Opinion First Captain under Walsh?

All they said is that Walsh ruled out van berlo, and now it goes to the players for a vote, channel 9 just believes Walker is the favourite.

Seems like I was pretty close to the mark then, re: the delay being because Walsh was tossing up whether he was going to play van Berlo enough for him to keep the job
Seems like you were 100% wrong. I bet VB plays every week but isn't captain. VB didn't get the most player votes regardless..

Exactly, he reminds me alot of Jono Brown too.
Should be a great Captain for the club, I'm excited by the changes so far.
Congrats Tex, well deserved
You're saying it like it's confirmed. I don't see anything on the AFC website.

Seems like you were 100% wrong. I bet VB plays every week but isn't captain. VB didn't get the most player votes regardless..

If the players had chosen someone other than VB they wouldn't be going through this public process of ruling out VB, and then saying it might be Walker *wink* but the players need to ratify it first.

Supports my theory more than anything else, but you stick your head in the sand.

If the players had chosen someone other than VB they wouldn't be going through this public process of ruling out VB, and then saying it might be Walker *wink* but the players need to ratify it first.

Supports my theory more than anything else, but you stick your head in the sand.
The players chose somebody other than VB but go ahead and believe your original fantasy:) The channel 9 bit was speculation the club hasn't said anything. The players were informed Tex was captain today - purely Walsh's desicion.

I know for a fact the players chose somebody other than VB or Tex but go ahead and believe your original fantasy:) The channel 9 bit was speculation the club hasn't said anything. The players were informed Tex was captain today - purely Walsh's desicion.
So the players voted Sloane or danger?

Or Thommo ;)

Tex is an inspired choice as captain and Walsh is doing it his way. Exciting season coming up!
Did the players vote for the captain as well as the leadership group?

Voting indeed thommo as captain is silly as we need someone for the long-term.

I know the players chose somebody other than VB or Tex but go ahead and believe your original fantasy:) The channel 9 bit was speculation the club hasn't said anything. The players were informed Tex was captain today - purely Walsh's desicion.
Walsh had said the entire time that the players wouldn't pick the Captain, he would. Not a massive surprise to hear the players may have voted elsewhere like Sloane or Danger. Any of them would have been able to handle the job IMO.

I'm starting to think VB was always on the chopping block. Surely this entire process won't be repeated next pre-season. What would happen if the new captain isn't voted into the leadership group next year.

Starting to think? He was never going to be skipper this year.

Tex is an inspired choice. Love it.

VB will focus on playing footy and help develop the young squad imo

The timing seems ideal all round. VB gets to concentrate on his own game and recovery and it's just about the final nail in the Trigg era.

4262950-3x2-940x627.jpg

Heard this on the weekend from someone who should know...glad CC has all but confirmed it. Fantastic choice and a massive step forward in the way we operate.

However I think some are underestimating Danger suggesting this means he's all but gone.

Agree, wrote something similar on other thread about people's assumptions on danger

Loves the club and City, leaves nothing out on the field for the club, extremely close to Roo, his family has develop close relationships with the club and Danger continues to take rookie players under his wing

Peoples branding of Danger as selfish is appalling in my books and these same people have made easy assumptions that no captaincy no Danger

I'm actually more confident in him staying given that we haven't made a West Coast / Judd decision

I'm firmly of the belief that Danger wants success at AFC however he wants to see the material impact of the changes before signing

The players chose somebody other than VB but go ahead and believe your original fantasy:) The channel 9 bit was speculation the club hasn't said anything. The players were informed Tex was captain today - purely Walsh's desicion.

Gonna keep on assuming you're making shit up because the false prophet position during trade month is already filled.

Peoples branding of Danger as selfish is appalling in my books

He is a selfish player on the field though, it's just the style of player he is. Didn't want him as captain, but at the same time I don't think he's going to cut and run because he didn't get the captaincy either.

Gonna keep on assuming you're making shit up because the false prophet position during trade month is already filled.

He is a selfish player on the field though, it's just the style of player he is. Didn't want him as captain, but at the same time I don't think he's going to cut and run because he didn't get the captaincy either.

NTR

Can't agree, a little protection will go a long way, plus at times I want my good players to be selfish

Tex's first job as new AFC captain is sitting Danger down and saying, mate you know that thing I said if Tippo left, well I will follow through with it this time if you ain't signed and delivered by the bye....am I joking Danger? I grew a mullet for a bet...you be the judge.

Would absolutely love to see Tex be captain, he is just the sort of player that I reckon would relish the role and take his game to a new level.

Danger I just feel would maybe put too much pressure on himself and could be a bit distracting for him.

Either way, BRING ON THE SEASON!!!! CROWROOLUTION BEGINS!

Another step in changing the perception based image of the club