Geelong and GWS “home” finals

The AFL need a good representation of Vic clubs in the finals for revenue and to keep the unwashed content.
Geelong is their default club for this purpose, so they give them 9 games on their unique ground which helps them make the top 4, and in season exposure to big crowds at the GF venue so they go deep when they qualify there.
Cats fans will suggest they're hard done by but they're happy to reap the rewards.

They're also a well run drstination club which helps.

Hello,

I’m new to the game and something doesn’t make any sense to me…

Can someone explain why Geelong can’t play a home final at their home ground, which holds 40k, yet GWS get to play a home final at their home ground which only holds 25k.

Finals are not meant to be played at home grounds. Originally they were all played at the MCG, which was a neutral ground. Then after interstate expansion, played at the biggest ground in the state as a sort of compromise that helped maximise attendances and money, and ensure as many seats as possible were available for visiting supporters while at least maintaining the pretense of a neutral venue.

That holds for every team in the competition. Except GWS and Gold Coast.

So yeah, I can't understand it either, except to say everything about fixturing is a complete dogs balls and Geelong supporters should probably just stay quiet about a system that gives them massive advantages over everyone else in the competition.

If the game was played at Kardinia Park, what is realistic number of tickets that would be made available to Lions members? 5,000 (12.5% of capacity)? 10,000 (25%)? If it were 10,000 it leaves 30,000 for the (according to GPT) 29,255 members who reside in the Geelong region plus the 19,975 who live in the Melbourne area; total being 49,230). I’m sure all those members would love to have to go in a ballot having a 60% chance (being roughly a $1.65 hope in a 100% market), rather than being guaranteed a ticket at the G 🤷‍♂️

Geelong sell 9 home games a year to GMHBA, as they always say they get more money playing there, so they are selling games. And like Hawthorn in Tasmania and GWS in Canberra, you can't play finals at a ground you sell home games to.
I don't think you know how stadium agreements work

Furthermore, the Grand Final should be played at the highest placed team’s home ground. Earn top spot, earn the right.

The MCG’s contract with the AFL is nothing more than an MCC/VFL boys club hand-shandy party. One stadium, one state, no matter who finishes on top. It’s a farce dressed up as “tradition.”

If you cant acknowledge playing the grand final at your home stadium is a incredible leg up you are living in lala land.

If it was about money, the AFL could auction it off every second or third year to different states and make a fortune. If it was about tradition and the game, they’d actually make tickets available to members instead of stuffing the place with corporate packs.

Imagine if the Ashes were always played in England. That's the equivalent
Grand Final at Peoples First would be underwhelming to say the least.

If its a WA side absolutely ;).

Great question—and you're not alone in wondering why Geelong can't host a home final at GMHBA Stadium while GWS can host one at Giants Stadium, despite the latter having a smaller capacity.

Geelong is restricted by a long-standing contract between the AFL and the MCG, which mandates that:

• If there is only one final in Victoria during weeks 1–3 of the finals, it must be played at the MCG.
  • Finals in Victoria with an expected crowd of 55,000+must also be played at the MCG
Even though GMHBA Stadium now holds 40,000, the AFL prioritises maximising attendance and revenue, especially for high-drawing Victorian clubs like Geelong. The AFL also considers the MCG a neutral venue under its control during finals, whereas club home grounds are not

GWS, on the other hand, is not bound by any such contract. Giants Stadium (capacity ~25,000) is their primary home ground, and the AFL allows non-Victorian clubs to host finals at their home venues unless there are exceptional circumstances. The AFL is more flexible with interstate clubs because there’s no equivalent contractual obligation like the MCG deal in Victoria.

So, while it may seem unfair, it comes down to contractual obligations, expected crowd sizes, and AFL policy—not just stadium capacity.

TLDR - no you arent & GAGF

So what you're saying is the afl really is dumb?

Over the last 10 seasons (not including covid) Geelong has played 19 home games at the MCG in the Home and away season, as well as 11 home finals there for a total of 30 home games at the MCG over those 10 seasons. When you include about 60 away games there, they have played dozens of games at the ground over the last decade. They play there almost as often as they play at GMHBA. It's one of Geelong's two home grounds.

GWS have no familiarity with the SCG at all. None. Why would they play home finals at the SCG? They don't play any home games there, like Geelong get to do at the MCG, and only play the one away game there each season, unlike Geelong who play a heap of away games at the MCG. The SCG is not a "second" home ground like the MCG officially is for Geelong. The Cats have played almost an entire season's worth of home games at the MCG over the last 10 years.

Gold Coast is in a similar situation to GWS. Why would Gold Coast play home finals at the Gabba? It's not their home ground (the MCG IS one of Geelong's home ground), they don't play away games there (Geelong play heaps of away games at the MCG), and of course the Grand Final isn't played at the Gabba so there is no ulterior benefit to playing there (the Grand Final is, of course, at the MCG which is another additional advantage to Geelong)

It's such a ridiculous discussion.
Geelong aside, what about the Dogs last year? They finish 6th and ‘hosted’ an MCG final against a team that played 8 more games at the venue during the home and away season (10 v 2) and 30 games at the venue vs 6 games over -a rolling three year period.

It obviously benefited the Hawks massively but that game really should have been at Marvel with Dogs fans getting first crack at tickets if we are being fair…

If GWS was hosting Swans in a final it would be at the SCG
This is a good point. Until now the Giants have hosted low drawing teams at Engie in finals (Dogs, Eagles, Dogs, Lions). This is the first time they’ve hosted a bigger club in a final. At the same time they’ve played three away finals vs the Swans at Homebush and the SCG.

Given how fast the final has sold tickets (almost sold out), will the AFL push for a bigger stadium if and when the Giants host more big clubs in finals. What will happen if the Giants hosted Collingwood, Essendon, a Carlton or Sydney in a QF or SF? I doubt they’d get access to Accor over the NRL on short notice..so that leaves the SCG. Do you think the Swans will hold the SCG Trust to that agreement if the AFL pushes for a cut throat final at the ground?

Because Geelong are the self entitled spoilt brat of the Victorian teams, that start crying and throwing a tantrum when things don’t go their own way. That’s why it’s suddenly a problem.

AFL has an agreement with the MCC, that states a minimum of games be played at the MCG. It also makes sense, that for a Victorian team to play at the higher capacity ground. So unless that crap ground can increase its capacity to 100k+ Geelong should expect their games being moved during the finals to the MCG.
Stop playing in Tassie. There's more tickets to be sold at the MCG.

I agree. Geelong’s MCG home games against the Hawks helps us just as much as it helps you (given the profit and loss is margin for a 75,000 crowd vs 40,000 at KP anyway)

I’m not sure if Geelong even want the MCG home games anymore (if they got 11 games at Kardina Park). It’s pretty crazy to think a stadium that is bigger than the Gabba, Engie and Carrara isn’t big enough to host finals.

The AFL need a good representation of Vic clubs in the finals for revenue and to keep the unwashed content.
Geelong is their default club for this purpose, so they give them 9 games on their unique ground which helps them make the top 4, and in season exposure to big crowds at the GF venue so they go deep when they qualify there.
Cats fans will suggest they're hard done by but they're happy to reap the rewards.

Look I’m all for bagging out the Cats but I don’t think they want to play MCG tenant clubs in home games. In a perfect world I’m sure they’d be happy playing 11 games at KP and 2-3 MCG tenant clubs in away games (those games get massive crowds and are perfect for finals preparations).

You have to hand it to the Cats, they’re a very successful club that attracts players and draws huge crowds. They are basically what Carlton were before John Elliot and Ian Collins sent them to the wall..

If GWS was hosting Swans in a final it would be at the SCG

Not if it were the Giants who won hosting rights it wouldn’t. If that means I miss out on tickets so be it. It would be held at Engie prelim finals have been held there

Given the AFL controls finals (not the clubs) that would be a very, very interesting scenario. The Giants played the Dogs (smaller club) six years after it was established. Now that it’s fully established and has doubled its membership, a PF could be a very, very different scenario. Especially if it was against the Swans which would fill the SCG twice over. It might not be that cut and dry…

Perhaps to Dan26 ’s point, the Giants might need a second stadium in Sydney. I mean when they were established it was expected that they would play a few games at Homebush (but that never came to pass).

Given the AFL controls finals (not the clubs) that would be a very, very interesting scenario. The Giants played the Dogs (smaller club) six years after it was established. Now that it’s fully established and has doubled its membership, a PF could be a very, very different scenario. Especially if it was against the Swans which would fill the SCG twice over. It might not be that cut and dry…

Doesn’t matter it’s their final and most members that wanted to go could. They aren’t playing a home prelim at the oppositions home ground that’s beyond ridiculous.

There’s even tickets available for this one despite your whinging. Heck I got 7 seats this afternoon and I don’t follow either side

Doesn’t matter it’s their final and most members that wanted to go could. They aren’t playing a home prelim at the oppositions home ground that’s beyond ridiculous.

There’s even tickets available for this one despite your whinging. Heck I got 7 seats this afternoon and I don’t follow either side
Well the Dogs did last year — and I’m on record saying that the Dogs v Hawks final should have been at Marvel. I don’t oppose what the AFL do in Sydney and QLD but the same principle should apply in Victoria.

As I said above, between 2022 and 2024, the Dogs played 6 games at the MCG compared to Hawthorn’s 30. So it’s roughly equivalent to the Swans v Giants at the SCG.

Well the Dogs did last year — and I’m on record saying that the Dogs v Hawks final should have been at Marvel. I don’t oppose what the AFL do in Sydney and QLD but the same principle should apply in Victoria.

As I said above, between 2022 and 2024, the Dogs played 6 games at the MCG compared to Hawthorn’s 30. So it’s roughly equivalent to the Swans v Giants at the SCG.

The Giants have played a grand total of ZERO home games at the SCG. They are not selling a home final to an opponent. Whether it be the Pies or Sydney it will be at Engie. They should just increase Engie by 8k and that would be 30 ish that’s more than enough. However it will be the AFL footing the bill and so doubt they would with the Tassie expense coming in

They certainly ain’t selling one this week like you wanted to make it easier for Hawthorn of course it has nothing to do with the fact Hawthorn are rubbish at Engie right?

The Giants have played a grand total of ZERO home games at the SCG.
Neither had the Dogs before the AFL gave them the honour of hosting Collingwood in their 100 year anniversary game. There is no guarantee they’ll get another either…

They are not selling a home final to an opponent. Whether it be the Pies or Sydney it will be at Engie. They should just increase Engie by 8k and that would be 30 ish that’s more than enough. However it will be the AFL footing the bill and so doubt they would with the Tassie expense coming in
Yeah. In an ideal world, the Suns and Giants should close the stadiums and raise the capacity to 30,000.

They certainly ain’t selling one this week like you wanted to make it easier for Hawthorn of course it has nothing to do with the fact Hawthorn are rubbish at Engie right?
Not at all. The gap in talent between the clubs has been so vast (especially from 2016 to 2023) that I don’t think it makes much difference where those games were played. I would just like the same rules to apply in Victoria as the rest of the country.

But it doesn’t. Does it. Being better everywhere than everyone else is what makes us make the top 4.

Deal with it you sook.

They got 10 there this year.

Geelong and GWS “home” finals