T Rick

Premium Platinum
Brisbane Lions
Where many a player would have folded Rischa has followed his gut. I feel he may have even done the lions a favour, with there still been the possibility that we can snag Fev with Jmac or the like. Hopefully we get Fev and keep Risch.

Yup. Even as someone who is now sold on the idea of Fev at Brisbane, I have nothing but respect for Rischa should he choose to exercise his right to refuse the trade.

Was it CtD who said a few months ago that he spoke to Rischa and came away with the impression that he absolutely loves the club. That would seem to have been confirmed.

:heart: Rischa!

2cx7of5.jpg

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: That took a huge set of balls...

I hope Voss sees it for what it was.

The Carlton board has literally melted down what with every post being put up numerous times and the white page of death every second click.

Look what you have done.....

Unprecedented.:)

ps.
nice scoreboard TBD...who won?

I think it would be better if a lot of these negotiations were done out of the media. No problems with his course of action...but shame he's gotta be such a public face. Either way it's a tough position to put someone in.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: That took a huge set of balls...

I hope Voss sees it for what it was.

The Carlton board has literally melted down what with every post being put up numerous times and the white page of death every second click.

Look what you have done.....

Unprecedented.:)

ps.
nice scoreboard TBD...who won?
Melt down my ass. Have a good look. Its a forum you knob, of course there will be lots of discussion. Stop trolling boards and talking shiite.

To Brisbane fans, great respect shown to your club, and city for that matter.
Would have liked to have Risch with us, but not to be.
Good luck with your new players coming in (Fev or not)and good luck for next year.

We want players who have shown the commitment Rischa has today. If it costs us Fev I don't care, what he has done is massive for the long term success of our club as he has shown a love for the team, players who are prepared to do that are rare gold.

Its been said that trade week is so grossly unfair on the players - they get praised for 51 weeks and shafted for the other 1.

And in a week where we've all wrung our hands and debated the ins and outs of every trade thats gone on it gets pretty easy to forget the human face and the affect this stuff must have on the lives of those involved. And somehow in the middle of all that is that balance that has to be reached in being a business whos sole role is to win a premiership cup.

To see Rischa, a player I admire for his sheer honesty, not only in the way he plays the game, but now obviously the way he lives his life, be strong enough to say no to this deal and be prepared to wear the inevitable consequences of that, makes me think even more of him. He risks coming back to a team where new players may very well push him out... and possibly the wrath of the coach that wanted to trade him... that takes guts.

In a weird way I reckon Vossy just might respect that.

Good luck to you Rischa no matter the outcome of this whole mess. You deserve our admiration and respect, not only for your unquestioned service to the club, but also the way you play the game to the full extent of your ability and the loyalty you've shown.

I hope your future, be it here or elsewhere, takes you wherever it is you want to go... and if it is here with us that you have such a bloody blinder next season that we have no choice but to play you and sign you up again next year!:thumbsu:

Link.

Rischitelli's manager Rick Olarenshaw said last night that his client's decision to reject Carlton's offer was based on his wish to stay in Queensland, from where his girlfriend hails, and a desire to stick with coach Michael Voss and the Lions.

Rischitelli flew down to Melbourne with Bradshaw yesterday, when the pair underwent medical examinations and met with Carlton officials. Rischitelli later met with his family at Keilor, before informing a disappointed Carlton of his decision just after 7.30pm.

''He's staying in Brisbane,'' said Olarenshaw last night. ''He's got a Queensland girl, long-term partner, and he's happy in Queensland. And he loves playing for Vossy.

Max respect. :thumbsu:

Was it CtD who said a few months ago that he spoke to Rischa and came away with the impression that he absolutely loves the club. That would seem to have been confirmed.

It was at the players sponsor function, and let's just say that my player was taken with other duties at the time, Rischa came over and introduced himself and chatted footy for a good 1/2 hour or so.

We spoke about footy in Victoria, and he did not seem keen at all. I know many players will tell you that they are happy here (Des Headland;)), but I really believed him.

Pity the good Mrs CtD though we were talking to Bradd Dalziell:o

The word sweeping footy circles last night was that former Lions recruiting manager Kinnear Beatson, now at the Sydney Swans, had thrown a spanner in the works by advising Rischitelli to sit out the final year of his contract at Brisbane so he could then name his price at the Gold Coast in 2011.

OReally?

Link.

Max respect. :thumbsu:

+1

My respect for Rischa and his character has shot straight up after tonight.

It was very weird seeing pictures of Bradshaw and him walking around Visy Park, it was more of a surreal feeling. I'm glad he has rejected the deal. I would have thought we had other players who we could offload.

Good onya Risca, I hope you tear them apart next season for standing firm, and wanting to stay with a club that has a greater chance of success in the short to medium term, and after this, I predict he'll prove a few people wrong an be an elite player for us.

Hopefully, we'll be able to trade McDonald & Bradshaw (the last of the old Bears) to Carlton for Fevola, and keep our first round pick.

I could live with that, as good as Bradshaw is, I can't see him playing no more than two seasons (and he'll always be remembered as a big part of our success in the early 00's), and McDonald wants to go, and if we get Fev cheap, and put in heaps of clauses & conditions in his contract, and have Vossy & Browny knock some sense into him, I think this could be O.K, as I have faith in what Vossy's doing.

Keep them both, the Fev trade although tantalising and seductive, could very well rip at the fabric of the club. I am happy with our new additions to the club, they will strengthen the competition for spots and hopefully bring a bit of dash and a few goals to the team. Henderson and Cornelius are future forward targets, we will continue to improve.

at this point i'm not sure this is such a good thing - there's every chance he'll be pissed at the club and Vossy

he did 'play the game' over during the last contract negotiation to earn above market rate for the past 2 years by drawing out the Essendon interest as Hammo noted (i can't believe i just wrote that :eek:) and he could just be keeping his options open re: GC

however, if this from a genuine desire to play for the club and not to position himself for a big GC contract (we'll know in 12 months) then i'll eat my words, wash my mouth out and kneel at the altar of Rischa, the greatest clubman who ever lived!

i hope it's the latter ;)

That's a real man takes so much guts and he deserves a place at brisbane

as for Carlton

things are getting worse

Keep them both, the Fev trade although tantalising and seductive, could very well rip at the fabric of the club. I am happy with our new additions to the club, they will strengthen the competition for spots and hopefully bring a bit of dash and a few goals to the team. Henderson and Cornelius are future forward targets, we will continue to improve.

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

That would be nice:thumbsu:

Given the Blues want to trade Fev, was looking forward to Rishsta, rated him higher than Bradshaw (rate Bradshaw very highly, but he's 30 and has body issues), but now Richsta has said "no" i rate Richsta even higher

The kid does not "bend over" so to speak. With that mentality on the field, you haven't seen the best of this kid yet

I think that Riska's refusal to move to Carlton just shows how disadvantaged we are in that players, once here, never want to leave. Clearly some some sort of allowance is required to counter the stay-away-from-home factor.

Respect for the man. Love to hear players come out and say they want to play for the team/coach even after the club placed them in the trade table. I am having memories of Notting refusing to leave, inspite of Leigh finding him another deal with better opporunities during 01-04.

As far as Brisbane telling Carlton the deal's off, I believe

Rischi's $ + Braddy's $ -> would help us fit Fev's contract.

I believe J-Mac may not be in that high coin, so even if we manage to get a Bradshaw + J-Mac deal going, we may struggle to fit Fev under the cap.

That said, I am happy to have Bradshaw + Riska over Fev. :) . Very happy.