EDFL Premier Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Del28562

I understand your points LB and they have some validity, but they are naive and close-minded considering DP are funded by the Deer Park Club to the tune upwards of $300k a year, it's easy for you, or someone from Keilor(funded by huge Junior Fees) to have this opinion but it's not Reality for the rest of the comp(maybe Abers and Pacco with their big backers)... Local Footy is not the old suburban footy we all grew up with and played/supported with pride of the suburb you grew up in, grew up with team mates and ran out together with a sense of belonging.
Local Footy is dominated now more than ever by clubs in a strong financial position(EFL, NFL, EDFL, RDNFL, SFNL). Time to merge all leagues together and play clubs in grades that fit their performance and financial positions, regardless of their location..
300k give it a rest you have no clue.

Being told they will get done for 2022 and 2023 seasons. Not 2024 season. Will play for no points for the first 2 games this season and a fine.
I would suggest AFL Victoria have a look at 2024 season as I reckon they would be be well over in that as well

Adrian Anderson representing EDFL for a reason so decision is neutral and fits the crime of 162k over for past two seasons ( plus plus ..thanks to the juniors for assisting with their parents hard earned 😂😂😂)
You way off the mark with the figures my friend. And what I am hearing the explanation of how it occurred is very valid. Let’s see outcome but the full story will obviously come out in due course.

But it won’t matter to a lot of people as they have Keilor hung, quartered.and drawn.

And no players have been questioned or gave information to the league. So a lot of remarks here way of pace.

You way off the mark with the figures my friend. And what I am hearing the explanation of how it occurred is very valid. Let’s see outcome but the full story will obviously come out in due course.

But it won’t matter to a lot of people as they have Keilor hung, quartered.and drawn.

And no players have been questioned or gave information to the league. So a lot of remarks here way of pace.
They didn't self report, theyve gone over.

What we want is consistency, Wangaratta is the perfect example of what needs to be done, Dimboola the other. If it's a slap on the wrist, the message it sends is we don't give a stuff about country footy

And no players have been questioned or gave information to the league. So a lot of remarks here way of pace

So the same mistake was made two seasons in a row 😂😂😂😂

Hearing that probably no announcement on any sanctions tomorrow night. Keilor will put their side of the story across and any punishment will be announced later in the week or early next week.

Of course you pay more for recruits.

The entire system is set up to encourage growth from within.

If you don’t have a single senior player that will play for you for less than $300 then there’s something very wrong with your club.

Plenty of clubs have very good homegrown senior players playing for SFA - mostly because they recognise the less they take, the more there is to recruit and bring the club success. And also that it’s simply not worth the time and effort of changing clubs for what is, in the scheme of things, **** all money.

I would get all the money arguments if we were actually talking about people making their living and putting food on the table. We’re genuinely talking about blokes earning $10k more or $10k less over the course of a year if they move clubs to sell themselves. It’s absolutely laughable. It’s not even about money, it’s about ego. If you’ve got players going for those reasons then you’re in big trouble as a club.

An extra $100k a year is less than $5k each for each player. God help you if your players value their footy so much that they’ll **** off when somebody waves five ****in grand under their nose!
Don’t disagree, but the market says otherwise. I’ve moved to a regional area and after a few meetings with some in the know in town, can tell you you wouldn’t get change out of $250k here.

Being told they will get done for 2022 and 2023 seasons. Not 2024 season. Will play for no points for the first 2 games this season and a fine.
talk about a middle finger to all clubs if this is the aflvic sanction.
no deterent to do the right thing
im hopeful the relativly new edfl boss makes a stand on behalf of all the clubs on this.

talk about a middle finger to all clubs if this is the aflvic sanction.
no deterent to do the right thing
im hopeful the relativly new edfl boss makes a stand on behalf of all the clubs on this.
I don’t think anyone ever thought the Edfl would come down hard on keilor
The tribunal is a good example over the years

Don’t disagree, but the market says otherwise. I’ve moved to a regional area and after a few meetings with some in the know in town, can tell you you wouldn’t get change out of $250k here.
There's very few country clubs spending 250k, Chinese whispers can happen and a guy getting 800 is suddenly on 2k from whispers

Country footy is in big trouble because the country in general is in trouble. No population growth, chiefly because there’s no jobs.

The problem with this is that kids can be assholes. If a kid is having a hard time at a club - be it bullying or just simple personality clashes with the in kids at the club - they shouldn't be restrained from moving clubs.
Not just kids, parents often play their part too - which in turn can see said a$$hole child simply become a by product of their upbringing.
Had one child as described years ago, and every time he erred or mucked up I got a parent helper or used myself to go have a kick, do some hot hands, sometimes walk a lap bouncing a football and just chatted.

Took until the 4th time for dad to finally hop out of the car and (initially tried be demanding) but when I explained I was happy to keep removing the child if no parent present, but would never rob him of 1on1 time, or touches of the footy as they too had paid fees - but it wouldn't be to the detriment of other families who's children behave accordingly and deserved a comfortable space to learn.

Never had a problem with that kid again, and to this day is still playing and always says hi.

Yet to meet a child who was born shit, evil or some of the other labels they receive ... quite often through not their own doing.

Mick might have to change his tracksuit due to an accident upon hearing the prospect of an investigation. Hope he went Fila this time as he strikes me as more Italian nowadays. Perhaps he should add an Al Carpone style hat to his attire for the forthcoming season and a little thin mo just above the top lip. In saying that the edfl needs people like Mick.

How could this happen or even be believed or even be close to explained?
Every year the grand final teams are audited as per the rules of AFL VIC.
2022 Keilor Semi Finalist
2023 Keilor Premiers
2024 Keilor Premiers

At the conclusion of 2024 season Keilor are audited and its found they breached in 2022 & 2023 but not in 2024?

And posters are saying no current or past players have been interviewed and Keilor did not self report.

Nope Nope Nope

9. Integrity Review
(a) Player Payment integrity reviews may only be conducted by AFL Victoria Accredited CCSP Integrity Officers.
(b) [EDFL] shall initiate integrity reviews into possible breaches of the Player Payment Rules. A [EDFL], must select both competing Grand Final Senior teams for an integrity review, except where rule 9(c) is applied,

(c) Where a Grand Final Senior team is not selected for a integrity review under Rule 9(b),a [EDFL] must initiate a integrity review into another team in that same competition.

So this would suggest Keilor were not audited in 2023 and were replaced in the audit by another team? Who??

But when audited in 2024 they are found to breach in 2023 and 2022 but not 2024!

2023 Keilor Premiers
2024 Keilor Premiers

At the conclusion of 2024 season Keilor are audited and its found they breached in 2022 & 2023 but not in 2024?

And posters are saying no current or past players have been interviewed and Keilor did not self report.

Nope Nope Nope

9. Integrity Review
(a) Player Payment integrity reviews may only be conducted by AFL Victoria Accredited CCSP Integrity Officers.
(b) [EDFL] shall initiate integrity reviews into possible breaches of the Player Payment Rules. A [EDFL], must select both competing Grand Final Senior teams for an integrity review, except where rule 9(c) is applied,

(c) Where a Grand Final Senior team is not selected for a integrity review under Rule 9(b),a [EDFL] must initiate a integrity review into another team in that same competition.

So this would suggest Keilor were not audited in 2023 and were replaced in the audit by another team? Who??

But when audited in 2024 they are found to breach in 2023 and 2022 but not 2024!
ease up Colombo

2023 Keilor Premiers
2024 Keilor Premiers

Nope Nope Nope

9. Integrity Review

Well Keilor aren't going to say it was from past player involvement, but it has to be doesn't it

Dunno about everyone else, but as a long time football person I'm eagerly awaiting where this lands by the end of the week.

For me (if allegations proven as correct) this is a definite line in the sand moment for local level football, as well being a pivotal period in regards to the actual role AFL Vic plays in grassroots football.

Just hope it's a topic or a storyline that doesn't vanish without an education opportunity to all, or is covered over without clarity ... a la those two nurses from Bankstown Hospital last week, or Sam Kerr the fortnight prior where the world lost their $hit momentarily, but had moved on by smoko the next morning.