jc67

Crows
Just Interested in who you think will coach them next year as it has obvious implications for us.
There are only 3 real options IMO

No ratianale for this answer but:

I vote Ayres because part of the critisism of Hawthorn this year is their softness.
Think Ayres gamestyle is more representative of the gamestyle the Hawthorn of old like to play.
Plus Ayres is probably the favoured son.

Originally posted by jc67
Just Interested in who you think will coach them next year as it has obvious implications for us.
There are only 3 real options IMO

When Ayresy left Adelaide, the word from a normally very reliable source was that a certain high profile ex-footballer on the Hawthorn board was very keen for his best mate to coach Hawthorn.

I'm not sure how much influence he carries with the whole board, but I'll stick my neck out and say Ayres.

I think Eade will get it.

I actually think it would be the perfect job for Ayres - he is very good at hardening up a list and making them competitive, although it is his later years that are the problem. But as an immediate issue, that is what the Hawks need.

I don't think Wallace would want to go there because of the poor list and the board backstabbing. He said he wants money, a reasonable list and stability.

EDIT: But I voted Eade because I think it is unlikely Ayres will coach again straight away

I reckon Ayres is a good chance, will be something different for him. When he took over both Geelong and Adelaide they could be described as mature lists, that would need rebuilding within him taking over the club within a couple of years. Hawthorn as already started this to some extent, thus giving him a 'grace period' to get the team up to performing well , that is if he gets the job.

Originally posted by Fergus
Terry Wallace by virtue of the fact we'll end up with Neil Craig and Rodney Eade will coach Richmond.

:(

I feel sick in the stomach.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Don't ask me why but I always had a feeling that Ayres will coach the Hawks next year and absolutely smash us when we come up against his old/new mob
Interesting:confused:
Adelaide, Hawthorn and Richmond need to have their lists rebuilt.
1) Adelaide lets Ayres go because the AFC feel he is not the man to rebuild the team.
2) If he gets the Hawthorn job they obviously would feel he can bebuild the team.
3) Likewise Richmond who may choose Eade who supposedly was excellent in gameday tactics, but not at player development.

But I suppose all the clubs will rationalise their decisions until the next round of coaching appointments
:rolleyes:

Not Eade IMO & reckon he will end up with the Tigers.

Reckon Wallace would be the Hawks 1st choice, but if decides he prefers us, then Ayres will be a good chance.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Not Eade IMO & reckon he will end up with the Tigers.

Reckon Wallace would be the Hawks 1st choice, but if decides he prefers us, then Ayres will be a good chance.

On Fox Footy teams tonight, they all agreed that Wallace has the pick of the 3 and the coaches for the other 2 teams follow after that.

They are obviously ignoring the Craig Conspiracy theory when they say that. ;)

Wallace has all but said he won't coach Richmond. If you look at his list of requirements in a club, they just don't fit.

The word is very strong that Eade will be coaching Richmond.

That leaves Wallace to choose between Hawthorn and Adelaide (if we really are in there). My Hawthorn connection was told directly by a Hawthorn Board member that Wallace is their #1 target and Ayres is #2.

If Wallace takes Hawthorn, our coach will be Craig.

If Wallace is offered and does take Adelaide, then Ayres will coach Hawthorn.

If we are seriously considering Wallace, then we don't have until September to make the appointment. I expect Richmond and Hawthorn to make firm coaching offers within the next 2 to 3 weeks.

While I think this part is amateurish, Trigg sitting in the box with Craig this week may well be part of an accelerated process in our coach selection.

I have been extremely disappointed at the leisurely pace at which the AFC haven't advanced this process. From a position of advantage we are now coming from behind, as we have lost all of this advantage with the experieced AFL coaches that are on the market.

Or is this deliberate?? :(

I think Wallace will, which would be disappointing for us.

Originally posted by macca23

While I think this part is amateurish, Trigg sitting in the box with Craig this week may well be part of an accelerated process in our coach selection.

I have been extremely disappointed at the leisurely pace at which the AFC haven't advanced this process. From a position of advantage we are now coming from behind, as we have lost all of this advantage with the experieced AFL coaches that are on the market.

Or is this deliberate?? :(
Gotta agree, the club is acting as if it has all the time in the world.
We'll be left with leftovers I'm afraid.:(

Quoted today that Wallace will in all probability be offered a coaching position in the next 2-3 weeks.
Raging favourite for Hawthorn, Wade to Richmond, and general confusion where Adelaide sits.