Heater and Dids up for Trade?

What is everyones fascination with Adam Thomson?

If he was really that good, wouldn't he have played more than 29 games since 2005. I'm sure if he was any good, Mark Williams wouldn't get rid of him.

To me, he sounds like Port Adelaide's version of Chris Egan. A 1st round draft choice who is a hack.

We honestly don't want to much experience to go out of our club, so what if for arguements sake (and I don't want Didak to be traded) we trade off Didak for pick 4 and the trade pick 11 to Sydney for O'Keefe.

We lose a star HFF, gain a star half forward and upgrade our first pick 7 places.

Intriguing idea, but would prefer to hang on to pick 11 and look at pick 29 + Rhyce Shaw for O'Keefe if we wanted to go down that path.

If he was really that good, wouldn't he have played more than 29 games since 2005. I'm sure if he was any good, Mark Williams wouldn't get rid of him.

To me, he sounds like Port Adelaide's version of Chris Egan. A 1st round draft choice who is a hack.

Doesn't fit in with port's midfiels style. Plays hard in and under but has the capability to go to the wing, if we could improve his kicking he is a gun.

the reason he doesnt get a game is Port have a lot of midfielders, plain and simple. He should be getting a game and Williams wants him to stay so its not like he is massively on the outer.
He was BOG in the finals the other week for Sturt by a country mile. He is exactly the kind of player we need.

Doesn't fit in with port's midfiels style. Plays hard in and under but has the capability to go to the wing, if we could improve his kicking he is a gun.

Doesn't fit in Port's Midfield Style?

I thought Port Adelaide prided themselves on being hard and in and under. I think they are one of the toughest teams around.

The most interesting thing about that article is Melbourne are going with Watts.. WC are going with Naitanui and Fremantle are losing Warnock and may be forced to go with Vickery

If that happened we would get Daniel Rich with pick 4 from Port for Didak.. that's almost impossible to pass up!

Especially if you could get another top mid at pick 11 and Cousins in the PSD.. midfield would be solved and our forwards could go beserk over the next few years

NO WAY!!! Didak is a proven performer, our best player and you want to trade for an unknown?

People rate draft picks way too highly on big footy!

I've been wanting us to keep Didak ever since this whole fiasco broke; but I have to say that if pick four was on the table along with a sweetener, it would be awfully tempting to pull the trigger.

Hawthorn emerged this year and we were given an example - on two separate occasions - of the gulf between our sides. Being realistic, I think our premiership window has been pushed back three years or thereabouts. Didak would still be playing top shelf football at this time, but I can't help but ponder how irreplaceable he actually is. With the likes of Thomas, Davis and Medhurst on our list and the potential emergence of Macaffer and Dick. Granted, Dick and Macaffer are unproven and don't have Didak's class or tricks, but they may at the very least patch some of the void across the half-forward line in his departure.

There are also no guarantees as to whether our window will open with Didak still in his prime, it largely depends on when the decline begins for other teams who are currently ahead of us. As far as Hawthorn goes, they'll be a force to reckon with for the next four years, maybe longer.

Didak is an elite half-forward, but I don't think he'll ever be considered an elite midfielder. This year we were expecting him to become an established member of our midfield, yet he still did his best work forward of the ball. We desperately need to address our midfield woes with depth and quality; most importantly we need genuine midfielders as our excessive rotation policy through the middle has a tendency to disadvantage us - perhaps even more - than it helps.

If we were able to get our hands on pick four, as well as Thomson (who I will note is still an unproven option at this point) then we'd have picks 4, 11 and 29 at our disposal in what is touted as an exceptional draft. The idea would be to amass as much talent this draft and pick-up what quality we can from the next two, with a view to having these players compliment our current youth brigade when they begin peaking.

Is it also beyond the realms of possibility to think that we could perhaps trade Didak and one of Ben Johnson or Rhyce Shaw and get our hands on 4 and 22? I think Didak is worth more than pick four alone, I'm just unsure as to whether Johnson or Rhyce would be enough to satisfy Port. They're also likely to play hard ball with us in any trade given our history.

Sentiment aside, because Didak holds a special place in most Collingwood hearts, but some hard decisions need to be made if the right offer comes along. This also applies to Heater, who was treading water this year for the most part and overall had one to forget.

I guess we'll see next week. I'm happy for both to remain on the list and come out next year with a point to prove. I'd also be alright if both departed for the right deal, albeit a little sorry to see them part in such a manner.

Originally Posted by Keele
Reported in todays paper that he is likely heading to Arden street.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au...012432,00.html

Just speculation at this stage though Keele.

Heaps of water to go under the bridge yet.

I agree there mate... just reporting what has been reported in the paper not speculated... though some will say the reporter is speculating:)

I think the big thing at the moment is port laying trade bait on the table.

This will make for an interesting week... Williams is no sloach when it comes to cutting and recruiting

If you get Pick 4 for Didak, you would be a fool to knock it back.

Melbourne will get Watts.
West Coast Natnaui.
Fremantle Rich.

You would be assured of a Ziebel , Hartlett or Sidebottom.

You could also get O'Keefe for 11 or another quality young midfielder.

I've been wanting us to keep Didak ever since this whole fiasco broke; but I have to say that if pick four was on the table along with a sweetener, it would be awfully tempting to pull the trigger.

Hawthorn emerged this year and we were given an example - on two separate occasions - of the gulf between our sides. Being realistic, I think our premiership window has been pushed back three years or thereabouts. Didak would still be playing top shelf football at this time, but I can't help but ponder how irreplaceable he actually is. With the likes of Thomas, Davis and Medhurst on our list and the potential emergence of Macaffer and Dick. Granted, Dick and Macaffer are unproven and don't have Didak's class or tricks, but they may at the very least patch some of the void across the half-forward line in his departure.

There are also no guarantees as to whether our window will open with Didak still in his prime, it largely depends on when the decline begins for other teams who are currently ahead of us. As far as Hawthorn goes, they'll be a force to reckon with for the next four years, maybe longer.

Didak is an elite half-forward, but I don't think he'll ever be considered an elite midfielder. This year we were expecting him to become an established member of our midfield, yet he still did his best work forward of the ball. We desperately need to address our midfield woes with depth and quality; most importantly we need genuine midfielders as our excessive rotation policy through the middle has a tendency to disadvantage us - perhaps even more - than it helps.

If we were able to get our hands on pick four, as well as Thomson (who I will note is still an unproven option at this point) then we'd have picks 4, 11 and 29 at our disposal in what is touted as an exceptional draft. The idea would be to amass as much talent this draft and pick-up what quality we can from the next two, with a view to having these players compliment our current youth brigade when they begin peaking.

Is it also beyond the realms of possibility to think that we could perhaps trade Didak and one of Ben Johnson or Rhyce Shaw and get our hands on 4 and 22? I think Didak is worth more than pick four alone, I'm just unsure as to whether Johnson or Rhyce would be enough to satisfy Port. They're also likely to play hard ball with us in any trade given our history.

Sentiment aside, because Didak holds a special place in most Collingwood hearts, but some hard decisions need to be made if the right offer comes along. This also applies to Heater, who was treading water this year for the most part and overall had one to forget.

I guess we'll see next week. I'm happy for both to remain on the list and come out next year with a point to prove. I'd also be alright if both departed for the right deal, albeit a little sorry to see them part in such a manner.

Yep I agree with you here. As much as i'd hate to lose Didak if we could use him to secure pick 4 + Thompson we would secure our midfield future. Tough ruthless decision to make but sometimes tough calls need to be made. It would really set us up well in the future.

Doesn't fit in Port's Midfield Style?

I thought Port Adelaide prided themselves on being hard and in and under. I think they are one of the toughest teams around.
Behind cassisi, cornesX2, Burgoyne aswell some very good player to knock off the perch

Any Collingwood supporter that would knock back pick 4 for Didak is a fool

You must have not seen our Midfield in the past 18 months
To bring gain you must have Pain 2 Picks in the top 10 preety much to spend on Mids is to crazy to pass up and people talking about getting Okeefe with 11 are crazy his 28 why not use it on a Sidebottom or Blease

Pendles
Swan
Cousins
Thomas
McCarthy
Rich/Hartlett/Ziebelle
Sidebottom/Blease/Banner

Would be a massive chance at a flag in 2011 i can tell you that

Its going to be very difficult with GC17 coming in to try and find Mids
Look what Hawks did Thompson/Hay/Everitt/Rawlings

If you get Pick 4 for Didak, you would be a fool to knock it back.

Melbourne will get Watts.
West Coast Natnaui.
Fremantle Rich.

You would be assured of a Ziebel , Hartlett or Sidebottom.

You could also get O'Keefe for 11 or another quality young midfielder.

What if Pick 4 turns out to be a Tim Walsh, Farren Ray, Josh Kennedy, Colin Sylvia, or another Richard Tambling?

What do all these players have in common?

All were Top 5 draft choices.

They have the same thing in common with Franklin, Judd and Hodge.. they were all top 5 draft picks

Sometimes you gotta roll the dice to take you to the next step

Yeah, point taken.

Stuff getting rid of Didak!

I say we get rid of Josh Fraser!

Yeah, point taken.

Stuff getting rid of Didak!

I say we get rid of Josh Fraser!

He is more then likely going to be captain next year (not that I agree with it but it is the most likely outcome.)

Even if he wasn't there is no way I want to go through a whole year of Wood and Bryan rucking with Keeffe and Thoolen for back up. Josh needs to stay because our ruck situation is still terrible.

He is more then likely going to be captain next year (not that I agree with it but it is the most likely outcome.)

Even if he wasn't there is no way I want to go through a whole year of Wood and Bryan rucking with Keeffe and Thoolen for back up. Josh needs to stay because our ruck situation is still terrible.

In this situation, I would get on the phone to Jeff White for a year or 2.

Well Vickery is the 4th rated player in the draft.. get rid of Didak and Fraser and pick up a monster and a slew of midfielders :p

I have not seen that much of Vickery. I am as a rule against drafting rucks with early picks. U/18 form in ruckmen is often very misleading. I also have faith in both Keeffe and Wood so in terms of long term ruck prospects I am all for drafting another ruck but not with the first round pick. Look at all the rucks drafted in the first round and I'd dare say most of them are still massive question marks or stinkers.

Especially with our dire need for mids I'd be dissappointed if we didn't take a mid if we managed to snare pick 4

Get a load of this monster.. and one of the fastest at draft camp today over 20 metres.. plays full forward in a pinch too http://www.talkingfootball.net/foru...tyrone-vickery-afl-draft-prospect-2008-a.html

I understand your point and he looks good but can you name me a ruck taking in the first round over the past say 10 years that is a gun player? Josh Fraser was touted as a once in a generation player based on his u/18 form. Messen had massive raps on him at pick 7.The two AA ruckmen where rookies. Being able to play FF isn't of great use to us because we have an abundance of fowards.

We honestly don't want to much experience to go out of our club, so what if for arguements sake (and I don't want Didak to be traded) we trade off Didak for pick 4 and the trade pick 11 to Sydney for O'Keefe.

We lose a star HFF, gain a star half forward and upgrade our first pick 7 places.
Nah, pick #11 for a 28 year-old forward (which we already have pretty well covered) is a bad move when you could snag a midfielder who could play 10 years for us.

I'd rather keep Didak, but if we're set on picking up a high pick instead (which I don't think we are) we should use them on kids. Have a cohort of players coming through aged 17-21 who are outstanding and add to them in 2009.

Mark Williams doesn't want to get rid of him. He's on record saying as much, and that if they don't get a trade they're happy with, they'll keep him. Don't know how that works given he could go into the PSD if he's determined to get more opportunities, but the point is, they haven't ousted him.

Just speculation at this stage though Keele.

Heaps of water to go under the bridge yet.
True, realfooty's saying this morning that the Tigers are the frontrunners for Thomson now.