Finals Sub.

Axl the great

Hey Guys.

Was thinking today about MM's comments about player selection in finals and his comment was "In finals you cannot make a mistake" refering to players who are only borderline fit enough to play.

Then i started thinking about who we should use as the sub/subs in our finals games assuming we make the Grand Final, it will make for very interesting discussion who our fellow board members think should be in that role.

Do we pick the same guy each week like a super sub impact player?
Do we mix it up and go with somebody different each week? or do we simply pick our 22nd player eg: Fasolo, Blair, Goldy?

IMO its a very tough call, i am leaning towards having an impact goal kicker/mid as the sub but that is gambling also as we may cop an injury to a key back or heaven forbid our Ruckman early in a game.

One thing i think you will find though is the sub player will be used a lot earlier in finals than has been in the regular season by the team that is behind in the game due to the stakes on the line., teams will panic and use a sub before a lead blows out im sure of that.

Assuming all our players are fit it should be very very interesting to see which way we go in using the sub rule and all the teams in the finals for that matter.

With Didak being the sub the last couple of weeks, got me thinking maybe Mick is grooming him for the role...?

3 finals games. I would say Blair will be for sub for 2 of them, and Krakouer for the other one. Maybe Beams.

Surely Didak is too good a player for sub.

He would be sensational for sure, but he's best 18 for mine.

Reckon Fasolo has been the best sub, if he gets best available 22 on the day, otherwise Goldy is very versatile and would be good.

Blair would be good, Beams but they'll be in the 21 you'd think.

I wouldn't be surprised if Krak was the player who was subbed off late in the third quarter. Might be for a Fasolo or a Blair. Dids could also be in Krak's boat depending on match fitness, form and the role he is to play on the day.

With Didak being the sub the last couple of weeks, got me thinking maybe Mick is grooming him for the role...?
Hmmm not sure mate, Mark Neeld said with him coming back from a decent layoff in Adelaide then playing at Etihad they thought that would be the best way to go for Dids.

He also said he was not far off being match fit, I would prefer him starting personally if he is 100% but if not even at 90% would be a better sub than most especially a Goldsack for example, IMO the sub in a final must be able to impact the game if things are going bad, Goldy i would have starting 21 on current form but not as a sub.

It would have to be someone who is fit and not underdone in case they had to be subbed on early. I think Didak will play a full game or close to it this week and should be right by the finals fitness wise. Someone like Fasolo, Blair or even Macaffer could be subs.

Fasolo or Goldsack would be the logical choices.
No way would MM make Dids the sub for the finals.
Even though he hasnt been in sparkling form,he would draw one of their better defenders to him because of his ability to turn a game in a five to ten minute burst.
Our opposition would much prefer to see Didak with the Vest on at the start of the match than a Fasolo or Goldsack.

Surely Didak is too good a player for sub.

He would be sensational for sure, but he's best 18 for mine.

Reckon Fasolo has been the best sub, if he gets best available 22 on the day, otherwise Goldy is very versatile and would be good.

Blair would be good, Beams but they'll be in the 21 you'd think.
Blair and Beams can impact a game from the get go, Blair can kick quick goals in tight games for us, and Beams finals record is damm good, this kid is a star and i would not have him as the sub no way in hell.

Fasolo looks like he could be the man maybe Krak, but as i said in my OP barring injury i reckon the sub will be used as early as half time by the team that is behind.

Most of the names thrown up in here are about right I think, and I don't think we'll have the same sub every week of the finals, it will change due to who we are playing, and who we have available.

I love the idea of Fasolo as the finals sub, but I think he'll be squeezed out of the 22 by the returning Dawes, Toovey, Wellingham and Shaw.

My no.1 pick is Jarryd Blair, he can play both midfield and forward, and is tough enough, quick enough and skillful enough to make an immediate impact when subbed late.

Plus if we get an injury and have to activate the sub early, Blair can fill the numerous roles as stated above.

I'm picking out of what I consider to be our best 22, so names like Buckley, Fasolo, Rounds, Goldsack (if Maxy is back) don't come into consideration for me.

Most of the names thrown up in here are about right I think, and I don't think we'll have the same sub every week of the finals, it will change due to who we are playing, and who we have available.

I love the idea of Fasolo as the finals sub, but I think he'll be squeezed out of the 22 by the returning Dawes, Toovey, Wellingham and Shaw.

My no.1 pick is Jarryd Blair, he can play both midfield and forward, and is tough enough, quick enough and skillful enough to make an immediate impact when subbed late.

Plus if we get an injury and have to activate the sub early, Blair can fill the numerous roles as stated above.

I'm picking out of what I consider to be our best 22, so names like Buckley, Fasolo, Rounds, Goldsack (if Maxy is back) don't come into consideration for me.

Keep it simple. Last runner picked should be the sub.

Beams no. He plays his best football early in matches when the pressure is at its most intense. Frenetic football brings the best out of him so he'd be wasted as the sub.

If we're gong for versatility with pace then maybe Ben Johnson?

FWIW I have a feeling the club might use Maxi as the sub, just so they can bring him in even though he might not be best 22 at the time the finals are on.

3 finals games. I would say Blair will be for sub for 2 of them, and Krakouer for the other one. Maybe Beams.

3 finals !!! Holy shit we have not even played in our first final and you are discussing the 3..

Lets win the first final game before we starting talking about winning a second final and playing in a 3rd final.

3 finals !!! Holy shit we have not even played in our first final and you are discussing the 3..

Lets win the first final game before we starting talking about winning a second final and playing in a 3rd final.

Geez, only the most pessamistic of fans would suggest we wouldn't play three finals... As it stands we are guaranteed to play 2...

Maxwell won't be sub - he doesn't offer run relief that the sub needs to. Nor does Goldsack. The sub doesn't need to be versatile, the sub needs to come on and be able to make an impact in the midfield (or forward line).

Johnson is a chance as well (as previously mentioned).

Blair and Beams can impact a game from the get go, Blair can kick quick goals in tight games for us, and Beams finals record is damm good, this kid is a star and i would not have him as the sub no way in hell.

Fasolo looks like he could be the man maybe Krak, but as i said in my OP barring injury i reckon the sub will be used as early as half time by the team that is behind.

Fasolo won't be in the team. We will pick our best 22, and then pick the sub, not the other way around.

P.S Beams finals record is damn good? Did you miss both Grand Finals last year?

I think it will really depend on the opposition and our tactics.

I highly doubt the sub will be a tall as that would impede our running ability and rotations in what are the most intense and physically demanding games of the year.

If we were to lose a key position player in defense we can restructure with some quality medium sized players that can play that role. Up forward we have gotten by with one key forward for several weeks now.

Jolly and Cloke would be difficult to replace if they were to go down but that would be bad luck. You would be losing more picking specific players as a contingency than picking a player who fits in tactically.

Guys on the fringe of selection or coming back from injury are likely to be the sub. Fasolo, Macaffer, Didak, Goldsack, Blair etc.

The hot topic right now for me is who are our best 22. I couldnt see johnno subbing on, he's far too good a ball getter and can help set up a win if an opponent chooses to throw the kitchen sink at thomas and pendles. For mine Johnno starts and can interchange through the middle and on the wings with our top notch mids.

I have goldy in my best side, macaffer missing out surely by now, max wont come back and i rate the fas real high right now. In close, he's an absolute ripper, and can set up outside players beutifully, he's strong, he can take a specky, he kicks truly, etc etc.

My best 22 has Krak missing out. I think blair busts his gut more than krakouer. I know krak is a champ and can evade players. I honestly think krak and blair are fighting for the sub spot. I'm torn but like blair more, maybe its his height and the fact that he's an against all the odds story. come to think of it, krak is an against the odds story as well. What if we fuse Blair and Krak's bodies together for one day. Buttifant could work it out. Apologies to Krak and Krak lovers (pun intended).

Oh yeah, Didak starts for mine. have noticed an unselfishness in him in the games he's been subbed on in recent times that i never thought was possible. he's also done some real fast passing (see the port game especially) (I know it wasnt much of a challenge playing them), but he seems to be thinking of himself as a master creator up forward, or its been coached into him or something.

Fasolo won't be in the team. We will pick our best 22, and then pick the sub, not the other way around.

P.S Beams finals record is damn good? Did you miss both Grand Finals last year?

Bro, the sub is in the best 22. You mean we will pick our best 21 and then the sub, yeah?

If fasolo takes a few more speckies this week, boots another five in a game, does he still miss?

We have a plethora of "defenders" and with Heater and Tooves coming back in, I see Goldy as the perfect Sub. He is tall, yet quick and agile and he can play almost anywhere, although he is more a backman.

We have plenty of midfield options if we lose a midfielder early, so a Blair or Beams or Sidebottom can go into the midfield if we lose a first choice midfielder.

If we lose a defender he slots straight into defence.

If we lose a forward, he can still go onto a back flank and a Johnson or Shaw can push up to the wing and let Daisy go forward.

They way i see it, Goldy is the perfect swingman....and in my opinion he is probably the 22nd player anyway.

We have a plethora of "defenders" and with Heater and Tooves coming back in, I see Goldy as the perfect Sub. He is tall, yet quick and agile and he can play almost anywhere, although he is more a backman.

We have plenty of midfield options if we lose a midfielder early, so a Blair or Beams or Sidebottom can go into the midfield if we lose a first choice midfielder.

If we lose a defender he slots straight into defence.

If we lose a forward, he can still go onto a back flank and a Johnson or Shaw can push up to the wing and let Daisy go forward.

They way i see it, Goldy is the perfect swingman....and in my opinion he is probably the 22nd player anyway.

Good post.
That makes a whole lot of sense.
p.s: Maybe you should give David Smorgan a ring about the upcoming vacancy at the Dogs.:D