T_Bones

Draftee
G'day fella's,

I was just wondering if any of you know any good sports pubs in Sydney that are AFL-centric? I'm in the process of relocating to Sydney from Perth and am keen to go somewhere that'll be showing some games.... hopefully even some West Coast games :) Will be living in the Artarmon area.

Thanks for your help.

hi t-bones , welcome to sydney.
In sydney you will find that all swans games are on free to air tv.
the friday night game is on channel 7 but is delayed
it is live on fox.
normally a game on free to air saturday afternoon
normally a game on free to air on a sunday.
Fox will show all other games.

Most pubs/club have fox but it best to check with them to what they are showing to avoid dissapointment . especially on a saturday night as fox will show 3 NRL games live.

There is a pub in alexandria ( inner city, southside of the harbour) , the alexandria hotel. its run by an ex-swans player , darren mcasey.
they always play afl.

The sydney rules club in kings cross, (which is being renamed club swans ) always has the afl on.
you will find that in alot of pubs or clubs , you only have to ask and they will show it.
also now alot of pubs have more than one fox decoder box, so they can show all three fox sports channels

anyway , other swans fans in sydney will tell you about their favourite pub to watch the footy at , i am not sure about the north side of sydney but others will know

and maybe after a little while in sydney you might see the light and become a swan

You know the strong rivalry we have with the swans. I suggest you watch your back lol.

you will not have any problems with swans fans even though you support wce. you will get a bit of friendly banter and a few comments about ben , but you wont need to watch your back

red19. I havent been into the city for a while, but i thought that one in Kings X closed down a while ago? As in, it was boarded up. Has it re-opened?

It's always fun to sit down and watch games with WC fans because they're always so hard to predict.
Have fun being one of the few WC supporters in Club Swans :D

G'day fella's,

I was just wondering if any of you know any good sports pubs in Sydney that are AFL-centric? I'm in the process of relocating to Sydney from Perth and am keen to go somewhere that'll be showing some games.... hopefully even some West Coast games :) Will be living in the Artarmon area.

Thanks for your help.

Well from what we glean about the WA "night life" there are probably brothels in da Xross .... that will turn it on ;)

But Epping Hotel is not super far from Artarmon and they have quite a crowd for Sat night but the gottcha is you need to dine (bistroish ala cart) as well, to get decent seat!

The Greenwood in Killara just up the line a few stations has it on but beware you are in old school tie rugga zone so some of those WA party skills willcome in handy, if u know what i mean!

Give us a yell and some of us will join ya.... so long as you wear you Illeagals jumper and scarf:D:D:D

I love catching the Games at The Golden Sheaf its just down the road from my house the got a big screen inside so u can play pool while watching the game or u can watch it outside in the beer garden it gets projected up onto a massive while wall its pretty sick only down fall...they dont play the commentary offten

I reckon that's more of a blessing - especially when it's on ch10. Their commentary is terrible.

There is a pub called the Courthouse in Newtown, close to the station. It's a proper pub with a big screen prjector - they play every Swans game live. It is a great venue and vibe, if you get there in time you can actually sit at the bar and watch the screen whilst putting schooners away - heaven. Been there several times with oppostion fans and it never gets beyond a bit of friendly banter. Top spot.

Thanks a lot for the advice fellas.

If you ever see an Eagles supporter sitting by himself in the corner chances are it's gonna be me.

Moving to Sydney for work and I don't know a soul. Hopefully the footy will keep me sane!

I have a healthy respect for the Swans (the 2006 GF had a lot to do with washing away the bitterness :D) so I dont envisage any problems with you lot :)

Thanks a lot for the advice fellas.

If you ever see an Eagles supporter sitting by himself in the corner chances are it's gonna be me.

Moving to Sydney for work and I don't know a soul. Hopefully the footy will keep me sane!

I have a healthy respect for the Swans (the 2006 GF had a lot to do with washing away the bitterness :D) so I dont envisage any problems with you lot :)

You would be better off being brave and buying a Swans membership and even turning up with your eagles gear .... (several actually do so) If you talk sense and not just parochial WC BS! then most Swans fans will enjoy and embrace a true footy fan banter! There was considerable respect for WC shown at BOTH GF's! (both ways) from what I experienced!

I think you'll find the pub scene not the place to find serious footy discussion or comradary... get along to the games!;)

Good luck:thumbsu: it can be a lonely very impersonal city, compared to Perth!

You would be better off being brave and buying a Swans membership and even turning up with your eagles gear .... (several actually do so) If you talk sense and not just parochial WC BS! then most Swans fans will enjoy and embrace a true footy fan banter! There was considerable respect for WC shown at BOTH GF's! (both ways) from what I experienced!

I think you'll find the pub scene not the place to find serious footy discussion or comradary... get along to the games!;)

Good luck:thumbsu: it can be a lonely very impersonal city, compared to Perth!

I did that same thing and rocked up in my Saints gear - its all good. Just get out there and you'll find some peeps to knock around with. Work is a good start......

G'day fella's,

Thanks for your help.

If you want to watch the West Coast jumper go round each and every week in Sydney, you can become a member of the East Coast Eagles AFL Football Club.

www.eastcoasteagles.com.au will give you all the info. The 2008 Sydney AFL Premier League draw is just about done and should be released next week. It will be on the site straightaway.

Cheers

Peter

Well from what we glean about the WA "night life" there are probably brothels in da Xross .... that will turn it on ;)

But Epping Hotel is not super far from Artarmon and they have quite a crowd for Sat night but the gottcha is you need to dine (bistroish ala cart) as well, to get decent seat!

The Greenwood in Killara just up the line a few stations has it on but beware you are in old school tie rugga zone so some of those WA party skills willcome in handy, if u know what i mean!

Give us a yell and some of us will join ya.... so long as you wear you Illeagals jumper and scarf:D:D:D

That's the Greengate. Stunned that they'd show footy, but it's been many a year since I've been there. Greenwood is down in Nrth Sydney.

G'day fella's,

Thanks for your help.

T- Bones I see you will be living on the north shore but the best place to watch with fellow West Coast supporters is probably the Windsor Castle Hotel in Paddington on the corner of Windsor and Elizabeth streets. I'm not sure if a lot of ex West Aussies live in the area or a few do and invite all their friends, but there are always heaps of them there when the West Coast play on a Friday or Saturday night. The Windsor is also a very AFL friendly pub. It's a good pub all round. The 2005 and 2006 QF finals were great. The pub probably fits 150, it was full, the crowd was 1/2 swans and 1/2 eagles supporters and both games were great spectacles. Those two games were probably the best atmosphere I have experienced in a Sydney pub in 15 years of watching AFL on TV at a pub here. Also the eagles and magpies SF this year was pretty damn good as well. Great game plenty of eagles fans, some magpies fans there, lots of neutrals and a packed pub.

The Alexandria about a 10 minute walk from Redfern train station is also good. Not necessarily great atmosphere during the home and away part of the season but they are very AFL friendly. Come finals time they put on two big screens in their beer garden on Friday and Saturday nights, plenty of people sometimes about 300+, and it's a very good atmosphere.

Thanks for the tip about the Windsor - I too am moving to sydney in two weeks time, as a WC supporter, but will hopefully be living near there so that's good news

The Alexandria, in Alexandria appropriately enough, is pretty good, if this hasn't already been mentioned. It's run by Darren "Harry" MacAsie, an ex Swans player. Club Swans was closed due to flooding but is now open. The big problem for me is it's in the Cross.

I've been to the last two Grand Finals at the Alexandria Hotel. Great Atmosphere.

Anyone know if they or anyone else will be putting in 3D?
Great place to watch the footy, but they were doing renos there early in the season?? Anyone know if they've finished? Another good place (if not already mentioned?) is the Courthouse in Newtown. much smaller, but always has AFL on in the main bar, friendly place, always have a chat about AFL in there.

Bump
Hi guys, I'll be in Sydney on Saturday, & need a place to watch the game. I've seen some of the suggestions that people have said in earlier years. So just looking for an update, and somewhere close to the cbd would be great.
Thanks