Essendon Poaching Bomber

• Thread starter Thread starter rizzo

rizzo

Veteran 10k Posts The Fred Medal Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2014 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2013 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2012 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2011 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2010 Player Sponsor
Everton, Melbourne Heart, Raptors
offered him a 5 year deal worth 3mil

Geelong hasn't talked to him yet

I for one am completely sick of guys like Hutchy and Mark Doran trying to fluff this up to be something more than what it currently is!! Hutchy is doing his usual cr@p trying to bignote himself by saying Essendon offered him 5yrs etc... when I believe Bomber would not have even spoke to them at this stage. He gave the players his word that he would leave his contract negotiations until the end of the year and I believe he would carry through on that. Ofcourse there is every possibility he could leave at the end of the year but to try and say now that he is looking at it now is absolute cr@p!!! Why would Bomber want to leave a club that in theory should have a list which would challenge for the Top 4 for the next 3-4 yrs to go to Essendon who with Hird now gone, Lucas, Johnsons, Lloyd etc... to go in the very near future, they will be along way off for some time yet. It would make more sense for him to look to go at the end of his next contract, not this one!!!! Journalists that try to drum up this sort of cr@p just makes them look completely inept!!!!

Yeah like how his mate Dylan Howard got the @rse from AW on the weekend! He can't take a trick old Howard. Surely his career is disintegrating before his eyes! Is it just me or Caro sticking up for Hutchy alot more recently on FC? She seems to be trying to stick up for fellow journos lately?

I for one am completely sick of guys like Hutchy and Mark Doran trying to fluff this up to be something more than what it currently is!! Hutchy is doing his usual cr@p trying to bignote himself by saying Essendon offered him 5yrs etc... when I believe Bomber would not have even spoke to them at this stage. He gave the players his word that he would leave his contract negotiations until the end of the year and I believe he would carry through on that. Ofcourse there is every possibility he could leave at the end of the year but to try and say now that he is looking at it now is absolute cr@p!!! Why would Bomber want to leave a club that in theory should have a list which would challenge for the Top 4 for the next 3-4 yrs to go to Essendon who with Hird now gone, Lucas, Johnsons, Lloyd etc... to go in the very near future, they will be along way off for some time yet. It would make more sense for him to look to go at the end of his next contract, not this one!!!! Journalists that try to drum up this sort of cr@p just makes them look completely inept!!!!
Seriously, did you even listen to what Hutchy said? He said he believed that Essendon were preparing to make a big play for Thompson, and that he believed the would offer Thompson 5 years and $3mil. He didn't say they had made the offer, in fact he said that as far as he knew, Thompson was sticking to his plans about not talking to anyone (inc Geelong) until after the season was over.

If he is smart, he would knock back that deal. Essendon would probably up the offer $5 million over five years if pressed a little, which I imagine he would take.

Don't forget Blight left us in 95, despite making the Grand Final. And in Blight's case he didn't have other clubs, and certainly not his favourite club, beating down his door offering him huge wads of money. Bomber has already been at the club longer than Blight was. If he wants to move on, fine. We don't rely on just one coach as much as we used to.

Personally though, I'm far more concerend about Egan during this finals series as well as potentially losing a player or two due to salary cap squeeze.

Essendon will flush out as many as possible I believe. It would seem unwise to us for Bomber to take on the role at Essendon but more bizarre things have happened in football! Journos run major scoops on the hint of a rumour - but if Bomber chooses to go I will not be weeping - we should not see him as a Terry Wallace though. He has shown more common sense and discretion with people like Balme beside him than he has since he arrived at Geelong - and we need to keep in mind that he has largely built the current list. One would expect him to take pride in that - depends how we go over the next few weeks.

If he is smart, he would knock back that deal. Essendon would probably up the offer $5 million over five years if pressed a little, which I imagine he would take.

Don't forget Blight left us in 95, despite making the Grand Final. And in Blight's case he didn't have other clubs, and certainly not his favourite club, beating down his door offering him huge wads of money. Bomber has already been at the club longer than Blight was. If he wants to move on, fine. We don't rely on just one coach as much as we used to.

Personally though, I'm far more concerend about Egan during this finals series as well as potentially losing a player or two due to salary cap squeeze.
If I remember correctly, Blight was pushed... Agree with the second part though - Egan is more of a concern than Bomber.

Yeah like how his mate Dylan Howard got the @rse from AW on the weekend! He can't take a trick old Howard. Surely his career is disintegrating before his eyes! Is it just me or Caro sticking up for Hutchy alot more recently on FC? She seems to be trying to stick up for fellow journos lately?
I don't think he was given the flick - just taken out of the public eye (or in the case of 3AW - their ear) - they used some euphemism for it. He has been 'blacklisted' according to some other media outlets. I don't stay up for F classified so rely on BF - and it's often misquoted. Hutchy is a Geelong supporter and a keen one - I don't think he'd do us a disservice by misreporting that might unsettle things in the race to the GF. Dylan Howard is much more provocative and a risk-taker. caro has been making pro-Geelong noises (read that as you like!) all year so don't get onto the "ugly b*tch bit" which so many posters get off on.
Added Tuesday - that Howard was given the sack from 3AW for another indiscretion, not connected with the naming of the offending club.

Honestly I wouldn't be surprised if it is true. Essendon need a list builder and Bomber is that. Essendon would be mad if they didn't try and lure him to their team. The real question remains is Bomber likely to accept their offer? He certainly is reported to be still be a little put out by the review process last year. But watching him in the coaches box on TV during games recently he really looks like he is enjoying his work right now and why wouldn't he. Bomber has always been a man of his word and if he says he is not discussing it until seasons end then he wont. But I don't blame Essendon for having a crack at him at all.

The only thing Bomber is said to not to be thrilled with is the travelling time between home & Geelong. Compared with a crap list that Essendon have, he would be crazy to even consider the position. Nonetheless Frank needs to make him an offer he can't refuse

Would that be a concrete offer?? :cool:

I can't see why Bomber would take it, considering he built this Cats team and the potential for this side to Get Even Better (Tomahawk, Davenport, Grima, Prismal, Djerkera...)

but if he does we would be okay. I reckon Sanderson could take over this side. Bomber's match day coaching has been much better this year and there is no mistake that is because Balme and Sando sit in the box

Alternatively, with the list built, I am sure Cook and Balme would be able to select a good match day coach to take this squad the rest of the way.

Look guys, there are countless reasons why we've improved this year Bomber is merely one of them. The advent of Balme (don't underestimate his influence), a much superior leadership group (everyone acknowledges this is a player driven team) much better fitness team, improved coaching panel (take a bow Sando;))
the tactical influence of Wheadon, terrific run with injuries....... If Bomber can't see the wood for the trees and wants to go to Essendon, let him. The queue for our coaching job would start at Werribee.:)

it would'nt matter that much if he took the bombers job ,,,,,,,,,,with the playing list at the geelong footy club and with good other coach's already there it would be a sweet job even gary ayres could'nt f**k it up for the second time if he stays all good and if he goes dont need to stress its a plum job

I doubt that considering he lives in Geelong. I've heard he's really enjoying this year:) and is not planning on going anywhere.

Go CATS!!

i agree that hutchy is shit and wouldnt have a clue.. it wouldnt be true
but regardless the list isnt everything that a coach has to look at for a job...there are many reasons why bomber would want to return to bomber land, 1. its his first club, there is always a connection between a player and its club and 2. a five year deal? thats the best anyone would ever offer and one that geelong wouldnt accomodate..

there is every reason for bomber to come and coach the bombers despite the differences in list quality..

Think its all going to go down to if we win the flag or not. Still not an absolute Bomber fan but we sure cannot complain about what he has done this year . He has helped build this list & he will not want to leave the job unfinished . The premiership isnt far away & he wouldnt want to see another coach lead us to the flag that he helped build if we dont win it this year.
Win the flag this year and he may just jump ship to his beloved Bombers.