Media Getting Filthy With: Itsmyshow

Aug 18, 2009
Hola my Filthy Followers! We're back with another exciting edition of GFW. This week's show will be longer, fiery and more filthy than ever before! And there is a very good reason for that.

My guest tonight is a beauty. Little introduction is required. He's co-captain of the East Side Hawks, Captain of the reigning SOO premiers the Allies and is widely regarded as the most antagonistic poster is the SFA, ladies and gentleman strap yourselves in and please give a Filthy welcome to Itsmyshow!

Thank you for the introduction and the opportunity to be involved Chez, many of these interview shows have come and gone and I have yet to have the opportunity to partake, which is odd, I always thought I would be great value. But it seems that you are far less a flog than the others and actually want to give the fans out there what they really want to see, a head to head interview with an SFA Icon. I like that, I might start calling myself "The Icon", surely no one else has done that?

Mr.Show I would like to begin tonight by looking back on that Origin win. As captain of the Allies you certainly had your hands full. I was apart of it myself and we were certainly struggling when we first formed as team. Take us through that period and then what it meant to win SOO after doing it so tough before the series.

The beginnings of the SoO carnival was tough. When the state split was first floated by bonce, the merit behind the idea was sound and quite frankly exciting, not only would we be able to compete representing our actual state, but the opportunity was there to try to wrangle in some new contributors to the board. It quickly became rather obvious though that we would struggle to fill a "Tasmanian" side along with a "Queensland" side, despite the best efforts of Duggan and myself on the Tassie side of things and Reardo and RUL on the Qld side of things (and of course bonce).

So the decision was made to realign the two, of course in the past, the Allies had also had a NSW/ACT element, but to the credit of Gee Dub and skm, they were able to get a side up and running.
In the end, we were able to push the numbers and get a side up and running. We had a list of 21, and of that number we had 5 players that would have been considered "fillers", throughout the tournament though, we were able to push 18 players to post in the game threads, a phenomenal effort really when we were only looking at 16 that "might" post.
That was really the most important facet of the competition for me, that the guys who put their hand up to be a part of a team that many said didn't have a home, but not only do that, the guys took pride in the team they were representing, yourself and PVF in particular really stood out.
Did we make mistakes in the tournament, absolutely, one of those was the omission of yourself from the leadership group, but in the end, I think everyone that played a role for the Allies really enjoyed it.
I also learnt that I probably shouldn't send a PM out with a spoiler to the result :p
C:\Users\TAF\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.gif

Yes the spoiler really was classic. As you said the win did come from guys like PVF who re established himself in the SFA. One of the other surprise packets was of course the then referred to as J3V. At time I remember thinking he was stringing his best games together. Was this influential in why you took a punt on him at the Hawks? Take us through your conversations with J3V and boncer in the lead up to that controversial decision if you wouldn’t mind.

I didn't play a massive role in the recruitment of Jobby tbh, I did send bonce a message with the simple words "Jobby, thoughts?" Not sure if this played a role in getting bonce to think about it or not, but I have a feeling that the wheels may have already been in motion. If I recall, Jobby may have already signed for the Hawks at the time of SoO, so it really didn't have an influence. I already had the thought that he could improve even further at the Hawks and that thought was behind my decision to accept Easty's offer to guide him to the Allies, he was impressive in that tournament though and it only reaffirmed my thoughts that he had plenty to offer the Hawks. His acceptance of a position in the Allies line up and his subsequent embracing of the team was outstanding.
Jobby entered the league as DonStorm and his first game was against the Roys, whom I was playing for, the Roys made us wear a red onion on our belts, which was the style at the time.. Wait, where was I?
Oh, right, Jobby.
He entered in a blaze of glory and I got stuck into him pretty heavily. Most of his stuff was completely idiotic, but there were some moments of solid work in there as well.
Over the next couple of seasons, I continued to slam Jobby pretty hard, of course, everyone else had jumped on board as well, but I saw improvement, especially last season, in his work. He gets vilified pretty badly, and in the most, he bought it upon himself. But he has come a long way in his work of recent times, especially since he has stepped up to assist loopy in posting games. His S(l)im Dusty stuff in Round 2 was superb. So whilst Jobby will take a long time, if at all, to get rid of the stigma around his posting style, he is improving, probably to the point now where he reminds me a little bit of pacey.. Just needs to bring out the lawyerz...

While I agree there may be signs of improvement, do you think a guy like J3V can be a distraction for a club like East Side? Off his reputation alone he brings the trash talk onto himself. Do you think this alienates some Hawk teammates? I mean a guy like HARPS whose best is great, appears to have stagnated, perhaps due to all the spotlight shifting off him and onto Jobby? While Jobby may drive activity, do you think it comes at a price to the rest of the team and could lead them to different clubs sometime down the track?

Some might believe that Harps has stagnated, but everyone was well aware that it was going to be far tougher for Harps this season due to other commitments. The club is filled with long term SFA players who know how to deal with controversy, so really, there has been minimal disruption.. Unlike other guys and other clubs, our guys understand the meaning of "random simulator" and "Fantasy Football Game".. So do I think it comes at a price.. No.. If there are players out there that are too precious that every single thing about this game offends them, then they are kidding themselves.

And now we see the hard edge of IMS come out. The one that he is so famous for. What do you think about your reputation as a real mongrel of the SFA? Do you pride yourself on it, or does it annoy you as you'll probably never be the premier SFA player amongst players as your just simply not likeable enough?

Not likeable enough? Surely you jest? I am much loved!! Honestly, it really doesn't phase me, it is a role that needs to be filled. Like WGS and his nice guy role, or the Roy's and their old men role. Do I deliberately target people in order to fulfill the perception, at times, sure, most of the time it's just fill though. When someone says something insanely idiotic though, I am going to call him on it. (hi Juggs). I would fully expect the same in return. I wasn't always the antagonist, but it shits me how life and death some people make this game. Not many would understand, but before this influx of new talent, the league was being considered inactive and failing, in recent times there has been a boom which is fantastic. But only a few short seasons ago, inactive was the perception. All except the Roys, who prior to that season were considered the most inactive of all. By the end of the season, the Roys had 20-22 posting in Every game thread. I would like to think I played a role in that, an a significant one. God knows I spammed the shit outta those threads. At the close of that season, I had a discussion with Mobbs about the health of the league, particularly with Freakie heading to the Roy's and decided that I would join a team that needed a boost, and here we are now , I joined the most controversial team and became the most antagonistic poster in the eyes if others. But most importantly, despite my best intentions for the comp as a whole, I am considered one of the biggest turn coats. Well, so be it. Perception is irrelevant to me, do are the opinions of the wider SFA community. It's just how I like it.

What was the question again?

Can't remember - judging by your response I think it was "tell me IMS how you single handedly saved the SFA." Let’s just move on shall we?

While you said you antagonise to feed people's perceptions, I'd challenge you in that I think it goes beyond that. My first guest Wise Guy Sam called you the East Side Bullies for the way you attack new posters in the league and I tend to agree with him. I mean when I first declared interest you told me to join Baghdad, when Eq announced I'd joined the Furies you jumped all over me and at the time I had no idea what was going on. Recently you've been very hard on Mr Zero, more so than most really. Is this really an appropriate way for a captain to handle himself? I mean if we're trying to bring in new talent shouldn't we give them some room to breathe before you come in with your bullying ways?

See this is most of the issue. Grow up. It's like a whole group of little girls join and want to be Molly coddled.
I directed you to Baghdad, you didn't join, I called you weak, but I barely jumped all over you.
Mr Zero is a whole new world.. Came in as an alias, lied about it, spent his first week stalking Jobby with copy paste responses from real posters in S14, and now runs around kissing the arse of the Demons hoping they don't cut his lying arse loose. He shoulda been banned for a year.
You have been waiting for your little mark to have a stab at me for the first thing I said to you. In game threads last season did I abuse you at all? Did I abuse WGS in game threads? People have a perception that the Hawks beat up in noobs because bonce made the act famous. I couldn't give a rats about whether you are a noob or a general flog, if you say something insanely idiotic and act like it, I will make it nice and clear to everyone what a flog you are.

It's fair enough to treat everyone the same if that's your porogative but from my perspective you seem to be first in line to take a shot at the new guys, and when they fire back you say "here we go again, a new bloke trying to ride on my coatails to try and make a name for themselves." You put them into a corner where their captain is forced to fight them out of. I don't see why a player of such stature such as yourself, gets involved and goes after new players when you say yourself that they're beneath you.

Is this an interview or an opportunity for you to express your perspective on how I post in the league?? I will say it again, your perspective is wrong. I barely mention let alone attack any new players unless they are looking for a fight, then I give then one. If I picked on you when you first arrived, I apologize. You certainly seem miffed and disenchanted.

I can assure you it's an interview show...Show. Just giving you a chance to give your take on a topic Wise Guy Sam put out there in my first episode. But on that awkward note we must leave it there. Let’s go to a commercial break, cool off and come back ready to get stuck into some other SFA topics.

Welcome back everyone. Depite our minor disagreement IMS is still with us and ready for more questions.
IMS I’d like to bring back an issue that I'm surprised got swept under the carpet so quickly. And that is the ‘Player of the Week’ and ‘Flog of the Week’ that you started last year. I remember when I was new, it was a gave me a good idea of who to look out for and who were hopeless, it also gave a good recap of the week that was and gives the People some power, instead of always listening to what Gee Dub thinks. Could you explain why people took issue with it and why is was discontinued? Personally I'd love to see it back and do you think we may see it any time soon with some longevity this time around?

I would absolutely love to bring it back. I thought the poster of the week and flog of the week were going to be a great way for everyone in the competition to have a say about those that were performing well and providing great value around the league and those that were letting themselves and their club down. I said from the moment I stopped, if the demand was there, I would bring it back.
I think the reason people weren't supportive was the amount of raring threads etc that were going around at the time. It's like what we have at the moment, a massive amount of media articles, which is great, the game relevant media threads have been at an all time high, that's a positive. But we have Eth's rating thread where he only names one person a week anyways, so people might not be ready for its return, but if people want it, then I want it back!!!

If you brought it back, would it still be "flog of the week?" Since about the time of okey's arrival you seem to be over the term.

Yeah it still would be, I haven't used the term as much because everyone decided to use it (typical) ad nauseam, so I flipped and tried Muppet, but everyone wanted a piece of that too. So I still like "flog" as my catch cry against the moronic, I just use it a little less.

While alot of people did start to use the word flog, do you think it was becoming a bit tired? Some players seem to think your becoming a bit stale yourself which I find interesting seeing as though your still widely regarded as one of the best in the leauge. I guess it's just that some people seem to roll their eyes when you respond with "I don't even know which team you play for." Do you think there will come a time when you may need to "re-invent yourself" to remain one of the premier posters in the leauge?

The perception of being "one of the best posters in the league" is an overrated commodity in itself. I'm not in the game to be the best poster. I am here for the entertainment and pure enjoyment in a purely selfish way. The way I post is the way I post, some enjoy it, some don't like it, some think I am "stale", whatever. Each person and their opinion is their own to hold. But I refuse to conform to the masses who, these days are made up by a younger generation, just because groups of contributors have decided to follow the party line and attempt to take me on, because it is the in thing to do. I enjoy the banter I have with most of the competition, in particular guys like Easty, Reardo, Freakie, St Fly, Clay, Mobbs and more recently WGS, and I have no intention of bending what I do because some 15-18 year old's would really like to engage in a "you mad brah" mentality.
I find the whole "I don't even know which team you play for" or the "who are you" stigma was blown way out of proportion, I really only asked that question on 3 or 4 occasions and one of them was directed at Gibbsy, I knew who Gibbsy was, I just wasn't entirely sure who he played for, one of the key areas in my view is not only to promote yourself, but promote who it is that you play for, my question to Gibbsy, which was the only time I stated "I am not actually sure who you play for" was a genuine one. Prior to all of that, I liked to throw in a "Who in the blue hell are you" to some posters, but that was my obscure wrestling reference rather than anything else, in fact, that question started one of the best periods of bantering I was involved with when I met Farrand.
Did the word "Flog" become tired, well, I don't think that it has, I still think that most in here would generally attribute that word to myself, but it is an excellent descriptive word that cannot be used on the forum outside of the SFA walls. I certainly didn't invent it, but I may have played a role in expanding it's popularity. I will continue to use it, but probably more sparing these days, along with the good old "muppet" term.

Although you may not care what other posters think, I always find comparing you and Juggs to be very interesting. Both captains, both regarded as "antagonists," yet it seems to be somewhat of a no contest when comparing the two of you, seem most recently in the people's champ comp where you thrashed him in the polls. Despite disagreeing on pretty much everything, what makes you different to a guy like Juggs?

Juggs and myself are not that different at all, when all the Mt Buller leadership stuff happened last year and again early this year, I made it clear. I actually think Juggs is a really good match thread contributor and strong contributor around the league, the SFA would be poorer if Juggs wasn't a part of it. Do I think he should be Captain of the MBD's, absolutely not, he was just handed the role by a bloke that jumped ship and left the club in the lurch, the players that were at the club deserved better. But Juggs has done some excellent things at the Demons, especially in game threads.
The thing that separates Juggs and myself are his ability to be insanely stupid at times. It is like he loses his mind completely and deliberately insults the people who do the work to make sure this game of ours runs and runs well. Not only does he insult them though, it is usually the most far fetched, ill conceived and baseless comments that you could imagine. I just find it hard to believe that a Captain, could make such suggestions. Do I call him out on it, absolutely, the last thing we need are inane comments that drive the volunteers out of the game. Will I continue to do so, absolutely.. Irrelevant of some thinking that it is "stale" to call Juggs out when he makes a stupid comment to the people who do the work around here, he deserves a slap in the face.
But I like the work Juggs does in the match threads especially, so keep it up...

Yes that's a pretty good summary I think. You obviously take a liking to the posters who put themselves out there. Do you think that we are losing the characters of the SFA with the fresh intake of posters? One Of my favorites is Reardo who really gives himself a nice angle. Should there be more emphasis on gimmicks (since your a rasslin' fan) to distinguish posters. Do you think it may help guys like Gibbsy who you genuinely can't place who he plays for because he is the same as everybody else.

If you are able to establish yourself a gimmick then you are half way there in the SFA, take yourself as an example, you entered the league and quickly established yourself as everyone's favorite "Mexican", it builds immediate popularity amongst the masses. You mentioned early in the piece that I gave Mr Zero a rough time, I will give any one who bursts onto the scene and tags along with the "company line" so to speak to gain themselves notoriety, not everyone is going to be able to be unique, you only have to look at the wide variety of styles that already exist, but being able to make yourself unique is what will make you stand out. Logger did it early with his "paint" artwork, RUL made a name for himself recently due to his lack of pants, while pantskyle has swept in as the supplier of pants. A gimmick gets you noticed.
I don't overly believe that we are losing the characters, as I just mentioned, there are plenty ready to stand up and take a role, but some of the characters are disappearing and posting less, which is sad, but people grow up and move on, just hope that doesn't happen to me
C:\Users\TAF\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.gif

Well it's clear that you haven't lost the passion for it just yet! But before we let you go IMS, we must now induct another member into the Filthy Society. And who better to induct a new member than a man who understands the throwback to the now defunct Straight Edge Society.

Tonight IMS, we're going after a big scalp. A man who is deservedly respected throughout the leauge, but in the last few weeks has been nothing but an A-grade (can I say it) flog! Eth we love you mate. And your Top 40 was great pre-season, it was when the season started with the list still to be completed that people started to raise eyebrows. Then it dragged on...and on....and on. With the Eth haters starting to gain voice he brought out the "real life" card. Silly me, I forgot none of us have life's except for the almighty Eth. The number #1 unveiling of Mobbenfuher was so anti-climactic I am unsure whether I will ever be able to look at you the same again.

With that all said. It all falls upon IMS. How did you see the fallout of the Top 40 Show? Where will you place the under perfoming Eth?

SPOTLESS-CLEAN-NEUTRAL-DIRTY-FILTHY

Based on the evidence before me and the evidence alone, I have no choice but to label the accused.... Filthy!!!

Well there you have it! Itsmyshow, thankyou so much for your time. Thankyou to the audience for once again tuning in to everyone’s favourite weekly SFA interview show, and don’t forget to come back again next week as the most hilarious man in the SFA joins me in the studio.
Adios!

Another great episode, maybe the best. I liked the fact I was mentioned far more in this episode than in my own. Also the rest of the content was pretty good too.

A very good guest to have on and about time he got centre stage as well.

Filthy you are a very clever host.

Great work Filthy and IMS, I think more of the following kind of SFA players need to 'Get Filthy' that uniqueness makes for an entertaining read.

I will give any one who bursts onto the scene and tags along with the "company line" so to speak to gain themselves notoriety, not everyone is going to be able to be unique, you only have to look at the wide variety of styles that already exist, but being able to make yourself unique is what will make you stand out. Logger did it early with his "paint" artwork, RUL made a name for himself recently due to his lack of pants, while pantskyle has swept in as the supplier of pants. A gimmick gets you noticed.

I thought it was rather dry and boring, not much substance. To be fair though Itsmyshow always carries on with the same inane drivel so Filthy Sanchez didn't have much to work with.

Ahhh... Easty stole my keyboard, ignore what was said above. Brilliant as always, great work from both parties :thumbsu:

Awesome interview .. though Itsmyshow I don't think we got 20-22 posting in every game thread, I think it was about 20 or 21 in one of them, but granted some very healthy numbers in every round. And yes, about 75% of that 20/21 effort was all IMS.

Dunno why he thinks he's labelled as a turncoat though. After we clarified everything I think the only turncoat labellings were actually lighthearted.

Brilliant and entertaining interview, as always. Well done, Filthy and IMS.

Think I left a bullseye on my own arse with the Top 40. But at least unlike the Poster/Flog of the Week, it was completed. ;)

Harsh... Like I said, I want to bring those back, but will only do so if demand exists.. Should I start a poll?? :D

Awesome interview .. though Itsmyshow I don't think we got 20-22 posting in every game thread, I think it was about 20 or 21 in one of them, but granted some very healthy numbers in every round. And yes, about 75% of that 20/21 effort was all IMS.

Dunno why he thinks he's labelled as a turncoat though. After we clarified everything I think the only turncoat labellings were actually lighthearted.

Not from the Roys...

If you use **** BREAKING NEWS **** I'm gonna chuck clinkers at you!

Whilst I do like this post.. It will more likely be ****Announcement**** :D

So you've had the Good Wise Guy Sam , the Bad and now Reardo and his sister? .. ;)

What's next? Me, Myself and StFly or Bon(cer)nie and Cl(a)yde or Thelma and Louise (SKM/J3V)

Oh and Itsmyshow is a hack ;) / had to be said. ..

So you've had the Good Wise Guy Sam , the Bad and now Reardo and his sister? .. ;)

What's next? Me, Myself and StFly or Bon(cer)nie and Cl(a)yde or Thelma and Louise (SKM/J3V)

Oh and Itsmyshow is a hack ;) / had to be said. ..

That hurts coming from you... If it came from someone with talent I could probably cop it. :thumbsdown:

Not from the Roys...
Even now? I wonder who, I dunno whether to educate them or give them a medal :D

And I don't think of you as a turncoat, I think of you as a campaigner. :thumbsu:

By the way, for an "antagonistic" poster, you sure failed to cash in on giving me an absolute WALLOPPING on the wing in our recent encounter. You wiped the floor with me like ... like the floor was dirty and you picked me up by the feet and rubbed my face on the lino really really hard ... and you never mentioned it.

Statute of limitations says you can't do it now. It's too late.

Even now? I wonder who, I dunno whether to educate them or give them a medal :D

And I don't think of you as a turncoat, I think of you as a silly. :thumbsu:

By the way, for an "antagonistic" poster, you sure failed to cash in on giving me an absolute WALLOPPING on the wing in our recent encounter. You wiped the floor with me like ... like the floor was dirty and you picked me up by the feet and rubbed my face on the lino really really hard ... and you never mentioned it.

Statute of limitations says you can't do it now. It's too late.

You are old, fragile etc etc... I have to take care of you...

"a silly" I lol'd.

Media Getting Filthy With: Itsmyshow