Going Forward (The Future)

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

We just need abit more campaigner on this team. Say what you will about Mumford but he brought that to the team and we never replaced it. Not saying go down the Hawks road of sniping people behind the play but we just need to embrace the hate more. They did and look what happened.

We were most peoples second favourite team just after winning the 2012 premiership and then once the Tippett and Buddy deals happened we turned into one of the most hated teams in the comp and I don't think a lot of people in the club like/can handle that.
Not on GF day he didn't!
In fact he nearly cost cost with Hale plucking a goal from the ruck at which time Mummy was subbed. He can kiss Pyke's balls for his p'ship medal.
He also ran out of puff against the Dogs in the last when they had lost Roughead to the eye injury so Boyd fixed mummy up too.

Not a big stage performer is Mummy?

What hard decisions need to be made by our club? Gary Rohan needs to play reserves & dominate for 6 weeks minimum on end & earn his spot based on 6 or so weeks of hard, physical footy & work rate every minute of the game. He failed to become an aggressive attacking option in one of the most important games of his career & he has history. This is where you shine the spot light. DO NOT reward mediocrity in tough games.

If they don't pick Macca just because he is captain when he was clearly way off the pace back in round 10 or whenever it was, spends however many weeks playing in the ressies getting back to his best football it would send a much better message than sending a player like Rohan back to the ressies to earn his place. The important part of that is he needs to get back to his best football FIRST AND FOREMOST.
Sends a clear message, doesn't matter who you are, you have to earn your place.

At the MCG on GF day 2005 & after Luke Ablett passed the ball across the face of goal directly into the arms of the drug cheat Cousins, for a lead taking goal & then to watch that other drug cheat Hunter kick another immediately following, right in front of me, I put my head in my hands & was close to cracking mentally, I thought. Then I looked up at my then young son asking me "what's wrong dad"? I settled the hell down & said to him "nothing too serious mate"!

I was on the end seat & a lady stood in the isle beside was just balling her eyes out why us, why us , why can't we just win one of these for f k n (sorry) christ's sake. I had given up on us at that point & just responded that we are the only ones with a thick enough skin to cop it sweet & gave her a hug.

"As long as we don't go down by 30 points like in 96 after all this hard work & being in a winning position! Never mind! We'll be back again in another 10 years to be another team's bunny" I told her.

Well! I watched our legends, rather than give up, go harder again, goal to Big Baz from outside 50, opportunistic goal to Buchanan & we were suddenly in front. Just out of the blue! We hang on & we win FFS!

Well this lady nearly r*ped me in front of my wife & boy & we both looked at each other & vowed never to question this club again simply because no matter how we feel about a loss, they are going to feel somewhat worse. So I walked out of that stadium, with my wife & boy of course, rambling on to my wife to how she must always pull me up when I carry on like a spoilt sook when we lose a game of footy.

I too am forever grateful for that day when we could very easily have lost. That day when the special combination of players dug deep when it hurt, to deliver us that p'ship. Our club followed up again with a bonus p'ship in 2012. That's rare what those guys did & to ask the group of youngsters to come up with something similar the other day is not something I actually thought they could do before the game even started. We could have, sure, but it was always unlikely!

So I will question some moves & decisions our club makes but I will never target an individual for how he goes about his game because some players just aren't meant to be p'ship players & our club needs to tinker with the list in order to again one day find that special combination.
Thank you Swans for 2005, 2012 & also for being brave enough to endure the heartbreak of getting there, only to go down in 2006, 2014 & 2016!
This will be the foundation our youngsters need to again land the big one.

What's the more courageous over the last 10 years?
The Bulldog's 3 prelim losses or our 3 GF losses?

I ask you all that!

You, sir, have summed it up beautifully.

I never single out players because I never question their resolve. It's a great club which always seems to be thereabouts at finals time.

The AFL wants us to be strong, make finals - keep broadcast revenue flowing and make Eddie happy - but the flag MUST stay in Victoria.

If trade restrictions don't work - after removing COLA - then look to the umpires to do the dirty. Pretty hard to stay competitive when your fighting City Hall all alone.

Go Swannies! Bring on 2017 - and let's take these corrupt pricks head on once again.

McGlynn and McVeigh to retire with Richards. Newman comes in, Mills, Heeney and Hewett more time in the middle. A fit Reid. Get as much as we can for Mitchell, Nankervis and Towers. Rohan to Issac Smith type role. Just spitballing, but we don't need to throw the baby out with the bathwater, but a team needs to keep evolving.

cant kick over a jam tin

You thinking of someone else? Out of our team on the weekend I'd say the only blokes that could kick it further than him are Buddy, Rampe, Mills, Rohan, Laidler and Richards.

We have a few too many players who go into their shell against adversity. We have few too many Brett kirks, Boltons, goodes, lrts and mattners in the side.

Some players are incapable, some players can be nurtured, it's important we find out who has that will. We're not far off, but need a bit more balance of hardness, grit and determination.

I like the look of Jones. He looked like he belonged. Seems to be made of the same tough stuff his brother is made of which bodes well for his future

You thinking of someone else? Out of our team on the weekend I'd say the only blokes that could kick it further than him are Buddy, Rampe, Mills, Rohan, Laidler and Richards.

J Rose? number one for sydney?

The 2 Macs to retire is a priority.
I wouldn't be surprised if Macca does retire as he tested out the coaches box in the NAB Challenge.
But I think he'll give it one more year with a pre season behind him & he is contracted anyway so we don't get salary cap relief if he goes early.

I wouldn't be surprised if Macca does retire as he tested out the coaches box in the NAB Challenge.
But I think he'll give it one more year with a pre season behind him & he is contracted anyway so we don't get salary cap relief if he goes early.
We are going to have a large turn over this year so I would assume he plays on. Even if this means games in the Magoo's.

On Nexus 6P using BigFooty.com mobile app

CANNOT LIKE THIS ENOUGH

We just have to think outside the square as supporters.
Our main strength as a club in recent times is our great culture, our finals strike rate, our GF strike rate & our second to none player welfare system!

We are perhaps the club most likely to provide these players with a p'ship, with their help of course.
In the case of Fyfe, the combination of Fyfe & Sydney Swans increases both parties chances of a p'ship.
That's why we are every chance to grab a gun player every few years. If it's good for the Hawks then it's more feasable for us.

Yes but Picken & Boyd were part of the 3 prelim defeats you see.
They were the difference the other day where as our 'difference' were still being educated!
Picken certainly and the broken back Boyd also. But the big bucks Boyd? However, I accept your point. Some of our blooded novices will be driven by what happened Saturday. I hope that happens for all of them. But chances are, some will be torched and broken and we won't even see them again.

We are going to have a large turn over this year so I would assume he plays on. Even if this means games in the Magoo's.

On Nexus 6P using BigFooty.com mobile app
He is a great clubman so should the call need to be made mid year, it will be done for the better of the team.
He would also absorb some of the cap, 95% of which must be spent, so this in turn suddenly frees up more funds for Kennedy & THE big name recruit at season's end.
I am certain we have more cap space than the AFL world think & this whole Tom Mitchell episode is happening because we think he may be surplus to our needs for anything more than we have offered him. It's not because we haven't got it to give him.

How's this for a scenario.
The Hawks get JOM but haven't been left with an adequate pick to give us for Tom.
Anything less than a top 8 pick doesn't get the deal done. Sorry Hawks.
The other clubs are now coming for Tom. If they are offering big money, then he will go there.
Again I think Gold Coast can entice him because if he is going to leave for money, then why the Hawks when he will get up to 30% more at GC?
We'll go as high as 450k. No way Hawks give him more than 500K.

Picken certainly and the broken back Boyd also. But the big bucks Boyd? However, I accept your point. Some of our blooded novices will be driven by what happened Saturday. I hope that happens for all of them. But chances are, some will be torched and broken and we won't even see them again.
You must remember Boyd is a number 1 draft pick in any other year. The Dogs have a number of first round picks compliments of being crap for a few years after playing in 3 losing prelims.
We haven't had the benefit of being rewarded with multiple high draft picks for being crap. So we have players without the skill set of the Bulldog's list.

They've been able to gradually inprove their list over the last 4 years while we have had to endure a two year trade ban.
The GF had us behind the eight ball before we started..
We'll be right.

There would be a few blokes questioning the feasability of winning a flag with the Swans in light of our recent record.
True, but you do have to be in it to win it and our list isn not the Titanic like Hawthorn.
I'm supremely confident that whoever replaces Mitchell should he decide to leave will play in more grand finals going forward than he will.

F*ck them all.

Let's bloody stick it up everyone. Let's be the villans on & off the field if that's what the AFL wants.

Provided we decide to play a bit more like the Dogs/Hawks/GWSs of the world then I think the AFL would have created a goddamn monster!

Can you imagine the damage that could be done if Horse was to say to guys like Buddy, Tippo or Jones "You are off the leash tonight. Happy if you cop a few weeks. We want player X sore."

Can you imagine the uproar if Hewett & Papley started wrapping opponents arms around their heads ala some of the best work done this year by a select few dogs etc??

Tell JPK or Hanners to go into contests with the body of their opponents in mind first & their direct match ups only last a bloody quarter IMO.

If we get a change in attitude from "professionals" to "bastards" then look the f*ck out AFL. We'll gun for redemption & dominance like you've never seen before. No1 will be safe.