Roast Grumpy Old Thread- 10k posts of whinging

Now I am reading the Sunday Age. On page 12 there is an article about how Grumpy Olds (Gen X) had do as you please childhoods and yet today have turned into helicopter parents.

Yep wat went wrong with us?

When I was 9 years old our Teacher took 30 of us on a day long bike ride without helmets or support vehicles etc...no one gave a shit. We had the time of our lives and remember that 1977 excursion like it was yesterday.

Ffwd 2016...just wouldn't happen.

Insert sad emoji.

Now I am reading the Sunday Age. On page 12 there is an article about how Grumpy Olds (Gen X) had do as you please childhoods and yet today have turned into helicopter parents.

When I was 9 years old our Teacher took 30 of us on a day long bike ride without helmets or support vehicles etc...no one gave a shit. We had the time of our lives and remember that 1977 excursion like it was yesterday.

Insert sad emoji.
I literally don't know how I would've gotten through childhood without the ability to jump on my bike (sans helmet, lights, bell etc) and disappear for hours on end. Don't reckon my parents would've made it through, either.

Last week went to Hospital and spent a couple of days there getting bitsand pieces done.

Since turning 45 a few years back and having a few workings with the health care system i have made it a goal to not be have to use it...in other words get healthy.

I am getting there, lost a lot of weight, exercise, drink less etc etc.

A lot of shit was caused from the first 45 years of piss farting about. ..invincible. ..mindset.

I had fun though.

But my point being is that after leaving that hospital ward Friday, outside of the birth that happened, there is not much joy to be had in there as I saw around my little ward.

So enjoy your good health Grumpy Olds.

Ps A bowl of All Bran with Almond Milk for brekkie wasnt a shit sandwich like I thought it was going to be. ...

I literally don't know how I would've gotten through childhood without the ability to jump on my bike (sans helmet, lights, bell etc) and disappear for hours on end. Don't reckon my parents would've made it through, either.

Same. I had free run around my Town. But I think about it today and my gut churns at the crazy risks we occasionally took.

Maybe we are more knowledgeable about the dangers than the 1970's...and that's made us more 'yeh nah' as Parents?

Insert sad emoji.

I used to wave goodbye to mum at 9am on a Saturday morning after a bowl of cocoa pops with full fat milk. Rode on my gold three speed dragster to my friends house in the bush. No helmet. Ran around chucking rocks at imaginary enemies, swam in a tea-coloured dam and played monopoly when we were tired in the arvo. No plastic drink bottles, no sun screen (the sun seemed to be different back then), no worries. Wandered back home at dinner time. Said g'day and mum and dad would ask how my day was. Watched six million dollar man in the evening.

My daughters aren't even allowed to walk to school. And I can't just blame wife. There are just too many creeps hanging around on ice. My girls' jaws drop open when I tell them what was normal in the 70's and 80's.

I'm sorry but 10 km under the limit is more dangerous than 10km over. Tell her to speed up!

Really?

Maybe 20 or 30 km under. Not 10. Maybe it depends where you live. Someone driving 50km/hr on a windy road when I'm late is very dangerous for all concerned. Especially if they're the sort of people who don't pull over to let fast moving local traffic thru.

Learners should drive slower than the speed limit.

We went to Melbourne over Christmas. While I was away the speed limit on my road went from 100km/hr to 80!!!! WTF? Revenue raising campaigners in Sydney or the local council. (More likely. Sydney is 800km away.) I get called out to most of the accidents on this road. Nowhere near enough to justify that change.

Hope youse all had a good time since the end of the footy season and especially over summer. Merry Christmas, HNY etc etc. RIP see see's avatar.

I'd have broken glass floors in my kitchen and bathroom before buying anything from Frank Walker of National Tiles. A more annoying campaigner you will not find.

I try to turn the volume down when I hear him. Sadly I have heard too much of him over the years and so when the need arises to infuriate other members of our household, I can do quite a reasonable impression of him. It does work.

I used to wave goodbye to mum at 9am on a Saturday morning after a bowl of cocoa pops with full fat milk. Rode on my gold three speed dragster to my friends house in the bush. No helmet. Ran around chucking rocks at imaginary enemies, swam in a tea-coloured dam and played monopoly when we were tired in the arvo. No plastic drink bottles, no sun screen (the sun seemed to be different back then), no worries. Wandered back home at dinner time. Said g'day and mum and dad would ask how my day was. Watched six million dollar man in the evening.

My daughters aren't even allowed to walk to school. And I can't just blame wife. There are just too many creeps hanging around on ice. My girls' jaws drop open when I tell them what was normal in the 70's and 80's.
Very similar for me especially in school holidays, the bikes would take us all over town. I was lucky that in the rural/beachside town of about 10,000 we could do heaps of different stuff, fishing in the river or creeks, plenty of bush to muck around chucking rocks at stuff, enough shops with pinnies and so on, in high school years many hours were spent around the beach and caravan parks where families would (and still do) return every year, hoping that nice looking girl from Hobart or Launceston would be back this year.
We went everywhere on our bikes, even rode the 20km to the next town on a few occasions (on the highway, no helmets).
There were 4 primary schools in town and Saturday morning cricket meant sticking your cricket gear in a bag and riding the bike to the whichever ground, sometimes the team gear (stumps w/k gloves, score books, extra pads bats etc) would be carried in a big bag dangled between 2 bikes).
Imagine the uproar if some of those things happened these days, we didn't care though, it was just the way things were.
I reckon the young uns today have missed out on a lot.

We used sun screen. .but as my Skin Cancer Doctor now says...it was probably factor 5...and unless you were using zinc you were wasting your time. Mum made me use zinc on my nose..I hope its enough to keep it safe over the next 43 years to my 100th in 2068.
Yep, as one with fair skin Mum made me put the zinc cream on my nose, ****in hated it, but am thankful now.

Yep, we used to be out and about pretty early, straight round the local primary school smashing windows, razzing up the local hot-head bully, ghostying bikes into people's houses, running amok down the food court (IUB a has long been a mod in the making), chucking lemons at houses, ordering pizzas and taxis to the house across the road til very late at night, kicking the footy on the road, etc.

You name it. Kids these days are going to grow up insular little shits.

Yep, as one with fair skin Mum made me put the zinc cream on my nose, ****in hated it, but am thankful now.

The white was cool...not the brown zinc...that meant you had shit on your nose....and you were told over and over and over...

Yep, we used to be out and about pretty early, straight round the local primary school smashing windows, razzing up the local hot-head bully, ghostying bikes into people's houses, running amok down the food court (IUB a has long been a mod in the making), chucking lemons at houses, ordering pizzas and taxis to the house across the road til very late at night, kicking the footy on the road, etc.

You name it. Kids these days are going to grow up insular little shits.

...wrecking the day out at Gumbuya Park, smashing neighbours Leggo..

The white was cool...not the brown zinc...that meant you had shit on your nose....and you were told over and over and over...
Only ever had the white one, thank goodness.

If you buggers are old & grumpy, what are you doing with small children at home ? o_O
Should be complaining about them coming home at " all hours " and waking you up !

If I have another tosser say to me in a sing song voice - so you are home with the grand kids I will go Incredible Hulk on their sorry arse.

They are my kids & becoming a dad in your forties fast tracks grumpy old man status.

A selection of personal highlights from the past few posts:
Watched six million dollar man in the evening.
That show was THE SHIT. How good were the sound effects when he was lifting heavy stuff?
RIP see see's avatar.
:thumbsu::thumbsu: Good to have you back ferball.
Most underrated form of entertainment known to mankind.
ghostying bikes
My alltime favourite was ghostying a 'borrowed' bike off Brighton pier.

A selection of personal highlights from the past few posts:

That show was THE SHIT. How good were the sound effects when he was lifting heavy stuff?

:thumbsu::thumbsu: Good to have you back ferball.

Most underrated form of entertainment known to mankind.

My alltime favourite was ghostying a 'borrowed' bike off Brighton pier.

See see I was lucky enough to have the Six Million Dollar Man action figure.

You could look through the back of his head and look through his bionic eye...the effect was like when you looked through the eye piece it was the effect of when you look through the wrong end of a telescope. ..it wasn’t binocular at all!

His arm had a sheath that rolled up to reveal his binocular arm....and as I was to find out years later...resembled the manner in which a condom is rolled on.

Great toy...played with it saving the world with Spiderman in my backyard. ..

See see I was lucky enough to have the Six Million Dollar Man action figure.

You could look through the back of his head and look through his bionic eye...the effect was like when you looked through the eye piece it was the effect of when you look through the wrong end of a telescope. ..it wasn’t binocular at all!

His arm had a sheath that rolled up to reveal his binocular arm....and as I was to find out years later...resembled the manner in which a condom is rolled on.

Great toy...played with it saving the world with Spiderman in my backyard. ..
I also had one. IIRC, it also came with a facsimile of a mini V8 engine that could be clicked into the hand of the bionic arm and lifted by pushing a button on the back of the figure. Also, the rubber sheath on the arm had a shelf life approximating that of an average johnny i.e. was damaged and rendered useless in short order.

I remember raiding the old man's beer at about 14 with a couple of mates when the folks were at work one school holidays. Copped a hiding for the ages when he got home.