Mega Thread Hardwick Vent Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter SPOCK

Re: Hardwick hiding in the bleachers...must be gone years end

The last two 5 year "rebuilds" have taken a massive toll on all of us. I don't think we have been impatient either and unfortunately for Dimma, he is going to feel the heat as we have been through extremely unsuccessful rebuilding stages and we are all worried we are going to back it up again.

The way I see it, this rebuild has started and is continuing on the right track. He is culling everyone that isn't going to take the club where it needs to go in the long term and rebuilding the list. 22 players have gone in the last 2 years and I'm sure that list will be pushing 30 by the end of this year.

I agree he has not shown as yet that he can get us to the finals and he is struggling at the moment but if you think back to some of the footy we were playing in the first half of the year we are absolutely making progress. It was hard to believe it was the same club that has been so horrible to watch in the past! To me Dimma, with a younger list has got more results in 2 years, than Frawley and Wallace could manage in 10!

We entrusted Dimma to rebuild our once great club and he is doing that. Is it enough to get us to the finals? I think so, depending on our drafting and trading over the next 2-3 years. Can he win us a flag? I don't know but i feel much more confident with him than I have for over 10 years.

He definitely should be judged on his merits but not after 2 years. At the end of next year we may not have many more wins but if we are consistently playing that exciting first half of the year footy and have cut out big losses, that will be enough for me to justify his reappointment.

Whilst l am happy to give Damien more time, what is pissing off the most is his inability to be ****ing honest with the supporters. My most irritating part of the week is getting his "Direct from Dimma" emails.

What dumb arse does he think we are??? The last thing we want to hear is him glossing over the issues and taking us all for ****ing fools.

Trying to continually highlight the positives in games there clearly wasnt, is diabolical and just shows to me that he does not understand our history, passion and knowledge of seeing through the bullshit.

This week, he tried to deflect what was a ****ing disgrace of a game (our worst yet l believe) by telling us about Cotchin and Tucky being a great team man. Jesus Christ... is he going to take accountability for the fact the whole football world wanted him back playing and couldnt understand why!!

Bin the Direct from Dimma.... l hate it and its a load of absolute bullshit. When he wants to be honest with us, then contact me.

:thumbsd:

things usually get worse before they get better.

how long did it take malthouse to turn over the list and get the cup?
same for hawthorn and geelong.

we have a terrible list that needs ALOT of work. and sadly its just gonna take time.

Whilst l am happy to give Damien more time, what is pissing off the most is his inability to be ****ing honest with the supporters. My most irritating part of the week is getting his "Direct from Dimma" emails.

What dumb arse does he think we are??? The last thing we want to hear is him glossing over the issues and taking us all for ****ing fools.

Trying to continually highlight the positives in games there clearly wasnt, is diabolical and just shows to me that he does not understand our history, passion and knowledge of seeing through the bullshit.

This week, he tried to deflect what was a ****ing disgrace of a game (our worst yet l believe) by telling us about Cotchin and Tucky being a great team man. Jesus Christ... is he going to take accountability for the fact the whole football world wanted him back playing and couldnt understand why!!

Bin the Direct from Dimma.... l hate it and its a load of absolute bullshit. When he wants to be honest with us, then contact me.

I'd much prefer nothing to being treated like an A-grade fool too Wally. :thumbsu:

The last two 5 year "rebuilds" have taken a massive toll on all of us. I don't think we have been impatient either and unfortunately for Dimma, he is going to feel the heat as we have been through extremely unsuccessful rebuilding stages and we are all worried we are going to back it up again.

The way I see it, this rebuild has started and is continuing on the right track. He is culling everyone that isn't going to take the club where it needs to go in the long term and rebuilding the list. 22 players have gone in the last 2 years and I'm sure that list will be pushing 30 by the end of this year.

I agree he has not shown as yet that he can get us to the finals and he is struggling at the moment but if you think back to some of the footy we were playing in the first half of the year we are absolutely making progress. It was hard to believe it was the same club that has been so horrible to watch in the past! To me Dimma, with a younger list has got more results in 2 years, than Frawley and Wallace could manage in 10!

We entrusted Dimma to rebuild our once great club and he is doing that. Is it enough to get us to the finals? I think so, depending on our drafting and trading over the next 2-3 years. Can he win us a flag? I don't know but i feel much more confident with him than I have for over 10 years.

He definitely should be judged on his merits but not after 2 years. At the end of next year we may not have many more wins but if we are consistently playing that exciting first half of the year footy and have cut out big losses, that will be enough for me to justify his reappointment.

This is what I agree with 100% :thumbsu: I actually posted something very similar on the main board.

Hardwick may not be the answer but if he goes I will be happy knowing he did one thing Frawley and Wallace didnt and that was use the draft and turn to 100% youth.

This is what I agree with 100% :thumbsu: I actually posted something very similar on the main board.

Hardwick may not be the answer but if he goes I will be happy knowing he did one thing Frawley and Wallace didnt and that was use the draft and turn to 100% youth.

Spot on! He may not guide us to the promised land, but he will draw us the map.

Malthouse also had collingwood in two other premierships. They aren't easy things to win. I would be pretty happy if richmond played off in 3-4 premierships in 10 years. Its been over 30 years since that has happened.

People make it sound like Collingwood held onto a wooden spoon coach for 10 years and did him a favour. They held onto a coach who had won two flags at the eagles and who had consistently driven the club to the finals.

I don't think you can underestimate just how bad collingwood was when Malthouse took over. Nor can you try to compare Hardwick and justify keeping him because it worked for Collingwood with Malthouse.

There are no indications at this point that Hardwick will be able to get Richmond into the finals. He is an untried coach, so he really needs to deliver tangible results. If at the end of next year, we are sitting at 5-8 wins and playing a similar brand of football, it would be very difficult to justify reappointment.

5 years under Wallace and Frawley was too long for me. Imagine we "stuck fat" and gave them 10 years. I don't think we have been impatient.

I haven't written Hardwick off, but it would be fair to say he is struggling this year. Hardwick needs to be judged on his merits.

Excellent post

Malthouse also had collingwood in two other premierships. They aren't easy things to win. I would be pretty happy if richmond played off in 3-4 premierships in 10 years. Its been over 30 years since that has happened.

People make it sound like Collingwood held onto a wooden spoon coach for 10 years and did him a favour. They held onto a coach who had won two flags at the eagles and who had consistently driven the club to the finals.

I don't think you can underestimate just how bad collingwood was when Malthouse took over. Nor can you try to compare Hardwick and justify keeping him because it worked for Collingwood with Malthouse.

There are no indications at this point that Hardwick will be able to get Richmond into the finals. He is an untried coach, so he really needs to deliver tangible results. If at the end of next year, we are sitting at 5-8 wins and playing a similar brand of football, it would be very difficult to justify reappointment.

5 years under Wallace and Frawley was too long for me. Imagine we "stuck fat" and gave them 10 years. I don't think we have been impatient.

I haven't written Hardwick off, but it would be fair to say he is struggling this year. Hardwick needs to be judged on his merits.
Were they bad because they were bad or were they bad because Tony Shaw took the fall for them and coached the side for draft picks?
Malthouse's first two years were ordinary, and they were following on from Shaw's 4 years at the helm. Malthouse took the side to a GF in his 3rd year as coach, which by my reckoning, was the 7th year of a rebuild that Shaw did the baulk of.
Hardwick is in the 2nd year of a rebuild that, arguably, is more collossal in size than Collingwood's.
Yes, he needs to be judged on merits and deserves criticism when it is warranted, but it must also be remebered how early he is in what is a mammoth job.

Were they bad because they were bad or were they bad because Tony Shaw took the fall for them and coached the side for draft picks?
Malthouse's first two years were ordinary, and they were following on from Shaw's 4 years at the helm. Malthouse took the side to a GF in his 3rd year as coach, which by my reckoning, was the 7th year of a rebuild that Shaw did the baulk of.
Hardwick is in the 2nd year of a rebuild that, arguably, is more collossal in size than Collingwood's.
Yes, he needs to be judged on merits and deserves criticism when it is warranted, but it must also be remebered how early he is in what is a mammoth job.

Well by your criteria, Hardwick is in the 12th year of rebuild.

If you include Shaw, you have to also include the 5 years of Frawley, and 5 of Wallace that preceeded Hardwick

Or you could just admit that Tony Shaw was a crap coach and Malthouse how to rebuld from scratch. The fact Shaw never coached again is testiment to that.

Well by your criteria, Hardwick is in the 12th year of rebuild.

If you include Shaw, you have to also include the 5 years of Frawley, and 5 of Wallace that preceeded Hardwick

Or you could just admit that Tony Shaw was a crap coach and Malthouse how to rebuld from scratch. The fact Shaw never coached again is testiment to that.
My criteria is nothing of the sort.
Hardwick has taken over from coaches who were selfish and put themselves first.
Wallace and Frawley didn't rebuild. In fact both of them wouldn't know the meaning of the word.
Wallace thought he could get by with his 'reputation' (whatever that was) and Frawley ****ed up after the 2001 finals series being fooled by beating a Carlton side on its last legs andone that would then go on to be the dregs and the embarrassment of the competition for the 6 years, all the while beaing slaughtered by Essendon and Brisbane in the other two finals. Wel all know what happened after that with his genius recruits.
Shaw, while I will stop short of calling him a good or bad coach, in my opinion, did exactly as he was told to do and didn't stoop to the levels of incompetency that Frawley and Wallace did.

My criteria is nothing of the sort.
Hardwick has taken over from coaches who were selfish and put themselves first.
Wallace and Frawley didn't rebuild. In fact both of them wouldn't know the meaning of the word.
Wallace thought he could get by with his 'reputation' (whatever that was) and Frawley ****ed up after the 2001 finals series being fooled by beating a Carlton side on its last legs andone that would then go on to be the dregs and the embarrassment of the competition for the 6 years, all the while beaing slaughtered by Essendon and Brisbane in the other two finals. Wel all know what happened after that with his genius recruits.
Shaw, while I will stop short of calling him a good or bad coach, in my opinion, did exactly as he was told to do and didn't stoop to the levels of incompetency that Frawley and Wallace did.

So Tony Shaw was a tanker who selflessly fell on his sword to make Malthouse look good?

Too bad Frawley his assistant didnt learn a thing from him then!

5 draft picks in the top 20 wasn't a rebuild? A policy not to trade our first round picks for ready made players? You have an interesting perspective on things.

After Frawley and Wallace, what you don't want to do is make excuses for poor coaching.

We have had full seasons from Martin, Cotchin and Foley and yet somehow our performances have worsened.

Losing to Gold Coast and Port is a massive warning sign. Its really hard to ignore.

5 draft picks in the top 20 wasn't a rebuild? A policy not to trade our first round picks for ready made players? You have an interesting perspective on things.

After Frawley and Wallace, what you don't want to do is make excuses for poor coaching.

We have had full seasons from Martin, Cotchin and Foley and yet somehow our performances have worsened.

Losing to Gold Coast and Port is a massive warning sign. Its really hard to ignore.
5 draft picks in the top 20 was a disaster, but who's disaster was it really?
Take a look through that draft. It must rank as the worst on record.
I will acknowledge poor coaching when I see it and have done so many times.
What I won't do, is follow a knee jerk reaction by several posters on this board on one man's performance based on a year and a half with a suspect list that was being compared to Fitzroy's on death row only 12 months ago.

Hey Wally,
I got burnt on Bigfooty earlier in the year for saying Direct from Dimma was a rediculous idea. I said it was Wallacelike and was surprised all the Wallace haters (of which I am not one) thought it was a good idea. I also added it'll be a sight when things inevitably turn ugly.
Good to see we're on the same page!!!:thumbsu:

5 draft picks in the top 20 was a disaster, but who's disaster was it really?
Take a look through that draft. It must rank as the worst on record.
I will acknowledge poor coaching when I see it and have done so many times.
What I won't do, is follow a knee jerk reaction by several posters on this board on one man's performance based on a year and a half with a suspect list that was being compared to Fitzroy's on death row only 12 months ago.
I reckon from round 10 2010 to the Dreamtime game this year Hardwick had done a great job . doing all that was required of him .

But what happens is when you are lowly and no real threat you get under teams guards . its like a young kid that comes into a team and has a few good games but this is due in part to opposition teams not being overly concerned with a match up ... when this kid gets taken seriously that is when the true test of his ability comes .

When we won the dreamtime game two things happened ... first of all we started believing our own hype and the second thing was teams started paying more attention to us . Ive waxed on in another thread about this Tugga but the Port game .. the preperation was terrible ,

i wont bang on but from my perspective ... when a little expectation came upon us , not only have we failed this little test , the way we have folded up has been very , very disturbing . Hardwick has been that "young kid" who has had a few questions asked of him just when we were beginning to be taken seriously and he and the side have failed miserably .

Yes ... there could be many reasons for this ... young side etc etc blah blah ... and im not hanging Hardwick yet . but gee whizz we've been terrible .

as Tigerfoxgurl said ... similar results next year and it would be pretty hard to justify an extension of DH's tenure .

If our last 5 losses had of been losses that were hard fought but we were just undermanned etc . i would be having no problems at all , but the way it has gone down has been very disturbing .

I reckon from round 10 2010 to the Dreamtime game this year Hardwick had done a great job . doing all that was required of him .

But what happens is when you are lowly and no real threat you get under teams guards . its like a young kid that comes into a team and has a few good games but this is due in part to opposition teams not being overly concerned with a match up ... when this kid gets taken seriously that is when the true test of his ability comes .

When we won the dreamtime game two things happened ... first of all we started believing our own hype and the second thing was teams started paying more attention to us . Ive waxed on in another thread about this Tugga but the Port game .. the preperation was terrible ,

i wont bang on but from my perspective ... when a little expectation came upon us , not only have we failed this little test , the way we have folded up has been very , very disturbing . Hardwick has been that "young kid" who has had a few questions asked of him just when we were beginning to be taken seriously and he and the side have failed miserably .

Yes ... there could be many reasons for this ... young side etc etc blah blah ... and im not hanging Hardwick yet . but gee whizz we've been terrible .

as Tigerfoxgurl said ... similar results next year and it would be pretty hard to justify an extension of DH's tenure .

If our last 5 losses had of been losses that were hard fought but we were just undermanned etc . i would be having no problems at all , but the way it has gone down has been very disturbing .
I have no problem with that, but it is still 18 months away for christ's sake and yet people on here want him gone now. Well, I am not going to sit back and listen to it without at least having my say in the opposite direction.

totally fair enough .

To say he should be gone now just shows a lack of understanding .

totally fair enough .

To say he should be gone now just shows a lack of understanding .
Scrutiny is perfectly healthy. The honeymoon period is well and truly over and I welcome it. The more questions we ask, the more answers we hope to get.
But some of the reactions on here are far too premature.
Talk to me at this time next year and we will see.;)

Scrutiny is perfectly healthy. The honeymoon period is well and truly over and I welcome it. The more questions we ask, the more answers we hope to get.
But some of the reactions on here are far too premature.
Talk to me at this time next year and we will see.;)
thread closed

Enough of the excuses..

All these bloody excuses really are starting to get to me. We have a young list. We are in a rebuilding phase. They need time. How F**ing long does it take to learn effort.

Winning isn't everything. But trying to win is..

This year I honestly don't care if Richmond lose a game of footy. But what I do care about is our effort. I want to see our young developing players and anyone who pulls on the mighty black and gold, take the field with a fierce tiger like attitude. A hunger for the footy and the contest that comes with it.

When it is your turn to put your body on the line for a mate, for the team or just to take the game by the scruff of the neck you do it. You don't hold anything back and you don't just sit back and wait for it to happen. Our players must go and make it happen. Desperately put themselves in the play and make it happen.

I'd like us to develop a tiger spirit where we don't give up and never stop working. Yes at times opposition sides will kick goals, but we keep going. Yes we will lose matches, but we keep going, keep fighting, keep working hard.

Through out the week we work on the game plan, set plays, skills, fitness, strength and all the important attributes of football that we currently lack. And we gradually improve, step by step. They become instinct, natural reflexes that kick into gear in the heat of battle.

But on game day all we ask for is effort. We must demand a commitment to the team, a desire to compete and a hunger for the battle.

Winning isn't everything. But trying to win is..

No more excuses Richmond..

tbh im not convinced the effort is totally lacking...i'm more convinced there is a decay in our list that has ORDINARY players picked week in week OUT that contributes to recurring losses. A blind man could see some of those players that were headlines 8-10 weeks ago and are barely troubling the scorers at the mo...are they in bad form or been found OUT...you be the judge;)

... I want to see our young developing players and anyone who pulls on the mighty black and gold, take the field with a fierce tiger like attitude. A hunger for the footy and the contest that comes with it.

When it is your turn to put your body on the line for a mate, for the team or just to take the game by the scruff of the neck you do it. You don't hold anything back and you don't just sit back and wait for it to happen. Our players must go and make it happen. Desperately put themselves in the play and make it happen.

I'd like us to develop a tiger spirit where we don't give up and never stop working. Yes at times opposition sides will kick goals, but we keep going. Yes we will lose matches, but we keep going, keep fighting, keep working hard.

Well there is a player on the list who embodies all of those traits and more!!! Yet Tuck has been deliberately overlooked for almost every game this year. What an absolute joke. Damn its frustrating being a Richmond supporter!!

Hey Wally,
I got burnt on Bigfooty earlier in the year for saying Direct from Dimma was a rediculous idea. I said it was Wallacelike and was surprised all the Wallace haters (of which I am not one) thought it was a good idea. I also added it'll be a sight when things inevitably turn ugly.
Good to see we're on the same page!!!:thumbsu:

The club and RFC Official only like positive feedback, so they can pat themselves on the back for 'listening to the members'. The tone of the "Direct from Dimma" emails are so condescending and patronising its frightening. I read it as though he is talking to me as if l'm 8 years old.

Trying to baffle us with bullshit and overlooking the obvious is not a good sign. Can only imagine the way he is communicating to the players. If you didnt know the scores of the game and only read his emails, shit... you'd think he is developing a list of total dominance.

terrible thread, go support carlton if it's becoming too much for you.

Still supporting the Tigers but not this goose of a coach

bullshit. No they havent: theyve been 6 weeks of a young side being competitive in some, and having a few bad games in others. big ****ing deal.

What, were you expecting a top four finish this year or something? Did Dimma promise you that personally?

Dubest ****ing thread of the year (so far)

No need to be abusive because you no nothing about the game, you should read and learn