Kramer1

OK...I gotta admit I was a doubter early in the season, but as it stands I would be happy to lock Waite in at CHB for season 2009.

He has shown the consistency in his game that we have been looking for since his arrival at Carlton, and I think over the past 5-6 weeks has looked far more at home down back. I'd have him just a shade behind Bock for the AA CHB slot at present.

I can actually see us developing a pretty formidable defense in the next 2-3 years. We have Waite and Jamo holding down the key defensive posts, Bower will continue to develop (and perhaps allow us the luxury of playing Walker upfield). Armfield will make a back-pocket his own, and his pace will keep opposition forwards nervous for years to come. Browne will do the same.

I'd love to see Hadley assume the Adrian Hickmott hard as nails, no consideration for personal safety, drop back in the hole, over the top spoils, don't come near me or I'll knock you the fcuk out role.

Thornton get's to play the third defender, swing Grigg, Austin and Walker through as required and things are looking good. I think were probably short one quality HBF to be top flight, but were not far away.

We need to remember, apart from a few isoalted times last year, this was Waites first full year as a defender.

No question he has done a good, to very good job. Not sure if he would be ahead of Bock and Croad for AA CHB, but he has done very well.

As for where he will play next year, I think CHB.

They years after that will probably be determined by a couple of factors:
  1. The development of Austin. Looks to be a good CHB in the making, but will be a year or two from cementing a permanent spot.........but also might move to CHF. Didn't look out of place there vs Dogies.
  2. Who we draft this year. If we take a KPP forward, Waite may be looking at CHB for 2010+.......if we take a KPP defender then Waite may well go forward.
The great thing is, he has got better and better in the role this year. Still has some work to do one on one and disposal, but is now the best zoning off defender in the comp IMO.

Next year CHB......then, who knows.:thumbsu:

He's been good down back this year.

FWIW, if Austin does develop into a quallity back as mentioned above, one other option is to have Waitey owning a wing a la Richo earlier this season.

If not, i reckon he does the loose-man-half-back-sweeper job very well.

Yes it has. He has become a much more consistent player down back, and his run and carry has been fantastic to see this year. When Bower comes back into the team, we are going to have 2 pretty dangerous defenders down there whose run and carry will hurt oppostion teams.

I agree it's worked very well.

Very much looking forward to his dual with Franklin against the Hawks. (I hope we're still playing for finals in the last round.)

Absolutely.

The last month or so I believe we've seen Waite 'click' more too.

He seems to be playing with far more confidence and focus, and just doesn't panic. As a result his whole game seems to have improved.

I just loved it on the weekend when he was contesting with... someone (one of Port's taller men from memory) he read the ball flight, watched it fall just short, turned his opponent inside out and ran onto the bouncing ball, casually sweeping into his left hand as it bounced. Then he ran off with that graceful run he gets going. :thumbsu:

In any case, TBH I don't care where he plays because I have faith he will do well and so really it's up to the coaches to decide where he plays given any situation.

However he will most likely play down back, and that's great :)

I must admit I preferred him at CHF, but he's been a better player down back.

It's similar to when we played Kouta at CHB. He was getting lost everywhere else and couldn't find the play back in 97. At CHB, you're generally playing on one of the best opposition players, and they'll know how to find the ball. So you follow them and hopefully the natural ball-winning talent kicks in.

SoV used to get lost in the forward line on a regular basis, but now he's always in the play and seems to be better the more play he can see ahead of him. It's probably genetic. :-)

Which is why I'm inclined to leave him down back and find another CHF.

Ideally Austin would be the stopper CHB and Waite the zoning off CHB. Very few clubs still play with a genuine CHF so when you have a Jonothan Brown or Matthew Pavlich it'd be Austin, but every other time it'd be Waite.

Very happy with this scenario going forward.

He is a very good reader of the game and has a great understanding of where the ball is going.

Not sure of where to find the specific stat, but he has taken plenty of marks from oppoisition kicks this season, ala Tom Harley.

Ideally Austin would be the stopper CHB and Waite the zoning off CHB. Very few clubs still play with a genuine CHF so when you have a Jonothan Brown or Matthew Pavlich it'd be Austin, but every other time it'd be Waite.

Very happy with this scenario going forward.

Totally agree with this summary. Waite still has a couple of deficiencies but he's grown as a player this year and will always give our structure that invaluable extra versatility and athleticism. :thumbsu:

What do you reckon G? :D:p

Went to my first game for the year on the weekend and watching Waite run around (even without an opponent) was the highlight of the game for me! When Port decided to actually kick the ball forward and waite was there you could just tell he was going to get his hands on the ball and set us up. Keep him a CHB and leave walker up forward!

He has played the role better and better as the year has gone on. I would like to see him staying back there next year, but running forwards more often.

He's been good down back this year.

FWIW, if Austin does develop into a quallity back as mentioned above, one other option is to have Waitey owning a wing a la Richo earlier this season.

If not, i reckon he does the loose-man-half-back-sweeper job very well.

I am with you Jezza - I see him as the extra man in defence (playing wing or with us playing a HFF short - mind you we often have a loose HBF as the opposn double team Fev) while I see Carlos (who played some good footy down back this year) still being ahead of Austin next year

He is a very good reader of the game and has a great understanding of where the ball is going.

Not sure of where to find the specific stat, but he has taken plenty of marks from oppoisition kicks this season, ala Tom Harley.
How the cunning Cats turn defence into lethal attack
TURNING THE TIDE

Marks from opposition kicks

Tom Harley (Geel) 55

Jarrad Waite (Carl) 45

Brian Lake (WB) 35

Sam Fisher (St K) 33

How good was Waite's mark when Griffen ran a mile down the wing and Waite marked it at full stretch at CHB?

I love when Waite flys and plucks it at full stretch with a fingertipper.

Nice title Wallsy.

I'd have to say yes. The experiment to follow Carlton this year has seen me lose 6 to 7 kilos in waite, mostly from massive hair loss and nervous vomiting. :thumbsu:
Wow. Any time ya want kilo's back just give us a yell. I'm a nervous eater and the hair was already rooted prior to the Waite experiment.

So, basically we're both 50% bulimic. I do the eatin' bit. You do the spewin' bit.

As for Waite, well, I had no idea it was an experiment, I just thought that's where he played.:rolleyes: