Geelong vs pies final should not be at the mcg.

But you can deny the team that finished first from having a large quantity of the Geelong supporter base who attend all GMHBA home games from attending.

No-one seems to like the fact that we have our own home ground but it doesn't change the fact that we do. We finished first, it should be our home game.
How exactly is this Geelong supporter base denied a chance to attend the MCG?

Well mate, what response were you after, I said there was an article, was there or not?

The rest of what you said is just gibberish.
Apologies mate. Maybe you're not aware but there is an ongoing dialogue that is often used on big footy declaring that Hocking has rigged the competition in Geelongs favour, I was making a joke that if Hockings happy for us to play at the G then that contradicts the usual debate most opposition supporters make about him rigging the comp.

You confused me with your response by saying "well if he is rigging the comp why are you arguing with him?" Because I do not think he is rigging the comp.

Takes the wind out when you have to explain.

But you can deny the team that finished first from having a large quantity of the Geelong supporter base who attend all GMHBA home games from attending.

No-one seems to like the fact that we have our own home ground but it doesn't change the fact that we do. We finished first, it should be our home game.

Why would Geelong be treated any different to any other Victorian club and have their reserved seat members keep their seats for the finals? Melbourne members don’t get to keep their reserved seats this week, so why would Geelong be any different if they got to play there?

Do we train there? Is it painted black and white? MCG belongs to everyone, and in a final both sides have the same access to tickets
Yes it is. You choose to sell 9 home games to another stadium, like Hawthorn choose to sell 4 games to Tasmania. Obviously you still play finals at your home ground, the MCG.
Geelong ask for 11 home games at KP and get 9 including the country game which is at the MCG- with one exception. Don’t hold up to any level of scrutiny.

How exactly is this Geelong supporter base denied a chance to attend the MCG?
Because it is a pain in the ass going compared to home games in Geelong.

I don't really care that much. I don't even know why I'm arguing, probably because it's a long two weeks. It's just personally annoying, I live 800m from GMHBA so I love home games, I get to have few beers. My team finished first so I personally want them to play at home because it suits me.

It sucks balls catching the train to the G.

I suspect the experience may be similar for some of the players. You guys train across the road every day so it's a very easy and normal process for them to walk over to the G. In Geelong the players would have a similar level of comfort/routines for our home games.

It's just a bit irritating that we finished first but it feels like we have to come to you.

Why would Geelong be treated any different to any other Victorian club and have their reserved seat members keep their seats for the finals? Melbourne members don’t get to keep their reserved seats this week, so why would Geelong be any different if they got to play there?

I'm referring to those living in Geelong, surf coast and Bellarine. It's a lot more difficult to get to the game as opposed to our home games.

Because it is a pain in the ass going compared to home games in Geelong.

I don't really care that much. I don't even know why I'm arguing, probably because it's a long two weeks. It's just personally annoying, I live 800m from GMHBA so I love home games, I get to have few beers. My team finished first so I personally want them to play at home because it suits me.

It sucks balls catching the train to the G.

I suspect the experience may be similar for some of the players. You guys train across the road every day so it's a very easy and normal process for them to walk over to the G. In Geelong the players would have a similar level of comfort/routines for our home games.

It's just a bit irritating that we finished first but it feels like we have to come to you.
Where exactly do you think most of our supporters live? East Melbourne?

No, they live in far-flung places like Pakenham, Belgrave and Epping and it takes just as long to get to the ground from there as it does from Geelong

Stop being a sook and be grateful you get 9 × 800m walks to games every year and a true home ground atmosphere

I'd give a pinky toe to have our Vic Pk home games back

Where exactly do you think most of our supporters live? East Melbourne?

No, they live in far-flung places like Pakenham, Belgrave and Epping and it takes just as long to get to the ground from there as it does from Geelong

Stop being a sook and be grateful you get 9 × 800m walks to games every year and a true home ground atmosphere

I'd give a pinky toe to have our Vic Pk home games back
Calm down mate. I was conceding. It is fantastic having games so close to me that's why I want it at home.

I'm referring to those living in Geelong, surf coast and Bellarine. It's a lot more difficult to get to the game as opposed to our home games.

I’m not sure that’s a serious argument and certain that it should not be a real consideration for a fully professional sporting comp. Having the greatest amount of people possible being able to go to a final is way more important to the AFL than the convenience of people attending games from the surf coast.

Yeah but it's the AFL not a fully professional sporting comp.

What rubbish. Geelong playing in melburne aint neutral. our fans are always dramatically downed out by the opposition in melbourne. Even against teams with little supporters like north. Home fan support has been found to have a massive positive impact on results. It sways umpires and it helps motivate teams and reduce mental pressure. This always works against geelong in melbourne. And theres is also added travel factor as well. It may not be interstate travel but it aint nothing,

You know you’re grasping at the thinnest of straws when claiming travel from Geelong is a factor for professional athletes.

It is truly bizarre to see someone portray their fan base/club in such a negative light in an attempt to gain sympathy for your “plight”. Tickets are allocated evenly to finals matches at the MCG. So you are only being drowned out (and from my experience in 08/09, it certainly didn’t feel that way as a supporter of a low drawing team) because not enough of your supporters care enough to attend and would rather make excuses about the distance instead. 72k mostly Geelong supporters showed up to the 1st Semi Final against West Coast in 1992 (an increase of 20k from the previous year when the same two teams played @ Waverley in the prelim on a miserable wet day), when it was much harder to travel between Geelong and Melbourne. Given how much easier it is to get between the two now, it seems like it is just lazy Geelong supporters complaining and not really a valid issue at all.

HGA is not a thing because of crowds, it's due to ground dimensions. Crowds can influence umpiring somewhat but let's be clear, the idea that the GF is neutral is a fallacy.

I think crowds can influence umpires in certain situations, but certainly agree with you re ground dimensions. However teams who base a game plan around ground dimensions for any ground other than the MCG are setting themselves up for failure in September.

They never used to talk like this before the King of Excuses Chris Scott took over

That’s interesting.

I’ve never heard him make an excuse. I’ve heard him once say that we had a handful of Ill players before last year’s preliminary final and follow it by saying ‘it made no difference to the result.’

Can you find me links to other excuses he’s made please

Geelong vs pies final should not be at the mcg.