Dropping Murphy and Duffield???

Man Utd, Perth Glory.
Why? Murphy showed promise against the Roos a couple of weeks ago and Duffield has been brilliant in his rookie season; I mean Duffield saw some of the ball last week with 16 touches and Murphy had similar stats to the Roos games minus the goals. Wake up Chris!

Murphy just isn't up to it. Great trade bait, he is a poor mans Leigh Brown. He is slow and has poor anticipation.

Murph isnt quick enough on a lead or strong enough 1 on 1.

Duffield shirks the contest, has he picked up a contested possesion this year? We don't need squibs. Was he the man who Sherman pantsed early on?

docker_johnno said:
Murphy just isn't up to it. Great trade bait, he is a poor mans Leigh Brown. He is slow and has poor anticipation.

Duffield shirks the contest, has he picked up a contested possesion this year? We don't need squibs. Was he the man who Sherman pantsed early on?
I haven't noticed Duffield shirk too many contests. I actually think he is pretty hard at it. He seemed to go into his shell a bit in the Brissie game though, and I'm guessing that is why he left out. He just hasn't been generating enough run in the past few weeks for mine, but I hope he gets another crack real soon.

I really don't know what to think of Murphy at the moment. He's been consistently average so far this year and I can't figure out why. Looks to have all the tools to make an impact but I hardly notice him when he's out there. Very frustrating player to watch at the moment, and I'm guessing he might be getting some ultimatums from the coaching staff soon enough.

docker_johnno said:

Yeah but sometimes you need to stick with players to get the best out of them. Look at Adam Hunter, Darren Glass, Brent Staker. All had flat points and now are up there with the best.

sdb4884 said:
Yeah but sometimes you need to stick with players to get the best out of them. Look at Adam Hunter, Darren Glass, Brent Staker. All had flat points and now are up there with the best.

oh what crap!! we didnt drop medhurst for years, everyone was on connollys back the media, Wc supporters, he now drops players that dont preform and its "give them a fair go" i agree duff was unlucky but murphy just isnt up to it, he is just disapointing he trained the whole pre season as a defender, was useless there we moved him forward where he is a "natural" and he got flogged by the best defender in the comp. as far as im concernd his dropping was expected.

Roundhouse said:
I haven't noticed Duffield shirk too many contests. I actually think he is pretty hard at it. He seemed to go into his shell a bit in the Brissie game though, and I'm guessing that is why he left out. He just hasn't been generating enough run in the past few weeks for mine, but I hope he gets another crack real soon.

I really don't know what to think of Murphy at the moment. He's been consistently average so far this year and I can't figure out why. Looks to have all the tools to make an impact but I hardly notice him when he's out there. Very frustrating player to watch at the moment, and I'm guessing he might be getting some ultimatums from the coaching staff soon enough.

Murphy has poor acceleration and consistently falls behind as a backman or forward at AFL level. This lack of accel. is not a problem for him at WAFL level and consequently he does significantly better. Really needs to work on this area before he gets another go.

Docker Johnno, I think your right bout Duff being a tad soft but thats the problem at Freo theres to many senior blokes that are soft. Poor Duff has a big future IMO but look at his senior team mates, MCarr, Walker,Headland, these are the players that should be getting dropped, not a young bloke with potential trying to make his way.

Murphy's never really been allowed to settle down in a position for a few weeks, kinda makes it hard for him.

Agreed that MCarr, Walker should have gone before Duffield. Barra claimed tonight that Duff pulled out of one or two contests in Brissy, not that I saw, but he was far from the worst on the weekend...

deejay said:
Murphy's never really been allowed to settle down in a position for a few weeks, kinda makes it hard for him.

Agreed that MCarr, Walker should have gone before Duffield. Barra claimed tonight that Duff pulled out of one or two contests in Brissy, not that I saw, but he was far from the worst on the weekend...
Barra also claims that he was once a footballer.
I'm yet to see any evidence to support either claim

Murphy is a bit like Gilmore, the footy gods always seem to be looking the other way. The good thing is they are still young and the odd game here and there keeps their interest because they know they need only perform once and they will more often than not get another game.

Duff has just been raised off the rookie list. Even though he has all the indicators that he is going to 'make it' the match committee must think he needs a break.

Elvis, Wiz and 211 are walk up starts.

So we now have Campbell another strong young bloke getting a run.

M.Carr must be perilously close to a couple of WAFL games.

Webster an emergncey is good sign for him. He showed good form in 2004. His game dropped off last year when his dad passed away. He might now be ready to step up again.

All in all no complaints. All we have to do is win on saturday:cool:

This stuff about Duffield shirking comes as a complete surprise to me. I would have hoped each shirk (alleged) would have been rewarded with a quick trip to the bench.

Was he not dropping back in front of leads or something?

duffield has been slow and soft a bit last week not putting his body on the line ifnront of brown and bradshaw.

Some of the criticism of Duffman is a little unwarranted. I'm not doubting he did shirk some contests, but he's hardly on his own there. IMO he's a player who is normally hard at the ball and the man, and I reckon the match committee are of a like mind. I think he's being dropped because they want to keep him injury free, he could be sore, Sowfs might be getting a few pre-derby nerves, etc. I don't think his form (or alleged lack thereof) is the reason he's not playing. I agree that some of his senior teammates are in the firing line, and are lucky to get a reprieve this week.

Its hard for Spud to make an impact when he is barely given a decent run and has been made to train in the opposite position all pre season. Need to stick with him for a few solid weeks, besides it couldn't make our forward line any more disfunctional.

I don't think we can be critical of the selections for this week with 211, Luke, Wiz & young Campbell having a crack.

Murphy for Campbell seems logical for me...Murph had a shocker last week & though he did kick 3 the week prior he wasn't influential....I like him more at CHB anyway. Campbell deserves a crack.

Duffield had to go on team balance...personally I would have dropped M Carr, but I have no problem with Duffield sitting out this week, he'll back again shortly.