EDFL Premier Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Del28562

moral the story go your hardest just don’t be silly enough to get caught.
should’ve done the TAB voucher trck.
Still reigning premiers if the story isnt about 2024

TAB vouchers aren’t a trick, they’re a payment.

If your players dob you in then it won’t help you.

I've got no horse in the race as I didn't play in the EDFL, but I played cricket in the area (so know the clubs).

IMHO, if a club got found in breach of the salary cap and it wasn't self-reported, if you're AFL Vic and/or the EDFL, you've got to go hard to send a message.

1. If any premiership was won during that time of salary cap breach, premiership to be stripped.
2. Fines = Something like reimbursing clubs in your division for league fees during that period of salary cap breach.
3. Club cannot field an Open Age team for THREE TIMES the amount of years they breached the salary cap.
4. When the club is permitted to field Open Age teams again, they must start in the league's lowest division.

Point three might seem strong, such as a team that's breached for two years will have six years of no Open Age football, but it would send a strong message to other clubs - get caught breaching the cap, and your senior program is gone!

A proposal like playing for no points for a season is like being slapped with a wet lettuce leaf. A club's board would see it as a 'down year' (like when your star players get injured), save some cash and get game time into their juniors. They'd then re-load next year with new recruits, plus any juniors that proved themselves during the 'down year'.

WHAT????... A club in the EDFL went over the salary cap, in Premier division, without the league or anyone else knowing. How ??, impossible. And no other clubs went over.
WOW WE, I’m flabbergasted.

It’s like a big kitchen utensils party out there with all the pots calling the kettles black.

Get over it, get on with it, until all comps are even, and all clubs are clean, and someone comes up with a flawless system most clubs will experiment with the systems available.

Just bring on 2025 with Keilor and Mick and all the other clubs that are well over.

No sympathy for those caught cheating but surprised more aren’t. Stands out like a beacon those teams cheating and a disgrace more isn’t done. At the moment clubs simply thumb their noses at officials and you’ll find once a coach does it at one club he will do at others.

WHAT????... A club in the EDFL went over the salary cap, in Premier division, without the league or anyone else knowing. How ??, impossible. And no other clubs went over.
WOW WE, I’m flabbergasted.

It’s like a big kitchen utensils party out there with all the pots calling the kettles black.

Get over it, get on with it, until all comps are even, and all clubs are clean, and someone comes up with a flawless system most clubs will experiment with the systems available.

Just bring on 2025 with Keilor and Mick and all the other clubs that are well over.
😂 clearly a keilor Supporter

there you go rumours addressed you keyboard warriors, just tryna tear down a club, brain dead the lot of yas !
Wangaratta self reported couldn't win the first 3 games of the season, player points dropped and salary dropped, with a large fine and loss of premiership. Keilor zero self reporting, the sanction is at least double. How do they fit their players in the reduced points? What happens to playet payments when their salary is dropped to 80k?

The back peddling by the club and trying to downplay it is poor form. Should have been a statement today.

They will be smashed by afl vic

Wangaratta self reported couldn't win the first 3 games of the season, player points dropped and salary dropped, with a large fine and loss of premiership. Keilor zero self reporting, the sanction is at least double. How do they fit their players in the reduced points? What happens to playet payments when their salary is dropped to 80k?

The back peddling by the club and trying to downplay it is poor form. Should have been a statement today.

They will be smashed by afl vic
Will they? My gut says they won't want the damage to such a big club. Token fine and a couple of games with no points up for grabs will do it.

Simple reality. Those clubs winning or challenging are all cheating the salary cap.

The thing that disturbs me is the pile on.

Pathetic really.
Correct. So like doping find the first non cheater. The end of the day the stupid spending is ruining local football. Any side that doesn't cheat will want them thrown to the wolves.

there you go rumours addressed you keyboard warriors, just tryna tear down a club, brain dead the lot of yas !
0 peat you saying Keilor not going to get done for being over the cap? When the edfl make their announcement your going to go very quiet very quickly

Will they? My gut says they won't want the damage to such a big club. Token fine and a couple of games with no points up for grabs will do it.
That’s the worry, the club is the edfl’s pride and joy. Hopefully they make an example of them

It is very simple here.
Yes Keilor and a few other sides are clearly going over the salary cap, and have been doing it for years.
But the big point here is yes Wangaratta went over and self reported and got what they have got. But this will keep going on and on, unless something drastic is done, and a club is really penalised.
If Keilor are found guilty of this, they need to be punished severely, by getting a big fine and potentially getting severe sanctions that will affect this upcoming season, and how and what this ends up being is anyones guess.
But it should not just be for 1 year, they should lose say 10 points for this first year and then get back 2 every year, so they will be penalised for 5 years for their actions.
The admin who signed off on it need to be banned from attending any games or being around the club for a min of 3 years, and be personally fined 5 - 10K or something like that. I also think the coach must also be responsible for signing off on the payments and salary cap. ( and if people here think Mighty Mick did not know what was going on here are delusional ! )
If all of this is done and the AFL comes out and says in an open statement, that all the grand Final Winners and Runners Up will be audited every year from now on moving forward.
In saying all of the above, I believe the salary cap in the EDFL premier div should go up another 20K min.

If this is done, I am sure most clubs will then all pull their heads in, and the salary cap will work, for it would be too risky for them to take these risks.

And if we are talking EDFL, which has been the most unchanged top 4 or 5 for how many years, is ridiculous, and needs to change immediately.

Do this along with keeping the points, and on top of this cap the juniors to 3 teams maximum, and start zoning the children where they live, and have this policed properly, you will then find all of the competitions start to even up, compared to what it has been.

So that’s your take. Blame the whistleblower not the cheats.
What? Don’t think you understand. Can’t blame anyone else but the club themselves, you want to pay overs then you put yourself at risk for disgruntled players opening their mouths

Lots of comments around massive penalties to the club will send a message to other clubs…

What about banning players?

Would players think twice about accepting payment under the table if their mate is sitting out of footy for 2 years for doing it?
What about just abandon the cap it’s only in place as a token

I believe all premiers are audited

An audit starts with the club submitting their numbers and the authorities independently checking those numbers with all players

So an audit may have kicked this off

Lots of comments around massive penalties to the club will send a message to other clubs…

What about banning players?

Would players think twice about accepting payment under the table if their mate is sitting out of footy for 2 years for doing it?
Think a lot of outlandish statements being made on players and club here with no actual facts reported yet from anyone just a headline.

I think you will find a lot of people blowing this up a lot more than what it is.

Might be a good idea to just hold fire until we get some actual facts from AFL Victoria.

When Chaos gets home from his night shift at Maccas his new figure will be 230k over the cap
Chaos broke the story on here and to be fair he has been correct on his two statements thus far. The last one is the cap… let’s see if he goes 3/3. We are all awaiting official comment to see what the consequences are.