Suspended
May 30, 2009
Etihad or MCG
Melbourne Victory, Newcastle United
Was sitting behind our cheer squad last night (Punt Road End) and heard some active support and songs from the standing area. Just wondering if the club organizes it or what?

I think they were Hawthorn supporters...?

Although didn't hear much from them after qtr time! :D

I think they were behind us at the Carlton game. What a bunch of no-hopers. I don't care who they support. They need to watch the game and shut the **** up, get a haircut, and get a real job.

This.

Remember the one on the way out trying to be my mate? Yes I support the same club as you, but our similarities end there.

Bloody embarrassing lot.

This.

Remember the one on the way out trying to be my mate? Yes I support the same club as you, but our similarities end there.

Bloody embarrassing lot.

i c wut u did thar

The grog squad have been around for years. Basically it's a group where all Essendon supporters are welcome to chant and drink with other Essendon supporter (lot's of Blitzers stand there).

Not an official club organised group, but are louder and better than our 'cheer squad'.

Had a nice song for Fletcher. Anyone knows the lyrics?

On another note we really seem to have very few vocal supporters. Our cheer squad is tiny. I remember chants of Essendon being drowned out at the Freo game by their squad.

On another note again, why do players not run through the banner? Can we not afford another one? I remember a year or two ago, every time essendon played they would play the song "Take a look back, never miss a beat" and when they said take a look back LLoyd would be running out of the banner and looking back menancinigly. That was awesome. The same effect does not work without running through the banner.

Had a nice song for Fletcher. Anyone knows the lyrics?

On another note we really seem to have very few vocal supporters. Our cheer squad is tiny. I remember chants of Essendon being drowned out at the Freo game by their squad.

On another note again, why do players not run through the banner? Can we not afford another one? I remember a year or two ago, every time essendon played they would play the song "Take a look back, never miss a beat" and when they said take a look back LLoyd would be running out of the banner and looking back menancinigly. That was awesome. The same effect does not work without running through the banner.

Avoid the risk of injury, they are bloody tough these days. When you see a player boot a footy at one and it bounces straight back at them, you can understand the concern.

The grog squad have been around for years. Basically it's a group where all Essendon supporters are welcome to chant and drink with other Essendon supporter (lot's of Blitzers stand there).

Not an official club organised group, but are louder and better than our 'cheer squad'.

I would have to agree with you there. Our cheersquad over the past few years has been getting quieter and a bit boring. The grog squad, even if they are drunk seems to make a bit more noise and has had some decent chants etc.

The problem is the cheersquad has sooooo many rules that it has to abide by, and there is a number of cheersquad members who believe it is their duty to tell and enforce these rules to everyone who is in the cheersquad and in the remote area around it, which has lead to people who are cheersquad members not sitting with them, or not renewing their cheersquad memberships..

I'm thinking the bombers cheersquad needs a rejuvenation, maybe find some ways to entice new members into the cheersquad area. I do understand why there are soooo many rules and most of them are put their by the AFL, but seriously, the cheersquad needs new chants that everyone can sing along too...

Yes how dare they have the audacity to actually make some noise for the essendon football club.:thumbsdown:

With shit attitudes like yours its no wonder we get owned every week by the opposition teams fans for vocal support at games despite heavily numbering most clubs.

These guys are a breath of fresh air amongst the sea of mutes who support our club.

Bloody embarrassing lot.

Sorry for having a go, I`ll take responsibility for 90% of the songs, as others have mentioned this group have a crack. When I started going we had the loudest bunch of supporters going around, it`s just insipid these days. Once again I`ll apologise for having a good time, a bloody good laugh and having a bloody good sing.

Yes how dare they have the audacity to actually make some noise for the essendon football club.:thumbsdown:

With shit attitudes like yours its no wonder we get owned every week by the opposition teams fans for vocal support at games despite heavily numbering most clubs.

These guys are a breath of fresh air amongst the sea of mutes who support our club.
Breath of fresh air?

I'm all for being vocal and supporting our great club, but the constant "you are a w***er", and attempts at witty chants to the tunes of well known songs is bloody annoying.

I'm at the footy to watch my team play, and yes I love to hear the crowd get behind us, but what's wrong with "Essendon! Essendon!", "Booomb-errrs!" or the name of a player, ie. "Guuuuumbyyyy! etc"

Sitting there not being able to hear anything except for some drunken bogans swearing over and over, then cheering themselves actually takes away from my experience. These guys clearly get together to practise their little chants, and every time I turned around to shake my head at them, they were all looking at each other and around the crowd (as if to see if anybody was watching), as opposed to the game itself. It reminds me of the film Green Street Hooligans, where what was once vocal support and a diehard passion for clubs soon transformed into a battle of who could psych each other's cheer squad out the most, and inevitably, beat each other to a bloody pulp.

There's supporting your club (vocally), and there's desperate cries for attention at the expense of actually enjoying the game.

Not my cup of tea. Each to their own, I guess.

Breath of fresh air?

I'm all for being vocal and supporting our great club, but the constant "you are a w***er", and attempts at witty chants to the tunes of well known songs is bloody annoying.

I'm at the footy to watch my team play, and yes I love to hear the crowd get behind us, but what's wrong with "Essendon! Essendon!", "Booomb-errrs!" or the name of a player, ie. "Guuuuumbyyyy! etc"

Those chants are a bit boring. What is wrong with having unique chants and/or songs to the tunes of well known songs? Maybe the cheersquad needs to get together with a group of these grog squad members aswell as possibly some song writers(for actual singers), and make up some catchy well made chants/songs that everyone in the area can sing along too... Might bring a bit of fun back to that area... To be honest, half of the cheersquad aren't actually watching the game anyway, as most are taking pictures of each other, or chatting and yelling to each other, or walking up and down the stairs making sure others are abiding by cheersquad rules, even those that are outside of the cheersquad area...

dude. collingwood have the loudest fanbase. doesn't mean they're respected. i can't be more proud to be an essendon supporter. the majority seem far more level-headed than a lot of other clubs around. don't need to blow your dole cheque on boozing it up and trying to sound like a premier league game when it's bloody afl. just cheer like you've got half a brain is all i'm asking.

Here's a little tip.

Most Essendon supporters tend to be like Melbourne supporters - sit on their hands and rarely if ever make any noise whatsoever. We've become a bunch of theatregoers!

Blokes like windy aren't so bad - if anything, it's encouraged to have as many as we can get being with the group as possible - we welcome everyone.

Even on saturday night, the laughs from those sitting in front of us with the Buddy Franklin chants were well noticed (and most of those were Hawks fans!)

To take FFG's point...a few of us have had previous involvement in the CS going back the last 20-30 years. It has been suggested the 2 groups work closer together and efforts have been made...I tried to do it just 2 years ago without success.

Essendon Active Support