Great images in cricket.

• Thread starter Thread starter kaysee

Okay, players from bottom to top...........

Craig Walters
Chappell
Craig Serjeant
Lenny Pascoe
?????
?????
Mick Malone (?)
Kim Hughes
David Hookes
Richie Robinson
?????
Thommo
Marshy
Max

Looks like a couple are missing..................
Excuse the correction...Doug Walters

I think you're right mate. Where's Marshy though? Carted off on a stretcher maybe.
I think I've answered my own question as I think you can just see Marshy on the right of this slightly less cropped pic as seen on pg 24 of this thread where I've, embarrisingly, made the same set of comments then as I did now. Tbf I'm lucky these days to remember this morning let alone 3 years ago.

Attachments

• 1977.webp
    1977.webp
    161.8 KB · Views: 26
From the same year, Rick McCosker having his jaw broken in the Centenary Test. This seems to be the moment the pain is about to set in, while Bob Willis seems to realise he should put his arms down as he senses something is wrong with Rick.

McCosker.webp

The first time in Australian cricket history that seven players from a single state made an Australian Test XI.

WA in 1982-83. Who are they?

View attachment 2535255
All right. No looking up.

The easy ones.....
Lillee
Marsh
Alderman
Hughes

I reckon that could be Bruce Yardley standing on the left, and maybe Graeme Wood standing at the back.

No idea about the guy crouching front left - Tom Hogan?

All right. No looking up.

The easy ones.....
Lillee
Marsh
Alderman
Hughes

I reckon that could be Bruce Yardley standing on the left, and maybe Graeme Wood standing at the back.

No idea about the guy crouching front left - Tom Hogan?
Six out of seven

Other one is

Bruce Laird

The great Brucey Laird. This test match was in 1981 vs Pakistan, the Lillee-Miandad match. I went on the Sunday, Stumpy was 85 at lunch and we were all ready to see him get his maiden ton and he got out first ball after lunch caught down the leg side by Wasim Bari. Kim Hughes made a ton that day that only slightly made up for my disappointment. Got Imran's autograph in front of the Inverarity stand too.

Only time I ever went to the WACA was for a (packed) McDonalds Cup game at the end of the previous season and it was a real bush ground back then.

A name that will only mean anything to people there that afternoon.
I wasn't there that day, though I'm sure WA cricket fans of my vintage will remember it. The WACA could be hit and miss. The first time I went there was for WA vs MCC in 1977 and a bogan in the outer gave this handkerchief-on-the-head wearing Pommy a flogging for the crime of cheering for England, very on-brand for the WACA. Windies 1984 one dayer (WACA record crowd), 1985 one dayer vs NZ (Glenn Trimble game) and WC 1992 vs Pakistan also had that similar feral atmosphere. Dire experiences. Wasn't all bad though, last day vs India in 1977, Sachin's ton in 1992 and my favourite game at the WACA, WC England vs India 1992, Sachin vs Botham just a great atmosphere without the Swan Lager fortified bogan element.

I close my eyes at least once a Test and try to imagine the old Adelaide Oval so I never forget it, it's an amazing ground now but a certain amount of charm has been sacrificed. I first started to going there when the old Cresswell Stand was still up and the ground was effectively still the same one that hosted the Bodyline test.

Charm is the one thing the WACA could never be accused of having. They've done a decent job at AO at leaving it with some personality, more than at the new stadium in Perth anyway. At least in Perth though the pitch still suits muscular fast bowling and fast scoring batsmen like it did in days past.