Catter

I realise this may have been discussed to death, but after the whole redevelopmet of skilled stadium, do you believe that finals will be played there in the future?
PS: What will be the capacity once the studium is complete?

i would like to think that they would consider it for clubs like fremantle and port adelaide. but with the mcg and ethihad only an hour up the road i dont think it will happen. capacity would have to be 40,000+ at least, probably more like 45,000+. from memory after the ross drew redevelopment capacity will be at 34,000.

Tried to find images of the new Drew Stand development. Any links someone might know about?? Can someone take some snaps and post???? The GFC web site should have updates. And the geelong Advertiser despatch a reporter to print a story. This redevelopment is significant. Proud Cat supporter.

in a perfect world it should happen. whether it's fremantle, port adelaide or even collingwood, we have a home ground, we have a home ground advantage, and if we're the higher placed team we shouldn't have to travel an hour up the road to play at someone else's home ground.

in reality, it won't happen. with the MCG's contract and the 'banking' of games, the AFL will be keen to keep ahead of the ledger, besides, i think that docklands has a contract guaranteeing them any finals games in victoria that aren't at the MCG.

The AFL would be the only nation-wide competition in Australia where teams who are entitled to play home finals aren't necessarily given that luxury depending on what the capacity of their home ground is.

In the NRL, A-League, NBL, Sheffield Shield (or whatever it's called nowadays) and even the netball, those teams who are eligible to play home finals do get to play in front of their own fans. However, the AFL only sets the finals agenda so they can increase their bottom line.

I'll never forget the '97 finals series when we had to play the Roos under lights on a Sunday night at the MCG, at a ground and time-slot which favoured the 7th placed Roos more than the 2nd placed Cats, as it would have been highly unlikely families would've made the trek up the highway to support the side as their kids would've had school the next day, and the Roos at that stage were probably the night footy specialists. What advantage was that to us?

If we were fortunate enough to earn a home final and were drawn to play Carlton or Collingwood at Skilled Stadium, that'd be a huge advantage for us as they never play down here. Unfortunately, that will never happen while the AFL place profits over team performances.

If finals were held at Skilled Stadium, what would the breakdown in tickets be? Would Geelong's members get first rights, or would the opposition club receive a similar size allocation?

Didn't Brian Cook say not that long ago that after the next stage of re-developments (not the current redevelopment) that we would be expecting to have home finals at skilled although only when against interstate teams?

I'm sure i read that in the paper although i have been unable to find the story so can't confirm it. Although really against an interstate team how can they deny us a home final at skilled after these re-developments are complete?

I'll never forget the '97 finals series when we had to play the Roos under lights on a Sunday night at the MCG, at a ground and time-slot which favoured the 7th placed Roos more than the 2nd placed Cats, as it would have been highly unlikely families would've made the trek up the highway to support the side as their kids would've had school the next day, and the Roos at that stage were probably the night footy specialists. What advantage was that to us?

to this day the angriest i ever got at the footy was at this game. above reasons contributed to that. Disgraceful fixturing

+ 2.

The week after didnt exactly help matters either. :rolleyes:

(Oh i will sooooo not let 1997 go. Ever. :D)

yes i'm with you on that

I felt like punching a hole in the wall after that 97 SF. Then again i was a typical emo teenager back then as well, haha

Capacity after Ross Drew (Premiership) stand will be about 30,000. Ablett Terrace/Ford Stand/Brownlow stand will bring it to 35-36,000. Go to Austadiums and there are a few articles about it.

For pics and more info, try the "redevelopment" thread.

Tried to find images of the new Drew Stand development. Any links someone might know about?? Can someone take some snaps and post???? The GFC web site should have updates. And the geelong Advertiser despatch a reporter to print a story. This redevelopment is significant. Proud Cat supporter.

GetAttachment.aspx

Haha, exactly what I was going to say. The week after was worse, although thankfully I wasn't there like the previous week.

That season will always drive me nuts.. I always say it was the one year that when we were a genuine contender, there was not a certain better side like the WA Rep State sides (Excluding Toby) in 1992 and 94.

I was not at either game however watching the second in WA with just me and a crows supporting mate was so much fun..

For several years later I use to yell when a certain slow has-been North player took a mark in defence "You can blow the whistle so easily now..."

Haha, exactly what I was going to say. The week after was worse, although thankfully I wasn't there like the previous week.

Same here. I was at a friends 18th. Her family were all Geelong supporters, so I got to watch the game on TV there. Lucky me. :rolleyes:

:(

Same here. I was at a friends 18th. Her family were all Geelong supporters, so I got to watch the game on TV there. Lucky me. :rolleyes:

:(

Creepy - I was also at a mate's 18th - and all of his family were Cats fans so the game was on in the background there too!

Lol. Didnt happen to be in the NW Suburbs of Melbourne was it?!? :p

Oh wait "his".. my 18th was a "her".

Lol. Didnt happen to be in the NW Suburbs of Melbourne was it?!? :p

Oh wait "his".. my 18th was a "her".
Haha, would you believe it was? Nuts, about 300+ people turned up before everyone was thrown out.

18th's huh? Sadly they're all 30th's now :(

Haha, would you believe it was? Nuts, about 300+ people turned up before everyone was thrown out.

18th's huh? Sadly they're all 30th's now :(

Lmao... yeah mine wasnt as full on as yours tho. After being demoralised watching the semi final, I sat on the steps outside sipping on a West Coast Cooler (hey i was only 17 :o), and people gave me shit about the footy til i decided I couldnt take anymore and went home. :(

And yeah I turn 30 next year.

To hold finals skilled needs Lighting and more development to upgrade old stands. Collingwood never plays down there :(

How many people actually want a finals game at geelong?

There is no way that they would meet the demand for tickets and lots of fans will be pissed off.

Personally i reckon keep finals at MCG or Docklands so taht more people can get in.

Personally i would love to see finals at Geelong as a geelong fan BUT realistically it cant happen because at the end of the day we want more fans to get in as possible.

If we were playing Port or Freo and our capacity was 40 000 then defo we should have the game at Geelong but otherwise no