Roast Grumpy Old Thread- 10k posts of whinging

I remember raiding the old man's beer at about 14 with a couple of mates when the folks were at work one school holidays. Copped a hiding for the ages when he got home.
That's one of the stark differences between ours and our parents' generations - they had the uncanny ability to know (almost to the exact millilitre) how much booze they had in the house at any given time.

I wouldn't have a clue how much booze I've got on hand. In fact, on more than one occasion I've reached into the carton sitting in the fridge only to discover, much to my horror, that I've run out :eek:

I know we tend to look at our childhoods with rose coloured lenses, but I wouldn't swap what I had with the kids of today..no way !

We went out with a sense of adventure, little adult supervision, and of course sometimes we got hurt. Riding a bike and dirt fights will do that to you !. but we bore our scars with pride (along with sunburn )

Now, my kids have play dates with other kids. WTF !

Now of course I should try and give my kids the childhood I had, but how do you explain to the Hospital (if your kid breaks their arm), that they were unsupervised between 9 & 5pm ? I'd probably get jailed !

where did it all go wrong ?

Very similar for me especially in school holidays, the bikes would take us all over town. I was lucky that in the rural/beachside town of about 10,000 we could do heaps of different stuff, fishing in the river or creeks, plenty of bush to muck around chucking rocks at stuff, enough shops with pinnies and so on, in high school years many hours were spent around the beach and caravan parks where families would (and still do) return every year, hoping that nice looking girl from Hobart or Launceston would be back this year.
We went everywhere on our bikes, even rode the 20km to the next town on a few occasions (on the highway, no helmets).
There were 4 primary schools in town and Saturday morning cricket meant sticking your cricket gear in a bag and riding the bike to the whichever ground, sometimes the team gear (stumps w/k gloves, score books, extra pads bats etc) would be carried in a big bag dangled between 2 bikes).
Imagine the uproar if some of those things happened these days, we didn't care though, it was just the way things were.
I reckon the young uns today have missed out on a lot.

Wasn't Green's Beach was it?

I know we tend to look at our childhoods with rose coloured lenses, but I wouldn't swap what I had with the kids of today..no way !

We went out with a sense of adventure, little adult supervision, and of course sometimes we got hurt. Riding a bike and dirt fights will do that to you !. but we bore our scars with pride (along with sunburn )

Now, my kids have play dates with other kids. WTF !

Now of course I should try and give my kids the childhood I had, but how do you explain to the Hospital (if your kid breaks their arm), that they were unsupervised between 9 & 5pm ? I'd probably get jailed !

where did it all go wrong ?

God i remember being 5 yr old with tonsillitis and stuck in an Adult Mens Ward....an old leg amputee in bed opposite. ..shit scared I was...hiding under the sheets became my only escape.

They would not do that to 5 year olds now. ..
? ????

Watched six million dollar man in the evening.

That show was THE SHIT. How good were the sound effects when he was lifting heavy stuff?

I remember one episode where Steve Austin was chasing the Bigfoot. The Bigfoot jumped over a river but Steve fell one yard short and made an embarrassing splash. That used to shit me no end. I used to be really annoyed about why they didn't just spend $7 million dollars so he could clear that friggin thing. I loved the motor that came with the action figure (something for the bionic arm to lift).

As a Grumpy Old Man, I can't remember someone's name from yesterday but I can remember this kind of shit.

:thumbsu::thumbsu: Good to have you back ferball.

Cheers.

I also had one. IIRC, it also came with a facsimile of a mini V8 engine that could be clicked into the hand of the bionic arm and lifted by pushing a button on the back of the figure. Also, the rubber sheath on the arm had a shelf life approximating that of an average johnny i.e. was damaged and rendered useless in short order.

I remember that thing. I never had one but jeez i wanted one. Then they brought out this big muthatrucking gun with rockets and missiles and stuff. It was a toy gun that we all wanted, but we had air rifles and daisy guns. How does that work? My neighbour had a sheep that never got sheared. It had about 3000 air rifle slugs in its fleece.

I remember one episode where Steve Austin was chasing the Bigfoot. The Bigfoot jumped over a river but Steve fell one yard short and made an embarrassing splash. That used to shit me no end. I used to be really annoyed about why they didn't just spend $7 million dollars so he could clear that friggin thing. I loved the motor that came with the action figure (something for the bionic arm to lift).

As a Grumpy Old Man, I can't remember someone's name from yesterday but I can remember this kind of shit.
Solid logic:thumbsu:

If I have another tosser say to me in a sing song voice - so you are home with the grand kids I will go Incredible Hulk on their sorry arse.

They are my kids & becoming a dad in your forties fast tracks grumpy old man status.

Sure does. WTF happened???

I wanted the Millennium Falcon toy.

Now I can have it...for $99....i cant play with it like I want to...on my arm swooshing around the yard saving Luke...talking to myself in character voices...making Wookie noises.

That sucks.
What's stopping you from swooshing around the yard saving Luke with it on your arm ...talking to yourself in character voices...making Wookie noises?

Probably a damned sight more normal than IUB on the dancefloor...

What's stopping you from swooshing around the yard saving Luke with it on your arm ...talking to yourself in character voices...making Wookie noises?

Probably a damned sight more normal than IUB on the dancefloor...

1. Nothing-

tumblr_mnigm6KZPY1sp6wlwo1_500.gif

2. IUB on dancefloor-

fool-gif.gif

I wanted the Millennium Falcon toy.

Now I can have it...for $99....i cant play with it like I want to...on my arm swooshing around the yard saving Luke...talking to myself in character voices...making Wookie noises.

That sucks.

When I was a kid, I had the Millenium Falcon model, along with the main action figures.
If I recall correctly, the Millenium Falcon toy was smaller than you'd think, but was made of quality metal, not flimsy plastic.
Gave them all away to a younger cousin 20 years ago. Fool.

When I was a kid, I had the Millenium Falcon model, along with the main action figures.
If I recall correctly, the Millenium Falcon toy was smaller than you'd think, but was made of quality metal, not flimsy plastic.
Gave them all away to a younger cousin 20 years ago. Fool.

The $99 at Big W is huge...would take two hands to fly.

Wasn't Green's Beach was it?
Nah, right end of the state though. Born and bred in Ulverstone. Greens Beach is a lovely spot though.

Cheers.

I remember that thing. I never had one but jeez i wanted one. Then they brought out this big muthatrucking gun with rockets and missiles and stuff. It was a toy gun that we all wanted, but we had air rifles and daisy guns. How does that work? My neighbour had a sheep that never got sheared. It had about 3000 air rifle slugs in its fleece.

A mate and I had air rifles, one time we had a fair dinkum shoot out, I never got hit, but hit him in the thigh from about 50 metres (it bounced off). I did cop a dart in the shoulder (whole tip went in) when we had an outside dart board though.

Sometimes I wonder how we all made it through to adulthood.

A mate and I had air rifles, one time we had a fair dinkum shoot out, I never got hit, but hit him in the thigh from about 50 metres (it bounced off). I did cop a dart in the shoulder (whole tip went in) when we had an outside dart board though.

Sometimes I wonder how we all made it through to adulthood.

we had slug guns too Baz. Used to wet bits of paper and shoot those. Played our own version of Hide and go shoot.
it made you hide Fu&&**g well too !

we had slug guns too Baz. Used to wet bits of paper and shoot those. Played our own version of Hide and go shoot.

Same...did it in a big double storey house....mate knew it back the front cos it was his house...I didn't..... nekminit....

shots-9.gif

we used to do that too, I think the infamous shoot out may have started that way and escalated.

God i remember being 5 yr old with tonsillitis and stuck in an Adult Mens Ward....an old leg amputee in bed opposite. ..shit scared I was...hiding under the sheets became my only escape.

They would not do that to 5 year olds now. ..
? ????

Same with me. A 5yr old being told by the nurse that if I didn't eat the jelly I couldn't go home. It was snot green. I hate jelly. My throat was so sore I could barely swallow.

Now that just leave the tonsils in.

Still hate jelly.

Same with me. A 5yr old being told by the nurse that if I didn't eat the jelly I couldn't go home. It was snot green. I hate jelly. My throat was so sore I could barely swallow.

Now that just leave the tonsils in.

Still hate jelly.

I had one nice red haired Nurse. She lubbed me. Rest were campaigners

If I have another tosser say to me in a sing song voice - so you are home with the grand kids I will go Incredible Hulk on their sorry arse.

They are my kids & becoming a dad in your forties fast tracks grumpy old man status.

Ha. I had the same comment made to me last year mate. I was speechless. I was without speech. I didn't bother correcting the old couple who said it, instead just nodding like a tosser.

Probably the same old couple who tut tutted at me taking my 15 month old into the Baby Changeroom in 2005 when I was a stay at home Dad....