- Aug 18, 2018
- AFL Club
- Geelong

AFLW Logo
The livestream will be available on womens.afl & the AFLW app. Join our live chat!
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Missing point as well is now they get 35-40k into the ground not 26k, so make more than the 77k at G
No idea but in WA, the Optus deal wasn’t as lucrative as the Subi deal as the stadium operator was paying a proportion back to the state government for the 1.5B stadium they built. The ticket prices went up though and there were more seats so in the end the clubs do better out of it.It's a state government asset. How much money do you think is actually going to be returned to the taxpayer here?
It’s also ok apparently for a leader of your club to openly fire off racist remarks at an indigenous player and be welcomed back with open arms….It does depend apparently. And it seems it's all ok to get caught and still get a game for Geelong.
Didn't the TAC cut ties with Geelong in 2017 after a spate of traffic offences by their players over time, including drink driving?
Stevie Johnson; Joel Selwood; Dawson Simpson; Billie Smedts & Brad Hartman all say hold my beer.

All executive producer means is having “skin in the game”The equivalent of movie/tv stars demanding "Executive Producer" as their title while doing nothing.
They couldn't force you to leave. They may have asked you, and put pressure on you, but you didn't have to accept an offer.The difference is that the AFL put a gun to Carlton's head and forced us to move.
We didn't have a choice - would happily still be playing at PP otherwise.
The Docklands deals have been awful for Carlton, financially and on field. That was the point, of course.
IncrediblyYou really are dense aren’t you?
Thanks for posting that, now I'm craving some Town and Country PizzaIf you want to hide outside the cap payments I'm sure a giant novelty cheque is the way to go
View attachment 2152015
.Democracy pizza up here in qldThanks for posting that, now I'm craving some Town and Country Pizza.
They couldn't force you to leave. They may have asked you, and put pressure on you, but you didn't have to accept an offer.
I'm craving a ten thousand dollar chequeThanks for posting that, now I'm craving some Town and Country Pizza.
Now you’re cotton on to how it workI'm craving a ten thousand dollar cheque
If only I had robust knees, a vo2 max over 50, and literally any football skills above a div 3 ammos levelNow you’re cotton on to how it work![]()
Don’t forget the long beautiful blonde hair and the fountain of Doggies tearsIf only I had robust knees, a vo2 max over 50, and literally any football skills above a div 3 ammos level
Or in Stewys case a moustache that can solve a homicide case in 1980s new York entirely within the time constraints of a 30min TV episodeDon’t forget the long beautiful blonde hair and the fountain of Doggies tears
If that was the case, Gary Ablett Jr would never have gone to the Gold Coast and the Mark Blicavs Ruck Nomination Rule would never have been introduced.Geelong are merely an extension of league headquarters. Rules are changed on their say so, dodgy under the table deals are made both with players and coaches. It won’t be long before they introduce a cost of living allowance for all Victorian teams outside of Melbourne.
So it's not exactly a massive scandal isn't it? It's been sorted out quickly and done well. At least the current AFL leaders are not as corrupt.Chris Scott just interviewed on Ch 7. Turns out his new position is not a soft cap rort. The deal was ticked off by the AFL before Scott committed.
here is the official heirarchy of AFL have's to have-not's, if you're ever wondering why this happened to this club but not that, if you're ever wondering why X got suspended but Y got off, anything and everything, consult the table
Brisbane
Bulldogs
Gold Coast
West Sydney
St. Kilda
Port Adelaide
I have posted this before and will post it again...West Coast should be anchored to the bottom mate, not near the top, lmao.
How much did the Eagles and Dockers contribute to Optus being built?No idea but in WA, the Optus deal wasn’t as lucrative as the Subi deal as the stadium operator was paying a proportion back to the state government for the 1.5B stadium they built. The ticket prices went up though and there were more seats so in the end the clubs do better out of it.
I assume the same would happen in Geelong. It’s not as simple as going off a 15 year old quote and adding on 15k seats worth of extra revenue like some punters believe.
The whole point is Geelong can pick and choose what suits them best, you have enough money that playing more at the G is better to experience the ground compared to 2 games a year most interstate teams get if they are lucky.
I have posted this before and will post it again...
AFL in my opinion with the 18 clubs have prefered these certain (group of) clubs to win the flag.
1. NSW (Sydney and GWS) and Queensland (Brisbane and Gold coast ) clubs
2. Teams that play home games at the MCG (Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood, Melbourne, Richmond and Hawthorn).
3. Geelong
4. Teams that play home games at docklands. (Saints, dogs , Kangaroos)
5. SA (Port and Crows) and WA (Eagles and dockers) .
Tassie will be bunched into the SA and WA sides. Once Tassie has 400,000 each for Hobart and Launceston, each of them will have a club they will be in the bottom too as prefered winners.
1. The afl changed their rules to ensure geelong got max value for ablest leaving - they actually came out after the fact to say "special consideration" could be madeIf that was the case, Gary Ablett Jr would never have gone to the Gold Coast and the Mark Blicavs Ruck Nomination Rule would never have been introduced.
I have posted this before and will post it again...
AFL in my opinion with the 18 clubs have prefered these certain (group of) clubs to win the flag.
1. NSW (Sydney and GWS) and Queensland (Brisbane and Gold coast ) clubs
2. Teams that play home games at the MCG (Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood, Melbourne, Richmond and Hawthorn).
3. Geelong
4. Teams that play home games at docklands. (Saints, dogs , Kangaroos)
5. SA (Port and Crows) and WA (Eagles and dockers) .
Tassie will be bunched into the SA and WA sides. Once Tassie has 400,000 each for Hobart and Launceston, each of them will have a club they will be in the bottom too as prefered winners.
Yeah, but much like the stand rule hurt Richmond more than other sides, the ruck rule hurt Geelong more than other sides. Blicavs went up as third man more than twice as often as the next in the AFL, to cover for our weak ruck division.1. The afl changed their rules to ensure geelong got max value for ablest leaving - they actually came out after the fact to say "special consideration" could be made
2. The ruck nomination only became a thing after several other clubs started doing it too, after the afl said there was no issue with geelongs tactics