Mega Thread Hardwick Vent Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter SPOCK

We know were not up to it and as far as I can see the fact that DH decided to rebuild pretty much the whole team and was clear with supporters that this would take a few years, signified that he knows or knew we are not up to it, but you need a coach to be positive, every team tries to go in to games thinking they can win, even Port, the last thing you want is your coach coming out and saying that we have no hope of winning the next game.

To be honest I hate this thread it was made very clear not to expect too much success in the first couple of years, if the club listened to half the dream team coaches in this thread, the club would be screwed for the next 30 years, I know it's been a long time between drinks, but there are no quick fixes for a club coming from the position we've been in, so for goodness sake give Dimma a go, if at this time next year we are still sitting near the bottom, then the club probably needs to review their position, but for now we are pretty much on track.

If you take in to consideration the bad luck we have had with the back line and the fact that we have been able to bring on a couple of players, like Rance and Vickery, that look like they have the goods, I don't think the season is anywhere near as bad as some in this post are making out, it's time to get behind the club and support our coaches and players, instead of dumping Sh!te on their doorstep.

Go Tigers!

This!!

How many times have we heard supporters say no shortcuts bla bla but then when we finally get a coach willing to cull the list back and re-build properly we have a go after 18 months because we aren't winning.

FACT: 2010 we were one of the youngest, most inexperienced teams (can't be bothered looking up stats)

FACT: 2011 we lost a couple of experienced players and replaced them with kids. We are YOUNGER than last year. At beginning of the year we were fielding a younger and less experienced team than bloody Gold Coast!!

Its really not suprising we have won less games this year. The positive is we have won these games while playing kids. Disappointing thing is that we probably should have played Tuck earlier in the year to try and win and now be playing kids when the season is shot instead of other way around. Seems like Dimma is trying to cover his ass a bit.

FACT: We will cull more experienced bodies this year and replace them with kids. Again next year we will be younger. And possibly the year after that again.

My actual biggest concern is that with Dimma only having a 3 year contract is he feeling the pressure to take a short cut. Put a Laidley/Craig beside him. Boost the footy dept with some more assistants and give him an extra year or 2 to finish what he started. 2013 i expect to see us pushing finals with a YOUNG team led by Deledio at 26 and some similar aged Free Agents. :)

This!!

How many times have we heard supporters say no shortcuts bla bla but then when we finally get a coach willing to cull the list back and re-build properly we have a go after 18 months because we aren't winning.

FACT: 2010 we were one of the youngest, most inexperienced teams (can't be bothered looking up stats)

FACT: 2011 we lost a couple of experienced players and replaced them with kids. We are YOUNGER than last year. At beginning of the year we were fielding a younger and less experienced team than bloody Gold Coast!!

Its really not suprising we have won less games this year. The positive is we have won these games while playing kids. Disappointing thing is that we probably should have played Tuck earlier in the year to try and win and now be playing kids when the season is shot instead of other way around. Seems like Dimma is trying to cover his ass a bit.

FACT: We will cull more experienced bodies this year and replace them with kids. Again next year we will be younger. And possibly the year after that again.

My actual biggest concern is that with Dimma only having a 3 year contract is he feeling the pressure to take a short cut. Put a Laidley/Craig beside him. Boost the footy dept with some more assistants and give him an extra year or 2 to finish what he started. 2013 i expect to see us pushing finals with a YOUNG team led by Deledio at 26 and some similar aged Free Agents. :)

A lot of what you say is correct apart from the highlighted.

To play finals, you have to win games, step one expect to win, step 2 learn to win step 3 win games, we havent got to step one so talking finals in two years is ridicilous, we are so far away its not funny, we have at least 8 gaps in our best team.

If you take in to consideration the bad luck we have had with the back line and the fact that we have been able to bring on a couple of players, like Rance and Vickery, that look like they have the goods, I don't think the season is anywhere near as bad as some in this post are making out, it's time to get behind the club and support our coaches and players, instead of dumping Sh!te on their doorstep.

Go Tigers!

Playing kids before they are ready against men. There is no bad luck to it. Its poor list management and it leads to injuries and shortening their careers. Even the soft tissue injuries are a direct result of the younger bodies not being able to cope with the endurance and fast pace of AFL.
You have to protect your young players until they have physically matured.

We brought Tuck in only because Grigg was injured and no doubt because Hardwick was worried about his job. Not because it was the smart thing to do and its embarrassed Hardwick. He played all his senior players last week because he was worried about a 120+ loss and is still worried about his job. These aren't the decisions that are characteristic of someone confident and steadfast in their process. Lets hope he rethinks his strategy and hits 2012 with something more realistic.

Wallace did the exact same thing as Hardwick is doing. Unless Hardwick starts thinking both short and long term and get a hold of the recruiting department, the result will be exactly the same.

Playing kids before they are ready against men. There is no bad luck to it. Its poor list management and it leads to injuries and shortening their careers. Even the soft tissue injuries are a direct result of the younger bodies not being able to cope with the endurance and fast pace of AFL.

We brought Tuck in only because Grigg was injured and no doubt because Hardwick was worried about his job. Not because it was the smart thing to do and its embarrassed Hardwick. He played all his senior players last week because he was worried about a 120+ loss and is still worried about his job. These aren't the decisions that are characteristic of someone confident and steadfast in their process. Lets hope he rethinks his strategy and hits 2012 with something more realistic.

Wallace did the exact same thing as Hardwick is doing. Unless Hardwick starts thinking both short and long term and get a hold of the recruiting department, the result will be exactly the same.

at first i thought you were a troll but youre too insightfull for that, very very pertinant points, keep up the good work:thumbsu:

A lot of what you say is correct apart from the highlighted.

To play finals, you have to win games, step one expect to win, step 2 learn to win step 3 win games, we havent got to step one so talking finals in two years is ridicilous, we are so far away its not funny, we have at least 8 gaps in our best team.

By pushing finals i meant pushing back towards it where as next year i think we will be worse again. I've said before but i think its possible we will trade off a couple of players like Edwards/Morton for 2nd rounders and maybe Foley for a 17yo mini-pick to get the young ruckman Grundy. We will delist another 6 at least on main and 4 on rookie (keeping miller). I followed a couple of mocks and came up with 8 picks plus a PSD pick (ruckman). I added 3 mature age big bodies to the list and mids. Next year we should have a priority pick so 4 top 30 kids plus we should be pushing the best young Vic kid we can into the PSD. 2013 i expect us to be like a Melb/North level (9-12) 2014 we should scrape in and 2015 maybe towards top 4. Then 2016 our window should really open with Lids as a 29 year old.

EDIT: I wouldn't mind waiting to end of 2013 for a Free Agent from 2005 draft. Much stronger draft and fits our age group nicely.

By pushing finals i meant pushing back towards it where as next year i think we will be worse again. I've said before but i think its possible we will trade off a couple of players like Edwards/Morton for 2nd rounders and maybe Foley for a 17yo mini-pick to get the young ruckman Grundy. We will delist another 6 at least on main and 4 on rookie (keeping miller). I followed a couple of mocks and came up with 8 picks plus a PSD pick (ruckman). I added 3 mature age big bodies to the list and mids. Next year we should have a priority pick so 4 top 30 kids plus we should be pushing the best young Vic kid we can into the PSD. 2013 i expect us to be like a Melb/North level (9-12) 2014 we should scrape in and 2015 maybe towards top 4. Then 2016 our window should really open with Lids as a 29 year old.

EDIT: I wouldn't mind waiting to end of 2013 for a Free Agent from 2005 draft. Much stronger draft and fits our age group nicely.

I dont think we get a priority pick next year we have won 5 1/2 games this year and 6 last year, so that will be moot, 8 picks in a weak and compromised draft will have us closer to the bottom than we already are and the 3-0-75 will be severely compromised.

Has the club got a plan B or are all our eggs in the FTF or 3-0-75?

I hope our recruiting team is looking far and wide for these three mature big bodies, because we dont utilise the ones we have very well.

Its interesting to note that tuck wasnt in the side for the majority of the season.

The reasons given was that he couldnt djust to the game plan and didnt follow team orders.

On the weekend when we butchered the ball , he was the only one running back to help the defence, it was so noticeable that even the commentators who were biased picked it up.

What are these team orders that he wasnt following?

Not to chase back ?

If that is the case then we are in for a very very rough ride.

sorry from digressing.

I dont think we get a priority pick next year we have won 5 1/2 games this year and 6 last year, so that will be moot, 8 picks in a weak and compromised draft will have us closer to the bottom than we already are and the 3-0-75 will be severely compromised.

Has the club got a plan B or are all our eggs in the FTF or 3-0-75?

I hope our recruiting team is looking far and wide for these three mature big bodies, because we dont utilise the ones we have very well.

Its interesting to note that tuck wasnt in the side for the majority of the season.

The reasons given was that he couldnt djust to the game plan and didnt follow team orders.

On the weekend when we butchered the ball , he was the only one running back to help the defence, it was so noticeable that even the commentators who were biased picked it up.

What are these team orders that he wasnt following?

Not to chase back ?

If that is the case then we are in for a very very rough ride.

sorry from digressing.

I was meaning end of first round priority not a pick 1 in the draft. I doubt those will exist past this year. To meet 3-0-75 we would need to take shortcuts. We won't be a finalist team with our current list. Im worried we will take those shortcuts but far out how easily could u wipe 15-20 blokes off the list without blinking. I could comfortably wipe 10 while keeping Tuck, Jackson and Miller. Its not really a challenge.

You must be joking, are you sure you are not a troll from another club, DH came in with a rebuild on the cards, so we have rid ourselves of the older players that were obviously not up to it, we now have a young team, depending on the game, it is the youngest in the league, so what choice is there but to play young players, last week he played who was available, WAKE UP, we have no depth, as we are in the middle of a rebuild.

As for Tucky, I love him but it is more important to get games into our youth, than play Tucky and keep some of our scores a little more respectable, this is thinking long term, it is you not Dimma that has their mind set on the short term.

Not sure how long you have followed the Tigers or if you really do, but you need too learn some patience, we aren't even half way through a rebuild and you are bagging the coach, only thing similar to the Wallace era are "supporters" like yourself.

Re: Hardwick hiding in the bleachers...must be gone years end

Pointing out that this is a crap club with second raters in every nook and cranny does not mean that someone wants to stop supporting the club. It means the person is a rational observer of the second rate rubbish club Richmond remains.

You can love a girl whilst knowing she is no beauty queen. Richmond is no beauty queen. She's the fat ugly bint left on the bench and we are the gormless bloke who marries her......stuck with her for good or ill.

That may be true, but would you then go on Facebook and comment that your girlfriend is a fat ugly bint?

All this thread can do, is destabilise the Tigers and give ammo to opposition supporters about the supposed meltdown going on at Tigerland, most of you should hang your head in shame next you will be microwaving your membership, for me anyone that does that should be banned from ever getting another.

As for Tucky, I love him but it is more important to get games into our youth, than play Tucky and keep some of our scores a little more respectable, this is thinking long term, it is you not Dimma that has their mind set on the short term.

The point is that putting experience in the team now to maybe pinch a dead rubber or two before the EOY reeks of short sighted coaching. Leaving experienced quality players out until we can't make finals and then dropping the youth to win games DOES NOT MAKE SENSE. I'm not saying Tuck would have won us games, but he is clearly best 22 and not playing him is reducing the chance of a win. By all means leave him out once finals are impossible and blood ONE EXTRA youth but the long suffering fans coudl do with at least some hope even though we never expected finals.

I know this has all been said before but I couldn't believe that you don't see the short sightedness yourself.

You must be joking, are you sure you are not a troll from another club, DH came in with a rebuild on the cards, so we have rid ourselves of the older players that were obviously not up to it, we now have a young team, depending on the game, it is the youngest in the league, so what choice is there but to play young players, last week he played who was available, WAKE UP, we have no depth, as we are in the middle of a rebuild.

Not sure how long you have followed the Tigers or if you really do, but you need too learn some patience, we aren't even half way through a rebuild and you are bagging the coach, only thing similar to the Wallace era are "supporters" like yourself.

I think her points are very reasonable and spot on! Surely you are not suggesting that throwing our kids to the wolves to get beat up and flogged every week is good for long term development??

As our team is nearly all young what other choice is there, I know the youth of today aren't allowed to lose as it might upset them, but yes you can only nurture so long, at some stage we have to get games under their belts, we dont have the depth at this time to protect all our kids and as soon as that happens there will be another mega thread complaining about why we aren't playing our youth.

How about we all start supporting the club and the staff working for our club, Im fairly confident that they know more about coaching than most of the posters on Big Footy, including me, put together.

The thing that really annoys me out of this year is the fact that Dimma has played favourites.

Post has been in the best all year in the VFL but has played a handful of games even though we are crying out for a KPD. Yet Astbury who i do like gets given games willy nilly. Why Post hasn't finished this year adding 20 odd games to his tally is beyond me, instead persisting with McGuane/Thursfield.

Farmer/White/Hislop getting games ahead of Webberley. The previous three are clearly not up to it. THink Webberley needed an extended run of 10 odd games at some point to get his confidence up and show us what he could do at this level. Same goes with Morton. I know he had issues but he was dropped very early...morton should be an automatic selection each week from now on.

How about we all start supporting the club and the staff working for our club, Im fairly confident that they know more about coaching than most of the posters on Big Footy, including me, put together.

Fairly confident. So your not sure, you are just sticking fat and hoping it all works out for the best.

Are you not at all concerned that most of our young players have had extended injuries? Do you think the club is so incredible that it can't learn anything from the fans?

The last two years of poor football, including the last 6 weeks of 50+ thrashings has not been inspiring. The youth strategy doesn't work unless you come last every year for a sustained period of time and get a heap of priority picks. It especially doesn't work when 2 new clubs are introduced. We have been mediocre, but we haven't been last. If that was our strategy, we failed. The Deledio and Cotchin interviews were an indictment on the Football Department.

Malthouse had some good quotes on the game plan:

"These kids are sleepwalking at the moment" talking about Gold Coast. Still beat us though.

"Need to reassess at the end of the season. How many kids can you keep developing and have a game pattern that suits those kids". On Port.

His best quote: "You have got to have hope".

When will the club have a list building philosophy that gives the fans some hope.

Fairly confident. So your not sure, you are just sticking fat and hoping it all works out for the best.

Are you not at all concerned that most of our young players have had extended injuries? Do you think the club is so incredible that it can't learn anything from the fans?

The last two years of poor football, including the last 6 weeks of 50+ thrashings has not been inspiring. The youth strategy doesn't work unless you come last every year for a sustained period of time and get a heap of priority picks. It especially doesn't work when 2 new clubs are introduced. We have been mediocre, but we haven't been last. If that was our strategy, we failed. The Deledio and Cotchin interviews were an indictment on the Football Department.

"These kids are sleepwalking at the moment" talking about Gold Coast. Still beat us though.

"Need to reassess at the end of the season. How many kids can you keep developing and have a game pattern that suits those kids". On Port.

When will the club have a list building philosophy that gives the fans some hope.

I think you should stop pretending you support Richmond. You twist everything everybody says.

Gold coast set themselves to win certain games this year. We were so vulnerable at the time as our confidence was down. Our youngsters haven't had the luxury that GC has has in giving them prolonged rests and rotating them. NONE of our senior players compare with Gary Ablett jnr. NONE of our back line have the combination of experience and talent that Nathan Bock has. Having said this, we will probably still finish above them with a team that has a combined games tally that is less than them.

Dimma has been in the job 2 minutes and has had to endure a compromised draft(s). He has inexperienced assistant coaches to help him. I know he picked them, but he did not have a Malthouse or a Lyon handy to help out. At least Lade and Leppa are both premiership players that know what it takes to win one. They are learning too as is Dimma.

So get off the clubs back and start supporting them and have some level of intelligence to be able to see what the plan is. Most people with half a brain can see what they are trying to do under difficult circumstances.

Such a shame we didn't go down the path that the Dees went and sat on the bottom for a couple of years and racked up heaps of priority and first round draft picks. Then we could have had a season like they have had this year with all that talent on display and watched as we lost 9 of 10 games by 40+ points. Note: we have lost 7 of 12 games by less than 40 points.

4 years into their rebuild and a 186 point loss to show for it. We can only hope we'll achieve such heights. :p

tigerfoxgurl, Off the topic and only out of curiosity....

Your username suggests that you are one of those 16 year old female Richmond fans that we seem to have so many of, But your posts (which are good) reflect that of an older man.

I was expecting someone with that username to be posting about how Deledio,Cotchin and Rance are cute.

4 years into their rebuild and a 186 point loss to show for it. We can only hope we'll achieve such heights. :p
Lucky for us, we've still got another year and a half to go before we suffer the same fate again.

Speak for yourself, I have hope, and believe hole heartedly we'll get there.

Mediocrity without reward of priority picks. We have been much worse than the Dees. They had no trouble accounting for us either. Trying to build a list with nothing by youth is stupid.

I wonder how many people on this board are employed by the RFC. No real fan would accept the performances we have received this year.

Mediocrity without reward of priority picks. We have been much worse than the Dees. They had no trouble accounting for us either. Trying to build a list with nothing by youth is stupid.

I wonder how many people on this board are employed by the RFC. No real fan would accept the performances we have received this year.

This is the difference. Conca could be and AA and Batch has been handy.

Having said this if we had Heppell doing what he was doing we would wear a lot more because we would know the light is not to far away and the playing list in the next 3 years was definitely getting a lot stronger to threaten.

At the moment we are floating really, which, if the club power brokers gave a dam, and did what was best for the club, supporters and players as a whole, would do a rebuild starting EOY at the draft/trade table in October!!

No real fan would be happy with deliberately losing games just to improve 1-2 spots in the draft either. Before people go searching for my post from a few weeks back where I said I don't want us to do anything to hurt our current draft position, I have always said that if we find ourselves in position to win we should always try and win.

As for us being much worse than the Dees, how then do you explain that they have suffered more blowout losses than we have over the course of the season?

tigerfoxgurl, Off the topic and only out of curiosity....

Your username suggests that you are one of those 16 year old female Richmond fans that we seem to have so many of, But your posts (which are good) reflect that of an older man.

I was expecting someone with that username to be posting about how Deledio,Cotchin and Rance are cute.

I reckon it's 76gamer back to annoy us personally...