Roast Getting fed up with the commentating

Yeah some don't like the paedo jokes though dude.
Wot? GTFOOH!
Who doesn't love a good pedophile joke? Seriously!!! Worlds gone mad with this PC crap. It's not like it's racist or homophobic or anything. It's just good family fun. What the hell is the problem man?

Genuinely can't stand hearing Johnathon Brown's ******ed thoughts. He thinks he's intelligent or insightful not a bogan w***er who happened to be good at a sport. I can't stand the bloke.

Doesn't help that I've met him in person twice through mutual acquaintances and he's a genuinely cocky piece of crap with one of the worst senses of humour I've ever witnessed in person.
He has form. He wasn't amused on the footy show one night when Fev told a hilarious story about Browny getting a "special service" from a hairdresser.
What was that joke he didn't find funny? Share with your bigfooty brothers and we shall be the judge.

He has form. He wasn't amused on the footy show one night when Fev told a hilarious story about Browny getting a "special service" from a hairdresser.
What was that joke he didn't find funny? Share with your bigfooty brothers and we shall be the judge.

Someone mentioned something that was going on in the news at the time - I can't remember the exact story but it was about being scared of paedophilia... To which I responded, "Seems childish to be scared of paedophilia."

Genuinely LIGHT paedophile joke, all things considered.

Someone mentioned something that was going on in the news at the time - I can't remember the exact story but it was about being scared of paedophilia... To which I responded, "Seems childish to be scared of paedophilia."

Genuinely LIGHT paedophile joke, all things considered.

LOL... The things you read on Bigfooty. "Genuinely LIGHT paedophile joke"

Pedophilia is about the least funny subject on the planet and 99.99% of gags in this realm will stink. I was expecting yours to stink as well to be honest. But you're right, that one is a very light spontaneous quip... Not the sort you'd choose to make a stand and be offended by in a social situation I'd say.

But on the other hand, if you do make a pedophile joke you probably can't complain too much if people don't see the lighter side of it... all things considered.

It's also a bit harsh to crucify Browny's sense of humor there. If he laughed at your joke someone would've tweeted their outrage within 10 seconds. "OMG I'm at a party and Jonathan Brown is laughing at pedophile jokes"

I'm a faux pa machine but at least I know to stay away from the pedo jokes.... but I'm glad you didn't cos it's a cool story.
Does Browny's hairline look weird in real life too?

LOL... The things you read on Bigfooty. "Genuinely LIGHT paedophile joke"

Pedophilia is about the least funny subject on the planet and 99.99% of gags in this realm will stink. I was expecting yours to stink as well to be honest. But you're right, that one is a very light spontaneous quip... Not the sort you'd choose to make a stand and be offended by in a social situation I'd say.

But on the other hand, if you do make a pedophile joke you probably can't complain too much if people don't see the lighter side of it... all things considered.

It's also a bit harsh to crucify Browny's sense of humor there. If he laughed at your joke someone would've tweeted their outrage within 10 seconds. "OMG I'm at a party and Jonathan Brown is laughing at pedophile jokes"

I'm a faux pa machine but at least I know to stay away from the pedo jokes.... but I'm glad you didn't cos it's a cool story.
Does Browny's hairline look weird in real life too?

This is very true my friend... I understand that, I'm 1000% opposite on that spectrum - I've wanted to be a comic my entire life, I find NOTHING offensive in joke form and have ZERO boundaries. I piss people off in public on the weekly trying out jokes (I STILL PLAN TO ACTUALLY ****ING BALLS UP AND DO IT ON STAGE, ****ing social anxiety crept in my mid 20s :() Usually I understand if I get someone upset... it was more the air of him. He doesn't like when other people have the attention.

His whole head is off mate, I'm sure there's something chromosomal involved. Genuinely thought he might have been confused and scared, when the fireplace got lit - Neanderthal.

I got clarification from my Norwegian wife about the inconsistency in the Howe 'dive" and paid free kick as opposed to Fogarty tripping over his own feet and falling over, which wasn't even commented on. I asked her if I was crazy or if these commentators are ridiculously biased. Her Scandinavian fairness meter assured me that the commentators were tools and were clearly supporting "anyone but Collingwood."

Also as an aside, what the hell is with meathead ex footballers using the term "there's no doubt about that" when stating an opinion. And yes Johno Brown there is doubt on 10 Lions players being in contention for the AA squad. Legitimately uneducated morons who cannot use English properly.

This is very true my friend... I understand that, I'm 1000% opposite on that spectrum - I've wanted to be a comic my entire life, I find NOTHING offensive in joke form and have ZERO boundaries. I piss people off in public on the weekly trying out jokes (I STILL PLAN TO ACTUALLY ******* BALLS UP AND DO IT ON STAGE, ******* social anxiety crept in my mid 20s :() Usually I understand if I get someone upset... it was more the air of him. He doesn't like when other people have the attention.

His whole head is off mate, I'm sure there's something chromosomal involved. Genuinely thought he might have been confused and scared, when the fireplace got lit - Neanderthal.
So Jonno Brown got upset with you cos you stole his limelight.. Love it!

You sound like an excellent guest to liven up my wife's next dinner party.

Yeah I generally say that if it's a joke.. and meant as a joke to illicit laughter (but not derisive laughter)... then it's a good thing...as long as it is actually funny. The dark and controversial side of life is often the most fertile ground for humor.

Comedians are some of the bravest people on the planet. They really put it out there. The reward is huge for them too though because making other people laugh is super satisfyingly addictive. Those people who go out of their way and deliberately try to make others feel bad for making a "bad" joke... sign of a nasty person right there.
That said.. Barry Hall deserved what he got... first and foremost because it wasn't funny.

Many would consider that as boring as bats**t.

Many folks love personality.

And many folks love to complain about flogs.

Consider Rex Hunt back in his heyday ...

... anybody listening to him would have had NFI what was going on in the game, but they still found his call entertaining.
Rex Hunt was not entertaining - not to anyone with half a brain who wanted to know what was happening in the game.

Got me a bit stumped there Spider
Google is your friend. Urban dictionary:

'Subjects of man-on-the-street interviews sometimes give Heywood Jablome as their name to reporters. If the reporter's a novice and if the newspaper's copy editor doesn't catch it, the name ends up in print, embarrassing the newspaper and the poor scribe who was gullible enough to scribble down the bogus moniker.
Reporter: Can I quote you on that? What's your name?
Man on the Street: Heywood Jablome.
Reporter: Thank you, Mr. Jablome.'

I don't care if they are Collingwood haters. Actually I love the fact that we are despised.
Thats why our best club slogan - which not surprisingly coincided with our most successful period this millennium- was "Its Us Against Them". Bring it back, much better than this insipid "Forever", which for some reason always gives me the image in my mind of the marketing department holding up photos of us dejected and downtrodden rusted-ons trudging loyally and to the G and sitting en masse freezing our **** off in our soaking ponchos season after season there continuing to do so like lemmings as we sank closer and closer towards the bottom, and they came up with a word that they think describes our...spirit....and decided to make it the club slogan 😒

Before watching the game late last night, I'd heard all sorts of complaints from family members about the free kick count, the terrible decisions and the anti Collingwood commentary. Then I watched the replay.

The first thing I noticed was the astonishing improvement in Fox's camera-work. It's been an annoyance for years that Fox Footy directors have no feel for the game and have had no idea how to switch cameras to give closeups of major action.
Generally Channel 7 have been light-years ahead.

Usually on Fox, if the action was on the camera side of the ground, the coverage was OK, but once the game transferred to the outer wing, they selected that hopeless and infuriating, wide-angle shot. This gave us a view of three quarters of the ground, but without being able to identify who had the ball and who did what. This trend went on for some years and I'm sure the commentators didn't use monitors to call the game and must have had binoculars.

Yesterday that changed; we got great close ups and timely camera switching, so that we saw the marks in closeup, instead of switching to the close up AFTER the mark had been taken. So credit where it is due. It was a great improvement to their coverage yesterday.

As for the commentators, well yes, they didn't mention the free kick count, but watching the game, there weren't many calls that I thought were howlers; the Sidebottom 'deliberate' excepted.

I also like Dunstall's observations. Yes, I know he's not a Collingwood fan, but I enjoyed his insights into Elliott's game and his work-rate. Ditto Brody Mihocek.

Google is your friend. Urban dictionary:

'Subjects of man-on-the-street interviews sometimes give Heywood Jablome as their name to reporters. If the reporter's a novice and if the newspaper's copy editor doesn't catch it, the name ends up in print, embarrassing the newspaper and the poor scribe who was gullible enough to scribble down the bogus moniker.
Reporter: Can I quote you on that? What's your name?
Man on the Street: Heywood Jablome.
Reporter: Thank you, Mr. Jablome.'
Cheers - the good spider was kind enough to pm me so I am now across that partic phrase!

Yesterday you would honestly think that Adelaide were the only team playing!! Dunstall Ave johnathon brown cheering on ever single Adelaide goal!! The only person who
Showed no favouritism was huddo

Dunstall is arguably the worst of the lot. Every game he focuses on our opposition and groans when they mess up play, and he jumps out of his seat to question frees that go our way - look no further than Howe’s yesterday compared to the reaction they gave for Fogarty’s dive just before HT.

Round 23 last year when we needed to beat Freo to make top 4 he was flat out cheering against us for the entire game.
Hudson the flog 1min into the 3rd Adams just kicked a goal, the ball was half way back to the centre, he claims that the ball was touched, not the kick for goal but the kick to Adams that was paid a mark. Back to your point, the Fogarty dive, the silence was deafening.

As for the commentators, well yes, they didn't mention the free kick count, but watching the game, there weren't many calls that I thought were howlers; the Sidebottom 'deliberate' excepted.

I also like Dunstall's observations. Yes, I know he's not a Collingwood fan, but I enjoyed his insights into Elliott's game and his work-rate. Ditto Brody Mihocek.
Please don't post such reasoned, rational content in the future. It harms the outside perception of this board.

Before watching the game late last night, I'd heard all sorts of complaints from family members about the free kick count, the terrible decisions and the anti Collingwood commentary. Then I watched the replay.

The first thing I noticed was the astonishing improvement in Fox's camera-work. It's been an annoyance for years that Fox Footy directors have no feel for the game and have had no idea how to switch cameras to give closeups of major action.
Generally Channel 7 have been light-years ahead.

Usually on Fox, if the action was on the camera side of the ground, the coverage was OK, but once the game transferred to the outer wing, they selected that hopeless and infuriating, wide-angle shot. This gave us a view of three quarters of the ground, but without being able to identify who had the ball and who did what. This trend went on for some years and I'm sure the commentators didn't use monitors to call the game and must have had binoculars.

Yesterday that changed; we got great close ups and timely camera switching, so that we saw the marks in closeup, instead of switching to the close up AFTER the mark had been taken. So credit where it is due. It was a great improvement to their coverage yesterday.

I couldnt disagree more about the cameras. I get absolute sea sick with 7 especially and their zoomed in camera angles. Im not a nuffie, i know who the players are so i dont need to see their facial expressions. I want to see half the ground so i know who is around them.....who is free up field. I hate watching players kick short/sideways without knowing if there is a better option up forward. I could watch a game with just one camera for live play.....and the others for replaying a mark/goal etc

There are a few generalities with commentary

They obviously have a basic narrative they work towards in the pre-game stuff

During the game, if one team gets on top they will often start to ‘talk up’ the losing side...primarily to create an assumption that the game is still live and you don’t switch off.

If you accept those two points you will be able to pick which team the commentary will favour 99% of the time

The biggest problem is the sheer volume of commentators! Usually six or seven for each game - you don’t need that many. Especially when all of them are basically competing with each other to get their own exposure and lil moment in the sun...this creates the inane catch-phrases, in jokes and adds nothing to the coverage.

The other thing TV execs don’t get is, we can actually see the play...you don’t really need a radio style play by play commentary, but that is what they try to give us.

But yes the quicker they enable commentary ‘choices’ the better.

Each team should supply their own call, the press red for Ed style. You just need a couple of passionate fans to do this

Have a crowd mic for crowd atmosphere and noise only, would actually like the umpires mic too as gives a different perspective and insights.

And finally the blah generic ‘neutral’ call they currently shove down everybody’s throat.

If they did give those four options, it would be great to track the chosen split of listeners

I couldnt disagree more about the cameras. I get absolute sea sick with 7 especially and their zoomed in camera angles. Im not a nuffie, i know who the players are so i dont need to see their facial expressions. I want to see half the ground so i know who is around them.....who is free up field. I hate watching players kick short/sideways without knowing if there is a better option up forward. I could watch a game with just one camera for live play.....and the others for replaying a mark/goal etc
I'm with you on this.
I think the biggest disadvantage of watching a game on TV is that we don't get to see the big picture.
For example the commentators may say that Sidebottoms running is brilliant, he is getting up and down the ground etc. People that are watching it live see this but us TV viewers wouldn't have a clue because we can't see the bigger picture.
I would personally like to see much wider angles so I can see who is making position up the ground or who is manning up on whom etc.
Just like I would see if I was watching the game live.

Roast Getting fed up with the commentating