Event Hall of Fame - Season 34 edition

Now from 1 Swampie to another, our 3rd inductee for this seasons edition is former admin Ant Bear.

29m1PR7.png

Thanks Bonce, and can I just say it’s about bloody time.

You can say whatever you want mate but lets try and start off with how you arrived into the SFA?

I answered an ad in a thread on the Port board, by @MannumPower at the end of S17. He was skipper of the Alberton Swamprats at the time, but by the time S18 rolled around, spookism had succeeded him, and GeeDub was going to co-captain, but abandoned his post to defect before S18 began, leading to the iconic spookism breakdown.

Early impressions of the league?

Like most rookies, I didn't know what to make of the league at the time. My first interaction was an invite to the S17 Swamprat B&F awards, to be held at the Prince Of Wales hotel, and I was actually considering fronting at the actual hotel for the evening!

You can’t be serious?

Bonce, it took a while for the fantasy aspect of the league to dawn on me, and I posted lightly but fairly consistently throughout my first two seasons but took no real interest in the machinations of the game or the characters involved. However, I was treated better than I deserved; played mainly off a wing and took interest in my statistics, which eventually became a hallmark of my posting.

Right, well once you were invested which posters did you look to?

I have never tried to emulate any particular poster; however there are undeniably some who were mentors and influencers. These were spookism initially, along with MannumPower, and I particularly enjoyed the work of MoOP; however the posters that really drew me out of my shell were Millky95 and Kennedy Parker in S20. Together, we formed the nucleus of the famed SpamRats, and I never looked back. It was the golden era of the club, and of the league. There have been others along the way - Dingster, The Filth Wizard, Far Kern and Wooshette were others who I really enjoyed interactions with, but at various moments, I have crossed swords with most of the great posters of that period from S20 - S30.

You're predominantly known for playing at the Swampies, but you did play at the Wonders. Do you regret the move across for those 2 seasons or does being a one club player not really appeal to you?

I always thought that I would be a one club player, but once you cross that line...it's like losing your virginity - you wish it was better, but you cannot take it back! At the time that I left the Swampies, we had just won the S27 premiership. I had won 2 Mobbs Medals, captained the club, won 4 B&F's and been an All-SFA player in 8 consecutive seasons. It was the first season of my time as Admin, and the time seemed right for a change. You ask do I regret it? It's easy to say that it was a poor decision with hindsight, but without going, I would have always had that itch to scratch regarding experiencing the culture on the other side of the fence, so I am still comfortable with my decision. But I will stay a Swamprat forever now.

Can you explain what your time was like at the Wonders, how does it compare to the Swampies?

It was...different. Firstly, although I was Admin of the league, I was rightly not in the LG at the Wonders, and the lack of input disengaged me. Then I had some RL issues to sort out as well, which really left me with just enough time to devote to Admin matters, and I failed to contribute sufficiently at my new club, which led to some angst from those within who expected more from me. At another time, without the distractions, I might have thrown myself directly into assimilation, but it just wasn't to be. In the end, our divorce and my homecoming were by mutual agreement. The culture was different, but then again, it was different at the Swamprats when I returned after two seasons away than it was when I left - culture is manufactured by the people leading the club, and it just naturallydevelops and changes.

What is the highlights of your career from your eyes?

My clear highlight was the S27 Premiership - despite my reputation, the team is always number one for me. Obviously, many personal accolades - S22 and S26 Mobbs Medals, S22 beez Trophy, 9 All-SFA caps, 5 Swamprat B&F awards, centre in the All-Time All-SFA team and I took and still take great pride in all of them, as well as the many minor accolades that I was awarded along the way. But the most memorable times are the week of the S27 Grand Final, followed by the first Grand Final I played in, against the Roys in S25

Statistically season 27 was your best, do you agree with this? Is there anything in particular you remember from around that time?

To be honest, I'm not even sure that S27 was my best season. I would have opted for S22, when I was awarded the Mobbenfuhrer Medal, the beez trophy, club B&F, All-SFA ruck-rover, and was intimately involved in all areas of the league, helping with league awards, inaugurating SuperQoach, creating interesting and influential media and so on. I'm not sure why S27 would be regarded as my best season, other than racking up a few kicks - there is nothing particularly memorable about the season, other than the race to succeed KP as Admin, and of course the Premiership at the end of it.

Well I refer you to the key word there “statistically” so racking up a few kicks probably explains it, anyway moving on favourite position to play? Spent a little time in the ruck but mainly through the middle?

Look, I'm a stats nerd, so I like to play where I can accumulate stats, namely across the centre line and in the ruck line. I always felt that it was important to earn a position, though, through posting and other contributions to the team.
A common misconception is that I hogged the ruck-rover position; fact is, I played only the 5 seasons in that spot (S21/22/24/25/26), and have played many more games in the centre and wings, as well as a season and a half in ruck.

You've played more games with Power Raid and Quadzila then anyone else by a considerable margin, where do they rank in your favourite players to play with?

You have mentioned two of my favourite posters and people there! I especially love Power Raid, I have half of my like tally to thank him for!

Who is your favourite teammate?

Over time, I have my favourites. Millky, KP, spook to begin with, then the legendary spammer Far Kern. There are others, and I loved posting with all the Swamprats in the seasons that I was there. But I would have to say that Dingster was my favourite team-mate, he helped me out when I and the Rats were at our lowest, and we had a lot in common in attitude and demeanor. I reckon we would be mates IRL, if circumstances allowed it.

Who's your least?

Nobody (cough, U2tigers ,cough) . No, just kidding Bono - I learned fairly quickly not to take any offence to perceived sleights and sledges, it's only a fantasy game!

Best poster you've seen in the league?

I always liked active engaging posters, and I think this describes The Filth Wizard perfectly. Over my career, he has been the best, most consistent poster that I have seen. But at various time, I have also enjoyed the work of the eclectic and eccentric types - Marlowe, Mr Eagle, MoOP, Dennis Kermit in his various guises, even had moments against some lesser known posters such as yyou or Van_Dyke

Is there a poster you've loved to hate?

Well, obviously BRAB. But that became too personal, and I had to consciously refrain from interactions, as I never thought it was beneficial to post whilst angry.

Time as admin, what was it like? What were the successes you feel you had as admin, anything you'd do differently?

I feel that, as time goes on, it is being recognised more generously than it was at the time. The things that I gained most satisfaction from were the everlasting changes that I brought to the game; the different way that the games were collected for storage in the archives, the engagement of the Committee and by extension the teams was higher during my reign than ever before or since. I thank the Committee members from my time; most of them have become statesmen within the league, and many will join us in the HoF one day.

What does your future hold? 300th game ticked off in round 1

Yep. Guess I'd better be active! Unfortunately, I will probably fade as the season goes on, as has become my habit in the past few seasons. But I see that I am being summoned to again revive SuperQoach, which I will probably do at some stage in the future. And when I retire in RL, or my circumstances change, it may well be that I ride in on my dirty white horse to rescue the league again!

Thanks for your time, boncer, and thanks to the HoF members who voted to include me in their our exclusive club! Now, I believe that the premium beers are on tap?

Everything is on tap in the Hall of Fame.

pX3bEbo.png

But we move on from posters who have been at multiple clubs to a man who has managed to stick true to one club for an incredibly long time and that is Headless. Congratulations mate and welcome aboard! Now I believe your entry to the SFA was a little different to most?

Thanks Bonce, it’s a huge honour and yeah your right prior to the Sweet FA, I was involved in a similar concept (but cricket-based) over at the StickCricket forum. We had a decent league there, and eventually also had a qooty league - I even captained StickCricket against BigFooty in an inter-league carnival about 15 years ago!

When I joined the Sweet FA (Season 6/7 off-season), I remember being a little hesitant, as the league was a lot bigger as more established. I eventually got involved, though, and was drawn to the Mount Buller Demons.

What was it like jumping into a more established league?

I wasn't used to joining a league that had already been established (I was in from Season 1 elsewhere), so it felt big in a way - but it was still developing in hindsight. It took some time to understand what was happening, and that process was true again when I returned to the league after a time of relative inactivity. New players have a tough job in getting their head around it all.

Posting didn't really matter at all when I joined, but in early days I enjoyed posting alongside the likes of EBIAC, Tarkyn_24 (who dropped me from the side), and okeydoke7. cats2rise is largely responsible for getting me back into the league, and is one of the competition's most underrated posters ever in my view. But there are so many players I've enjoyed posting with and against over a long period of time.

You are a one club play, is this something you pride yourself on? Is there a club you've ever thought of jumping ship to?
It's definitely something I enjoy, but it wouldn't be the case if Mount Buller didn't consistently host many of the best posters in the league.

The Koalas hold a special place in my heart, and my dear friends at the Royals have consistently tempted. A very long time ago, I think I also nearly joined the Southern Sharks (or perhaps it was the Southern Dragons).

But Mount Buller is home.

What is the highlights of your career from your eyes?

Just silly stuff when the place gets a bit of momentum. I like Foundation Cup match threads, I like whimsical media trends, I like listening to podcasts that mention me because The Jesus can only name 15% of current players.

The momentum behind the Koalas a few seasons ago was pretty great, though, and one day the Koalas will play again. And TedDougChris being named in the All-Sweet FA team as a specialist interchange player.

You’ve managed to have a few decent seasons over a long period, which one stands out to you?
Statistically, probably each of my seasons is horrible. I think I share the record for the most games with donuts ever recorded.

Honestly, I have no idea which season would look best on paper, because I'm not that interested in that type of thing. It's funny to me when I don't even get onto the field, and it's funny to me when I do and then kick an important goal or something - so it's a win either way. I do remember cats2rise played me at full forward one season for like six games, so maybe whenever that was.

Favourite position to play?
INT2. It's the best, most versatile, and most premium position - despite what my dear friend Ant Bear suggests! I've played there exclusively for many seasons, and have never enjoyed the league more than that period. It gave me something to talk about. I really like it when players try to make positions their own, too.

Before that, I played in the back pocket, and I started my career on a forward flank, I think. But INT2 is definitely my favourite.

You've played more games with Cooney then anyone else by a considerable margin, where does he rank in your favourite players to play with?
cooney is an absolute legend of this place, and should be celebrated as such. To have played so many games together is a great pleasure of mine, and I hope there are many more to come.

Who is your favourite teammate? If you want to be controversial, who's your least?
I genuinely tried to answer this, but couldn't come up with anything good for either question. There are many possible answers for the former. Perhaps the answer is boncer34.

Best poster you've seen in the league?

That's a really, really good question. I don't think I've ever been asked it - because ultimately, probably nobody cares. But let me think.

manangatang is right up there with the cleverest I've seen. I think of anybody, okeydoke7 is what the league needs most right now.

Is there a poster you've loved to hate?
No, no - but this is true of the Wonders collectively. The best match threads are active ones with the Wonders. I think over the years of posting match-ups with the like of haydo, where the history is respected on both sides.

Is there a period within the league you loved more then others?
It's turned from a simulated commentary into a content machine, much to the benefit of the ad revenue of the anonymous online text-based football discussion forum bigfooty.com.

I think I liked Season 25-29 or so the most, because I think I was most engaged with the league. Most who were around would probably say maybe ten seasons prior to that, but I personally was floating in and out a bit more. Seasons earlier still have sentimental value. The league as it is today is, well, fine.

What does your future hold?
I have decided to retire.

Actually?
Nah, but to be honest it does feel appropriate.

It’s never appropriate to retire after receiving this honour, stay and hold it over the peasants that don’t have access to the club.

Our first inductee for Season 34 is a person I’m personally delighted in seeing reach the Hall of Fame, being a former teammate of mine both here and in the Fantasy Cricket comp before it died sausageroll. I caught up with Snags and discussed his time in the SFA now he’s reached the pinnacle of Individual awards.

cYlwqQU.png

Snags first congratulations on the HOF honour, what drew you into the SFA? Did someone invite you or did you stumble across the board by yourself?

Cheers Bonce, it’s an incredible honour and not something I ever dreamed about setting out to achieve when I joined.

Excellent lead into the first question mate, what drew you into the SFA? Did someone invite you or did you stumble across the board by yourself?

I joined BF as a resource for AFL Dream Team back in the good old days where you had to do your own research on players, and everything wasn’t handed to you on a platter. I was looking through the fantasy football forums and stumbled onto the SFA. I’d written basic footy sim programs in the past and had put a draft down for a more complex version but never got around to putting it into code. So when I saw Qooty I was instantly interested in seeing what this sim like. The Sharks had just been created I liked the work @Frankston Rover had done with the team so I joined them.

What were your first impressions of the league? Did a poster in particular stand out? Was there someone you tried to model your posting style on?

I enjoyed it right from the start. I started as a small forward but soon worked my way into the midfield. I was blessed with amos as a team mate that season. He was the most imaginative poster I’ve seen in and fantasy footy league who would bring team mates and opposition players into the thread with his posting. We had a similar attitude towards the game and bounced off each other really well that season. To this day, he’s still my favourite poster ever.

From the opposition, WCE_all_da_Way (Wally) and Big Man (Biggie) became instant favourites, mostly because I knew them from a forum called Talking Footy that we’d been on previously. Those two would become rivals for All-SFA spots in the midfield over the next few seasons.

Tarkyn_24 and Pie 4 Life were two that were always engaging from the start and I have enjoyed banter with and against in SFA and in rival qooty leagues.

There are a lot of current posters that I like a lot, but there’s a different level of enjoyment whenever I see any of the players from my early seasons (S7-S11) posting. The posters from those days are all among my favourites and I’m lucky to have quite a few of them as team mates at the Demons, some going stronger than ever.

Now its fair to say you’ve enjoyed your time at multiple clubs having played at 5 clubs over your journey, which club has been your favourite to play at? What do you remember about your time at each club?

I’ve really enjoyed periods with all clubs I’ve played at. The first season at the Sharks was great alongside amos and only one of the most controversial losses in the history of the game cost us a spot in the grand final.

The next season saw the Sharks merge with the Dragons, which technically counts as a change of clubs. A couple of people at the Bombers asked me to join them but the “Shagons” had several players I liked from another comp I’d been dragged across to in my first season (Take Forum) so I decided to stay. Over the next few seasons, more and more of the players I liked dropped off, while the Bombers kept hitting me up to join them. Eventually, after three seasons at the Dragons, I decided to move.

Highlight at the Dragons:

I still hold the record for the Dragons highest ever DT score for one match. I scored 173 DT, including 27 posessions, 11 tackles and 6 goals. It was in the first ever game for the Dragons and in the following 28 seasons no-one has ever matched it. There was no All-SFA that season but I led the league in stats. I’m not sure if there has ever been more DT points scored in a season by any other player. I’d like to know either way.

My time at the Bombers was split into four distinct periods…

• 1 and ½ seasons of full activity and 2 x All-SFA. I took over the captaincy late in my first season and recruited heavily, targeting my favourite ex-players and players from other qooty comps. Back in those days there were limits on how big threads on BF could be and the Bombers team thread broke those limits, which was unheard of from a team thread. The Hawks responded with a similar recruiting drive and for a short time the two clubs were posting powerhouses in the league and full of stars from the time. This, along with my history with Wally and Biggie and respect for their past players, is the reason I continue to be firmly against the rebrand of the club.
  • In the second half of my second season with the Bombers I joined the RAAF. This included 10 weeks at recruit training where I had no access to internet at all and then 16 months of temporary postings and training where I had incredibly slow only dial up internet access. When I joined the RAAF we were top of the ladder. I had to step down from captaincy and couldn’t post for the rest of the season. I found out later that the team went out of the finals in straight losses after gaining the double chance. For the 16 months with limited internet access I only posted once or twice a week. After I’d completed my training my interest had decreased so I just continued at this level of posting for a while. I was technically active, but at a very limited level.
  • I spent 6 months on deployment in Afghanistan and had nothing to do in my free time as we couldn’t leave our base. We had internet access though. This is when my interest and activity bounced back. I was engaged in match threads in a way I hadn’t been since S11. The league had changed though and spam was now a thing. Match threads were suddenly filled with content that had nothing to do with match banter. Forum posting standards had changed significantly as well. I tried to get back into the more aggressive banter style that had been common previously but was given multiple friendly warnings from moderators that knew me from the old days telling me we weren’t allowed to say stuff like that anymore. I just adapted to the casual posting style I still go with these days where I just try to enjoy good banter with my team mates and opposition.
  • The leadership team at the Bombers decided they wanted to rebrand the club due to the Essendon drug scandal. They felt like it was getting hard to recruit new players. They were totally open with me and the other long-term players about their proposal. I understood the reasoning but didn’t like it. Worse still, they chose to go with the Bandits, which I thought was one of the worst options of those proposed. I lost all interest in the team and soon after I told the captain I was going to take a break and not to name me while I was away. This is where I fell behind Tarks in games played. Had I not made that request I would’ve played 200 games at the club. If the Bandits had never happened there’s a chance I could still be a Bomber now. I would like to go back sometime, when the time is right. That is likely to be a fair way off though. Some will be aware that KohPhi actually joined the Demons one off season but changed his mind soon after. What people don’t know is that part of my pitch to sign him was an agreement that if he played for the Demons and decided he wanted to go back to the Bombers at some time I’d go back with him to the Bombers for a season.
Highlights at the Bombers:

The short time I was captain. This is where I saw the value of having active teammates over match stats. I moved myself out of the midfield and played as a small defender. Back pocket when the team was at peak activity and back flank when flanker’s posting dropped off. We also got on a winning run late in the season I took over and were top of the ladder when I had to hand over the captaincy. I’d be interested in seeing my win/loss ratio as captain. I’m pretty confident it’d be right up there with the best.

This is where my eternal rookie status came about. Around the time where my activity levels had increased again This Is Anfield had a “Meet The Rookies” included me in a media segment where he’d interview some of the SFA rookies. I played along, not letting him know I had been around for years, but most of my answers referenced things from my SFA history. I’ve been a rookie ever since. I’m guessing most of the people who reference me as a rookie don’t even know why they’re doing it. Well, this is why…

Media - Inside Qooty Episode 1

My time off from the Bandits wasn’t because I had lost interest in the SFA; just that I didn’t like the Bandits as the club identity. So when Tarks hit me up about joining the Furies I decided to give it a go. The fact that I even considered joining the Furies shows how much I hated the Bandits. There’s always been something about the Furies that isn’t quite right. But I actually enjoyed the majority of my time there and felt like it was a pretty solid group. In the third season a few of my favourites dropped off significantly, including Tarks, and the second half of the season was a total shitfight. So I accepted an offer to join the Demons.

Highlight at the Furies.
Leaving.

I don’t really need to say much about the Demons. In my time there it has been consistently one of the best quality clubs in the SFA every season, if not the best. There’s always been incredible depth of posters a great mix of personalities who all bring something positive to the club. The team we’ll be taking into Season 35 is probably the best quality line-up we’ve had since I joined.

Highlight at the Demons
My team mates.

Statistically season 8 was your best, but you've been pretty consistent. You'd be one of the few players with that sort of longevity between top tier seasons, how have you managed to reinvent yourself and your interest in the league constantly? Which is the best season you can think of?

No season really stands out. Season 7 was great alongside amos. Season 8 was great from a statistics point of view. I really enjoyed captaining the Bombers from late Season 10 to mid-late Season 11. Every season has been great with the Demons.

Playing in the midfield and being one of the highest stats winners in the comp over the majority of my early seasons was great at the time, but even back then it was the match thread banter that I enjoyed most. I moved myself away from the midfield when I was captain because that midfield position could be used for incentive to encourage other team mates to get more involved. I’ve had seasons where I’ve been in the top 6 or so posters in the club but sat happily in a forward pocket because I was part of an active team. So I guess if there was a way I reinvented myself it was the lower care factor regarding stats.

Having said that, I do enjoy seeing the sim treat me well. And one highlight I should mention was the season I played half forward all season and outscored every Furies player and ranked higher than a good percentage of full-time midfielders.

Full Forward I played there once for the Bombers and kicked a bag and spookism named me full forward one season in SoO. I ended up leading the goal kicker for minor rounds and finals and won the medal in the Grand Final. That was the same season I outscored all Furies from half forward in the regular season.

I don’t care too much about where I play but I definitely wouldn’t knock back the opportunity to play a season at full forward at some stage.

You’ve played more games with Tarks then anyone else, where does he rank in your favourite players to play with? Who is your favourite teammate? If you want to be controversial, who’s your least?

Who’s Tarks?

Yeah, he’s right up there. Top quality poster. Top quality person. Looking forward to jumping ship and leaving him behind again though. So’s he, probably.

Does anyone remember Bushranger? He was terrible. But I loved seeing him every time he made an appearance. Always made me laugh. Even okeydoke7 ’s ego didn’t come close to him. He might not have been SFA though.

I actually don’t have any posters I hate. I think everyone brings something to the league. I don’t think naming someone I hate would be controversial but naming someone I don’t hate might be… XenXen. I never really understood why so many people hated her so much. She spammed the hell out of the first match thread I shared with here but after that she was much better. I don’t think people gave her much of a chance.

How do you think the league has evolved over time? You've seen the transition from 2-page match threads, to more content, right through to the content explosion we see today. Is there a period you loved more than others?

Yeah, there have been big changes over the time I’ve been involved. The increase in posters and activity has been great. A lot of people who weren’t around in the first 12 or so seasons don’t understand how different the whole site was back then. There was no tagging or reactions. People had no notifications at all so the comp relied heavily on people actually navigating to the SFA to take part. People might think the SFA was pretty crap in comparison to now, but that’s not the case. It was just as enjoyable for me. And you could get away with a lot more in the banter than you can these days. Posting these days is pretty tame compared to how things got on occasions in the past.

A lot of threads these days end up being filled with a lot of crap that has absolutely nothing to do with qooty. So higher activity is not always better. There is good and bad in each situation.

There are plenty of players in the league I’d like to play alongside. A couple of those will get that tick this season but I feel that I need to tick off a few more. I can feel a change on the horizon.

You’re top 10 in most stats except goals and behinds. Do you blame Tarks because he hogs FF keeping you out of the forward line? Can you see yourself resting forward more as your career continues to try and slide into the top 10 in those categories?

Tarks hasn’t played a season at FF for a while. I think he’d like to though. So anyone other than him would be great
I’ll play wherever suits the balance of the team most. I’m happy to play anywhere as long as those in other positions are contributing. If that's in the forward lie then who knows, I might be a chance of moving up the goal kicking ranks. Especially if I ever get a chance to play FF. I'm less than 100 goals outside the top 10. But that's not really that important.

Thanks Snags, some great memories and times and it has proved you’re a true superstar of the comp. Moving on our next inductee for this season is the much-loved Spookism!
Congratulations sausageroll, no one else is eligible for the EKA and HoF in the same season. You are unique

But we move past the Inductees now and move on to the elevation of our latest Immortal from the Hall of Fame, this man needs no real introduction, his stats and record speak for themselves. Please join me in congratulation our latest Immortal Tarkyn_24

cYPmKKW.png

Tarks, it’s been a long road for you, where did it all begin?

I was referred to the league (and the site) by The_Reaper, and to be completely honest that recommendation was based on the concept of QOOTY itself as opposed to any particular desire to shoot the breeze and engage in banter. The league was a different place then; the SFA was a kind of substitute for all the other footy games/simulators out there - from commercial games like AFL Live to other text/database based competition or career simulators like Footy Fanatic, Total Aussie Rules or Footy Star. The novelty of random outcome was really the only driver.

Once you saw what the league entailed, what enticed you to stay?

I think that’s evolved as I’ve grown older. I was fairly young and green when I joined both BigFooty and the SFA, with a lot of time to burn so initially the desire to stay was borne out of just talking s**t (and boy was there a lot of cringeworthy trash that come out of my mouth). I definitely took the competition way too seriously, and definitely was actively engaged in it - to the point that I ended up assuming the Buller captaincy at the end of the first season, and promptly dumping Headless from the team because of his unreliable levels of activity. I also really enjoyed the combative nature of the competition. As time’s gone on, I’ve found that the camaraderie of the place and gentle rivalry with some of the other enduring personalities here has become my major driver for sticking around, and I think over the last half a decade or so I’ve been far more consistent in my contribution. Ultimately, people like boncer34 , Biggie and Ljp86 have been consistently good people to have a lighthearted joke with and that’s been complemented by the fact that there’s also an undercurrent of other great people coming into the competition, contributing to it and making it grow.

Which club has been your favourite over the journey?

I’m conflicted in answering this because I’ve played for so many wonderful outfits with witty, great people. I actually can’t split whether I consider myself a Demon or a Hawk, probably because of the circumstances around me first leaving the Demons for the Hawks and the fact that I burned bridges with the club at the time in making that shift. The homecoming has been wonderful, and I can’t imagine playing at a different club, but that’s by virtue more of the wonderful people at Mount Buller at the moment rather than the club itself.

If we’re talking favourite squad - my early time at the Hawks amazing fun in what was a vastly different era. I think the current day Demons complement is the only group that comes close to rivalling it in terms of my enjoyment.

As a member of that Hawks squad, I agree it was a lot of fun. We certainly wouldn’t get away with a lot of what we said now.

No you’re right but that also might not be a bad thing!

Very true mate, is there any moves between clubs that you made that you cam to regret?

I’ll actually start with a move I didn’t make that I regret. I regret messing Filth around when he sounded out a move for me to the Dragons around Season 17 or so, but I don’t regret not moving clubs. I had a last minute change of heart there which really I think was a product of how invested I was in the Hawks at the time.

To a point I also regret moving to the Furies, but I think that came at a juncture where I was feeling a bit stale and worn down by repetition and also had an opportunity to pull off a personal one-up over okeydoke7 while he tried to line his pockets (stats and legacy wise anyway) which did bring me a little bit of merriment. The Furies were great, and I really enjoyed the complement of posters they had and the change of scenery but leaving the Hawks was hard.

I absolutely do not regret my homecoming to Mount Buller - and owe sausageroll thanks for leaving the Furies before me and essentially being the tipping point in my decision making. The further into my career I’ve gone, the more I’ve realised that your environment amplifies your enjoyment and knowing that every single week there’s going to be at least one team that’s not painful to shoot the breeze with definitely helps incentivise me to stick around.

Which highlight in your Career stands out?

Just being able to play a little part in the growth of the competition. In taking things too seriously early I think I played a little part in setting the competition on its trajectory towards active engagement and storytelling. The Beez is wonderful recognition now of posters that do the same - and though now I’m not inclined to invest the time or energy because of life’s demands I still have an appreciation of what others do in this regard. Also obviously the fictional accolades and recognition is nice too - I still enjoy seeing what Mobbs’ wonderful simulator has in store for me and my team week to week and I’m still absolutely filthy at being dished out shitty numbers.

Now you mentioned earlier the Hawks group was your favourite to play with, is there any poster in particular you have enjoyed playing with the most? I have a feeling this answer will be a lie because you'll never admit you love me ;)

Ha! You would try to make this about you at some point.

I'm shocked you saw through that

Bonce we've been around each other long enough that you're as transparent as glass to me now! But seriously, it is really hard for me to narrow it down because I've played with such great posters over the years. Its one of the benefits of being so successful over the journey, Snags, Headless, Biggie, Wally are just a few I can name. And hell you might even sneak into my top 25.

I'll take that, now one last question and we pivot from the SFA a little here but a lot of people don't realise that you ran a very successful competition elsewhere that sadly died due to influence beyond your control, a comp which was a very real competitor to the SFA. Is there elements from that league you wish had been bought across? Such as the salary cap?

Very real competitor you say? I'll remind you of that next time you decide to be a pain in the ass! Look it was a great competition at its time and there are probably elements I think could work in the SFA but the competitions were very different and ran very differently so I don't know how they would've translated across. Probably pretty well but the admin of the comp at the time was a dick so we never tried to replicate RFFL success here in the SFA.

Yeah that Admin sure was a campaigner..... but enough foreplay, well done mate and truly well deserved!

Thanks Bonce and thanks to all that have helped contribute to my time here in the SFA!

Our first inductee for Season 34 is a person I’m personally delighted in seeing reach the Hall of Fame, being a former teammate of mine both here and in the Fantasy Cricket comp before it died sausageroll. I caught up with Snags and discussed his time in the SFA now he’s reached the pinnacle of Individual awards.

cYlwqQU.png

Snags first congratulations on the HOF honour, what drew you into the SFA? Did someone invite you or did you stumble across the board by yourself?

Cheers Bonce, it’s an incredible honour and not something I ever dreamed about setting out to achieve when I joined.

Excellent lead into the first question mate, what drew you into the SFA? Did someone invite you or did you stumble across the board by yourself?

I joined BF as a resource for AFL Dream Team back in the good old days where you had to do your own research on players, and everything wasn’t handed to you on a platter. I was looking through the fantasy football forums and stumbled onto the SFA. I’d written basic footy sim programs in the past and had put a draft down for a more complex version but never got around to putting it into code. So when I saw Qooty I was instantly interested in seeing what this sim like. The Sharks had just been created I liked the work @Frankston Rover had done with the team so I joined them.

What were your first impressions of the league? Did a poster in particular stand out? Was there someone you tried to model your posting style on?

I enjoyed it right from the start. I started as a small forward but soon worked my way into the midfield. I was blessed with amos as a team mate that season. He was the most imaginative poster I’ve seen in and fantasy footy league who would bring team mates and opposition players into the thread with his posting. We had a similar attitude towards the game and bounced off each other really well that season. To this day, he’s still my favourite poster ever.

From the opposition, WCE_all_da_Way (Wally) and Big Man (Biggie) became instant favourites, mostly because I knew them from a forum called Talking Footy that we’d been on previously. Those two would become rivals for All-SFA spots in the midfield over the next few seasons.

Tarkyn_24 and Pie 4 Life were two that were always engaging from the start and I have enjoyed banter with and against in SFA and in rival qooty leagues.

There are a lot of current posters that I like a lot, but there’s a different level of enjoyment whenever I see any of the players from my early seasons (S7-S11) posting. The posters from those days are all among my favourites and I’m lucky to have quite a few of them as team mates at the Demons, some going stronger than ever.

Now its fair to say you’ve enjoyed your time at multiple clubs having played at 5 clubs over your journey, which club has been your favourite to play at? What do you remember about your time at each club?

I’ve really enjoyed periods with all clubs I’ve played at. The first season at the Sharks was great alongside amos and only one of the most controversial losses in the history of the game cost us a spot in the grand final.

The next season saw the Sharks merge with the Dragons, which technically counts as a change of clubs. A couple of people at the Bombers asked me to join them but the “Shagons” had several players I liked from another comp I’d been dragged across to in my first season (Take Forum) so I decided to stay. Over the next few seasons, more and more of the players I liked dropped off, while the Bombers kept hitting me up to join them. Eventually, after three seasons at the Dragons, I decided to move.

Highlight at the Dragons:

I still hold the record for the Dragons highest ever DT score for one match. I scored 173 DT, including 27 posessions, 11 tackles and 6 goals. It was in the first ever game for the Dragons and in the following 28 seasons no-one has ever matched it. There was no All-SFA that season but I led the league in stats. I’m not sure if there has ever been more DT points scored in a season by any other player. I’d like to know either way.

My time at the Bombers was split into four distinct periods…

• 1 and ½ seasons of full activity and 2 x All-SFA. I took over the captaincy late in my first season and recruited heavily, targeting my favourite ex-players and players from other qooty comps. Back in those days there were limits on how big threads on BF could be and the Bombers team thread broke those limits, which was unheard of from a team thread. The Hawks responded with a similar recruiting drive and for a short time the two clubs were posting powerhouses in the league and full of stars from the time. This, along with my history with Wally and Biggie and respect for their past players, is the reason I continue to be firmly against the rebrand of the club.
  • In the second half of my second season with the Bombers I joined the RAAF. This included 10 weeks at recruit training where I had no access to internet at all and then 16 months of temporary postings and training where I had incredibly slow only dial up internet access. When I joined the RAAF we were top of the ladder. I had to step down from captaincy and couldn’t post for the rest of the season. I found out later that the team went out of the finals in straight losses after gaining the double chance. For the 16 months with limited internet access I only posted once or twice a week. After I’d completed my training my interest had decreased so I just continued at this level of posting for a while. I was technically active, but at a very limited level.
  • I spent 6 months on deployment in Afghanistan and had nothing to do in my free time as we couldn’t leave our base. We had internet access though. This is when my interest and activity bounced back. I was engaged in match threads in a way I hadn’t been since S11. The league had changed though and spam was now a thing. Match threads were suddenly filled with content that had nothing to do with match banter. Forum posting standards had changed significantly as well. I tried to get back into the more aggressive banter style that had been common previously but was given multiple friendly warnings from moderators that knew me from the old days telling me we weren’t allowed to say stuff like that anymore. I just adapted to the casual posting style I still go with these days where I just try to enjoy good banter with my team mates and opposition.
  • The leadership team at the Bombers decided they wanted to rebrand the club due to the Essendon drug scandal. They felt like it was getting hard to recruit new players. They were totally open with me and the other long-term players about their proposal. I understood the reasoning but didn’t like it. Worse still, they chose to go with the Bandits, which I thought was one of the worst options of those proposed. I lost all interest in the team and soon after I told the captain I was going to take a break and not to name me while I was away. This is where I fell behind Tarks in games played. Had I not made that request I would’ve played 200 games at the club. If the Bandits had never happened there’s a chance I could still be a Bomber now. I would like to go back sometime, when the time is right. That is likely to be a fair way off though. Some will be aware that KohPhi actually joined the Demons one off season but changed his mind soon after. What people don’t know is that part of my pitch to sign him was an agreement that if he played for the Demons and decided he wanted to go back to the Bombers at some time I’d go back with him to the Bombers for a season.
Highlights at the Bombers:

The short time I was captain. This is where I saw the value of having active teammates over match stats. I moved myself out of the midfield and played as a small defender. Back pocket when the team was at peak activity and back flank when flanker’s posting dropped off. We also got on a winning run late in the season I took over and were top of the ladder when I had to hand over the captaincy. I’d be interested in seeing my win/loss ratio as captain. I’m pretty confident it’d be right up there with the best.

This is where my eternal rookie status came about. Around the time where my activity levels had increased again This Is Anfield had a “Meet The Rookies” included me in a media segment where he’d interview some of the SFA rookies. I played along, not letting him know I had been around for years, but most of my answers referenced things from my SFA history. I’ve been a rookie ever since. I’m guessing most of the people who reference me as a rookie don’t even know why they’re doing it. Well, this is why…

Media - Inside Qooty Episode 1

My time off from the Bandits wasn’t because I had lost interest in the SFA; just that I didn’t like the Bandits as the club identity. So when Tarks hit me up about joining the Furies I decided to give it a go. The fact that I even considered joining the Furies shows how much I hated the Bandits. There’s always been something about the Furies that isn’t quite right. But I actually enjoyed the majority of my time there and felt like it was a pretty solid group. In the third season a few of my favourites dropped off significantly, including Tarks, and the second half of the season was a total shitfight. So I accepted an offer to join the Demons.

Highlight at the Furies.
Leaving.

I don’t really need to say much about the Demons. In my time there it has been consistently one of the best quality clubs in the SFA every season, if not the best. There’s always been incredible depth of posters a great mix of personalities who all bring something positive to the club. The team we’ll be taking into Season 35 is probably the best quality line-up we’ve had since I joined.

Highlight at the Demons
My team mates.

Statistically season 8 was your best, but you've been pretty consistent. You'd be one of the few players with that sort of longevity between top tier seasons, how have you managed to reinvent yourself and your interest in the league constantly? Which is the best season you can think of?

No season really stands out. Season 7 was great alongside amos. Season 8 was great from a statistics point of view. I really enjoyed captaining the Bombers from late Season 10 to mid-late Season 11. Every season has been great with the Demons.

Playing in the midfield and being one of the highest stats winners in the comp over the majority of my early seasons was great at the time, but even back then it was the match thread banter that I enjoyed most. I moved myself away from the midfield when I was captain because that midfield position could be used for incentive to encourage other team mates to get more involved. I’ve had seasons where I’ve been in the top 6 or so posters in the club but sat happily in a forward pocket because I was part of an active team. So I guess if there was a way I reinvented myself it was the lower care factor regarding stats.

Having said that, I do enjoy seeing the sim treat me well. And one highlight I should mention was the season I played half forward all season and outscored every Furies player and ranked higher than a good percentage of full-time midfielders.

Full Forward I played there once for the Bombers and kicked a bag and spookism named me full forward one season in SoO. I ended up leading the goal kicker for minor rounds and finals and won the medal in the Grand Final. That was the same season I outscored all Furies from half forward in the regular season.

I don’t care too much about where I play but I definitely wouldn’t knock back the opportunity to play a season at full forward at some stage.

You’ve played more games with Tarks then anyone else, where does he rank in your favourite players to play with? Who is your favourite teammate? If you want to be controversial, who’s your least?

Who’s Tarks?

Yeah, he’s right up there. Top quality poster. Top quality person. Looking forward to jumping ship and leaving him behind again though. So’s he, probably.

Does anyone remember Bushranger? He was terrible. But I loved seeing him every time he made an appearance. Always made me laugh. Even okeydoke7 ’s ego didn’t come close to him. He might not have been SFA though.

I actually don’t have any posters I hate. I think everyone brings something to the league. I don’t think naming someone I hate would be controversial but naming someone I don’t hate might be… XenXen. I never really understood why so many people hated her so much. She spammed the hell out of the first match thread I shared with here but after that she was much better. I don’t think people gave her much of a chance.

How do you think the league has evolved over time? You've seen the transition from 2-page match threads, to more content, right through to the content explosion we see today. Is there a period you loved more than others?

Yeah, there have been big changes over the time I’ve been involved. The increase in posters and activity has been great. A lot of people who weren’t around in the first 12 or so seasons don’t understand how different the whole site was back then. There was no tagging or reactions. People had no notifications at all so the comp relied heavily on people actually navigating to the SFA to take part. People might think the SFA was pretty crap in comparison to now, but that’s not the case. It was just as enjoyable for me. And you could get away with a lot more in the banter than you can these days. Posting these days is pretty tame compared to how things got on occasions in the past.

A lot of threads these days end up being filled with a lot of crap that has absolutely nothing to do with qooty. So higher activity is not always better. There is good and bad in each situation.

There are plenty of players in the league I’d like to play alongside. A couple of those will get that tick this season but I feel that I need to tick off a few more. I can feel a change on the horizon.

You’re top 10 in most stats except goals and behinds. Do you blame Tarks because he hogs FF keeping you out of the forward line? Can you see yourself resting forward more as your career continues to try and slide into the top 10 in those categories?

Tarks hasn’t played a season at FF for a while. I think he’d like to though. So anyone other than him would be great
I’ll play wherever suits the balance of the team most. I’m happy to play anywhere as long as those in other positions are contributing. If that's in the forward lie then who knows, I might be a chance of moving up the goal kicking ranks. Especially if I ever get a chance to play FF. I'm less than 100 goals outside the top 10. But that's not really that important.

Thanks Snags, some great memories and times and it has proved you’re a true superstar of the comp. Moving on our next inductee for this season is the much-loved Spookism!
Wow that waifu pillow is gonna get some loving tonight sausageroll :stern look

I gotta say, I'm feeling a bit stiffed right now. I was all set to give a gracious acceptance speech, but it seems like I won't be giving one after all. That's right, despite being the king of the Qooty banter, despite leading the Bombers to three premierships, despite being the poster that every other poster aspires to be, I've been snubbed by the Hall of Fame.

I don't know what more a bloke can do. I've left it all out on the field, been the life of the party, and made the Sweet FA a better place with my wit and wisdom. And for what? To be told that I'm not good enough for the Hall of Fame? That just doesn't make sense to me, cobbers. It's like trying to tell a kangaroo to swim. It just don't belong.

So I'll just keep on posting, being the best that I can be, and showing the Hall of Fame what they're missing out on. I might not have a plaque with my name on it, but I've got the respect of the posters that matter. And that's worth more than any hall of fame could ever give me.

I gotta say, I'm feeling a bit stiffed right now. I was all set to give a gracious acceptance speech, but it seems like I won't be giving one after all. That's right, despite being the king of the Qooty banter, despite leading the Bombers to three premierships, despite being the poster that every other poster aspires to be, I've been snubbed by the Hall of Fame.

I don't know what more a bloke can do. I've left it all out on the field, been the life of the party, and made the Sweet FA a better place with my wit and wisdom. And for what? To be told that I'm not good enough for the Hall of Fame? That just doesn't make sense to me, cobbers. It's like trying to tell a kangaroo to swim. It just don't belong.

So I'll just keep on posting, being the best that I can be, and showing the Hall of Fame what they're missing out on. I might not have a plaque with my name on it, but I've got the respect of the posters that matter. And that's worth more than any hall of fame could ever give me.
You don't need a title to lead. 🥳

Oh my gosh. What an incredible bunch of folks we have down at Mt. Buller.

sausageroll is about to notch up his 500th game and is still going strong. What an absolute force.

Headless speaks for himself - we all know and love him and I don't know anyone in the league who is so universally enjoyed. Congratulations.

Tarkyn_24 is just a champion. Again, such longevity but also goal kicking statistical dominance that I don't feel will ever be surpassed.

We are not only fortunate as a club to have these people, but we are fortunate as a league to have them. Congratulations again to you.

Of course congratulations to spookism and Ant Bear for their own well-deserved recognition.

A huge congratulations to sausageroll , Ant Bear , spookism and Headless . You’ve all been huge contributors to making this place pretty great, and I’ve enjoyed the banter along the way. A well deserved accolade.

Thanks to all those for extending their congratulations, and also particularly to boncer34 for pulling this together very nicely. Sorry I ignored our PM. Thanks for your work.

Let’s head home brother to our 6 cups!

Camel GIF

I’m really pleased for all five of you tonight. For sausageroll who has been as constantly engaging as anyone else in the league, for Headless who found his second wind at the perfect time. For spookism, one of the dearest enablers in the league (and one of my closest friends here) and for Ant Bear who brought it more than anyone else for a very long time. The one glaring similarity between all of these greats is their pure love for this league. I’m proud to have stood along all of you.

And tarko congratulations on immortal status, the highest level in this place. I’ve felt for a very long time you were next in line and this is well deserved, you’ve set very clear benchmarks here.