Geary and Armitage

• Thread starter Thread starter xaviernut

Just wanting to know anyones opinions on whether or not these guys will get a game this year. Thoughts??

Armitage is definately ready to step up to AFL footy, he is a top 10 draft pick and will be a great player. Geary may get a few games this year but will come on next year with more experience and a bigger body. Armitage is a tough kid who can handle the big stage.

Yeah I reckon Armo came on BF last season and saw us givin him crap, so he's like 'Alright, I'm gonna prove all you 5 st. kilda supporters wrong!'

Soo, with reasonable logic, I think you guys can all thank yourselves for what he is now. :)

I am really excited about both. I would hope both player senior football this year. Very confident they will providing they are not injured.

There's no doubt about it, from what has been said about Armo's attitude, fitness and work rate just wasn't high enough. But by the looks of it, his pure desperation for the footy and he seems so determined to cement himself into the 22.

For mine, he may JUST be outside of it atm.

He lacks half a yard of pace and his kicking could be a bit better, he's not a plodder don't get me wrong, but not the real fast player we are looking for.

Geary, what a gun 'ey. John Beveridge you gun. Really like the kid, beat Goodwin in the last quarter Saturday night, crunch time, contest CHB - Goodwin probably 10 KG's and a few CM's on him? Geary wins the contest, at the end of the play, we get a score out of it.

Too very exciting prospects and could be seeing them for years to come :)

I was Armitage's biggest detractor last year, and it was not clear that the bloke actually wanted to play AFL footy, from the way he handled his training and games at VFL level. To the point where I thought that Robert Eddy with his workmanlike behaviour would be a better player in the end.

I'm extremely pleased with both Eddy and Armitage's performances in this years NAB cup, but it's clear now that Armo has stepped up from last year and can be a star if he keeps his work rate up. It's still early days and by no means does he have a guaranteed spot in the 22, I am finding it hard to fit him in the side for round 1, even with Baker, Goddard and Maguire out.

well from what ive seen from them in nab cup if they can bring that too season proper i dont see why they wouldnt get a game.

2 amazing up and coming players

There's no doubt about it, from what has been said about Armo's attitude, fitness and work rate just wasn't high enough. But by the looks of it, his pure desperation for the footy and he seems so determined to cement himself into the 22.

For mine, he may JUST be outside of it atm.

He lacks half a yard of pace and his kicking could be a bit better, he's not a plodder don't get me wrong, but not the real fast player we are looking for.

Geary, what a gun 'ey. John Beveridge you gun. Really like the kid, beat Goodwin in the last quarter Saturday night, crunch time, contest CHB - Goodwin probably 10 KG's and a few CM's on him? Geary wins the contest, at the end of the play, we get a score out of it.

Too very exciting prospects and could be seeing them for years to come :)

Agree - Kildonan will spew, as he is very partial to Armo but I only have him on the cusp. This will change in years to come with Harv's retirement (not this year Spermie Brereton!). Hopefully he can do what Hodge has done and add a yard between seasons.

Gears is very good value, and should play as the small defender until Bakes and Attard return. Players with his sort of dash actually complement Armo, as he is the sort of player who can get and give effectively. However, please don't write another bloody article about how good Bevo is for getting Gears. He is a potential hit amongst misses.

Spoke to a mate up here in Queensland who played some local footy with Armitage and he said that he knew he wasn't fit last year, but this year it will not be an issue at all. So I reckon barring injury, he should play at least 15 games this year.

Both players look ready to go.

howeve the saints have much better depth this year.

With armo that depth is also deeper as Scneider is to play midfield this year.

So Armo is competing with Birrs and Fiora to try and squeeze in.

Geary is competiing down back with Leigh Fisher and Raph...as well as Baker when he ets back from suspension.

i think Geary is a very talented young lad but probably still a little too skinny to play a full season of AFL footy

Spoke to a mate up here in Queensland who played some local footy with Armitage and he said that he knew he wasn't fit last year, but this year it will not be an issue at all. So I reckon barring injury, he should play at least 15 games this year.
Good to hear :thumbsu:

I think I am tired of DT/SC questions.

Thankfully Kildonan has set up a separate thread for those kind of questions. Feel free to report any posts that aren't posted in that thread and we'll move them to the proper place.

Personally I don't mind the pre-season questions. What I hate is when you get the dream team kids making the "**** you (insert injured saints player)" after one of our players cops an injury and records a low dream team score.

What I hate is when you get the dream team kids making the "**** you (insert injured saints player)" after one of our players cops an injury and records a low dream team score.

Yeah, hunt those dudes down & skull them!

btw ... who do you think is better value out of .... oh right, other thread, ok, on my way ...

Saw a few posts re Geary being too skinny...I would think Max Rooke may dispute that after Geary brought him down in Canberra - head on. I like the way both of these young men attack the man with the ball and also try and create. I do agree though, that with the new depth, any position will be earned.