Mega Thread Hardwick Vent Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter SPOCK

Re: Hardwick hiding in the bleachers...must be gone years end

No need to be abusive because you no nothing about the game, you should read and learn

I suspect Ive been following the game (and the Tigers) considerably longer than you fella... and Ive seen enough coaches blamed for everything,enough dud players and dud player attitudes and enough adminsitrator shortcuts, and enough feral supporters to know when there is a problem with any one in particular.

less than 2 seasons in and your calling for the sacking of the coach who was dealt the worst list in the league...and what is Richmond supporter instinctive, retrograde reaction: Sack the Coach!!!

It woudl be laughable if it wasnt so sad. I honestly thought we'd moved on from there... 30 years of the self-destructive game and and then this thread! this thread that reads something into where the Coach stands during the game as a justification for sacking him!!! bwhahahahahaha. Yes; I also noticed he sometimes leans back on the shelter sometimes too - he doenst always stand up straight - which clearly shows he has lost the players too. (am I right?).

You deserve abuse if that's your logic. We may have some 'list cloggers' to be sure, but by god , we must have several thousand 'supporter cloggers' in our membership base. We would do well to have a clean out.

And what depresses me most, is not the current poor form of the team right now.. its the fact that if things dont go EXACTLY to your expectations next year then the rest of the sane supporters of our club are going to have to go through 2/3rds of the season listening to ferals like you causing instability at the club with your short term vision moaning and demands for a new coach.

Seriously we should just start a thread called "Im a ****ing pathetic whinging supporter who thinks all our chistmass presents are owed us now" and you can all post in there.. because clearly there seems to be some expectation that as a result of a few good early wins the club part way through 2011 OWES you TOTAL sucess IMMEDIATELY.... when at the beginning of the year 90% of people on this forum (given our list and youth and stage of development) predicted only 5-8 wins for the year.

Hardwick is not infallible, but seriously if you think where Hardwick stands signifies anything at all, get a grip and some perspective.

actually Spock, Ive just read all your incredibly insightful posts and Ive changed my mind.

You are totally correct. Lets sack the coach now before its too late.

The title of the thread say it all :eek:

How can Hardwick win; before the season started people where complaining that he was not in the coaches box

Now they are complaining he is not at the bench by the boundary line.

We still have a lot of dross in the playing list that has to be moved on at seasons end (the need for competitive ruckman is paramount).

You can have the greatest coach alive but with out the cattle you can not do a damn thing.

I'm still with you Dimma...even though you dont have time for Tucky in the side...

But i'm watching you from now on... :):) ...

Enough of the excuses..

All these bloody excuses really are starting to get to me. We have a young list. We are in a rebuilding phase. They need time. How F**ing long does it take to learn effort.

Winning isn't everything. But trying to win is..

This year I honestly don't care if Richmond lose a game of footy. But what I do care about is our effort. I want to see our young developing players and anyone who pulls on the mighty black and gold, take the field with a fierce tiger like attitude. A hunger for the footy and the contest that comes with it.

When it is your turn to put your body on the line for a mate, for the team or just to take the game by the scruff of the neck you do it. You don't hold anything back and you don't just sit back and wait for it to happen. Our players must go and make it happen. Desperately put themselves in the play and make it happen.

I'd like us to develop a tiger spirit where we don't give up and never stop working. Yes at times opposition sides will kick goals, but we keep going. Yes we will lose matches, but we keep going, keep fighting, keep working hard.

Through out the week we work on the game plan, set plays, skills, fitness, strength and all the important attributes of football that we currently lack. And we gradually improve, step by step. They become instinct, natural reflexes that kick into gear in the heat of battle.

But on game day all we ask for is effort. We must demand a commitment to the team, a desire to compete and a hunger for the battle.

Winning isn't everything. But trying to win is..

No more excuses Richmond..

Firstly, since when are we black and gold?? Yellow and black buddy, get it right.

2nd of all I have heard the "experts" on here prematurely calling for the head's of guys like vickery and nahas only to be proven wrong. Up to the dreamtime game we had exceeded expectations by beating teams like fremantle, north and essendon when really we were/are still a couple of years behind these teams in experience, developement and game plan.

To many people read and listened to to many media "experts" pumping up our tires and saying we were a finals chance when the reality was we weren't and aren't still.

Just remember this is the same team that only 12 mths ago the media were saying was the worst team of all time and would be in the wilderness for years to come and then less then a year later they are saying we are a chance for the finals??

Please, we aren't playing well at the moment that can't be denied however we are still very young, our backline has been decimated by injuries and as hard as it is to take being a richmond supporter we need to be patient.

If we can snag another 2-3 wins this year it would make the ledger quite respectable, however this year was never about wins and losses but about improvement in the team as a whole and I think you'd be blind freddy to say we haven't improved from when dimma took over the basketcase case wallace left him.

Give the bloke time and if this time next year we are in the same position it might be time for the hard decisions however now is not the right time.

yes, where were these 'experts' in rounds 1-14? not a peep. hit some rocky ground - due to injuries, bad luck and FORM... and bam! within 6 weeks the coach needs to be sacked! ... Really really pathetic.

Future coaches beware: you only get 6 weeks grace at any given time, after that you get the chop at Richmond, (or at very best are under intense negative scrutiny for the next 12months.)

Hardwick is safe, but anyone watching what the Dees are serving up down the highway? Bayley is in all sorts.

Whispers are that his contract will be extended.
Maybe our 10 goalloss wasn't that bad?
Dogs and Eade are in strife too.

I was watching the B Bulldogsv WC game as more interesting for me regarding the contest.

flicked over to Geelong and Melb qtr time, 50 point ouch!!!!!, flicked over at half time , 100 points double ouch!!!!:eek::eek:

Glad I am not a Dee supporter let me tell ya!!!

yes, where were these 'experts' in rounds 1-14? not a peep. hit some rocky ground - due to injuries, bad luck and FORM... and bam! within 6 weeks the coach needs to be sacked! ... Really really pathetic.

Future coaches beware: you only get 6 weeks grace at any given time, after that you get the chop at Richmond, (or at very best are under intense negative scrutiny for the next 12months.)

What about Worsfold and Thompson, Ratten etc...???

Eade might be crossing the border.

I was watching the B Bulldogsv WC game as more interesting for me regarding the contest.

flicked over to Geelong and Melb qtr time, 50 point ouch!!!!!, flicked over at half time , 100 points double ouch!!!!:eek::eek:

Glad I am not a Dee supporter let me tell ya!!!
I can't believe they've dished this up after four years under Bayley. Certainly didn't expect them to win today, but 114 points at half time. Just, WOW.

Firstly, since when are we black and gold?? Yellow and black buddy, get it right.

2nd of all I have heard the "experts" on here prematurely calling for the head's of guys like vickery and nahas only to be proven wrong. Up to the dreamtime game we had exceeded expectations by beating teams like fremantle, north and essendon when really we were/are still a couple of years behind these teams in experience, developement and game plan.

To many people read and listened to to many media "experts" pumping up our tires and saying we were a finals chance when the reality was we weren't and aren't still.

Just remember this is the same team that only 12 mths ago the media were saying was the worst team of all time and would be in the wilderness for years to come and then less then a year later they are saying we are a chance for the finals??

Please, we aren't playing well at the moment that can't be denied however we are still very young, our backline has been decimated by injuries and as hard as it is to take being a richmond supporter we need to be patient.

If we can snag another 2-3 wins this year it would make the ledger quite respectable, however this year was never about wins and losses but about improvement in the team as a whole and I think you'd be blind freddy to say we haven't improved from when dimma took over the basketcase case wallace left him.

Give the bloke time and if this time next year we are in the same position it might be time for the hard decisions however now is not the right time.

I agree with most things you are saying, we do need time to improve and we need to stick with our coach and as supporters get behind the club. We need to accept we will lose games at times. But what we can't accept is not trying to win, it is the attitude of our players when we take the ground that I am worried about.

Like our supporters, when we are winning they are up and about. But when it goes wrong we are far to quick to drop the bundle. We need to develop a spirit similar to that of the queenslanders in state of origin. Never say die attitude.

No matter what the score we will be giving 100% and opposition sides will know this. Our game plan, skill etc will improve with time, but we need to change our attitude and our effort now.

When we played Melbourne Hardwick was out coached by Bailey on every level and thats our biggest worry

actually Spock, Ive just read all your incredibly insightful posts and Ive changed my mind.

You are totally correct. Lets sack the coach now before its too late.

Thank God

Thank God
Thank god all you want, Dimma is going no where.

I have no problem with that, but it is still 18 months away for christ's sake and yet people on here want him gone now. Well, I am not going to sit back and listen to it without at least having my say in the opposite direction.

We waited for 4 years before we started criticising Frawley and 4 1/2 before we did the same with Wallace.

And look what good that did us.

Try to imagine how rooted we were when Wallace walked. Mark mcClure said we were going to be irrelevant for at least 20 years

I have heard him talk and seen him dominate briefings and heard of his smashing of VFL game reviews. Very very direct. The guy is the best we can reasonably expect to be coaching us

Haven't readthe thread, but to those saying he is not our best option, seriously, I would love to talk to you in the flesh

We are going places. DH is the business. For those who think he is not, you have a right to your opinion, but I expect to be given preference for GF tickets when it becomes an issue

Try to imagine how rooted we were when Wallace walked. Mark mcClure said we were going to be irrelevant for at least 20 years

I have heard him talk and seen him dominate briefings and heard of his smashing of VFL game reviews. Very very direct. The guy is the best we can reasonably expect to be coaching us

Haven't readthe thread, but to those saying he is not our best option, seriously, I would love to talk to you in the flesh

We are going places. DH is the business. For those who think he is not, you have a right to your opinion, but I expect to be given preference for GF tickets when it becomes an issue

well said UTG. these ferals need a hosing down. ...and keep me up near the top of the ticket list.

We waited for 4 years before we started criticising Frawley and 4 1/2 before we did the same with Wallace.

no, i think you guys have made yourselves very clear about this: 4 1/2 years is not the kind of standard we like to set at Richmond. As your mate Spock has repeatedly made clear we should have a strict 6 week limit on any coach, then sack them. Any longer than that and we're just not being serious about addressing short term issues.

I think its a great idea: in some seasons we could actually sack 4 coaches by year end. I think that would certainly weed out this culture of tolerating mediocrity. I think we would also start attracting a much better class of coach, ones that also knew we were serious about short term issues and wont let plans that unfold over 3-5 years distract them from this. Harwdick should have been sacked at least twice last year and was damn luckly we didnt sack him a third time actually. Admittedly, we may have to have extended his contract after the first 2 six week periods this season, but that just goes to show how important your 6 week rule is... because where would we be now if we werent going to sack him after the last 6 weeks? oh ha ha we would be a laughing stock!... especially from all the other clubs who operate 5 weeks as the limit for any new coach... especially one who is in his (gulp) second year! (dont ask me how many 6 week periods that is, Im afraid to add it up).

... and yet, for some reason our '*Stupid administation"* (tm) (who are, of course on a 7 week limit) .. STILL havent acted. The only reason they get seven weeks is so that there's someone there to sack the coach at the end of the 6th week, and appoint the new one for the start of the 7th week, before they too are sacked for having appointed the wrong coach yet again.

I think the only way to prevent this in future is to actually set out in our constitution the specifics of a 6 week coach tenure .. eg
Week 1 - appointed to general dissappointment with snide comments about him being the 'wrong man for the job'
Week 2 - disagree with list managmeent
Week 3 - express concern about not playing 'kids'
Week 4 - Complain concern that we are losing games from playing kids
Week 5 - tell him to stop using injuries to 1/2 of the backline as an excuse ias its clearly his tactics and lack of match day coaching ability that is at fault.
Week 6 - Sack him, he is clearly not working out.

I think this would be both honest and refreshing in what has become a culture of 'resting on laurels' amongst coaches who have been given INNUMERABLE 6 week periods to solve every possible issue of the club afer 30 years of failure. (this particularly ture of weeks 3-4 where Hardwick did NOTHING to heal our backline player injuries or bring on any younger players to the required standard... honestly NOTHING in an entire 2 weeks). You often have to wonder if 6 weeks isnt too long, dont you?

This is a good post.

Religious zeal in supporting 5 year plans in the face of obvious failure has not achieved anything for the club.

If we didn't give 10 years to Frawley and Wallace, we could have tested another coach in that time period.

If Hardwick feels cushy and secure like Wallace and Frawley did, then what motivation does he have to win games in 2012? Its crucial for success of the RFC that the coach is accountable at every step of the journey. Rewarding failure with a contract extension clearly would send the wrong message.

no, i think you guys have made yourselves very clear about this: 4 1/2 years is not the kind of standard we like to set at Richmond. As your mate Spock has repeatedly made clear we should have a strict 6 week limit on any coach, then sack them. Any longer than that and we're just not being serious about addressing short term issues.

I think its a great idea: in some seasons we could actually sack 4 coaches by year end. I think that would certainly weed out this culture of tolerating mediocrity. I think we would also start attracting a much better class of coach, ones that also knew we were serious about short term issues and wont let plans that unfold over 3-5 years distract them from this. Harwdick should have been sacked at least twice last year and was damn luckly we didnt sack him a third time actually. Admittedly, we may have to have extended his contract after the first 2 six week periods this season, but that just goes to show how important your 6 week rule is... because where would we be now if we werent going to sack him after the last 6 weeks? oh ha ha we would be a laughing stock!... especially from all the other clubs who operate 5 weeks as the limit for any new coach... especially one who is in his (gulp) second year! (dont ask me how many 6 week periods that is, Im afraid to add it up).

... and yet, for some reason our '*Stupid administation"* (tm) (who are, of course on a 7 week limit) .. STILL havent acted. The only reason they get seven weeks is so that there's someone there to sack the coach at the end of the 6th week, and appoint the new one for the start of the 7th week, before they too are sacked for having appointed the wrong coach yet again.

I think the only way to prevent this in future is to actually set out in our constitution the specifics of a 6 week coach tenure .. eg
Week 1 - appointed to general dissappointment with snide comments about him being the 'wrong man for the job'
Week 2 - disagree with list managmeent
Week 3 - express concern about not playing 'kids'
Week 4 - Complain concern that we are losing games from playing kids
Week 5 - tell him to stop using injuries to 1/2 of the backline as an excuse ias its clearly his tactics and lack of match day coaching ability that is at fault.
Week 6 - Sack him, he is clearly not working out.

I think this would be both honest and refreshing in what has become a culture of 'resting on laurels' amongst coaches who have been given INNUMERABLE 6 week periods to solve every possible issue of the club afer 30 years of failure. (this particularly ture of weeks 3-4 where Hardwick did NOTHING to heal our backline player injuries or bring on any younger players to the required standard... honestly NOTHING in an entire 2 weeks). You often have to wonder if 6 weeks isnt too long, dont you?

You are the same chook that used to post under the nic of a part time Blues supporter. Only difference is that you were more honest back then.

The point is not about sacking coaches, but about holding them accountible much earlier in their tenure than we have done.

If both Frawley and Wallace were put on notice during their 2nd year of coaching of what woudl clearly be defined as progress in their 3rd season, they would have delivered much better results in their 3rd and 4th seasons.

The expectations Gary March put on Wallace at the end of his 4th season to deliver in his 5th season should have been put in place 2 years earlier.

We should manage Hardwick more carefully and professionally than the past 2 hacks. He shold know now that if we dont perform in our first 6 games next season, he wont get renewed at the end of the year.

What's the odds of Hardwick getting sacked this week?

West Coast 25th anniversary match ... they are planning a big one. :o

What's the odds of Hardwick getting sacked this week?

West Coast 25th anniversary match ... they are planning a big one. :o

Usually you start posting under Coach Required before the coach gets sacked, and not after the event....

You are the same chook that used to post under the nic of a part time Blues supporter. Only difference is that you were more honest back then.

The point is not about sacking coaches, but about holding them accountible much earlier in their tenure than we have done.

If both Frawley and Wallace were put on notice during their 2nd year of coaching of what woudl clearly be defined as progress in their 3rd season, they would have delivered much better results in their 3rd and 4th seasons.

The expectations Gary March put on Wallace at the end of his 4th season to deliver in his 5th season should have been put in place 2 years earlier.

We should manage Hardwick more carefully and professionally than the past 2 hacks. He shold know now that if we dont perform in our first 6 games next season, he wont get renewed at the end of the year.
.... :thumbsu:

Top post