Draft

Cheers for the reply Dasler.

I sort of had the impression that Waters could turn into a midfielder too. We don't need any more HB flankers but a guy with courage and toughness who could may be run through the midfield would suit.

I hope we pick up Johnson though.

Originally posted by funky_monk
Cheers for the reply Dasler.

I sort of had the impression that Waters could turn into a midfielder too. We don't need any more HB flankers but a guy with courage and toughness who could may be run through the midfield would suit.

I hope we pick up Johnson though.

No worries funky, I suppose if Connolly took Waters, it would depend of if he wanted to develop him as a gun midfielder as Freo is crying out for one.

Originally posted by dasler
No worries funky, I suppose if Connolly took Waters, it would depend of if he wanted to develop him as a gun midfielder as Freo is crying out for one.

That's definitely a possibility. Although if we drafted Waters and had the long term view of playing him on the left half back flank, we could always push Woods up the ground, allowing him to play on the left wing.

Waters is a very good player, but then again most of them are to be invited to the draft camp. Gotta look at what Fremantle's current needs are? Do they need a medium sized defender running off the HBF? If the answer is yes then Waters is a prime candidate. Will run it out of the backline and hit you lace up everytime.

At pick 19 I'd be more inclined to take Johnson, as he is a smooth mover and extremely agile for a bigman. Spencer closely follows after that simply because when he gets the ball he has to go back and take his kick rather than move it on quickly. That's simply why I prefer Johnson, he moves it on and keeps the ball flowing, however Spencer is extremely strong 1 on 1.
Dasler I agree in part with your comments on Johnson vs Spencer
but I would draft Spencer first as I believe there is a lot more improvement in Spanner and IMO he will end up being a better player than Johnson. Spanner only started playing footy 4 years ago, played probably only 50 games including PSA. He is currently 194cms and still growing will end up around 197cms. Which will allow him to play Ruck or KP.

Originally posted by Undertaker
Dasler I agree in part with your comments on Johnson vs Spencer
but I would draft Spencer first as I believe there is a lot more improvement in Spanner and IMO he will end up being a better player than Johnson. Spanner only started playing footy 4 years ago, played probably only 50 games including PSA. He is currently 194cms and still growing will end up around 197cms. Which will allow him to play Ruck or KP.
If you are looking for personal qualities, Spencer has it all and I would go for him, but we are talking about footballing ability, and Johnson has it over Spencer. Johnson's agility is better than Spencer for a KPP and that's what you want.

Spanner should develop into a good player given he hasn't been in the sport as long as most. He's destroyed Kepler Bradley numerous times which was great football to watch.

Well, in Bigfooty's Phantom Draft, we selected Ray at 10, McLean at 12, Moody at 19 and Spencer at 27.

Ideally, I'd probably prefer Surjan at 19 instead of Moody, otherwise I'd be extremely happy if that was the outcome on Saturday. :D

Also, at pick 19, I was extremely close to selecting Waters but since I had already taken another tough nut in McLean, decided to opt for Moody.

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
Well, in Bigfooty's Phantom Draft, we selected Ray at 10, McLean at 12, Moody at 19 and Spencer at 27.

Ideally, I'd probably prefer Surjan at 19 instead of Moody, otherwise I'd be extremely happy if that was the outcome on Saturday. :D

Also, at pick 19, I was extremely close to selecting Waters but since I had already taken another tough nut in McLean, decided to opt for Moody.

You and others commenting on this topic would be wise to include Duffield in your deliberations.

I am happy with Moody at 19 and Spencer at 27, would be happy to use picks 10 & 12 on either Ray, Surjan, Maclean, Watters or Dunn.

Originally posted by YAKUZA
You and others commenting on this topic would be wise to include Duffield in your deliberations.
See him running off a HBF yakuza for Fremantle? Heard he had quite a good interview a couple of weeks back.

Let's just say that he is regarded by he who calls out the names.

He has a lush left foot, love seeing Duffield get cornered and unable to use his right, hits you lace up on the boundary with his left over 45. Certainly has come along way this season after a full year of colts under Kerr. Would have loved to seen him named Captain for his onfield and off-field leadership qualities. Quality kid from a quality family.

Wish you guys would stop posting about Duffield, people might start taking notice. He was the topic of discussion at a weekend BBQ thrown by one of the player managers. Some of the notable attendies were, CC, 211, Kerr and a few other draft prospects.
They were trying to keep it all underwraps hoping he might slip through to rookie draft. But I think that is highly unlikely. He is a great guy and a very good footballer.

Originally posted by Undertaker
Wish you guys would stop posting about Duffield, people might start taking notice. He was the topic of discussion at a weekend BBQ thrown by one of the player managers. Some of the notable attendies were, CC, 211, Kerr and a few other draft prospects.
They were trying to keep it all underwraps hoping he might slip through to rookie draft. But I think that is highly unlikely. He is a great guy and a very good footballer.

Sshh...I'm hunting Duffield...

I know we are interested in Duffield and have spoken to him numerous times, I just wasn't sure where to rank him. In the end, I was tossing up between Spencer, Hall and Duffield at 27 but went for Spencer as I think he is probably a better prospect and we do need another key positional player.

I would be delighted if we were able to get Duffield via the rookie draft, but apparently Brisbane have shown interest and I'm not quite certain whether he is worth 27 at this stage. Depends who else is available, I guess.

I know we are interested in Duffield and have spoken to him numerous times, I just wasn't sure where to rank him. In the end, I was tossing up between Spencer, Hall and Duffield at 27 but went for Spencer as I think he is probably a better prospect and we do need another key positional player.

I would be delighted if we were able to get Duffield via the rookie draft, but apparently Brisbane have shown interest and I'm not quite certain whether he is worth 27 at this stage. Depends who else is available, I guess.

IMO Hall is a much better prospect than Spencer and will get taken before him. I doubt that Fremantle and for that matter WCE will take Spencer and Duffield wont be around for the Rookie Draft.

I doubt that Fremantle and for that matter WCE will take Spencer

Why is that, Yakuza?

Duffield wont be around for the Rookie Draft.

Where do you see him being taken? I'm thinking if he lasts past 27 he will go to Brisbane with pick 49? I wouldn't be too disappointed if we took him but I wouldn't want to see us take him at 27 if guys like Hall, Johnson and Spencer are still available.

Why is that, Yakuza?

Where do you see him being taken? I'm thinking if he lasts past 27 he will go to Brisbane with pick 49? I wouldn't be too disappointed if we took him but I wouldn't want to see us take him at 27 if guys like Hall, Johnson and Spencer are still available.

I just think that Freo and WCE are more aware of Matthews limitations having seen more of him.

I am reasonably confident that Freo will take Duffield whether at 27 or before, that is of course if someone else hasn't taken him already. Hall wont be around at 27 but I reckon Spencer will, not sure about Johnson but given that he has made it quite clear that he prefers to stay at home it may make some of the interstate Clubs a bit wary.