essendon's future team

• Thread starter Thread starter angus6

Johns has showed us that he can take a strong mark and that 12 games since his debut has seen his accuracy in kicking for goal and confidence improve dramatically.
Time is on his side, playing alongside the likes of Lloyd and Lucas for the next couple of years will teach him heaps. He has a bucket load of improvement still in him IMO.

Our defense post Fletcher and Michael is a huge concern, we need to start drafting some key defenders in the next couple of years.

I do agree with you on the time and improvement count, but Im not convinced he's going to fill the void eventually left by Lloyd or Lucas for that matter. He'll provide a great foil for any team short on tall defneders, but most quality full backs will have his measure over the course of an entire game.

If Hille is still our first choice ruck in 5 years we are going to have a VERY LONG 5 years!
IMO Ryder and Laycock are not far from our most promising 3 youngsters (IMO) with Gumby...Ryder I feel will be an absolute superstar in time and the one I am looking forward too the most. Laycock has "it", that can be seen. Hopefully his body holds up. Ruck is the area we need huge improvement - and hopefully within 2 years these are our first 2 in the Ruck. Lets face it, at AFL level, as a pure Ruckman, Hille doesnt cut it.

Impossible to do something like this. Good effort - but with the wraps on guys like Hislop, Neagle, Dempsey and Nash, how can they be ignored?

If Dyson or Winda dont stup up significantly this year, I think they may be 2 of the next to be cut. We now have an abundance of these quickish players, and we will need to trade for a strong backline.

I honestly think Hille will get better as he reaches 30. The guy to some degree reminds me of the old warhorses in Madden and Salmon who both made significant impacts in their latter years.

I do agree with you on the time and improvement count, but Im not convinced he's going to fill the void eventually left by Lloyd or Lucas for that matter. He'll provide a great foil for any team short on tall defneders, but most quality full backs will have his measure over the course of an entire game.

..but lets hope he finds that concentration needed to play at HF. He just needs confidence. I like the way he celebrated his goals this year with aggression. He just needs to find it every week, the inner beast;)

haha, its funny how in the same article he compares them to the lions 01,02,03 premiership sides, that gave me a good laugh.

I laugh at your ability to read things properly. He said that we were modelling our team on brisbane of 01,02,03, not that we were anywhere near as good as them, think before you type dan:thumbsu:

yer,but you've gotta admit that Clacko is full of the usual standard company lines and he is as interesting as listening to Question Time in Parliment.:D

[/I]

..but lets hope he finds that concentration needed to play at HF. He just needs confidence. I like the way he celebrated his goals this year with aggression. He just needs to find it every week, the inner beast;)

Dont get me wrong, I really do hope he proves me wrong and becomes incredible powerful forward that strikes fear in the hearts of any backman. I guess its just my early gut feelings on the guy. Remains to be seen, doesnt it?

Good debate on johns. If he is not our next full forward after lloyd then who is. Laycock? Is Neagle good enough to play full forward? Isn't that were he played in the under 18's? Or will we have to draft someone between now and when lloyd retires?

Dont get me wrong, I really do hope he proves me wrong and becomes incredible powerful forward that strikes fear in the hearts of any backman. I guess its just my early gut feelings on the guy. Remains to be seen, doesnt it?

He's how I hope the forward line might pan out at one stage during the season next year...

Lloyd in the square and leave him there like a Aliaster Lynch.

We either bomb it long to him one out or we pass it to Johns around the middle 50 area and we have Gumby leading down one flank and MJ down the other.

Chuck Monfries in and out of the F Pocket changing on the wing with say Lovett,Dyson,Nash or maybe that Houli. This would free up Lucas to play predominatly in the backline all year and give us that marking power down back we have needed.

I hope that Sheedy plays Scotty in the backine evrey week in 07' and with Mal coming in,our backline could be a wall...if McPhee,Welsh and Lee come good.

Like to see Hille go forward alot and take the marks 40 out.He's a good set shot and will only get better at it I rekon. Both him and laycock can take the big grabs and both are straight kickers at goal.:thumbsu:

He's how I hope the forward line might pan out at one stage during the season next year...

We either bomb it long to him one out or we pass it to Johns around the middle 50 area and we have Gumby leading down one flank and MJ down the other.

Chuck Monfries in and out of the F Pocket changing on the wing with say Lovett,Dyson,Nash or maybe that Houli. This would free up Lucas to play predominatly in the backline all year and give us that marking power down back we have needed.

I hope that Sheedy plays Scotty in the backine evrey week in 07' and with Mal coming in,our backline could be a wall...if McPhee,Welsh and Lee come good.

Like to see Hille go forward alot and take the marks 40 out.He's a good set shot and will only get better at it I rekon. Both him and laycock can take the big grabs and both are straight kickers at goal.:thumbsu:

Scotty has got to be in our forward line, mate. Most opposition backlines wont be able to cope with the workload of having to cover possibly 3 monster talls, then throw in Hille, Laycock, Gumbleton and even Fletcher now that he'll have some freedom to move. Our best defence now is to attack relentlessly....thats how we managed to earn some respect in the later stages of this season, by not being overly defensive...ATTACK, ATTACK, ATTACK!

Our backline was basically just a personnel issue IMO.

Scotty has got to be in our forward line, mate. Most opposition backlines wont be able to cope with the workload of having to cover possibly 3 monster talls, then throw in Hille, Laycock, Gumbleton and even Fletcher now that he'll have some freedom to move. Our best defence now is to attack relentlessly....thats how we managed to earn some respect in the later stages of this season, by not being overly defensive...ATTACK, ATTACK, ATTACK!

Our backline was basically just a personnel issue IMO.

Yep,so many choices,so many combinations of how our game plan could be next year. It must be hard for Sheeds and his gang trying to decide which way to go.Which line up is going to work best.

Maybe Scotty is a bit oldish and might run out petrol playing all day in the BL but I still rekon his marking is more consistant than most in the team...we gotta have a regular in form CHB..?? its our one position we can't just pencil in every week...wish we could

That would be ok if Lloyd was that sort of player. Lynch was a body on body player where Lloyd is a leading player. Playing body on body all the time isnt Lloyds strong point. I think the set up will go with Lloyd leading from the square, Lucas around the 50 arc and Johns being the player who holds the deaper option.I am not exactly sure why you want Lucas to go back given he has just come off probably the best season of his career at CHF. I think there is more chance Gumbleton could see some backline action.

thats what i love about big footy,someone can have the totally different opinion to you,yet i can agree with what they say:D

Don't rekon Lloydy's good at b on b? I think he will be even stronger,sharper and refreshed from a year out, the beast will be let loose.

What about all those hundreds of marks ML takes arms up ,standing still or falling back and takes the pill in one grab while dealing with an opposition player around the square?

But of course,he will be leading up as usual,depends on whos kicking it to him.

I would to see my suggestion played out in those positions but I wouldn't expect it to work all season. Like to see Lucas up forward..hes a gun with that left foot as we all know,but if Lee,Mcphee and Welsh struggle to contain other teams in the BL...bring in Scotty to help out:thumbsu:

thats what i love about big footy,someone can have the totally different opinion to you,yet i can agree with what they say:D

Don't rekon Lloydy's good at b on b? I think he will be even stronger,sharper and refreshed from a year out, the beast will be let loose.

What about all those hundreds of marks ML takes arms up ,standing still or falling back and takes the pill in one grab while dealing with an opposition player around the square?

But of course,he will be leading up as usual,depends on whos kicking it to him.

I would to see my suggestion played out in those positions but I wouldn't expect it to work all season. Like to see Lucas up forward..hes a gun with that left foot as we all know,but if Lee,Mcphee and Welsh struggle to contain other teams in the BL...bring in Scotty to help out:thumbsu:
lloyd can be good at b on b, but he is much better at leading and taking the mark, lucas should stay at chf because in the last 2 years he has been great there and we should let him stay there to see how much better he can do next year. with 3 talls in our foward line the opp coaches will have a extremely hard time trying to match them up. also expect a breakthrough year from johns, i just think that he is our player to watch next year.

Fingers crossed

Id say Dempsey is our 'player to watch' next season. His development will be greater than Johns. Im predicting Johns will be a 30-40 goal a season forward, not unlike any forward the Doggies have had in the past.
Nothing wrong with it, considering he'll be third in line behind Lloyd and Lucas.

Id say Dempsey is our 'player to watch' next season. His development will be greater than Johns. Im predicting Johns will be a 30-40 goal a season forward, not unlike any forward the Doggies have had in the past.
Nothing wrong with it, considering he'll be third in line behind Lloyd and Lucas.

I'm backing Jobe to soar to the title of a "top line" on baller next year.

Had so much exprience this year and took on some big responsibilities at such a young age,just improves with every match..EFC B&F on the cards:thumbsu:

I'm backing Jobe to soar to the title of a "top line" on baller next year.

Had so much exprience this year and took on some big responsibilities at such a young age,just improves with every match..EFC B&F on the cards:thumbsu:
with him, stants, dempsey, jetta, hislop, houli, dyson, lovett, winderlich and lonergan all ruynning through the midfield in years to come, the future doesnt look to bad.

you'd have to say johns made some significant imrpovement in 2006 from 2005 his attack on the ball was far greater and his kicking did improve im predicting him to kick 60-70 goals if he remains injury free come 2008.

People think our backline is weak and id have to agree id be more worried about lee and bradley rather then johns, i guess anthony danihers son comes into calculations next year for us.

you'd have to say johns made some significant imrpovement in 2006 from 2005 his attack on the ball was far greater and his kicking did improve im predicting him to kick 60-70 goals if he remains injury free come 2008.

People think our backline is weak and id have to agree id be more worried about lee and bradley rather then johns, i guess anthony danihers son comes into calculations next year for us.
does anyone else think that this may be the reason that sheedy went with gumby over hansen.

Darcy Daniher also spent the best part of the second half of the year at CHF.

So I doubt he had any part in the decision of who to draft at pick 2.

Any future team will have Kyle Reimers in it. I loved what i saw of this kid in the highlights package on bomber Tv. Very explosive both on the ground and in the air, great hands and a booming kick. He's bottom age so he's got plenty of development left.

Its very early but he could quite possibly be love child worthy...so ricky and jay better continue to improve or they may just get the arse. :D

Its a possibility, but then you'd also have to rely on his accuracy in kicking. I doubt he's an inch on Lloyd's ability for conversion.

does anyone else think that this may be the reason that sheedy went with gumby over hansen.

No I dont think so, if you ask me if I had the choice between a forward and a backman (of the same quality) like gumby and hansen I'd take a forward anyday

and I know how much Sheeds loves a good forward line...