Going Forward (The Future)

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

And he played injured, Hannebery called him a warrior! I don't know what he carried, probably half the team for the most part of the year but you want to **** him over? Worst call ever!
He shouldn't have played mid season (around the Gold Coast game he looked lame) because he was injured. Need to rest occasionally because when you need him in the last quarter he was spent from playing. Plus his knee was stuffed from the preliminary final.

Worst call would to be hang onto everyone who has undelivered in big games in the hope that they come good in a final eventually.

Tom, if he is like that mate can go and when we maybe get Fyfe ,it will send them in to meltdown. 2018 that is. Tippett out at the same time.
Hey Bedders, be it Fyfe or someone else, we will get someone. Now Fyfe loves Brett Kirk & his family & will always have them in his life. His own words, not mine, after the Brownlow last year. Free agent at the end of 2017 so anyone who gets him doesn't need to give up a pick.
Like I said, we have been aggressive at the trade table to get what we want & now that person is Fyfe. There were rumblings that he & his management were totally pissed of with the way his ankle/leg was treated first up. Fyfe is gettable for us but we need to prepare now.
Hence the 'insulting' offer to Tom I think. The outside world like to believe we have cap pressure but which team doesn't.

Ok! Go ahead!
Tell me I'm dreaming folks. But seriously now. Buddy at the Swans. No way!

Hey Bedders, be it Fyfe or someone else, we will get someone. Now Fyfe loves Brett Kirk & his family & will always have them in his life. His own words, not mine, after the Brownlow last year. Free agent at the end of 2017 so anyone who gets him doesn't need to give up a pick.
Like I said, we have been aggressive at the trade table to get what we want & now that person is Fyfe. There were rumblings that he & his management were totally pissed of with the way his ankle/leg was treated first up. Fyfe is gettable for us but we need to prepare now.
Hence the 'insulting' offer to Tom I think. The outside world like to believe we have cap pressure but which team doesn't.

Ok! Go ahead!
Tell me I'm dreaming folks. But seriously now. Buddy at the Swans. No way!
Spot on mate, he is out of there next year. The filth are having a crack as well. Believe it and Tippo will be out, keep Nankervis with Sinclair as a back up. Reid if fit will be in as well.

We did it to Jude Bolton.

Parkers finals performance dont match his home and away season.
He played with a bad knee. Yeah every team goes in with injuries but as supporters we would have screamed if Parker, Kennedy, Macca, Mills, etc were all kept out because of a niggle.

1. Obvious as hens teeth we are too slow in the defensive 50. Who are our linebreaking HBF's, every team has a few of them. Jones can on occasions, but who else? We need some speed.
2. If McVeigh plays it can't be in defence, he is just way too slow. Need Newman to take this role.
3. Our rucks. People say our midfield lost the game, but we somehow made the Dogs rucks look like the 2nd coming of Aaron Sandilands and Nic Nat! Tippett was awful!
4. We bag guys who 'draw' frees, but the fact is we hamstring ourselves if we don't do this.

SS, nice to have you back but Heens played on the wing and had to drop back to cover for others like the rejuvenated McHack. He lined up on the wing and the pity of it is that he never had a shot AT goal. XR and Rose will not be traded. Towers is off to the Lions.
We may get Brisbane'sr priority pick for Towers mate!

1. Obvious as hens teeth we are too slow in the defensive 50. Who are our linebreaking HBF's, every team has a few of them. Jones can on occasions, but who else? We need some speed.
2. If McVeigh plays it can't be in defence, he is just way too slow. Need Newman to take this role.
3. Our rucks. People say our midfield lost the game, but we somehow made the Dogs rucks look like the 2nd coming of Aaron Sandilands and Nic Nat! Tippett was awful!
4. We bag guys who 'draw' frees, but the fact is we hamstring ourselves if we don't do this.
So Rohan goes to half back with Jones, that is pace

Not enough, where is our Johannisen type off the HB line? That is the player we are really lacking, linebreaking elite HBF.

GWS and Dogs got skill, pace, toughness.
Swans, just toughness along with team D and Buddy.
We need to make quite a few changes to win another flag soon.
Our 2 last grand final wins have been against teams that didnt really play well on the day.
We definitely lose against elite teams that play well 3 or 4 quarters.
Tradeable/ retire both Maccas, Lloyd, Tippett, Jack, Parker, Hanners ( mids cant hit targets and slow. Jack doesnt get ball enough)
Gone Mitchell.
Hewett play up fwd if u can kick but dont have pace.
XR, was that a shot at goal or set up??PLay HB if u cant make the distance 40m out.
No other player except for Alir deserves to come back into first team.

Jones is a ripper!
Can you guys imagine Jones alongside Aliir Aliir? Imagine the run & dare off the half backline linking up with Paps or Gaz who in turn create forward 50 entries & perhaps shots at ( not on Bedders) goal!

How about Nick Newman. The kid can kick & has a little bit of in your face niggle that we lack. Good luck to Tom should he go but with Robinson, Foote & a few others coming through, we can replace him. Robinson in particular was a regular early on in he year.

The going forward thread is a great idea because it gets us in a positive frame of mind.

Now for trade season to start. Strap yourselves in for trade talk such as Tom Mitchell for Hawthorn's 3rd round draft pick because we have cap issues
& have no choice but to take it.
How about Tom to Gold Coast?
That's where I think he will get big bucks.

Do you think George can do it? He's got some growing to do. I hope like hell he doesn't get homesick.

George Hewett will improve a lot next year I feel - he was a bit down on form over the last month, but he is still very young and has a lot of upside. I wonder where his future lies in the team - he is a confidence player, whose best football in ressies was generally on the ball. Maybe he will get some time in midfield next year at AFL level to see if he can handle it.

I'm pissed off with his efforts in 2 grand finals, and I don't think we have got sufficient return on investment.

He performed well earlier this year, but H&A form isn't the only benchmark. I don't underrate him, I actually think he's underperformed.

Anyway, after this contract is up, unless he performs exceptionally next year, I'd expect the club to offer a much reduced contract, or offer him up as trade bait.

I think the one thing that is clear with Tippo is he is a different player when completely fit (i.e. first half of this year) to when he is not 100% (i.e. after he has come back late in the season). Like chalk and cheese really.

4 years on from the Tippett trade and I think we haven't got near our money's worth yet with him - but there is time for him to rectify that yet.

I was astounded how long it took us to try and counter their 3rd man up tactics. Naismith was doing well in the 1st half in particular when they weren't getting a third man into the ruck, but we were getting smashed in there when they did.

I think the one thing that is clear with Tippo is he is a different player when completely fit (i.e. first half of this year) to when he is not 100% (i.e. after he has come back late in the season). Like chalk and cheese really.

4 years on from the Tippett trade and I think we haven't got near our money's worth yet with him - but there is time for him to rectify that yet.
Yep that's true, but he (like all of us) ain't getting any younger.

Plus the injury thing wears a bit thin for me. Anyway while he wears red and white he's one of ours and we need to stick by him and the rest of them.

Jones is a ripper!
Can you guys imagine Jones alongside Aliir Aliir? Imagine the run & dare off the half backline linking up with Paps or Gaz who in turn create forward 50 entries & perhaps shots at ( not on Bedders) goal!

How about Nick Newman. The kid can kick & has a little bit of in your face niggle that we lack. Good luck to Tom should he go but with Robinson, Foote & a few others coming through, we can replace him. Robinson in particular was a regular early on in he year.

The going forward thread is a great idea because it gets us in a positive frame of mind.

Now for trade season to start. Strap yourselves in for trade talk such as Tom Mitchell for Hawthorn's 3rd round draft pick because we have cap issues
& have no choice but to take it.
How about Tom to Gold Coast?
That's where I think he will get big bucks.
Good points. Completely forgot about Dan Robinson.

I'm already over Mitchell going. He wants out, just get what's best for the club. If Hawforn really want him, make them cough up something good, like Poopopooloo. Seems like Bruest is out the door to GC for Omeara, so Hawfs are either going to try and give us Langford, or someone crappier and a pick. We need to play hard ball, and look to other Melb suitors. Carlton are the obvious other side, and have Tuohy coming out of contract. I like him a lot. Fast, lots of mongrel and a huge kick of the ball. There's also talk of Gibbs...Tom for Bryce? I'd take that.

Who knows, I certainly don't :) After a few days the pain will subside a little and trade period will kick in. Given we made the GF, we are obviously in the mix in terms of top sides, and we are a young side, with plenty of returning talent.

The future looks good for us, but so too for a few other sides.

We've just had huge season - made a grand final - with 9 first year players. We just got reamed again by umpires but that fight back in second quarter was superb. And - Bulldogs were in great form, bloody good team.

We need a bit of speed - but otherwise, great year.

What is all this pea heart rubbish about wholesale changes? What s this - the Brisbane, Richmond or Norf board?

We expect toughness from our players BUT supporters go to jelly, panic, knee jerk react after a great season. Fair dinkum.

Ps, all this Fyfe talk is getting me hot and bothered. Seriously???

Now IF this has any truth to it, would Freo be better off trading him now, rather than waiting another year and getting zip for him as a free agent? Or does compensation still exist?
There is no chance he will end up at the Swans and there is no way I would want 2 by 1mill ion plus per year players on our list.

Byt anyway, If Freo knew he was gone, they would Shop him around. It would take an unbelievable trade to get it done.

On Nexus 6P using BigFooty.com mobile app