Oct 24, 2006
Arsenal FC
Fit Bombers ready to take on Crowsjavascript:history.go(-1);

A FIGHTING-FIT Essendon is relishing the tough round-one assignment of taking on Adelaide on the Crows' home turf, says coach Kevin Sheedy.

After missing all but three games of 2006 with a hamstring injury, skipper Matthew Lloyd will be back for the AAMI Stadium match on Sunday week.

Experienced midfielder Jason Johnson (toe) and veteran Scott Camporeale (ankle), who both had injury-interrupted seasons last year, are also likely to play.

Sheedy said his side was happy to take on the Crows early in the season.
"We have been training really hard and the players realise it is a top game to start off the season and get one of the away games out of the road straight away," he said.
"The past two years we have travelled over to Adelaide with some injuries and we have ended up getting our backsides smacked.
"But this year it is them with the injuries so we will go over there with a plan of how we want to play, which is the way we have played over summer."

Sheedy said the early loss of Lloyd last season had a huge impact and to have him back in the line-up to face the Crows was a massive boost.
"It's quite amazing when you lose a good player (like Matthew Lloyd) that you just don't realise how great a player they are until they're not there any more and you're trying to work out how to get goals," Sheedy said.
"Probably the impact of losing a good, experienced player for half a year or more and a couple of good talented young players like (Jason) Laycock and (Jason) Winderlich and throw in a Camporeale, it just threw us out a lot."

He said supporters shouldn't expect miracles, with the club, which finished second-last last year, targeting the mid-season to hit its straps.
But after a positive pre-season, Sheedy said the Bombers were buoyant.
"We've played a pretty good style of footy over the last five or six weeks.
"We've put a lot of work in place to get this right and have a good season this year because we've had two ordinary years and we want to get back into being an excellent footy team again."

We're still missing guys like JJ, Nash and Laycock who would be in the 22 if fit.

i'm not sure that nash is in our best 22

he hasn't really had too many standout games

he's not ahead of mcveigh, welshy, slats, mj and lov-murray

Nash seemed surpisingly big last year against St Kilda, he showed he could play that game and i have him in my best 22 when fully fit.

i admire all of your enthusiasm, but guys, really, we are playing friggin' Adelaide in that ****ehole called AAMI Stadium.

We can only hope we don't get smacked by over 100 points. Adelaide tend to show no mercy whatsoever to us are their bitches.

We can't play interstate and we certainly can't play there. Thanks for the dream draw as usual, AFL.

i admire all of your enthusiasm, but guys, really, we are playing friggin' Adelaide in that ****ehole called AAMI Stadium.

We can only hope we don't get smacked by over 100 points. Adelaide tend to show no mercy whatsoever to us are their bitches.

We can't play interstate and we certainly can't play there. Thanks for the dream draw as usual, AFL.

Well if our players think that we may as well forfeit.

We couldn't be playing Adelaide at a better time and although it will be a hard game to win, i think we have a reasonable chance and if we are not at least competitive i will be very disapointed.

We can't complain about our draws, or anything else for that matter.

No more excuses. just wins......

for what it worth i think the bombers will get them. and my hard earned is going on them should be at odds

Slattery and Welsh for one, Lovett-Murray isnt exactly a shoe in back their either.

welshy has been a solid defender for years and he has become a scape goat.

slats is better than nash and he also can be pushed into the midfield to tag.

while lov-murray's run will be very valuable. his height also gives us greater flexibilty.

i don't mind nashy and i reckon he will be a good footballer for the club, but i don't think he has done enough just yet.

To be honest, I don't even know how often Adelaide will score 100 points.

Without Hentschel, McGregor, Ricciuto and no Biglands to help give the Crows first use of the ball I'm quite confident that we won't get smacked by over 100 points!

fair point, but adelaide rarely allow more than 10 goals at aami.

in saying that i'm not like some of the people here that think it will be good if we lose by less than 10 goals and all that crap.

i think we have a good chance but adelaide are still the strong favourites. this may not be a bad thing though. if the boys go over there with a nothing to lose attitude who knows what could happen.

You negative b@rstard...

Rd1 mate...no need for doom and gloom.

Crows are lacking atm...not their best side playing.

We will beat the f-ers.

if we can score 90 points it will be enough.

their forward line has been hit by injuries, whilst fletch and mal should be able to cover welsh and bock.

fletch will be very happy that mcgregor and hentschel aren't playing.

Nothing would delight me more than having Essendon score a win over there first up.

But honestly, how many interstate games have we won over the past 5 years??

Our record aint pretty outside of the greatest state in the greatest country in the world.

They may restrict us, but their avenues to goal are severely limited at the moment. As long as we stop them in the middle, this is our best chance yet of toppling them @ AAMI

Fit Bombers ready for Crows