Rabbitoh

Rabbitohs, Sowfs, Man U
We all love Pav. He is a Champion player with champion skills. But..
One aspect of his game was very disappointing.Very.
Chris Mayne was having a blue with two larger Brissie defenders and , surprisingly was doing very well for a small bloke. Pav was no more than 3 metres away, saw it, and did nothing. Didn't even move. Taz eventually came in and helped young Mayne by throwing his weight around.

Pav. you are the Captain. You are over 100kegs. You must fly the flag regardless.
I could never imagine J. Brown, Voss, Carey, Buckley, Tredrea, even bloody Richo stand just metres away and do nothing if it was one of their young blokes.
You're a great player Pav, but harden up! Set the tone to the opposition for chrissakes.

i was impressed that Mayne stood up to the brisse defenders (i think they were having a dig at palmer after he missed his shot at goal)
im glad taz got in there and stuck up for the youngins. but Pav!! your a champ mate but you need to stick up for the kids!

We all love Pav. He is a Champion player with champion skills. But..
One aspect of his game was very disappointing.Very.
Chris Mayne was having a blue with two larger Brissie defenders and , surprisingly was doing very well for a small bloke. Pav was no more than 3 metres away, saw it, and did nothing. Didn't even move. Taz eventually came in and helped young Mayne by throwing his weight around.

Pav. you are the Captain. You are over 100kegs. You must fly the flag regardless.
I could never imagine J. Brown, Voss, Carey, Buckley, Tredrea, even bloody Richo stand just metres away and do nothing if it was one of their young blokes.
You're a great player Pav, but harden up! Set the tone to the opposition for chrissakes.
Totally agree. Its never been a strong point for him, in fact when he tries it he ends up looking stupid.

im starting to think that we should trade pav. by the time we rebuild to challenge for another premiership he will be retired. its pretty important to get some good early picks to rebuild with before the two new franchises come about. i think he is a bona fide star, one of the best, but he wont be on the field when we win our first flag.

Flying the flag is ridiculous. Sure it may "stamp authority" but it also more than likely gives a free to the opposition from the centre, usually a goal resulting and then they give it back to you more, the umps look at you harder for the rest of the game. In AFL it is not worth it.

So Pav standing there while two Brisbane players threw Mayne around like a rag doll was the right thing to do?

You're a worry Bradesman.

So Pav standing there while two Brisbane players threw Mayne around like a rag doll was the right thing to do?

You're a worry Bradesman.

Yes. If it gives us a freekick downfield because two brisbane fools are stupid enough to get in a wrestle with Mayne, then I'm all for it.

This is the modern AFL. You can't bump a player at a contest these days, the umpires are all over it. Look at the Setanta bump on Pav in the Carlton game. Those stupid things like that these days give away free kicks. I'd rather the side did the authority stamping on the game by kicking goals. Sure 10 years ago you could go in hard, knock someone out and not even get reported, but you cannot do that anymore. Wake up and smell the roses.

No one's suggesting that Pav should have gone Barry Hall on the opposition, but his response was more Jerry Hall.

If two players are facing each other it's only a free if you touch the neck or head. Pushing, shoving and jumper pulling are fine.

You're an ex umpire aren't you Bradesmaen? Be honest.
I'd have to be older than 22 to be an ex umpire wouldn't I?

dom, then that is not flying the flag, that is acting exactly as you put it. Flying the flag is all about roughing someone up or making a physical statement. Do that in AFL and you end up looking like a goose. Just ask the guys who give away free kicks (Solomon, Tarrant, Fev etc)

I'm glad I don't play footy with you...

You don't have to belt someone but you can still stand up for a youngster. Common sense really.

Flying the flag to me is the senior players supporting the young blokes. Like Tarrant did during the incident in question.

Thats not flying the flag.. thats supporting the young blokes. Flying the flag is classified by the attempt to rough up another opponent. Yes, he should have come in and stood up to the player and said "Oi, Leave him the ____ alone". Thats it. No more no less, because if he tries to push and shove the guy, the umpire is just waiting to give a free kick away.

No one's suggesting that Pav should have gone Barry Hall on the opposition, but his response was more Jerry Hall.

Good analogy.

Pav is too "nice" especially when compared with an ape like Hall, but Pav is built like a brick shithouse and should be using that.

Thats not flying the flag.. thats supporting the young blokes. Flying the flag is classified by the attempt to rough up another opponent. Yes, he should have come in and stood up to the player and said "Oi, Leave him the ____ alone". Thats it. No more no less, because if he tries to push and shove the guy, the umpire is just waiting to give a free kick away.

I just don't know where to start with this...
Actually I do...I'm off to get some lavender panties and a lisp...

I just don't know where to start with this...
Actually I do...I'm off to get some lavender panties and a lisp...
Lisps are gay? Well... Nice knowing you, would you like to call people with down syndrome children of incestious relationships like C7 did? Totally uneducated comment.

Pav needed to fly the flag. That doesnt mean he needs to throw him to the ground or thump them.

A pretty disturbing fact the Cap'n couldn't give a ____ that a rookie was being set upon by opposition players. The season must be getting to Pav.

Dissappointing? It was weak. Handbrake material from the Captain.

I've never seen you criticise a senior player. I'm impressed Rip! ;)

I'm sure it will be highlighted when the match committee go through the tape. North Melbourne always go on about the shinboner spirit, it's a shame it can't be bottled because we need a case of it. :(

I've never seen you criticise a senior player. I'm impressed Rip! ;)

I'm sure it will be highlighted when the match committee go through the tape. North Melbourne always go on about the shinboner spirit, it's a shame it can't be bottled because we need a case of it. :(

Dom, if we ever come up with something as lame as the 'shinboner' spirit I'll go and support the weagles. Where does the magical spirit go when they lose, or play really badly? It's as ridiculous as the feng shui in our jumper making us win or lose. :thumbsd:

On Pav, I think I've almost come to expect him to not get involved. It just doesn't seem to be in his nature at all. Even McPharlin shows more anger than Pav and he's as placid as they come.

Dom, if we ever come up with something as lame as the 'shinboner' spirit I'll go and support the weagles. Where does the magical spirit go when they lose, or play really badly? It's as ridiculous as the feng shui in our jumper making us win or lose. :thumbsd:

Yeah fair enough, the phrase "shinboner spirit" does sound a bit wanky (not quite as bad as "spiritual leader". But North do seem to exceed everyone's expectations each season, even without Thommo they were very good last year. As opposed to Fremantle who always underachieve. :(

On Pav, I think I've almost come to expect him to not get involved. It just doesn't seem to be in his nature at all. Even McPharlin shows more anger than Pav and he's as placid as they come.

McPharlin has a bit of the "Mundy's" about him at times.

Pav should be in there sticking up for his team - no matter if he was 100kgs or 80kgs. Get in there Pav and show them! I think that his only weakness is his defensive pressure in the forward line - would like to see more chasing and tackling.

Apart from that another standout year with not many buddys.