nicely into our side, pretty pacey/flashy tall wingman who has a decent workrate.
i'm bias but i definitely wouldn't mind at all if we took him with our first rounder..

also, i'm currently involved with the phantom draft on the D&T board. it's my pick and i'm considering Lewis Johnston (best available) or Swift, McKernan or Heyne. what do we all reckon? i'm thinkin LJ
Given how much our medicos situation has improved, I'd think Swift is worth the gamble. But it's a tough call.

And how exactly can one be a wingman/full forward type?

haha it is interesting i know!

basically he has got very strong core strength and at 187cm's isn't a midget.. he uses his other assets such as his phenomenal leap and good marking ability to win contests. i doubt he'll end up as a full forward at AFL (more a wingman/half forward who is a good 3rd tall to have in the forward line). he's very similar to Alan Didak in my opinion but perhaps more robust and strong.

FWIW i went with Lewis Johnston in the draft (i couldn't pass on him:p)

Draft countdown: Paul Cahill

By Chelsea Roffey 12:01 AM Sat 01 November, 2008
Cahill246x316a.jpg

Nick Riewoldt is a bit of a softy but deals with all the hard nuts that are put on him. He doesn’t brawl. He also shows maturity, having taken on captaincy at a really young age.

Well we're not drafting this young punk!

If we want to win the big one brothers, we need a player who can make an immediate impact. For me that means we need a midfielder with pace or a third tall forward. Going back the last three years, all the premiership teams had players who contributed significantly in their first year.

Hawks 08 - Cyril Rioli

Cats 07 - Joel Selwood

Eagles 06 - Sam Butler (bit different, as this wasn't his first year, but had played minimal games prior to this).

Not too many draftees have come into the Saints side in recent times and made immediate impact. We probably need to go back to Max Hudghton and Aussie Jones and Joel Smith before him.

Sam Fisher was a more mature age recruit when we got him as was Clint Jones.

What do you think?

agree 110% mate.

Yarran could have an immediate impact (much like Cyril, but will develop into a midfielder.. but will def have an impact in a role like Cyril has played this year)

Heyne is capable of an making an impact next year. strongly built and is physically and mentally up to it

Johnston is another who'll kick goals in his first year.

Mitch Robinson will win plenty of football in his first year.

i think we'd be seriously looking at Robinson tbh

If we want to win the big one brothers, we need a player who can make an immediate impact. For me that means we need a midfielder with pace or a third tall forward. Going back the last three years, all the premiership teams had players who contributed significantly in their first year.

Hawks 08 - Cyril Rioli

Cats 07 - Joel Selwood

Eagles 06 - Sam Butler (bit different, as this wasn't his first year, but had played minimal games prior to this).

Not too many draftees have come into the Saints side in recent times and made immediate impact. We probably need to go back to Max Hudghton and Aussie Jones and Joel Smith before him.

Sam Fisher was a more mature age recruit when we got him as was Clint Jones.

What do you think?

I agree that we really need to draft someone who can step in and make an impact straight away. A long term player who takes 3 or 4 years to develop won't do us much good given our core group will be getting too old by then.

That's one of the reasons I suggested Chris Yarran as a good draft prospect for us. He has been playing senior WAFL footy for a year or two now and has already developed the solid physique required for AFL. He is a versatile type of player too who can play half forward and possibly midfield down the track. Fairly similar to Rioli in terms of pace and skills. If he is still available at pick 13 I think he would be a very good get.

Given we already have Milne and Schnieder in the team, is a Rioli type player really what we need to make an impact?

I think Yarran would be a different type of player than Milne or Schnieder though. Only seen a bit of him in the WAFL but from memory he can play fairly tall as a proper marking option rather than just as an out and out crumbing small forward like Milne and Schneider. He also has the potential to become a proper midfielder which is something Milne or Schneider aren't really capable of.

Anyway I'm probably a bit biased towards Yarran as he is one of the few draft prospects I actually know much about. There may well be other players elsewhere that would be equally good as Yarran or better. I trust our recruitment guys know what they are doing and will make the best selections possible for us.

David Zaharakis is another one who will be right to go next year as well. strongly built midfielder who is pretty pacey:thumbsu: only question is if pick 13 is too high for him? because i doubt he'll be around for our next picks

FWIW i went with Lewis Johnston in the draft (i couldn't pass on him:p)

Good selection. :thumbsu:
I like Lewis. From what i've seen and read he looks like a bit of a character and hot head. Sounds like he will fill Gtrains boots nicely. ;)
Swift sounds so tempting but imo you made the right decision. I think with our past record of injuries we had to go the safe option, especially how vital this draft is for us.

BTW thanks Percy, very kind of you. :thumbsu::)