Science/Environment Explaining evolution and natural selection.

• Thread starter Thread starter M Malice

Yes we are.

Next to most nuclear plants or waste dumps. Also in our children from heavy metals in their blood stream. some of which derived from their mother.

site_2_rand_758862377_iraq_babies_150810_m3.jpg

Don't you love evolution as you understand it?
i think this is more of an indictment on a supposed creator if as many believe he/she/it exists.

on the other hand evolution via natural selection has never claimed to be bad or good, right or wrong, cruel or just, it just is, it is a natural process of nature. the universe has no purpose it just exists because it can. if man was to disappear tomorrow the universe wouldn't even register our existence, we would be shaken off like a bad dose of fleas, a mere surface nuisance. on the grand time scale of the universe we have barely been here a split second, any hubris us humans have is delusional.

i think this is more of an indictment on a supposed creator if as many believe he/she/it exists.
Done by people who don't believe in a creator, who believe in evolution.
on the other hand evolution via natural selection has never claimed to be bad or good, right or wrong, cruel or just, it just is, it is a natural process of nature. the universe has no purpose it just exists because it can. if man was to disappear tomorrow the universe wouldn't even register our existence, we would be shaken off like a bad dose of fleas, a mere surface nuisance. on the grand time scale of the universe we have barely been here a split second, any hubris us humans have is delusional.

The British used biological warfare in Australia, thats not natural selection. But they used Darwin to try and say it was. Darwin knew it wasn't, but had no problem with it. Darwin knew there was smarter civilization here and supported its destruction so history wouldn't show his civilization up.

Darwin knew there was smarter civilization here and supported its destruction so history wouldn't show his civilization up.

i assume you mean indigenous australians? i agree they had/have a great handle on how to be one with their environment and to treat it with respect, certainly a lot more than modern man as a whole. we have a lot to learn, for all our possessions and desired celebrity there seems to be an alarming growth in greed, depression, obese people, diabetes etc. in the western world. for all our technology, are we better off?

i do have extreme confidence that the scientific process and further enlightenment will get us to a very good place in the end although i will more than likely not be here to see it.

note- i as an individual can not complain about my lot in life, i have been privileged via an accident of birth/DNA, i am speaking of the planet as a whole.

Are you Australian? This is the age of information, ignorance is a choice. Its a matter of public record (the invasion and genocide here). Darwins opinion on that, in his own books, is very clear.

What does invasion and genocide have to do With evolution?

Yes we are.

Next to most nuclear plants or waste dumps. Also in our children from heavy metals in their blood stream. some of which derived from their mother.

site_2_rand_758862377_iraq_babies_150810_m3.jpg

G'day LG could you be so kind as to post that link about Darwin causing the genocide of Aboriginals.
Cheers mate!.
CC

I was watching a documentary the other night where scientists are now beginning to find evidence to suggest that Viruses and not just Bacteria played an important role in evolution. It suggests that mutating viruses played an important role in programming new species to grow legs, fins, tails, arms etc

would love you to link that here if possible.

What does invasion and genocide have to do With evolution?

Stab in the dark here & a fair old category shift to boot.....But maybe lg is saying we aren't evolving as a species in a humanitarian context?

That Darwin's views on such matters were both backwards & primitive....Just a guess mind.

Stab in the dark here & a fair old category shift to boot.....But maybe lg is saying we aren't evolving as a species in a humanitarian context?

That Darwin's views on such matters were both backwards & primitive....Just a guess mind.
charles darwin- born, 1809. died, 1882. very hard to judge a persons character on the standards of today IMO. i will have to do my research re LGs assertions that he was a genocidal mass murderer and an integral architect of the continuing decline of humanity into his surmised abyss.

He was in fact, afflicted by psycho-somatic illnesses all his life & was somewhat of a hypochondriac.

I like to think of it, as Gods punishment.;)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Darwin's_health

btw why are you so desperate for an invisible hand anyway p35, serious question? the modern proteins in the DNA arent as different compared to the base proteins in an ancient bacteria. It only takes a few mutations to arrive at a modern protein. Mutations are still ongoing, it doesn't need an invisible hand really.

I'm not, it's just the way of all life-forms....There is an invisible life-force within & a physical manifestation without.

We, as human beings, have both a physical body & an invisible psyche....We grasp & apprehend the material world through our senses, but it is our invisible consciousness which 'makes sense' of it all....When that invisible life force departs the body, it rots, decays & dies.

Similarly, our sense of identity remains intact & steadfast (for the most-part), despite every cell in our bodies replacing themselves every 7 years or so....Our identity remains fixed, despite the fact that the entire material world around us, is in a constant state of flux, of change, movement & becoming....That's what makes us human Beings.

And no amount of science or evolution can ever explain away this ghost in the machine....Face it, life as such is a miracle, unable to be replicated or 'explained-away' by man, who is but one of it's manifestations....Science is incapable of dealing with the invisible, conscious, life-force....It is a metaphysical given & a scientific mystery & conundrum; as Dawkins is forced to admit himself.

LOL-Worthy.

you are a nutjob, do you even realise what you posted? then in another thread you posted "dont you love holocaust as you understand it". Why are you here even posting all this conspiracy theory rubbish? we are here to have discussion about science and evolution on some conspiracy crap

I'm not, it's just the way of all life-forms....There is an invisible life-force within & a physical manifestation without.

We, as human beings, have both a physical body & an invisible psyche....We grasp & apprehend the material world through our senses, but it is our invisible consciousness which 'makes sense' of it all....When that invisible life force departs the body, it rots, decays & dies.

Similarly, our sense of identity remains intact & steadfast (for the most-part), despite every cell in our bodies replacing themselves every 7 years or so....Our identity remains fixed, despite the fact that the entire material world around us, is in a constant state of flux, of change, movement & becoming....That's what makes us human Beings.

And no amount of science or evolution can ever explain away this ghost in the machine....Face it, life as such is a miracle, unable to be replicated or 'explained-away' by man, who is but one of it's manifestations....Science is incapable of dealing with the invisible, conscious, life-force....It is a metaphysical given & a scientific mystery & conundrum; as Dawkins is forced to admit himself.

LOL-Worthy.
Yep that seems to be is desperation to believe in a god and what you are saying is "i dont know how life happenend hence is a miracle"
you seem to pick on dawkins' "mystery" quote and turn into your philosophy. Evolution is not a miracle, its self explanatory. No amount of god can explain why are there useless things in our body like Pseudo Genes, ALU's (cancer causing genes) , Junk DNA etc etc. This goes against your "design" argument. Evolution also puts many species at a serious disadvantage.. no designer would do that. Ask yourself why would a designer give us genes which serves no function but to give us cancer? why would a designer create a bacteria 4 billion years ago and then let us evolve for 4 billion years, why not create us like its mentioned in the bible? evolution does not explain how life into being but it does explain life as it is now, so lets talk about what we know (evolution) and not about what we dont know (god). Where do you see god's hands in this "no so perfect" evolution?

Talking about consciouness i would argue its a function of the brain, unless you can prove people have awareness during coma, people have awareness after being hit on the back of the head. Smell touch taste, feelings etc etc are all a function of the brain,so why on earth would we assume otherwise? can a blind person see through his consciousness? or hear if he is deaf? consciousness cannot exist independent of the human body, if you claim it can, please provide me with the evidence.

This is not a religion thread, i will appreciate it if you stick to discussion about evolution only. As i said, there are far more proof of aliens than there is about god.

Btw p35, looks like you are stuck with a lonely dawkins quote for a while, let me give you so some ammo (to take it out of context and use it for your god argument)..since you like to bag scientists when they say something you dont believe in, no scientist in the world have claimed they know anything about the universe. All scientists are fair dinkum when it comes to not knowing what they dont know, spot the difference between you and them (i know it all person :rolleyes: )

from hawking the man himself.

"What still mystifies you about the universe?" Larry King asked.

"Why do the universe and all the laws of nature exist? Are they necessary? In one sense they are, because otherwise we wouldn't be here to ask the question. But is there a deeper reason?" Hawking answered.

http://www.whio.com/news/news/national/stephen-hawking-humans-have-not-become-less-greedy/nrpgn/

Why does proof of evolution disprove the existence of a creator?
IMO it doesn't, see "the god question" thread for more detailed discussion on the existence of a creator.

also in my opinion and many others the onus is on whoever makes an extraordinary claim to prove the claim not on somebody else to disprove it. eg.
claim- there is an omnipresent, all knowing, all seeing, judgemental creator, who provides a residence for our "souls" upon our physical death. if you have any proof for this claim i suggest you post it on the god question thread. anything without evidence is your subjective opinion, nothing more.

IMO it doesn't, see "the god question" thread for more detailed discussion on the existence of a creator.

also in my opinion and many others the onus is on whoever makes an extraordinary claim to prove the claim not on somebody else to disprove it. eg.
claim- there is an omnipresent, all knowing, all seeing, judgemental creator, who provides a residence for our "souls" upon our physical death. if you have any proof for this claim i suggest you post it on the god question thread. anything without evidence is your subjective opinion, nothing more.

well i would say it kinda does, ask yourself the question that why would a creator let us evolve for 4 billion years and not create us instantly? also design imperfections point towards "no creator" hypothesis and can only be explained by evolution as far as i am concerned. Its certainly not the objective truth (nothing is, nomatter what p35 says) but some food for thought. Evolution defies creation in my opinion as stated in the bible.

Why does proof of evolution disprove the existence of a creator?

exactly. for once you and i are in total agreement (shit, the universe might implode!). evolution disproves genesis, but those that think genesis is literal truth are few and far between. this hardcore atheist has no problems reconciling belief in a creator with scientific principles. not sure why so many theists struggle (mostly in the US though, let's be honest).

but you know what they say, it should not be taken literally, as 6 days are six 'godly' days and creation of animals plants etc etc are all metaphors :rolleyes:

what if its true and p35 is going to heaven and we are all hellbound :D
the only way i'll admit i am wrong is if i meet him there, but i am sure all our sins will be forgiven, i hope i go that version of heaven where are all those virgins are.

#heathensunite