Graham VS Johnson

• Thread starter Thread starter inferno66

Normally I like Karl but he was so pro WC tonight. First, he talks about the FOR and AGAINT to suggest WC have a better forward line and defence.

Then Barra says what about over the last 7 weeks and instead of FOR and AGAINST or even GF or GA, Karl uses scoring shots lol, suggesting that other teams have been inaccurate against Freo, and again implying WC have a better attack and defence. Maybe we just rush a lot of behinds (which we do), and force the opposition to have tough shots at goal :rolleyes:

There is also something called midfield pressure.

Anyway was quite humerous. Barra was sticking up for us quite a bit.

And apparently only 3 Dockers could crack games in the Eagles lineup :rolleyes:

Kenny_01 said:
Normally I like Karl but he was so pro WC tonight. First, he talks about the FOR and AGAINT to suggest WC have a better forward line and defence.

Then Barra says what about over the last 7 weeks and instead of FOR and AGAINST or even GF or GA, Karl uses scoring shots lol, suggesting that other teams have been inaccurate against Freo, and again implying WC have a better attack and defence. Maybe we just rush a lot of behinds (which we do), and force the opposition to have tough shots at goal :rolleyes:

There is also something called midfield pressure.

Anyway was quite humerous. Barra was sticking up for us quite a bit.

And apparently only 3 Dockers could crack games in the Eagles lineup :rolleyes:
We'd have Pavlich, instead of Hansen. Bell instead of Fletcher. Farmer instead of Sampi. Longmuir instead of Staker. Mundy instead of Banfield.

Apart from those 5, im quite happy with our team, and wouldnt swap any others.

gdmclean said:
We'd have Pavlich, instead of Hansen. Bell instead of Fletcher. Farmer instead of Sampi. Longmuir instead of Staker. Mundy instead of Banfield.

And how many do you think we would swap?

yeah I heard it. i liked Karl as a caller but like Commetti,when these guys do these sorts of shows, their true allegiance shines through.He has NFI about players outside WC. As much as I hate the bloke,Brad is the only person that has some sort of idea

gdmclean said:

Mundy??? Banners experience is unrivalled and super important to the team. Longmuir is a crab. I'd much rather Staker. And Bell? Well I almost fell off my chair laughing so hard. How out of place would that little seagull look in our midfield.

His most penetrating kick goes about 30 metres, I could outrun him in a sprint he is that slow and he only ever picks up cheap possesions which never hurt the opposition. Fletcher isnt the most damaging of midfielders either but is far superior to Bell.

Pavlich and Farmer yes, even though I cant stand Farmer, he would still get a gig in our side. Other players I would look at our McPharlin, not sure where he would fit in? Johnson is very good. Ummm... That's about it.

jod23 said:
Mundy??? Banners experience is unrivalled and super important to the team. Longmuir is a crab. I'd much rather Staker. And Bell? Well I almost fell off my chair laughing so hard. How out of place would that little seagull look in our midfield.

His most penetrating kick goes about 30 metres, I could outrun him in a sprint he is that slow and he only ever picks up cheap possesions which never hurt the opposition. Fletcher isnt the most damaging of midfielders either but is far superior to Bell.

Pavlich and Farmer yes, even though I cant stand Farmer, he would still get a gig in our side. Other players I would look at our McPharlin, not sure where he would fit in? Johnson is very good. Ummm... That's about it.

lol :)

This is my combined Freo/WC side

B: Hayden Glass Wirrpunda
HB: Mundy McPharlin Stenglein
C: Kerr Cousins Braun
HF: Embley Pavlich Bell
F: Farmer Murphy Headland
R: Cox Judd J Carr

I: Sandilands Hasleby Dodd Johnson

Both players have been very good this year and will be for a long time at the respective clubs. I rate Graham very highly, very confident in his ability to do the job, whoever his opponent. So i would not swap him for Johnson.

Having said that, i havent seen Johnson THAT much, and what i have seen he has been very good.

Both clubs should be very happy with what they have got.

Kenny_01 said:

Haselby gets a gig before Selwood, Hunter and Fletcher? He doesn't even make the Dockers team on a regular basis.
Murphy has kicked 19 goals this year but is better at FF than Lynch who has 47?
And you think we are one eyed and arrogant.

West Coast 06 said:

On the main board one of your fans posted a Freo/WC team that included only one Freo player, Pavlich. So, yes we do.

West Coast 06 said:
Haselby gets a gig before Selwood, Hunter and Fletcher? He doesn't even make the Dockers team on a regular basis.
Murphy has kicked 19 goals this year but is better at FF than Lynch who has 47?

mate think long term, i would rather have Murphy he straightens out at FF and lead in the middle not sideways or on the wing. Also when you compare two full forwards look at how many games they have played this season....

Murphy has played 10 games and Lynch 20 games if you compare per 10 games number of goals Murphy has kicked more i belive

and Accuracy......compare kicking accuracy...

As for Haselby all I have to say is triple ross glendining medalist....how many has fletcher hunter or selwood won?

Also NAB Cup rising star winner....

kanabar said:
mate think long term, i would rather have Murphy he straightens out at FF and lead in the middle not sideways or on the wing. Also when you compare two full forwards look at how many games they have played this season....

Murphy has played 10 games and Lynch 20 games if you compare per 10 games number of goals Murphy has kicked more i belive
Ok per game stats:
Lynch Murphy
9.5 kicks 7.5
4.3 handballs 2.6
5.2 marks 5.6
1.15 tackles 0.6
2.4 goals 1.9

Probably should take into account that Lynch has spent a lot of time in the ruck for the five weeks that Cox was out as well.

As for Haselby all I have to say is triple ross glendining medalist....how many has fletcher hunter or selwood won?

Also NAB Cup rising star winner....
How many years do you want to go back now mate?
My point was Haselby hasn't been in Freos best 18 this year, however someone decided he was better than three West Coast players that are in our best 18.

Besides we all know how much Freo values those Ross Glendining medals. Boooo. ;)

Well that's twice that they've now awarded it to the 2nd best player on the ground - first Gardiner, now Judd. When Jeffrey steps up (as the true and rightful winner) to collect his on Sunday, a purple haze will descend over Subi.... as all the weagle supporters boo till they've turned purple from lack of oxygen. ;)

21logo.jpg

:D

West Coast 06 said:
Probably should take into account that Lynch has spent a lot of time in the ruck for the five weeks that Cox was out as well.

Murphy hasn't played at FF in every game either.

Kenny_01 said:

from an unbiased pooint of view....that team is a joke!....you have left out half the eagles team!....if you guys think you would have more players than eagles in a comined side then why arent you guys just about the best team in the comp for the last two years..... so you would pick hayden>hunter?...haha headland over staker/fletcher i rekon only pavlich/farmer/bell/j carr/mundy would be the only ones that would get a gig in the west coast team....yes go on rip into me buts its from an unbiased non west/freo supporter

jod23 said:

hahahaha, you total pole smoker.

So to summarise you have 20 out of 22 players that are better than ours, yet you still lost the last tiem we met regular season, and last 3 overall?

hahahaa, Jod - fantastic work.

wires on fire. said:
johnson is not bad, he kicks it like a mongbean though, and makes lots of clangers. graham is better.

Some of his Kicks don't look pretty, but I believe they are intentional. Reason being they usually go straight to a team mate, but not just that in these situations a normal kick would never go the way he wants. I think that is is brilliant that his skills are so good that he can kick the ball WHERE EVER HE WANTS. He basically uses his kicks like handballs when in congestion, & spots up a team mate every time.

GRANGE_GSM said:
from an unbiased pooint of view....that team is a joke!....you have left out half the eagles team!....if you guys think you would have more players than eagles in a comined side then why arent you guys just about the best team in the comp for the last two years..... so you would pick hayden>hunter?...haha headland over staker/fletcher i rekon only pavlich/farmer/bell/j carr/mundy would be the only ones that would get a gig in the west coast team....yes go on rip into me buts its from an unbiased non west/freo supporter

How many Freo games have you watched? How many WC games? So many opinions are based on "reputation" and not so much on form. If we are talking the entire last two years, then sure you'd probably have 4-5 Freo and the rest Eagles... if you're talking about current form (say the last 6-8 weeks), then you'd have a more equal representation.

Pavlich, Bell, Farmer, JCarr, Mundy would probably all get a nod as you've suggested - but I reckon McPharlin would also be a no-brainer, Hayden and Johnson would get a gig, Headland would likely be in there, and Sandilands as Cox's backup (Sandi > Seaby).

kuepper said:
hahahaha, you total pole smoker.

So to summarise you have 20 out of 22 players that are better than ours, yet you still lost the last tiem we met regular season, and last 3 overall?

hahahaa, Jod - fantastic work.

The "last 3 overall" - you mean the Exhibition game in London and a NAB cup game. Not many footy supporters would be bragging about winning those sort of games. But then again you are a Freo supporter and you must be used to clutching at straws. The only meaningful win you had against the Coasters this year was when Freo took the lead in the last 60 seconds of the game, hardly convincing.

BTW in the meaningful games West Coast lead Fremantle 17 - 6.

Graham > Johnson

GRANGE_GSM said:

So who would you have playing on small forwards? Wirrpunda? :eek:

Headland is a gun and was in the SOO side. Neither Staker nor Fletcher were in it.

Sandilands > Seaby.

Any more queries?

Kenny_01 said:
So who would you have playing on small forwards? Wirrpunda? :eek:

Headland is a gun and was in the SOO side. Neither Staker nor Fletcher were in it.

Sandilands > Seaby.

Any more queries?

Wirrapanda was an AA backpocket in 2005 because he played on small forwards.
Headlands has not been a gun since he left Brisbane, this year he has been solid.
Cox > Sandilands > Seaby