Opinion Financial impact on structure of Port, the AFL and long lasting Covid issues

We should be pushing for at least 2 games.

We need to get rid of Koch, Cardone and KT when dealing with the AFL re the PB's. They have about as much punch as being hit by a wet lettuce leaf on this issue.

The members will be keeping Port alive especially if they don't ask for their membership fees back. The club has to reward the members by getting more games guaranteed with the AFL that we wear the bars more often and AFL has to tell Collingwood to piss of.

The PB's are a revenue driver for the club. When this thing is over we tell the AFL stop denying us our history and our opportunity to wear the bars and making more revenue which means we don't have to draw down on your loan as much.

In 2021 we should be allowed to wear the bars to celebrate every different premiership associated with an significant anniversary of a flag, so that we have a different logo on each time we wear one and the memorabilia nuts will buy every different one

In 2021 we celebrate 1921, 1951, 1981, 1996 25th anniversary and 65th anniversary 1956, flags

So that is 4 maybe 5 games, if a 65th anniversary is considered as significant as a 75th, different years are put somewhere above the heart on the jumper of which year we are celebrating that game, and if you want that year anniversary you buy that version jumper.
You can celebrate the anniversary of a flag multiple times for the next 20 years or more.
Be they 10, 20, 25, 30, 40, 50, 75 or 100 years.
Also Champions of Australia trophies, etc
It may never end 👆

You can celebrate the anniversary of a flag multiple times for the next 20 years or more.
Be they 10, 20, 25, 30, 40, 50, 75 or 100 years.
Also Champions of Australia trophies, etc
It may never end 👆
20 years? Try the next few centuries. I put this in the BringBackTheBars thread last August. It repeats every 10 years. That 6 in a row was a beautiful thing.

25th, 65th, 75th, 125th

2016 1906, 1936, 1956, 1996, 1951
2017 1897, 1937, 1957, 1977, 1992
2018 1928, 1958, 1988, 1998,
2019 1939, 1959, 1979, 1989, 1999 1994, 1954.
2020 1890, 1910, 1980, 1990 1995, 1955,
2021 1921, 1951, 1981, 1996, 1956,
2022 1962, 1992, 1957, 1897,
2023 1903, 1913, 1963, 1998, 1958,
2024 1884, 1914, 1954, 1994, 2004, 1999, 1959
2025 1955, 1965, 1995,

Email AFL chair Richard Goyder sent to every club member. Someone now has a database of potentially 1.1 million people's email accounts.

March 31, 2020

Dear Supporters,

This is an unprecedented time in the history of our country, impacting on every aspect of our lives, both personally and professionally.

In order to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic, we all need to play our role in helping to slow the spread of the virus and to ensure we flatten the curve to reduce the impact on our hospital facilities and the medical system for the sake of everyone’s wellbeing. We owe our health professionals a great debt for their selfless service to us all.

As we have said before, footy is a game but not the main game. The main game for all of us remains ensuring the safety of everyone - families, friends and the wider community.

While this is one of the biggest challenges to face the community, this is also one of the biggest challenges to face football in more than 160 years.

At every level of the game, from the 18 elite AFL clubs down to community football and Auskickers, Australians are currently unable to play and watch the game we love, severely limiting the ability to be part of the footy clubs and communities that are so important within our lives.

Which is why I want to assure you the AFL Commission and Executive, led by myself and Gillon McLachlan, will protect our game at all levels. From the 18 AFL clubs, to the 14 AFLW teams, to State leagues and the community game, footy will be back when it is the right time to be back.

For the time being, we have needed to reduce costs at AFL level, at our AFL clubs and across the states and territories dramatically, without regular revenue coming into the game, and this has been extremely difficult for everyone involved but we are conscious that this is not an easy time for anyone in the community.

With the support of NAB and ANZ as funding partners, we have been able to secure the funding that we need to enable continued operations, that will ensure that all parts of the game are protected for the longer term. It is a very important step and I want to thank NAB and ANZ while also acknowledging the AFL and our clubs still have a long way to go and a lot of work to do. 

Our clubs have made difficult and hard decisions, while our players have stepped forward to show their support in taking salary cuts and agreeing to the flexibility that will enable us to run a season. Everyone is aligned and united in taking the actions to get through and I want to thank them sincerely for their response.

In my regular contact with the club Presidents, as well as those Commissioners and Presidents who are part of the AFL Council created to address this situation, the commitment by all to the future of our game has been both strong and reassuring.

We will come through this period together because of this united approach.

All stakeholders across the industry – players, coaches, clubs, staff, corporate and broadcast partners, members and supporters -- are united in doing everything necessary to ensure the game we love remains strong for every level of the community across the country.

We have had great support from our major partners and broadcasters who have backed us to work our way through this. Our game thanks all of those partners and broadcasters who share our values.

And although our Toyota AFL Premiership season might look a little different when we return to play, it will still be there for football supporters. It might mean we have to watch from our living rooms for a while, but your club colours are just as important as if you were sitting in the outer.

Whenever we return, I am hoping the footy this season provides you with a sense of normality and joy but right now the major focus of all clubs and the players is that our supporters and staff and their families continue to follow the guidelines to stay safe and healthy.

We will make it through this together.

Together as clubs, together as states and territories, together as community leagues, together as a football community.

Above all, I want to sincerely thank club members and supporters for the way they have backed their clubs, understanding the difficulties they are facing.

This time has reconfirmed once again that the passion of our supporters is the lifeblood of the game and that the game cannot prosper without you. Your clubs are equally concerned about your health and wellbeing as fans, so please look after yourselves and follow the safety messages.

This game has so much history and is so important to thousands of communities across Australia and millions of football supporters. One of the great strengths of our game is how it brings us all, from our various backgrounds together. This unity in diversity is and will continue to be important.

Our commitment is to protect the long-term viability of our game at all levels. At the end of the day, those of us with leadership responsibility in our game will continue to lead us through this, but we – with you the supporters – are stewards of this great game. All of us together. And it is what we create together that makes both AFL and AFLW what it is today.

This remains a complicated and evolving situation that reminds us that we are all part of a broader society with a responsibility to look out for one another.

We encourage you to visit both afl.com.au and your club’s website for the latest news, updates and features to stay connected to the game.

Finally, I want to assure all supporters of all clubs that the AFL and the 18 clubs are facing this challenge together, and that all 18 AFL clubs will come through the other end. Together.
ei
Richard Goyder, AO
Chairman, Australian Football League Commission

Note the following paragraph in Goyder’s lengthy message:

And although our Toyota AFL Premiership season might look a little different when we return to play, it will still be there for football supporters. It might mean we have to watch from our living rooms for a while, but your club colours are just as important as if you were sitting in the outer.

This means it is the AFL’s current intention to, at first, resume matches in empty stadiums.

Ergo, the ‘Prison Bar Showdown’ will not be, cannot be, in round 2.

From Caro's article Friday arvo for yesterday's paper.

The AFL will impose full franchise type rules - do as head office says and you have little room for variation.

The AFL will assume unprecedented control over its clubs as part of the revolutionary new rescue package put forward on Thursday night to the 18 club bosses.

In a receivership model that will essentially turn league chief Gillon McLachlan and the AFL Commission into the competition's banker, clubs unable to meet cash-flow demands will now borrow funds previously deemed extra dividends from head office. The move has left the financially stricken clubs disappointed and demanding to understand how the gap will ever be narrowed between the rich and the poor. It has also left several clubs seriously questioning the future of their AFLW teams.

In a series of developments over the past 24 hours it has emerged:
  • Only four clubs - West Coast, Richmond, Hawthorn and Collingwood - could potentially survive a football-free season without borrowing from the AFL.
  • A handful of clubs will need extra funds within weeks to address their cash-flow crisis.
  • The clubs were taken aback to learn they will have to cover their players' seven-figure marketing costs for 2020 - a decision strongly questioned by Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett on behalf of the clubs.
  • The AFL could further cut football department spending beyond the forecast $3 million and turn the soft cap into a hard cap.
  • Several clubs fielding AFLW teams are seriously questioning whether they can afford to continue in the national women's competition given the dire financial circumstances at a time they could be forced to cut their second-tier teams and academies.
  • McLachlan will also instruct the clubs to agree to a new cap on club administration costs in a bid to force all 18 businesses to cut more staff and additional costs.
  • While the clubs can loan money from the AFL interest-free until the end of October, borrowings after that will acquire interest charges of 3.3 per cent.
  • Wealthier clubs choosing not to sign up to the receivership model will pay a penalty should they require funds at a later date.
The final draft agreement was drawn up and delivered to clubs on Thursday night after significant disquiet among board members across the competition concerned at the implications for club directors.

Further divisions emerged with clubs questioning the unfairness of the debt-free financial circumstances of Gold Coast and Greater Western Sydney, which are funded each year to the tune of roughly $25 million respectively.

Should the football season commence by early August the prevailing view is that Essendon, the Western Bulldogs - which recently sold off a large parcel of gaming machines - and potentially Adelaide retain sufficient cash flow to survive without borrowing from the AFL's $600 million pool.

The fact that only one-third of the 18 clubs boast bank balances that could take them through to the end of July has underlined the false nature of the profits announced by the majority of the clubs at the end of last season.

The bullshit finally catches up with clubs. Maybe head office can start imposing reporting requirements on them like ASX forces listed companies to report the bottom line first and then announce the one offs.

Reckon we might fall into the - A handful of clubs will need extra funds within weeks - category.

From Caro's article Friday arvo for yesterday's paper.

The AFL will impose full franchise type rules - do as head office says and you have little room for variation.

The AFL will assume unprecedented control over its clubs as part of the revolutionary new rescue package put forward on Thursday night to the 18 club bosses.

In a receivership model that will essentially turn league chief Gillon McLachlan and the AFL Commission into the competition's banker, clubs unable to meet cash-flow demands will now borrow funds previously deemed extra dividends from head office. The move has left the financially stricken clubs disappointed and demanding to understand how the gap will ever be narrowed between the rich and the poor. It has also left several clubs seriously questioning the future of their AFLW teams.

In a series of developments over the past 24 hours it has emerged:
  • Only four clubs - West Coast, Richmond, Hawthorn and Collingwood - could potentially survive a football-free season without borrowing from the AFL.
  • A handful of clubs will need extra funds within weeks to address their cash-flow crisis.
  • The clubs were taken aback to learn they will have to cover their players' seven-figure marketing costs for 2020 - a decision strongly questioned by Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett on behalf of the clubs.
  • The AFL could further cut football department spending beyond the forecast $3 million and turn the soft cap into a hard cap.
  • Several clubs fielding AFLW teams are seriously questioning whether they can afford to continue in the national women's competition given the dire financial circumstances at a time they could be forced to cut their second-tier teams and academies.
  • McLachlan will also instruct the clubs to agree to a new cap on club administration costs in a bid to force all 18 businesses to cut more staff and additional costs.
  • While the clubs can loan money from the AFL interest-free until the end of October, borrowings after that will acquire interest charges of 3.3 per cent.
  • Wealthier clubs choosing not to sign up to the receivership model will pay a penalty should they require funds at a later date.
The final draft agreement was drawn up and delivered to clubs on Thursday night after significant disquiet among board members across the competition concerned at the implications for club directors.

Further divisions emerged with clubs questioning the unfairness of the debt-free financial circumstances of Gold Coast and Greater Western Sydney, which are funded each year to the tune of roughly $25 million respectively.

Should the football season commence by early August the prevailing view is that Essendon, the Western Bulldogs - which recently sold off a large parcel of gaming machines - and potentially Adelaide retain sufficient cash flow to survive without borrowing from the AFL's $600 million pool.

The fact that only one-third of the 18 clubs boast bank balances that could take them through to the end of July has underlined the false nature of the profits announced by the majority of the clubs at the end of last season.

The bullshit finally catches up with clubs. Maybe head office can start imposing reporting requirements on them like ASX forces listed companies to report the bottom line first and then announce the one offs.

Recon we might fall into the - A handful of clubs will need extra funds within weeks - category.

And with the PB's being a revenue raiser, then all the more reason to grant us a measly two games every year in it.

About time the clubs took back control. Shut down the corporate overhead of the AFL and distribute the proceeds. Go back to the old days. Clubs running things and no corporate overhead
That's something unthinkable at AFL House. They listen to that and all they hear is chaos, bankruptcy, and the complete doom of Australian football.

About time the clubs took back control. Shut down the corporate overhead of the AFL and distribute the proceeds. Go back to the old days. Clubs running things and no corporate overhead

AFL house is massively bloated. Billion dollar tv rights deals and how much of it is going to the boardroom?

We should be pushing for at least 2 games.

We need to get rid of Koch, Cardone and KT when dealing with the AFL re the PB's. They have about as much punch as being hit by a wet lettuce leaf on this issue.

The members will be keeping Port alive especially if they don't ask for their membership fees back. The club has to reward the members by getting more games guaranteed with the AFL that we wear the bars more often and AFL has to tell Collingwood to piss of.

The PB's are a revenue driver for the club. When this thing is over we tell the AFL stop denying us our history and our opportunity to wear the bars and making more revenue which means we don't have to draw down on your loan as much.

In 2021 we should be allowed to wear the bars to celebrate every different premiership associated with an significant anniversary of a flag, so that we have a different logo on each time we wear one and the memorabilia nuts will buy every different one

In 2021 we celebrate 1921, 1951, 1981, 1996 25th anniversary and 65th anniversary 1956, flags

So that is 4 maybe 5 games, if a 65th anniversary is considered as significant as a 75th, different years are put somewhere above the heart on the jumper of which year we are celebrating that game, and if you want that year anniversary you buy that version jumper.

The Kochmeister is clearly subservient to Eddie Everywhere, we need someone in the president's role with much bigger cajones than him to drive the PAFC's agenda.

Heard Kochie say on a podcast yesterday that 14% of our revenue came from the China initiative which surprised me - had no idea it was that high. Doesn't paint a good picture of where our finances would be at right now.

Is he counting stuff like the MG sponsorship in that figure? I just don't believe anything Koch says at face value.

The Kochmeister is clearly subservient to Eddie Everywhere, we need someone in the president's role with much bigger cajones than him to drive the PAFC's agenda.
This - along with the obvious conflict of Cos Cardone. How can he possibly be on the board of PAFC when his master is the president of collingwood.

Keep your bullshit detector up whenever listening to Koch. MG coming on board will change the equation compared to the last few years, but I note when MG was announced that both Koch and KT played down the China component of that and said its all Oz market reasons. Andrew Hunter resigned 2 days after that. Coincidence?

Read this and tell me if you think 14% is even close?

Keep your bullshit detector up whenever listening to Koch. MG coming on board will change the equation compared to the last few years, but I note when MG was announced that both Koch and KT played down the China component of that and said its all Oz market reasons. Andrew Hunter resigned 2 days after that. Coincidence?

Am I reading this correctly that our total revenue was 58mil? So that means 8mil of that was from China?

Do you think it might be (moving forward) be in the best interests of the AFL to get a better financial deal out of the Adelaide Oval for the two clubs? To be more financially stable, lets face it, it's not like the pie couldn't be divided differently.

Of course it would, but its not the AFL that has to bang heads, but its the owner of the ground and has signed over management rights who has to do it. If there is a force majeure clause in all the agreements between the government and the SANFL and SACA its relatively straight forward to say we have renegotiate the deal for the next 5 years.

Am I reading this correctly that our total revenue was 58mil? So that means 8mil of that was from China?
$58m is the revenue figure we earned in 2019. We wont be earning that in 2020.

We didn't get $8m out of China that is shown in the club's 2019 accounts. MG only signed up in mid January 2020.

Is he counting stuff like the MG sponsorship in that figure? I just don't believe anything Koch says at face value.

I very much doubt that it includes MG because of how recently that deal was signed. For anyone interested it was the Equity Mates podcast near the end, talking to Koche on 20th March this year.

The specific quote by Kochie was "13% of our revenue comes out of China after 4 years", so I'm not sure what is being included or what isn't and whether hes considering the 4 years as a whole.