EDFL moves

caveman said:
I know keilor have been inviting teams to participate in the Night Series in March. They can accommodate up to 16 teams but I have no idea who is going to be in it. :thumbsu:

Does it really matter who goes in it - keilor have the best draw, they make everyone pay money to go in it and they charge people to get in - they win the comp and take the cash....!!

Probably a good comp for other leagues to play in, but there isnt many edfl sides still participating.

Especially when you can play somebody on a saturday for nothing.

Anyone got any information on brenton runnalls, brother of clint(strathmore 2005). has had an offer from edfl clubs doutta stars and aberfeldie and is also being enticed by brother to move to yarrawonga for season 2006.

LittleMan said:
Played against Ash Craig....Great player, What do other rate him?? How much would he get at St Albans??

can confirm ash craig has gone to st albans... in the end, couldnt knock back the money.. however deal is that if he does not feel comfortable the option to return to jacana before the deadline ends is available.

As for mills.. mills is sticking with the jacana footy club.

In other good news for the club watts is fit and rearing to go and jeff frazier has decided to give the flick to the clubs offering money at him and has returned to jacana.

congrats to jacana for keeping majority of the list and the young kids!

Hard Ball Get said:
He would not be the only one.

Can't anyone actually be happy that the Riddell comp are actually getting a former gun junior back into their comp. Matt played at Sunbury Lions before being grabbed by the old Western Jets a few years before the Cannons came in.

A couple of rumors doing the traps from Craigieburn

Jason Pappin supposedley talking to aberfeldie
Shaun Gordon and Ken Ingram heading to Nagambie for good coin
Captain Nolan apprently looking at taylors lakes

Premiership players not happy about the amount of coin going to a couple of recruits from a first divison club. two brothers reportedly on very big coin that in most jobs would put you into a high tax bracket.

caveman said:
I know keilor have been inviting teams to participate in the Night Series in March. They can accommodate up to 16 teams but I have no idea who is going to be in it. :thumbsu:
Nothing to do with the lights as a previous poster suggested. In fact the lights were upgraded about 2 years ago and lighting increased from around 60 lux to 104 lux.
The reason it has not been running is not enough takers. Needs a minimum of 8 and max of 16 teams to run. Caveman is correct invitations have been sent. If it goes ahead first games will be on March 13th.

Footytripper said:

Premiership players not happy about the amount of coin going to a couple of recruits from a first divison club. two brothers reportedly on very big coin that in most jobs would put you into a high tax bracket.

There are sure a lot of Jacana lovers. Caveman, great Premiership analysis and fantastic to be rated highly, but I feel that Marby should be 5-1 and West Coburg 4-1. Glenroy will also be strong, but you are spot on. There is absolutely no certainty in B Grade.
Strathmore evens is more realistic. Especially, with Paul Barnard, Luke Williams and Big Miles QUinn, joining Lindsey, O'Neill, Goggins, Walker, Beazely, Tate, Harvey and O'Brian* as recruits. Eleven guns into a Premiership team. SCARRRY!!!! Also, 18's won the flag.
I honestly would back them to beat Bullants VFL. Big call, but look at the names.
Pappin was as close as ever, but feels he should stay. The Pekes brothers are getting good coin and are part of the walk out of O.Park. The other should stay. Ingram may leave.
Avondale looking very fit - Douttas also strong.
Johnny Bell trained the house down at Marby tonight and so did another
big recruit which will be named next week. Dave Weston you've done it again.
Roxburgh will be better than Sydenham. Grenam and more of Rombotis with the possibility of Ty Zantuck. K.Park are on fire with the recruiting and so are Keilor.

Matthew Pillios said:
There are sure a lot of Jacana lovers. Caveman, great Premiership analysis and fantastic to be rated highly, but I feel that Marby should be 5-1 and West Coburg 4-1. Glenroy will also be strong, but you are spot on. There is absolutely no certainty in B Grade.
Strathmore evens is more realistic. Especially, with Paul Barnard, Luke Williams and Big Miles QUinn, joining Lindsey, O'Neill, Goggins, Walker, Beazely, Tate, Harvey and O'Brian* as recruits. Eleven guns into a Premiership team. SCARRRY!!!! Also, 18's won the flag.
I honestly would back them to beat Bullants VFL. Big call, but look at the names.
Pappin was as close as ever, but feels he should stay. The Pekes brothers are getting good coin and are part of the walk out of O.Park. The other should stay. Ingram may leave.
Roxburgh will be better than Sydenham. Grenam and more of Rombotis with the possibility of Ty Zantuck. K.Park are on fire with the recruiting and so are Keilor.

is there any truth that this big recruit might be Brendan Duncan

Matthew Pillios said:

Matthew. First up love reading your posts. Really do. Very accurate as well. It's amazing what people will tell you hey :) Keep them coming mate. Bit of truth stretching with some of the marby stuff but hey it's your club. The stuff about Garbutt going for the love of his mates is very tongue in cheek. He said his knee would only hold out for 6 games and Allison said that's fine that's all we need you for. He is not taking a pay cut. Personally I'll think he'll play more than 6 games and that Marby has done well.

One interesting thing is his hatred for Allison. Consistantly said if there was one person he'd like to crack it would be Allison. This is a man who coined the affectionate nickname of Dawn Fraser for GA. A term he's known to hate. He also has a love of Crazy Dave K. Should be interesting seeing them to get on. Stan the man will love seeing the big fella down there.

Strathmore have also apparently signed a bloke Hopes from the WRFL. Is a CHF. I think played in the GF. Not sure how good he is. Still hearing that Ogston has left. Same as McKeon and that Maggiorie can only play the first half of the year. Bomber should know. Aaron Thomas was also leaving at some point. Not sure what the story is there. Anyway they will win it by a mile. Will be the greatest chokes in the history of local footy if they don't. It's one very expensive football team.

Matty, Keilor Park won't be any good. They won't be any good b/c of their coach. He is a moron who will take the club backwards. He is a thug & he also has a history of promosing the world and delivering atlas' in regards to money. KP boys should be very wary of this. June may very well be their last match payment. With losses like Misiti, Barcley, Chris Smith, & Brown i think it's the bottom four for KP.

The rest of the comp will be as even as ever. I think Greenvale and Avondale will hold their places but I think Abers could jump up and grab Keilor's spot. Abers have a strong team now with Kemp, Loaf, Huddo, Shep and a few other younger blokes that are more than handy. Has anyone heard if Faraj or whatever his name is is there. I know Keilor have got a few from the SANFL bloke but they are apparently fringe players with not a lot of size about them. They have been quiet though. Matty do you know anyone else they have? They've lost Rabee, Tony, and Towner.
Doutta's will be knocking on the door but the their outs are as big as their in's. The bloke they had from Willy has also gone back. Having said that they should have made it last yr but for the Lock stuff up

Footytripper said:

I would be very surprised if Nolan didn't play at Craigieburn in 2006. Ingram has gone to Nagambie but he played at West Meadows last year. Not sure about Pappin, but went back to Craigieburn from Oak Park to play with his mates and is on good coin there.

Matthew Pillios said:
Roxburgh will be better than Sydenham. Grenam and more of Rombotis with the possibility of Ty Zantuck.

Gday Matty,

I think it is fair to say that both clubs are equal favourites. Marby werent far off it last year and we have both recruited well! As long as on grand final day the mighty West Coburg end up in front! :D

Jett said:
Matthew. First up love reading your posts. Really do. Very accurate as well. It's amazing what people will tell you hey :) Keep them coming mate. Bit of truth stretching with some of the marby stuff but hey it's your club. The stuff about Garbutt going for the love of his mates is very tongue in cheek. He said his knee would only hold out for 6 games and Allison said that's fine that's all we need you for. He is not taking a pay cut. Personally I'll think he'll play more than 6 games and that Marby has done well.

One interesting thing is his hatred for Allison. Consistantly said if there was one person he'd like to crack it would be Allison. This is a man who coined the affectionate nickname of Dawn Fraser for GA. A term he's known to hate. He also has a love of Crazy Dave K. Should be interesting seeing them to get on. Stan the man will love seeing the big fella down there.

Strathmore have also apparently signed a bloke Hopes from the WRFL. Is a CHF. I think played in the GF. Not sure how good he is. Still hearing that Ogston has left. Same as McKeon and that Maggiorie can only play the first half of the year. Bomber should know. Aaron Thomas was also leaving at some point. Not sure what the story is there. Anyway they will win it by a mile. Will be the greatest chokes in the history of local footy if they don't. It's one very expensive football team.

Matty, Keilor Park won't be any good. They won't be any good b/c of their coach. He is a moron who will take the club backwards. He is a thug & he also has a history of promosing the world and delivering atlas' in regards to money. KP boys should be very wary of this. June may very well be their last match payment. With losses like Misiti, Barcley, Chris Smith, & Brown i think it's the bottom four for KP.

The rest of the comp will be as even as ever. I think Greenvale and Avondale will hold their places but I think Abers could jump up and grab Keilor's spot. Abers have a strong team now with Kemp, Loaf, Huddo, Shep and a few other younger blokes that are more than handy. Has anyone heard if Faraj or whatever his name is is there. I know Keilor have got a few from the SANFL bloke but they are apparently fringe players with not a lot of size about them. They have been quiet though. Matty do you know anyone else they have? They've lost Rabee, Tony, and Towner.
Doutta's will be knocking on the door but the their outs are as big as their in's. The bloke they had from Willy has also gone back. Having said that they should have made it last yr but for the Lock stuff up
great analsis of the KP coach,already the promises to one high profile recruit have fallen through and he is off.

Jett said:

yes faraj is down at abers.

PT3001 said:
They would have come with the coach C Gaylard who coached at Braybrook last year.
Will go the knuckle if things dont go his way and will hit from behind played against him and watched it happen many of times.Many in the WRFL think its a bad move by Keilor Park hiring him and are laughing one less thug in the league now.

Finally looks like everyone starting to see what the WRFL and Braybrook football have know for a long time.
Be wary of what he has to say says one thing then does the complete other.

litening said:
Framed a "dummy" market for both A & B grade flag - interested to get some feedback.

Maribyrnong Park - 2/1 Strathmore - EVENS
West Coburg - 7/2 Greenvale - 5/1
Taylors Lakes - 5/1 Keilor - 6/1
Westmeadows - 6/1 Avondale Heights - 7/1
Airport West - 8/1 Aberfeldie - 8/1
Glenroy - 8/1 Doutta Stars - 10/1
Pascoe Vale - 10/1 Oak Park - 12/1
Moonee Valley - 12/1 East Keilor - 15/1
North Coburg - 25/1 Keilor Park - 25/1
Jacana - 25/1 Craigeburn - 33/1
Tullamarine - 33/1
Roxburgh Park - 66/1
Sydenham Hillside - 66/1
Hadfield - 100/1

If money is as important to many Maribyrnong Park blokes as several of you have hinted at thru these pages . . . . would they be better off to lay off against themselves and take the 10/1 on Pascoe Vale? At the end of the day they'd be better off in the pocket again.

Each-way the Ezard led Pascoe Vale for me . . . . . my double is Johnny Taylor to take the goalkicking.

Doona2 said:
If money is as important to many Maribyrnong Park blokes as several of you have hinted at thru these pages . . . . would they be better off to lay off against themselves and take the 10/1 on Pascoe Vale? At the end of the day they'd be better off in the pocket again.

Each-way the Ezard led Pascoe Vale for me . . . . . my double is Johnny Taylor to take the goalkicking.
Big call Doon. Is Meecham still at Pacco?

PT3001 said:
Finally looks like everyone starting to see what the WRFL and Braybrook football have know for a long time.
Be wary of what he has to say says one thing then does the complete other.

mate, you must be a well liked bloke in the wrfl, cause everyone seems to love to king hit you from behind, surely you don't pi$$ that many people off, didn't phil egan coach braybrook last year???????//

rioli brownlow said:
mate, you must be a well liked bloke in the wrfl, cause everyone seems to love to king hit you from behind, surely you don't pi$$ that many people off, didn't phil egan coach braybrook last year???????//

Didnt say he king hit me said ive seen him do it playing against him and watching him get your facts right.