- May 5, 2016
- AFL Club
- Geelong
2022*
Cool

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
2022*
AFL Superintendent investigator Jacques Clousseau has stated: “The undisclosed third party arrangements were not part of money attributed under the TPP, they were separate and completely unrelated to the TPP. In fact, they were kept so separate that even once we determined their existence, it was difficult to quantify the value of the arrangements.”You know the AFL concluded Geelong did NOT commit any salary cap breaches.
There is no problem.Mate, the problem is that the AFL "looking into something" when it involves Geelong has all the credibility of a Jeff Kennett apology.
Let’s be real here. The issue is that Geelong has consistently operated in a grey zone for years, and every time questions are raised, the AFL’s response is either delay, deflect, or quietly close the book. So no, it's not that fans "have a problem" accepting an outcome. It's that the process is broken and appears designed to protect certain clubs.
Here’s why people call Geelong cheats or question their integrity.
First, the salary cap magic. Geelong keeps managing to attract and retain stars without ever seeming to face a cap squeeze. Dangerfield, Cameron, Smith, Higgins, Bowes, Bruhn, Henry. The list keeps growing. And the excuse is always that they take unders or want to live in Geelong. Funny how no other club gets that same luxury. No stars ever leave for more money. Their list managers must be magicians. And when people ask for details, all we get are vague explanations about culture and loyalty, never actual cap transparency.
Second, the draft manipulation. Geelong has benefited massively from father-son selections and NGA loopholes. They accessed elite talent through concessions that most clubs would never get away with. They squeezed value out of Category B rookies. They pushed for the Barwon zone access while other clubs got told to back off theirs. And somehow, every time the AFL closes a loophole, it's right after Geelong has already milked it dry.
Third, the connection to AFL House. Geelong has always had strong links to the AFL’s inner circle. Brian Cook, Andrew Dillon, long-standing relationships with decision-makers. Chris Scott gets protected by the media like no other coach. When Carlton, Essendon or North Melbourne make mistakes, it’s front-page news and a full-blown crisis. When Geelong does something shady, it gets brushed away with a shrug and a pat on the back.
Fourth, the lack of transparency. When the AFL says they “looked into” something involving Geelong, what does that actually mean? Was it an official investigation? Was a report published? Was any evidence made public? Or was it just a couple of quiet phone calls and a media statement to say “nothing to see here”? Fans aren’t stupid. If this was another club, we’d see public scrutiny and genuine consequences.
So yeah, people waited for the outcome, and the AFL gave the same generic line they always give when it's Geelong. The frustration isn't just about the decision, it's about the process. And how convenient it always seems to be for one club in particular.
This isn’t sour grapes. It’s about fairness. One club keeps getting the benefit of the doubt, the soft coverage, the special treatment. That’s why people keep calling it out.
The real problem isn’t the fans asking questions. It’s a system that never seems to ask them when it comes to Geelong.
The punishment is the explanation, the mockery is not envy, and the 70k fine is not a shadow.There is no problem.
There is very little to see or explain, just a lot of angry and envious non Geelong supporters jumping at shadows.
Imagine if Geelong somehow won the flag this year- this thread would be an undeniable cesspool of opposition vitriol
The mockery IS envious obsession.The punishment is the explanation, the mockery is not envy, and the 70k fine is not a shadow.
It’s either envy, or pure enjoyment at watching Geelong Morris finance their way to another finals loss.The mockery IS envious obsession.
The fine is fine.
Case closed then. You make an incredibly compelling point.I dont care what any Geelong supporter says
Something smells rotten and when it does, something is usually going on. Its not just me but a group think the golden child is so often looked after is happening once again.
Hawks supporters have been particularly amped up regarding these matters since prelim weekend. No idea why.It’s either envy, or pure enjoyment at watching Geelong Morris finance their way to another finals loss.
Yeah, I can tell you quite honestly that my feelings towards Geelong haven’t changedHawks supporters have been particularly amped up regarding these matters since prelim weekend. No idea why.
No worries. Just making observations. Coincidences are possible as well.Yeah, I can tell you quite honestly that my feelings towards Geelong haven’t changed
At least an honest, if not misguided post. Doesn’t care about what the truth is, just wishful thinking supported by a vibe in a BF forum.I dont care what any Geelong supporter says
Something smells rotten and when it does, something is usually going on. Its not just me but a group think the golden child is so often looked after is happening once again.
So what? You do know he and his brother operate a business on the Surfcoast?
And the future wife gets an amazing contract with a cotton on affiliate.
Why is it that some nuffies here espouse taking a million dollar hit on income as if it’s nothing.So what? You do know he and his brother operate a business on the Surfcoast?
Have you not ever knocked back a job offer involving more money at the expense of quality of life? His family and business interest are in Geelong so Sydney is not his preferred destination. It was no different to Dangerfield wanting to get back to Moggs Creek and so he knocked back bigger offers than what Geelong offered.
But of course for you this is all evidence of yet another rort
Why is it that some nuffies here espouse taking a million dollar hit on income as if it’s nothing.
When it’s likely they would need over 10 years to even earn that amount?
He will get the money through other Geelong resources.
Give the bloke some credit-he isn’t a dhead
Why is it that some nuffies here espouse taking a million dollar hit on income as if it’s nothing.
Does anyone think they'll ever stop the rorting?
And the future wife gets an amazing contract with a cotton on affiliate.
And nobody is questioning why he is willing to take a pay cut at Geelong but nowhere else?
Yes, because it is a loaded question that presupposes the club is deliberately rorting. So far we have not seen a skerrick of evidence of salary cap rortingGood question
Dumb post. Quality of life. Ask the 45 other senior players.Why wouldn't you want to live in Geelong and take additional hours to travel to the city?