• I like the draw

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • Extra time

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other way to have a result (comment)

Votes: 0 0.0%

Extra time yesterday would have been totally unfair to Essendon, who were playing with two on the bench from the first quarter... They managed to scramble to a draw while being completely buggered, but they probably would have been beaten if it had have gone to extra time.

A draw is so infrequent, and yet people get in a tizzy about it every time it happens. Draws are great for the game, and a game should never be decided by who has left more in the tank by the final siren - The goal is to give it everything you've got, and if one team leaves more in reserve than the other, they don't deserve to win because of that.

As many have said many times over, a draw is a result.

I pretty much have to agree with Juss, keep the draw whenever logisticaly possible.

In finals its just not practical because it throws schedules out, etc. Likewise, the Grand Final now needs a winner. I'm in favour of the draw and replay; except that long distance travel is now a string possibility and an extra ten minutes is a fairer way to decide than an extra interstate trip.

Home and Away match: Draw - 2 points towards the campaign, they mean something in the end, it is a season after all.

Finals: Extra time - as it is.

Grand Final: Extra time - I'm a huge advocate for best team on the day winning the flag - injuries and all.

Yep, agree. Whilst it was great to have two grand finals like last year, better to play extra time in the big one, we need to have a winner on the day.

Draw.

After every draw this question comes up.

And people always respond correctly with 'the draw is a result'.

Draws make great replays to watch aswell. I get nervous enjoyment watching the Pies v Saints drawn granny DVD.

The current set up for the draw is perfect, nuff said.

Golden goal (suggested by Nathan Brown)-Stick to fashion mate, terrible suggestion. An unlucky 50m penalty, an interchange infringement, a howling 5 goal wind....all these things are unlucky and can DECIDE a football match, but to actually END a football match due to some of the above circumstances, is terrible.
While we are at it, why not use a round ball, introduce offside, and have a net behind our goals?? Wouldn't this just be a shit way to end a classic like West Coast vs Collingwood in that semi?? final, or Carlton vs Essendon on the weekend

Extra time-Incidents such as Essendons two injuries, which after Carlton had activated their sub meant they were 1 man down + Carlton had a fresh player, effectively putting Essendon down 2 men come extra time. Also, in regular seasons, why do we need a win-loss result? Doesn't affect any other games these teams will play that season.

Keep it as it is-With tradition in our game fast being thrown away, such as Sat arvo footy at the MCG, talks of Coll-Esse not playing on ANZAC Day, and numerous rules affecting interchange; defenders ability to defend; advantage rules etc why not keep a part of the game we all know and love, that has been around since day dot.
If the AFL looked at the reason draws were so flattening, for the players it is because it is basically a loss as they didn't win, and to be happy after not winning would be a bad look.
However, for the supporters, I see it is as the atmosphere after the game has ended. With such high intensity throughout the game normally, and tight finishes, every kick counts, hearts in their mouths etc for the siren to sound and just a lack of response by the players and no MUSIC. So why not play the draw song mentioned on the main board.

As for finals:
Grand final-not just a money making exercise, but tradition. I'm sure the AFL (well, VFL) was all about making money back in the 40s and the 70s...plus if I recall correctly, some money went to charity. Great concept if this happens regularly. Plus extra time and golden goal are just stupid as stated above

General finals and NAB cup matches-only circumstance extra time should be employed, due to teams not being able to play the next week otherwise giving other teams a massive advantage. But still, extra time in these matches, if used correctly (is it 10 minutes each way? I think that's good) is way better then golden goal.

So yeah, I'm a big advocate of keeping it the way it is.

In a drawn game both side should get a point and then extra time for 2 extra points , so each game is still for 4 points , the eventual winner would get 3 points the losser 1 point for a draw.

the afl made 20 million of the 2nd grand final. why would they change the rule