angus6

our team say in 5 years but not adding future draft picks.

B: Welsh, Lee, Slattery
HB: Lovett-Murry, Bradley, McPhee
C: Jetta, Stanton, Dyson
HF: Lovett, Gumbleton, McVeigh
F: Davey, Johns, Houli
R: Hille, Monfries, Watson

Others that could will fit into that team but not sure where or who ahead of is Nash? Neagle? Hislop? Dempsey? Winderlich? Laycock? Ryder?

Obviously the interchange would take four of those guys. Plus other draft picks between now and then. The future doesnt look to bad. Looking at this our priorities would be to draft key position backs over the next few seasons. Who would captain? Hille? Monfries?

I know Hislop should be in there somewhere but where? Would this be the make-up of a premiership team? What would needed to be added if there is something missing?

backline doesnt look good,must draft a back in the rookie draft this year and the draft next year, a few mor equality mids, and maybe a tall foward.

our team say in 5 years but not adding future draft picks.

B: Welsh, Lee, Slattery
HB: Lovett-Murry, Bradley, McPhee
C: Jetta, Stanton, Dyson
HF: Lovett, Gumbleton, McVeigh
F: Davey, Johns, Houli
R: Hille, Monfries, Watson

Others that could will fit into that team but not sure where or who ahead of is Nash? Neagle? Hislop? Dempsey? Winderlich? Laycock? Ryder?

Obviously the interchange would take four of those guys. Plus other draft picks between now and then. The future doesnt look to bad. Looking at this our priorities would be to draft key position backs over the next few seasons. Who would captain? Hille? Monfries?

I know Hislop should be in there somewhere but where? Would this be the make-up of a premiership team? What would needed to be added if there is something missing?

Sheeds will still be coach of the team;)

Id imagine Lloyd will be there in 5 years time....not sure Johns will though unless we draft another key forward.

i think u have the names the wrong way around

No, I dont. Lloyd has enough in him to last Ill go one further n predict he'll kick another 400+ goals during that time. Why? Better supply from the middle....itll shoot in quicker too....Johns is still a query to me. Just not sure I see him as our main target in the future.

I agree with crave,lloyd has the will I rekon to go 4 or 5 more,depending on fitness of course.

Johns hasn't shown us anything yet really...the jury is still out.

Johns has showed us that he can take a strong mark and that 12 games since his debut has seen his accuracy in kicking for goal and confidence improve dramatically.
Time is on his side, playing alongside the likes of Lloyd and Lucas for the next couple of years will teach him heaps. He has a bucket load of improvement still in him IMO.

Our defense post Fletcher and Michael is a huge concern, we need to start drafting some key defenders in the next couple of years.

[QUOTE=don4eva;6321591]Johns has showed us that he can take a strong mark and that 12 games since his debut has seen his accuracy in kicking for goal and confidence improve dramatically.
Time is on his side, playing alongside the likes of Lloyd and Lucas for the next couple of years will teach him heaps. He has a bucket load of improvement still in him IMO.

Our defense post Fletcher and Michael is a huge concern, we need to start drafting some key defenders in the next couple of years.[/QUOTE]

I agree don...but the jury is still out for me on this bloke.

I still cringe at the thought of the first 3 or 4 games he played:o

I hope for our sake he finds the footy and bangs em thru...3 or 4 times a week would be nice.

I agree don...but the jury is still out for me on this bloke.

I still cringe at the thought of the first 3 or 4 games he played:o

I hope for our sake he finds the footy and bangs em thru...3 or 4 times a week would be nice.
Yeah that's fair enough. I reckon he'll keep improving although that's not saying he'll become the next Matthew Lloyd and become a champion of the club. That would be nice though :D

Could go either way.....he just needs half a dozen really good games in a row and his confidence and aggression would skyrocket and hopefully he will be like Barry Hall,flat out and cleaning blokes up on the way thru...he's got it in him somewhere.

5 years is a LONG time in football. If you're going to predict a team in 5 years many of the current players will no longer be there. What you have done IMO could easily be our team at the start of 2008 (assuming injuries to Lloyd and Lucas). Still a good effort mate, and what looks like a great team on paper, I just thought you may have gone with some bolder predictions eg. Lonergan starting midfielder. Ryder over Bradley at CHB. Expect Neagle to develop into a starting HFF. Welsh, McPhee, McVeigh, Lovett no longer at EFC in 5 years time. Bolton still there, starting on the bench... ;)

If Hille is still our first choice ruck in 5 years we are going to have a VERY LONG 5 years!

IMO Ryder and Laycock are not far from our most promising 3 youngsters (IMO) with Gumby...Ryder I feel will be an absolute superstar in time and the one I am looking forward too the most. Laycock has "it", that can be seen. Hopefully his body holds up. Ruck is the area we need huge improvement - and hopefully within 2 years these are our first 2 in the Ruck. Lets face it, at AFL level, as a pure Ruckman, Hille doesnt cut it.

Impossible to do something like this. Good effort - but with the wraps on guys like Hislop, Neagle, Dempsey and Nash, how can they be ignored?

If Dyson or Winda dont stup up significantly this year, I think they may be 2 of the next to be cut. We now have an abundance of these quickish players, and we will need to trade for a strong backline.

These things are hard to do. Who's to say we won't draft more guns in the next few years, trade for someone or get someone in the PSD, a lot can change.
yes very true, im pretty positive that in the drafts before 2011 we would of drafted a few players who would be good enough to get a regular position.

We got Welsh, Dyson, Watson, Stanton, Monfries, Jetta, Hislop, Houli, Davey, Winderlich, Lovett, Lovett-Murray, Hille, Laycock, Johns, Lee, Lonergan, Neagle and Nash all outside the top 10 and traded for McPhee, while the Kepler pick was also traded for.

This perrenial draft raping the Hawks and Blues are doing is no guarentee for success and the myth is a load of crap IMO, my bet is they will not be a bum hair on the Lions 3peat team like little AC suggested.

We got Welsh, Dyson, Watson, Stanton, Monfries, Jetta, Hislop, Houli, Davey, Winderlich, Lovett, Lovett-Murray, Hille, Laycock, Johns, Lee, Lonergan, Neagle and Nash all outside the top 10 and traded for McPhee, while the Kepler pick was also traded for.

This perrenial draft raping the Hawks and Blues are doing is no guarentee for success and the myth is a load of crap IMO, my bet is they will not be a bum hair on the Lions 3peat team like little AC suggested.

Correct:thumbsu: Hawthorn are the worst. All those constant claims of team greatness just around the corner its the older players that win u flags or get u to a GF...not 18yo draft picks.

we'll still kick f.uck through that team.
pretty big statement considering u havnt beatin us by that much each time we have played u this year and last, plus in 5 years time wc will not be as good as they are now unless they get awsome drafts.

Correct:thumbsu: Hawthorn are the worst. All those constant claims of team greatness just around the corner its the older players that win u flags or get u to a GF...not 18yo draft picks.

I haven't heard these constant claims of greatness. Yes some tools believe we will win 3 premierships in the next 10 years but 95% of us don't. Alot of people on bigfooty over react to what the minority of hawks fans say.

Nobby8;6321663 I agree don...but the jury is still out for me on this bloke. [B said:
I still cringe at the thought of the first 3 or 4 games he played:o [/B]

Given he had no pre season and didnt even start running until April it is no wonder his first 3 games in 2005 where nothing to write home about. You cant expect much from a kid with no preperation and no footy for over 18 months.To be honest Sheedy should not have played him.You cant judge him at all on those games.
He showed enough last year. The jury is still out but if he can stay injury free and build his fitness he will be a 60 goal forward. The kid can play but you have to remember he has basicly played around 20 games of footy in 4 years and had a long time out of the game with his hip injury. The only question for me is getting over the constant injuries which keep stalling his progress.

I haven't heard these constant claims of greatness. Yes some tools believe we will win 3 premierships in the next 10 years but 95% of us don't. Alot of people on bigfooty over react to what the minority of hawks fans say.

You're own coach suggested it

He said we had the best young group of tall at the moment, thats nothing outrageous. Of course he is going to say that, he is our coach. Is he going to say, well all the tall players we have drafted lately are average but get excited for the hawks in 07?
The thing where Schwab said we would win the preimiership a few years ago, that was retarted.

haha, its funny how in the same article he compares them to the lions 01,02,03 premiership sides, that gave me a good laugh.