Geelong rorting the system

You were beaten by an interstate team on a ground you play home games on to be eliminated.

So, slightly concerned rather than genuinely worried. I would hate for you guys to have to live with the stain of your club cheating its way to a 5th cheat flag this century.

Holmes' hammie held up and we'd have won the flag last year.

Yes, we're that good.

If the AFL is stupid enough to appoint someone with ties to Geelong to conduct the audit....

Got to remember too, according to Caroline Wilson, this isn't an "investigation" but an "audit". The only difference between the two is that an audit is broad and an investigation is specific. So unless there is a major glaring smoking gun, this will go no where

Stupid? Or part of the rort? Then back after g&ts to give themselves a nice. Fat pay rise

So you’re annoyed at the suggestion Geelong are rorting, because you think others do it - and don’t have an issue with the illegalities of it all generally?

Got it.
You haven’t got it all!

What annoys me are unsubstantiated accusations that become fact on BF, when if you looked in the mirror you might see your club is doing exactly what you claim the Cats are doing. Call it hypocrisy

Little Geelong overpowering the rich Melbourne and interstate clubs with its sponsors and third-party deals should really be celebrated as a win for the little guys. It's a modern day David and Goliath - Geelong overcoming insurmountable odds through sheer courage and resourcefulness.

The tables have been turned, but rather than rising up to meet the challenge our competitors squeal and moan to their AFL overlords. Cowards!
Geelong was such an undesirable, backward dump in the 20th century. Nobody in their right mind wanted to play there, unless they were from there or the western districts.

You couldn't entice anyone to the place. The first big recruit (Ablett Snr. and WAFL/SANFL players aside) was Brad Ottens. His recruitment coincided with the dynasty that has never ended.

It's a massive turnaround to see old Sleep Hollow being one of the powerhouse clubs of the AFL on and off the field, resulting in adult supporters of opposition clubs frothing profusely.

If the AFL is stupid enough to appoint someone with ties to Geelong to conduct the audit....

Got to remember too, according to Caroline Wilson, this isn't an "investigation" but an "audit". The only difference between the two is that an audit is broad and an investigation is specific. So unless there is a major glaring smoking gun, this will go no where

It will go nowhere regardless, it’s been set up that way.

You were beaten by an interstate team on a ground you play home games on to be eliminated.

So, slightly concerned rather than genuinely worried. I would hate for you guys to have to live with the stain of your club cheating its way to a 5th cheat flag this century.
Eliminated by the eventual premiers by 10 points, jeez we must have been arabblw

The other 17 clubs know what the smoking gun is.

They are trying to recruit players from other clubs all the time. With the players from 17 other clubs it is possible to recruit players who consistently get a game with those clubs. With 1 club, it is impossible. So they are justifiably suspicious.
Every club is trying to recruit other clubs players. Every club has employees whose full time job is literally that.

The difference is just that players say yes to Geelong more often than others. Since even say no, like Hopper.

I have no doubt that the Geelong football clubs official books are absolutely fine with no errors. An Audit will find nothing untoward.

It's the outside the club 3rd party deals and under the table handshakes that is the issue and that most fans of other teams are questioning.

The loan's that return 30% interest every 12 months, the major sponsors finding jobs for players their partners or family, the property/ farms the players seemingly acquire for a packet of chips.

The problem is it's very hard for the AFL to prove it, without outright accusing players and the club and every single club is doing exactly the same thing in some capacity it's just Geelong are doing it better and fans think it's the reason they have been seemingly "up" for the last 20 years without bottoming out.

Also success is one of the best tools to poach players from other clubs, it's how dynasties are built. Professional athletes want to win, you want to know why all these young up and coming stars choose Geelong over Stkilda. It starts with the fact that Geelong win.... Often and Stkilda lose.... Often. The success gets them sniffing and then the 3rd party guarantees get them sold on a move.
The only thing I read here was, "I'm still salty about Dangerfield."

Is it the fact that Mardi Harwood's dad was the mayor of Geelong (at one time) and her dad, Bruce, routinely organised through the coterie club many tickets for the Dangerfield clan at Kardinia Park every time the Crows played there, that bothers you?

Is it the (rumoured) fact that Mardi herself wanted out of the City of Churches, which forced Danger's hand to move since he clearly wanted to start a family, and that Bruce helped facilitate it by whispering promises of a red carpet homecoming in Danger's ear that bothers you?

Is it the (rumoured) fact that the late Frank Costa hired Patrick's mother and aunt to clean his Surf Coast palazzo (on a presumably exorbitant amount more than market rates) that bothers you?

Or, is it the fact that, despite all of these rumours, Paddy just loved Moggs Creek and desperately wanted to play for the club he grew up supporting as a kid - with fond memories of "standing on milk crates" to watch the action, that bothers you?

I get it. If Geelong lost a player of his calibre, I'd be disappointed. However, it's been almost ten years, bud, it's time to move on. Your club has done extremely well in recent years acquiring homesick guns who desperately sought the Fruit Tingle guernsey.

I literally invited Munich to DM me so that I could share what I have, but he/she didn't take me up on the offer and blew that opportunity. I'm just not convinced Geelong fans are ready to engage in serious conversations about their club. If I come across a Geelong fan who is not being a total flog about everything, I will share what I have via PM.
So, only the least sceptical supporters are the ones privvy to your "ITK" info? The ones who, logically, would need to know the most so you could own them, don't get that privilege? Makes sense.

If the AFL are as inept at prosecuting as they are ay covering up then Geelong us safe.

It's a shame the Vic Labor are so paralysed with incompetence, a Geelong witch hunt would make an excellent distraction.

#GeelongRoyalCommission has a nice ring to it. Go after the Dank connection, the bikie and Costa angles and the extra payments.

Geelong would have to stand out if the comp while facing such serious charges of course.

So you’re annoyed at the suggestion Geelong are rorting, because you think others do it - and don’t have an issue with the illegalities of it all generally?

Got it.
Want to hand back those three flags?

If the AFL are as inept at prosecuting as they are ay covering up then Geelong us safe.

It's a shame the Vic Labor are so paralysed with incompetence, a Geelong witch hunt would make an excellent distraction.

#GeelongRoyalCommission has a nice ring to it. Go after the Dank connection, the bikie and Costa angles and the extra payments.

Geelong would have to stand out if the comp while facing such serious charges of course.

Bikies now?

Gee whiz Geelong have been busy.

It's a wonder they've had time to concentrate on playing footy each week!

Bikies now?

Gee whiz Geelong have been busy.

It's a wonder they've had time to concentrate on playing footy each week!
You don't remember Bomber Thompson? He's a colourful character with colourful friends. You remember Dank and Robinson and the Chemist surely. All part of Bombers Cats.

Well Bomber had bikie...associates too. He ended up with a garage full of drugs which a bikie associate put there.

As you do when you're a cleanskin.

You’re sweating aren’t ya.

Don’t worry they’ve apppinted an ex Geelong auditor, an intern could investigate that in 5 mins. Geelong are all good, it’s the Geelong way.
Totally. Just be sure to keep us all in the loop when you hear more from your 'clients'. 🤡

the fact they got an ex-GFC guy to audit GFC in this matter means it will never really go away.

the suspicion will always be there that they rorted the cap

such a stupid thing to do, just get a true outsider with no conflicts of interest, so that you can actually be exonerated in any real sense.

Richmond have been in disaray for years over Geelong and Hocking changing the rules to benefit them.

I don't think anything would appease the level of nuffiness from your supporter base.

the fact they got an ex-GFC guy to audit GFC in this matter means it will never really go away.

the suspicion will always be there that they rorted the cap

such a stupid thing to do, just get a true outsider with no conflicts of interest, so that you can actually be exonerated in any real sense.
Unless you are guilty, then get the inside guy to give you a tick and hope no one pays any attention to the conflict.

Geelong rorting the system

Write your reply...