General Pre-GF chit chat

Brisbane Lions
undoubtedly.

good luck for the big one... dont know why but it makes my heart smile seeing the cats go well. i guess growing up in the 90's watching them get so close so many times and also how could you not love Ablett??

Oh also good luck for securing the services of Scott Burns as assistant coach. What better club is there to go to right now to learn the coaching trade? :D

Cats for Back to Back :thumbsu:

Re: you guys are champions.

undoubtedly.

good luck for the big one... dont know why but it makes my heart smile seeing the cats go well. i guess growing up in the 90's watching them get so close so many times and also how could you not love Ablett??

Oh also good luck for securing the services of Scott Burns as assistant coach. What better club is there to go to right now to learn the coaching trade? :D

Cheers for that Godfrey; good to hear from other supporters backing us for the big one; greatly appreciated :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

We ain't champions of anything just yet.

Here's hoping, and thanks for the kind words.

:thumbsu: Good luck on Saturday Cattas - smash the Tassie Hawks for us and show no mercy! :mad:

DOES anyone have a clue as to who will be dropped to make room for Chappy? I read this morning that Varcoe has earned a spot so it wont be him..

Wojcinski perhaps??

undoubtedly.

hey hey hey!!! whats that all about?? is this true??
he would be a tremendous asset to our club if true

PS cheers:thumbsu:

Cheers mate. Im so stoked! Can't believe I got tickets. Nothing could wipe the smile off my face right now!

I got offered a ticket but couldn't get out of work, and didn't have the cash to fly to Victoria for the weekend. Sucks big time.

In the Bag

I think you will all agree with me in saying that this years Flag is in the bag, I'm predicting a 50+ point victory, anyone else not feeling in the slightest worried about the Dawks?

Re: In the Bag

I think you will all agree with me in saying that this years Flag is in the bag, I'm predicting a 50+ point victory, anyone else not feeling in the slightest worried about the Dawks?

This thread wont go down well with the cat fans who enjoy posting in the sarcastic doomsday "The type of game we lose" threads that's for sure.

Hawks are going in underdogs, nobody expects Geelong to lose so pressures going to be bubbling all week long.

In the wise words of Yoda....Yesssss you willll be.....you willlll be. :)

Noone wants to hear to ramblings of the anonymous over-confident flog who just jumped on the bandwagon. Anyone with half a brain would realise Hawthorn will push us all the way, they are quality

This tool Luffy has been posting like a ROYAL FLOG all over big footy tonight, I'd be ashamed to have him as one of our supporters.....you can keep him.

Pie_01.JPG

Doesn't apply to all of you, but for those of you with sentiments like the OP. Good luck to the rest of you and let's hope this grand final lives up to the hype and is a cracker of game between two great sides :thumbsu:

I'd like to say I'm not worried in the slightest, but I wouldn't be a real Geelong supporter if I did. Of course we're all a little bit worried. History ensures that no matter how good we were, there woudl always be the smallest bit of doubt that would creep up on as the closer to the grand final we get. I have known for some time now that the only team who would be able to match us and provide a contest on grand final day was Hawthorn. They have been up and down, but they have undoubtedly been the second best team this year and although I don't like their chances, they deserve the acolades that come with just playing on the day.

I only know of one person who tipped the destruction of the Power last year and that was Healy who tipped them to win by 20 goals. I don't think anyone would honestly put any money on Geelong to beat the Hawks by such a margin this year. The hawks are a lot better team than the power were at any stage last year and the match will be a cracker.

Looking forward to it... GO CATS!

While you boys deservedly go in as favourites for the flag, I don't think it's in the bag so to speak. I think we'll be able to give a decent account of ourselves and leave everything we have out on the MCG come 5:30 Saturday arvo.

We go in as underdogs, with nobody really expecting us to win, most backing the Cats, which is very understandable, but for people to say it's clear cut as this are being a little disrespectful I think. Yes, the Cats are very very dominant, and most likely will take out the 2008 premiership, the Grand Final brings things out in players, and it's very different to an ordinary game. Who knows what will happen Saturday, we could come out and blast away (unlikely) or could come out and be blown away. Or, we can give our best crack at the Cats, and see just how close or far we are from a premiership.

I'm hoping for a cracking game on Saturday against the cats, really looking foward to seeing if we're able to topple the Cats. One thing I know for sure, win or lose I'll be extremely proud of the Hawks, and envious of Geelong if we should go down. I've been waiting to play Geelong since after round 17, and we finally get it, in the biggest game of the year. What more could you ask for? :)

Best of luck, Cats. May the better team on the day take out the premiership! :thumbsu:

I don't agree with you.

Watch out for the 'human cannonball'

The 2004 pre-season final saw Brent Guerra, of less hair and with the saints at the time, run through Cameron Ling at the bounce, with i think Powell offering the choice words of 'Take that you red=headed c***' or words to that effect.

The same man is now playing for the Hawks, and i reckon there is a chance that something like that again may be tried. Certainly it would be a disaster if say a Gazza, Corey or a Bartel is similarly targeted with similar tactics. I hope Geelong is aware of his history, and perhaps at the start may try to use say big Maxy as a sort of midfield shield, or maybe a wildcard of our own in the midfield early to perhaps minimise the chances of such a tactic to be used.

I reckon the Hawks may try a bit of the rough stuff, which is all fair in love and war, but the thought of a loose cannon cleaning up one of our prime midfielders is concerning. I am sure the side will know about the possibilities, but this is just a reminder.

Worst.Thread.Ever.

Its not "in the bag" Until our score is higher than hawthorns at the final siren on saturday.

Re: Watch out for the 'human cannonball'

The 2004 pre-season final saw Brent Guerra, of less hair and with the saints at the time, run through Cameron Ling at the bounce, with i think Powell offering the choice words of 'Take that you red=headed c***' or words to that effect.

[YOUTUBE]Gcz8CX_yhd0[/YOUTUBE]

"You ****ing got what you deserve you red headed ****"

Better to have red hair then a dead animal stuck to your head.