They have beaten,
Roxburgh Park
Westmeadows
Hadfield
Moonee Valley
Keilor Park
Hillside

and lost to East Keilor

Have beaten two of the 2010 finalists...... As I have said earlier should have beaten east keilor who are a good side also beating hillside today....Hillside Are a decent Side who have hAd a tough draw

I dont know about tough draw.

What part of it is tough? Westmeadows and Hadfield? From that list I would say Northern Saints have had a reasonable draw compared to others.

I dont know about tough draw.

What part of it is tough? Westmeadows and Hadfield? From that list I would say Northern Saints have had a reasonable draw compared to others.

Was Talking about hillside.... Edited the post after realizing I may not have made myself clear

I moved from EDFL to NFL three years ago when the divisions were split. absolute brilliant move by the NFL. great to flog sides by 30 goals but if you play for them abviously not. All reports in Div 3 in NFL enjoy footy now and prefer the chance to win games each week rather than turning up knowing they will get flogged each week. B grade is so tight (top eight sides) it would be very interesting each week on who would beat who. Getting flogged can break clubs eg Jacana. I say bring on C grade EDFL!

Amazing what a coach can do to a club. Deeeeeekkkkkkkkaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love the man!

I'm not sure it is the simplistic. Derek has been fantastic for the club, that combined with the last 4 or so years of planning, recruiting, development of young players and hard work certainly has Northern on the right track.

Tulla Westy Umpires where OK young bloke seemed quite good. The week before against Airport West they where shocking but most weeks their Ok they make mistakes but what player doesnt and it is B grade

one of the most sensible things I have ever read on here!

he played for st domenics.....thats where he went to primary school.....heard him do a speech about wanting to resurrect their footy club

Are you needing a lifeline ?????

:D

No, but Jacana is. Me, being a local, well relatively so, and knowing about the troubles they are experiencing, I just thought that it wouldn't be suprising to hear a name such as his, a Broady boy, coming out of the woodwork if things continue to deteriorate down there to lend some support and maybe put some things in place to help get them back on track, especially if he had played for Jacana as a young bloke. It was just a thought I had, and I was curious as to whether he'd had any past involvement.

I've been a part of a club that has gone through very similar circumstances to that of Jacana right now. I was at Maribyrnong Park 9-10 years ago when the club was in dire financial trouble, and on the brink of failing. The seniors were solid because all the money the club had was invested into them, but the juniors through 10's-18's couldn't field teams most weeks, can't remember the number of times we'd have to borrow players from the opposition, and see teams in ages above us forfeit. The remnants of this time were still being felt only a few years back when Maribyrnong's juniors were still building.

After I left they got the right people at the top, who had money and spent it wisely, and who have done a phenomenal job turning that club around and turning them into what they are now.

The outlook is dire for Jacana, but it can happen, and I have no doubt that if they get the right people involved, and soon, they can fast become a very attractive club to play for at a junior and senior level. Obviously, comparing Maribyrnong and Jacana is like comparing a fine wine to Dr. Pepper, in terms of it being an attractive area in which someone would invest into the local football club, but Jacana do have a large demographic of suburbs around them that don't have football clubs to compete with. Broadmeadows, Coolaroo, Gladstone Park, Meadow Heights, Dallas. Even kids from West/North Glenroy are closer to Jacana than they are Sewell Reserve. Gowanbrae also (admittedly though have tough competition).

You just hope that someone with the passion and the money can jump on board, because once a bit of fresh excitement is generated down there, they'll start to entice some quality to get the seniors back on track, and once the seniors start to turn the juniors will quickly want to get involved.

Jacana do have a large demographic of suburbs around them that don't have football clubs to compete with. Broadmeadows, Coolaroo, Gladstone Park, Meadow Heights, Dallas. Even kids from West/North Glenroy are closer to Jacana than they are Sewell Reserve. Gowanbrae also (admittedly though have tough competition).

jacanas juniors arent too bad have won flags in recent times and their under 18`s have been on the verge of finals so in a few years that will pay off.

the hard part for jacana will be keeping their talented youngsters at the club once they reach senior level

hadfield would be a perfect example of a club that has successfully lifted itself off the bottom of B grade that jacana should emulate.

im sure if jacana approached eddy and is schedule allowed he`d MC a trivia night or donate some collingwood memorabilia to sell or something.... has always made a big deal of his broadmeadows roots what better way to give back to the community

jacanas juniors arent too bad have won flags in recent times and their under 18`s have been on the verge of finals so in a few years that will pay off.

the hard part for jacana will be keeping their talented youngsters at the club once they reach senior level

hadfield would be a perfect example of a club that has successfully lifted itself off the bottom of B grade that jacana should emulate.

Jacana's juniors have been quite solid, particularly at 18's level, but having a look the other day, 10's through to 16's they don't have any teams playing above Div. 3 standard and all their teams bar the 18's are sitting last or there about's and getting smashed.

And you are exactly right, they are going to find it hard holding on to juniors.

ATM, they are doing really well to even field side's in my opinion, because if you put yourself in the shoe's of a young kid: A) choosing who to play for when he starts out and B) deciding whether to stay at a club or go elsewhere, in the former scenario what kid is going to be attracted to coming to a club who have such a poor reputation on and off field? and in the latter situation, what kid is going to willingly stay loyal when he's losing week after week and most of his mates in the area are probably off playing for Westmeadows or Glenroy or Hadfield etc who win?

I know when I was at Maribyrnong Park, the best part of being there was seeing 20 odd juniors down at the ground of a Saturday cheering on the seniors because they were decent and it was the only success alot of us got to experience, and it was the only thing that kept alot of young players there.

In the end, for me, as much as I loved that, I was a kid, I was a full- back, and I was sick of losing, and all my mates were off at Aberfeldie or Doutta Stars, powerhouse clubs with AFL players in the seniors, who won premierships.

So you can imagine how hard it will be if things can't change for Jacana in terms of how difficult it is going to be attracting and holding on to junior footballers over the coming years when, at the bare minimum, they don't even have a decent seniors team to go and watch.

i played at hadfield during their bad times and the club lost some very talented kids during that period due to being terrible....some did return though

So you can imagine how hard it will be if things can't change for Jacana in terms of how difficult it is going to be attracting and holding on to junior footballers over the coming years when, at the bare minimum, they don't even have a decent seniors team to go and watch.
I am a senior player at Jacana and like most of our senior players I am in my first year of senior footy our average age is between 19-23.
Its up our group of young players who are fresh out of playing Under 18's to build a future and new rep for this great club. We are clearly having a hard time on game day due to the lack of experience and immature bodies, but they come in time, as we get older our bodies will get bigger and stronger and the experience will defiantly come.
Despite the losses we are suffering no matter how big they may be we are still getting great numbers to training and attitude and moral around the club is positive and upbeat because we know that if we stay focused and work hard the wins will come. All our senior player are at every training session and club function because we are committed to:
A) supporting our club and bringing a new era of positive attitude, mate-ship and good times.
B) Setting an example to the Juniors that we are no longer a bunch of thugs and that we are here to play hard but fair footy.
I agree it is going to be tough holding onto our young guns in the close future because any club that has money will always them to lure them away with money. But if our current senior list succeed in building a new culture that's fun and positive and start having some on field success we are hoping that this can convince them to stay at our club for better reasons than chasing a few extra bucks.
We don't have any hired guns, we haven't brought players like most of the current top teams have we are all local and are there to play footy for the enjoyment and when we start winning everyone will know that its because of the players and committee who have put they're heart's and soul's into the club.
In the end we are still a group of mates that will show up rain hail or shine to play a game of footy 'in the purple and gold. Win or loose come what may they'll see us every Saturday'.
So before you go making claims that we don't have a 'decent' senior team how about you go look at the current top clubs and tell me how many players on they're list aren't playing for money and how many have been with the club longer than 5 years take them away and what are they left with??

kwame`s tips

nthn saints over jacana

apw over glenroy

westy to thump roxy

pacco over hillside

ek over kp

haddy easily over mv

tulla d west coburg in a close one

So before you go making claims that we don't have a 'decent' senior team how about you go look at the current top clubs and tell me how many players on they're list aren't playing for money and how many have been with the club longer than 5 years take them away and what are they left with??

That was a great post, and it is really refreshing to hear that there is still a club out there who have a crop of guys playing for the jumper and playing for their mates. Every club has a few like that no doubt, but few clubs can say they have 22 blokes running out there each week and actually giving a shit about the jumper and the blokes they are beside. Namely in A- Grade.

Mate, I have been a part of the A- Grade set- up at clubs and I loathe it, that's why I got out. The emphasis on money and buying players has really marred what I think suburban local footy is all about. So please, don't take me for one of those snobby types who look down upon B- Grade clubs, because I look at a club like Jacana and revere the fact the players down there really are all about what grass-roots footy should be and used to be.

Never at any stage did I intend in any way to give off the impression that Jacana were a club of "bad people". I was born and raised in the area, and am back around there now. When I said they don't have a 'decent' seniors team, I merely mean't from a results stand- point at this point in time, which you can't really argue with. Granted, the club is young, and re- building, I accept that.

I hope for everyone's sake that Jacana can get back on track, I was merely making the point of comparing Jacana now to when I was at Maribyrnong as a junior and saying that the Lions had a very solid seniors team back then and still couldn't hold onto and attract junior players, so it would be increasingly difficult for Jacana given the seniors are struggling the way they are and the club financially isn't as well off as others in the area.

Loyalty is a magnificent thing in sport, and I applaud blokes like you who set that example to younger people at the club, it is just a shame that it doesn't always register in this 'money- ruled' day and age.

Tulla lead all day today against West Coburg, leading most of the afternoon by 4-5 goals. West came back hard in the last, and the last 5 minutes were a titanic struggle between West trying to score a goal to equal the score and Tulla trying to resist. At the end, Tulla won by a goal 14.13 to 14.7

Was Grainger not playing today?