garyablett.com : A good sign?

Someone sent me a link to the new gary ablett website - my initial reaction after looking through the site was that he would'nt go to all this trouble and approve a new website if he had clearly made up his mind to leave ............. or would he?

The site is branded clearly under the GFC colors and includes Rex Gorell as one of the site sponsors. If he is leaving - you'd think that the site is going to look ridiculous with a combination of Gary Jnr in a Geelong strip - Gary Snr in Geelong strip with career highlights - and then a picture on the home page of Gary Jnr running around in a Gold Coast outfit???

Perhaps wishful thinking from a one eyed Cats supporter ..... but I take this site to mean nothing other than Geelong having 'blue and white' running through the veins and him intending to stay.

Interested in your thoughts
icon5.gif

well u asked for opinions so i'll give u mine :)
i really do believe i am beyond caring with all this gary ablett talk, to the point where i just dont think i would even care if he went to the gold coast. If he stays, good, if he goes? well hes a dog haha
my 2c

Notice he used to be on the background of the official Cats site but now it's Selwood instead?

Who's gonna buy their mostly Geelong memorabilia if he goes?

I sure won't and I don't think many other Geelong supporters would be that keen on collecting stuff from a player who puts a dagger through our hearts by pissing off somewhere else at the peak of his powers.

Notice he used to be on the background of the official Cats site but now it's Selwood instead?

Didn't someone say somewhere else on this board that they've regularly changed the players in the background on that site? I wouldn't read too much into it.

If you want a good laugh have a look at st,.kilda's board having a sook at the use of one picture on the site.

I think you are looking too much into it tbh.

I'm really beyond caring to be honest .... like many others. I just made an observation though that if he was dead set gone like many are saying, then why would you bother rolling out a new website halfway through your final year at your current club.

Comments made by earlier posters about the memorabilia sales are spot on ..... apart from hoping for a short term buck it just does'nt make sense to be setting this up now.

Was told a few weeks ago that the sale of G Ablett jumpers and other merchandise has consistently been tailing off in recent months at the Cats shop ....... compared to Jpod sales going feral.

The first and only thing that came to mind when I first noticed the site was 'tacky'. It ain't a good sign.

What's the point of selling merchandise outside the 'Geelong' club ethos? Team first and all that jazz? The Abletts are making hay while the sun shines, hoping to reap the benefits ($$$) of the Geelong/Ablett history, while they set up to sell off the first GC jumper, first pair of socks, boots, down to Nathan's new nappies, etc. etc.

Always love seeing the Abletts play - such an awful pity the off field endevours have always lacked the same class.

The first and only thing that came to mind when I first noticed the site was 'tacky'. It ain't a good sign.

What's the point of selling merchandise outside the 'Geelong' club ethos? Team first and all that jazz? The Abletts are making hay while the sun shines, hoping to reap the benefits ($$$) of the Geelong/Ablett history, while they set up to sell off the first GC jumper, first pair of socks, boots, down to Nathan's new nappies, etc. etc.

Always love seeing the Abletts play - such an awful pity the off field endevours have always lacked the same class.

Tend to agree. This goes back to Nixon.

Remember when senior stopped signing anything as Gary Ablett?

I had an original weg that Gaz signed. Sold it 10 years ago for a grand.
Pretty sure he only signed that G. Ablett.

Anyone know how snr's finances are? Did he get off the gear?

i've stopped looking for 'signs'. people read too much into everything gary does at the moment

but, if one of his toenails suddenly sells for $1 million and the buyer is a GFC director, then i'll be happier

Lets get rid of all the geelong stuff b4 we move, now its worth something later its not.

Was told a few weeks ago that the sale of G Ablett jumpers and other merchandise has consistently been tailing off in recent months at the Cats shop ....... compared to Jpod sales going feral.
I am going to sweden on university exchange for half a year in august. I am taking the heraldssports front 'Podsmacked,'

I feel the need to spread the word to others.

All believe in all that is jpod.

the site is an attempt at selling some Ablett memorabilia.....Gary's first GC jumper might make him a bundle. The site means nothing in regards to gary's decision IMO

Totally agree. As James1970 mentioned its just the Ablett's doing things outside of the club/team as they have been doing collectively since the mid 80's...nothing to see here. Don't get me wrong both of them have given me so much joy on the field over the trip but they are what they are!

I'm tipping the conversation went something like this:

Snr: "Jnr I'm turning your old room into a pool room. Get your shit out or I'll chuck it away"

Jnr: I don't want it, just chuck it"

Pickering comes by: "You can't chuck that it's worth a fortune"

Snr: "Really?"

Pickering: "Give it to me I'll sell it for you, just give me 50% of proceeds"

and GaryAblett.com was born

Speaking of selling items, for a die hard cats man like myself I am selling my beloved slimline navy blue and white number plates: GOCAT5

Those interested, let me know. I am looking for $6K o.n.o

Speaking of selling items, for a die hard cats man like myself I am selling my beloved slimline navy blue and white number plates: GOCAT5

Those interested, let me know. I am looking for $6K o.n.o
OK. Hold 'em for me.
My checque for the 6 Krona is in the mail.

One hand.
Gary thinks gee im gonna stay for way less so i better sell some stuff to make up a little of the difference.
= good bloke

The other hand.
Gary thinks gee im dead set off to the GC for more money so ill sell this crap and make even more coin before all the geelong suckers that love me want to burn it.
= simply money hungry

Selwood stays for less
The whole team plays for less to win
Ablett goes to finish bottom for more
Surely not

If ever a player was gone, he is gone (Sadly). Totally agree that once he leaves no one will want to touch anything with G Ablett on it, so make hay while the sun shines. He will return to Geelong the most dispised player in the league. Cant wait to see how this 'shy boy' will handle the constant media attention up there, hope you drown in all the money Judas. Team first was always little hard to swallow for these guys....pity u wont be able to play with Nathan because he cant get a kick in the QAFL.
By the way........I truly hope i am wrong, but cant see it. Also, would love to see the reception Pickering gets when he goes to the cattery next year for a Foxtel game, hopefully he wont make it out. Perhaps with all the comish he will make from the Ablett sellout he wont have to work again..

If ever a player was gone, he is gone (Sadly). Totally agree that once he leaves no one will want to touch anything with G Ablett on it, so make hay while the sun shines. He will return to Geelong the most dispised player in the league. Cant wait to see how this 'shy boy' will handle the constant media attention up there, hope you drown in all the money Judas. Team first was always little hard to swallow for these guys....pity u wont be able to play with Nathan because he cant get a kick in the QAFL.
By the way........I truly hope i am wrong, but cant see it. Also, would love to see the reception Pickering gets when he goes to the cattery next year for a Foxtel game, hopefully he wont make it out. Perhaps with all the comish he will make from the Ablett sellout he wont have to work again..

Mate, what if you are wrong? Will you be cheering loudly for 'Judas' next year when he's trying his guts out to get 4 out of 5 for us?

FFS - it's fine to have opinions on whether you reckon he's going but just openly paying him out like he just killed a family of fur seals is just ridiculous.. No-one knows what he's doing, we just have theories and hunches and reading the vibe.