Favourite memory as a Carlton supporter

Feb 8, 2012
Publican Baghdad Ritz
Baghdad Bombers
Hi guys this is my 1st thred ever so go easy on me!

This thread is about your favourite memory being a Carlton supporter in general.

My Favourite was as an 8 year old,my father who was a member of the social club organised with the help of the chairman of the selectors at the time Wes Lofts to have the Dominator come down to Edi-Asp and do a coaching clinic and to top it off,when I got home Jezza came over for dinner.

I to this day cannot believe how truly lucky I was.

So I wait to hear other peoples favourite memories.

There are many, but the one that stands out for me is Anthony Koutoufides' 2000 season, never have I seen an individual player absolutely dominate the entire competition with such ease and regularity as did Kouta in 2000. For around 13 or so weeks in succession, Kouta destroyed each and every team he faced, his clearance work was phenomenal, he kicked goals, pinch hit in the ruck, tracked back to defend and take key contested marks in the back 50 and basically did it all, it was as if there were 18 Kouta's on the ground. The game against Sydney is the standout from that phenomenal run and to me it still ranks as the greatest individual performance I've ever seen, not just by a Carlton player play but from any player.
His knee injury against Essendon late in the season cost him the Brownlow and cost us a real shot at the flag, we would have given Essendon a real run for their money.

Two favorite moments as a Carlton fan;

1. Kouta Vs West Coast, Princes Park, 1996. Cannot remember another game where once the final siren had sounded rather than sing the club song the entire crowd broke down chanting for a single player such was Kouta's performance that day.

2. Carlton Vs Geelong, Semi Final, AFL Park (Waverly), 1994. The moment I knew that Carlton was going to walk away with the 1995 AFL Premiership.

This is oh so easy, and I suspect most supporters in the over 50 age group would be similar. As a wide eyed 9 year old in 1970, I watched the arch enemy in Black and White destroy us in the first half.

At half time Ronald Dale Barassi gave his edict to move it on, handball at all costs, brought on Ted Hopkins and fired them up. Jezza's mark, Crosswell's dominant performance, all of our greats.

The siren putting an exclaimation mark on our 10 point comeback victory is my greatest Carlton football memory. We all hunger for no. 17 after our time in the wilderness, suggest it may rival '70, but nothing will surpass.

Probably the second semi at VFL Park in 1979. We were playing North who had been our nemesis for years, been a tight low scoring first half, then in the 3rd quarter we went utterly bunta. Sellars kicked a goal up the small scoreboard end that put us 40 odd points in front, yet I've never heard a crowd so quiet, it was as if the realisation that we were good enough to play in a Grand Final had suddenly dawned on us all. A surreal moment.

Most satisfying win was probably the '82 grand final, everyone hated our guts, we had been murdered at the tribunal after the Hawthorn final, Richmond smashed us in the Second Semi, then we had a war against Hawthorn in the Preliminary. Rod Austin gave Matthews a bath, then got injured at training on the Sunday morning. We went out and kicked 2 goals in the first 2 minutes of the gf, then Jess put Kenny Hunter into orbit, and Richmond went the knuckle, Kenny Sheldon sat Robert Wiley on his arse during an all in, we gutsed it out, Bosustow kicked the sealer which I reckon landed somewhere near Bridge Road and got home by 19 points against the odds.

I am old enough to have enjoyed Premierships from 1970 on but my best moment was beating Collingwood in 2008 to end a losing streak that was equal to our all-time worst before the match (14 in a row I think). Nobody gave us a chance, especially my 3 Pies supporting mates with whom I had travelled from Tassie especially for the game.

We won and we won well, with Fev kicking 8 from memory and Cam Cloke the best of the Clokes on the day in probably the best game he played in Navy Blue.

I teared up when the team song played at the end. It was quite literally the day we reached the light at the end of the tunnel. And here we are now eyeing off a crack at the flag...ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Bottom tier of the old Ponsford Stand behind the goals about three rows from the back, as a 9 year old, belting out the Carlton theme song half way through the last quarter of the 1995 grand final.

Simply awesome!:thumbsu:

I am old enough to have enjoyed Premierships from 1970 on but my best moment was beating Collingwood in 2008 to end a losing streak that was equal to our all-time worst before the match (14 in a row I think). Nobody gave us a chance, especially my 3 Pies supporting mates with whom I had travelled from Tassie especially for the game.

We won and we won well, with Fev kicking 8 from memory and Cam Cloke the best of the Clokes on the day in probably the best game he played in Navy Blue.

I teared up when the team song played at the end. It was quite literally the day we reached the light at the end of the tunnel. And here we are now eyeing off a crack at the flag...ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Great game!

Epic atmosphere. Sadly I've only witnessed the one winning final (last year's) at the actual stadium and that along with watching Walker take his grab on Carlisle is in my top 3.

1995 will remain my #1 memory until we win #17, but the '99 Prelim ranks as the most surreal experience as a Blues fan.

The sheer emotion of pipping the hated Essendon was incredible, I was on cloud 9 until GF day.

While winning the flag is infinitely better, I've probably never been prouder of the CFC and what it represents than what I was that day.

1995 grand final day, I remember finding a Geelong footy in our friends back yard before the game, kicking it around then sitting down to watch Carlton tear Geelong a new one and how every single player that day just played excellently.

Lack of the comeback game vs Essendon in Round 3, 2007 is surprising. Fev kicked 8 and I remember everyone giving it to Lloyd after he got in Setanta's face after kicking a goal in the second, putting them 8 goals up before that changed in the second half. Skinny kicked a couple of belters from memory keeping us in it.

Not so coincidentally, my favorite memories have been either against Collingwood or Essendon, such as the aforementioned Round 4, 2008 game against the Pies to end our losing streak, the Walker mark/ Eddie 8 goal game, and of course the Elimination Final, also unfortunately the only winning final I've been to.

The first hammering of Richmond in Round 1, 2009 was also great :D.

Nothing will surpass when we get number 17 though...

Got two, the 1995 Grand Final, got there really early to sit in the second row on the wing in the AFL Members, just know we were going to win.

And obviously the 1999 Prelim. I had copped it all week from my Scum mates, and I took one along, sitting on the fence on the wing. Watching Kouta run past us (on the wing) to mark in the goal square in the last quarter. Twice. Dog's tackle, and the sheer elation in ruining the Scum's year.

99 Prelim for me!

One of the best days ever and sitting in the MCC members as a 23yo was just unreal after standing in line since 9am to get a seat and a moment that will live for me forever. I doubt i will ever forget that game and the elation when the final siren went.

I have seen a few flags in my lifetime and as good as they are this 99 prelim still rates above them for me. I think the underdog factor coupled with an awesome Kouta and Bombers fans around me cursing after all but booking grand final tickets before they had even played us while lining up was icing on the cake.

The amount of Bomber fans arguing on the seats they wanted for the Grand final while waiting to get in was amazing considering they had not beaten us yet and i distinctly remember muttering this under my breath and the rest is history. ;) :D

Can remember it like it was yesterday still TBH! :thumbsu:

Off Twitter. Good on you for taking the time George.

George Donikian
@BigFootyBlues 1995 for a start !

@GeorgeDonikian That's a great start George. We have so many to choose from though

GeorgeDonikian
@BigFootyBlues You better believe it,and more to come !

I was only 4 years old in 1968 so I dont really remember that one... the 1999 prelim was special... seeing Wallis running into a brown dog and get brought down made my year... I was bouncing all around the house for days after that.

2000... the year of the Kouta... until he did his knee that is... it makes me wonder what would have happened had he not done it. Whether he would have followed up in 2001 with a second brownlow back to back

You liked Richmond and Essendon flags? Very accommodating Dram.

I know what you meant. The funny thing is that our finals losses in 1980 and 1985 were two that upset me the most.

was distracted at work... sorry... will sort it out :p

and typing with two fingers coming back from dislocations is a bit tricky... dont have full movement in them yet...

The 1980 1st SF loss to Collingwood particularly hurt. I still have visions of Peter Moore winning possession of the ball late in the game, just in front of Rod Ashman, & then running away from Ashy, taking a couple of bounces in the process. That fairly well summed up where we were at under the coaching of Percy Jones. Despite having a quality list, we were poorly prepared.

Back on topic, my favourite memory as a Carlton supporter came in 1974 when I first went to a game at Princes Park. Having been limited to watching the Blues on the Big Replay up until that time, it was an absolute thrill to finally go & watch a game live. To actually see the Heatley & Gardiner stands up close. To see the scoreboard, which was updated by the operators almost before the ball went through the "sticks". To finally see the players run out onto the ground in the Navy Blue & White (remembering that we still had black & white TV transmission back then) was the ultimate. To top it off, we spanked Geelong by 73 points that day. A perfect day.

Some favourites:

1992: Collingwood Centenary game on a Thursday night. Went with my dad, uncle, cousin (probably only time ever went with all of them). Blues spoiled the party. Kernahan kicked 7. What a hero.

1991: Carlton beats previously undefeated West Coast by 3 pts at Princes Park. Streamed onto the ground at the siren with 10000 other fans. Someone hit Karl Langdon. Awesome. I met Jon Dorotich in the middle of the ground. :)

2008: Carlton beats Collingwood to end that shocking run of losses. For me signalled the end of our darkest period ever. I teared up with relief :eek:.

As a single moment...Round 22, 1994 at Princes Park.

I'm sitting on the 50, 3 or 4 rows back and Braddles does this;

[YOUTUBE]sYxHkayZurg&feature=results_main&playnext=1&list=PL0028D3BE381A438F[/YOUTUBE]

God I loved Braddles. Everything about this goal is awesome; his poise, the 1-2 with Macca, Jakovich just missing the ball, the goal umpire's moustache.

Shame about the rest of that year, but it did steel us for 95...:thumbsu:

Favourite memory as a Carlton supporter