Holding the ball

In the Richmond - Sydney game there were three clear incorrect disposals in a row at one point. A free could (and should have) been paid to either side. Instead the play was allowed to continue - the result was a ball-up and the whole dismal process started again.

If there's no prior, the umpires need to blow the whistle immediately. That's what they did in the 90s. Holding the ball does not apply here, but illegal disposal/throw does if this occurs (as what happened yesterday, the player threw the ball out, hence illegal disposal).

If there is prior, the player needs to handball, as a kick is generally considered a throw (due to it being two actions). If the player elects to hold the ball, call holding the ball. Again if the ball is dropped or thrown it's illegal disposal as above.

I'm not sure why this is so difficult. Get rid of genuine attempt. Either you don't have prior and it's balled up immediately, or you did have prior and you either did dispose legally (play on), didn't dispose at all (holding the ball) or didn't dispose legally (illegal disposal).
This please. Please this. Christ - this.

Sent from my HMA-L29 using Tapatalk

Elanis interpretation yesterday during the wce ade game was laughable.

There were two that were bad that I remember

Whoever the West Coast player (?) who was immediately tackled by Jones in the Crows fwd 50 - Was rough as it was a bit of a hospital handpass in the first place and as he got the ball he simultaneously braced for the immediate tackle

The other was when Hamill slipped over, was half tackled as he shot a 10 metre handpass off to a team mate but she called 'ball' immediately

If there's no prior, the umpires need to blow the whistle immediately. That's what they did in the 90s. Holding the ball does not apply here, but illegal disposal/throw does if this occurs (as what happened yesterday, the player threw the ball out, hence illegal disposal).

If there is prior, the player needs to handball, as a kick is generally considered a throw (due to it being two actions). If the player elects to hold the ball, call holding the ball. Again if the ball is dropped or thrown it's illegal disposal as above.

I'm not sure why this is so difficult. Get rid of genuine attempt. Either you don't have prior and it's balled up immediately, or you did have prior and you either did dispose legally (play on), didn't dispose at all (holding the ball) or didn't dispose legally (illegal disposal).

Wrong. Totallythe opposite thing to do if you want the game to flow.

The umpires are now not blowing the whistle to quickly. They are allowing extra time for the ball to come out of a scrimage and also allow time for a player to make a genuine attempt to dispose of the ball.

Thats fine.

No matter what the rule is umps will make good calls and not so good calls. Thats football. But we need to get the game moving.

After that terrible Tigers v Swans game with Longmire flooding 75000 players into defense we will see the move to four players inside 50 at all times IMO. Two forwards and two defenders.

The Swans and the negative defensive tactics from Roos and now Longmire have ambushed the game. Terrible to watch.

Carlton Dogs game was pretty well umpired for the 1st half.
Actually went back to the normal interpretation in the Carlton game rather than the ridiculous no genuine attempt rubbish they had been using since Clarksons spray.

There were plenty of times they could of pinged players based on some other games this weekend, but the umpire just decided to ball it up

Ironically this was the most free flowing entertaining game of the weekend.

People keep saying that but it doesn’t happen and never will. Players will adjust. The biggest danger to the game is by faaaaaaaar coaches and their ******* stoppage obsession. We need to blast it out of the game. Forget too many interchanges and all that peripheral stuff - stoppages are the reason for all the problems we have in the game. Nothing tires players out like actually ******* playing, instead of standing around at stoppage after stoppage after stoppage.

That plus when they do get the ball out and rebound from defense quickly the players look up and have noone to kick to in the forward line. Then they wait if they marked it or kick backwards to allow the forwards to run forward to set up.

Its a shocking situation. Then the forwards who have just sprinted from defense are rooted, fumble and dont score.

We need tired mids and fresh forwards taking big marks and kicking goals.

Allowing the ball to come out has been the status quo for the paast 10-20 years. It's made things worse.

By not blowing the whistle straight away, it gives time for players to swarm, creating congestion.

The "genuine attempt" nonsense keeps the ball in the area more, as it allows players to hold onto the ball for 20s doing feck all. On top of that, throws and drops are considered a genuine attempt. Spare me just a little.

Actually went back to the normal interpretation in the Carlton game rather than the ridiculous no genuine attempt rubbish they had been using since Clarksons spray.

There were plenty of times they could of pinged players based on some other games this weekend, but the umpire just decided to ball it up

Ironically this was the most free flowing entertaining game of the weekend.

And the thing is, Clarko didnt say to pay it the way they had been. He said to pay it the way we saw in the first half.

No prior, ball up.
Prior, must dispose correctly or free kick against.

I honestly dont know why its so hard for the umpires. They called it correctly for decades. Back when there was only 1 or 2 umpires and they earned $100 a week.

Now they earn $2,000 a week.

Reward the bloke/sheila who is first to the ball, actually picks up the ball, and tries to make a play with it.

The tackler is second to the ball, and in no with their act contributes to free flowing footy, quite the opposite. The tackler is the absolute last person who should be getting the benefit of the doubt.

Clarko has it completely upside-down.

Can't help but feel the natural progression of where things are going will be basically if you are tackled with the ball it will be a free kick against you. Essentially leading to soccer with an oval ball. But hey, at least the rule will be easy to understand.....
it's incredible isn't it...these people want the 'spectacle' of a bunch of grown men standing up in a cluster kicking the ball on the ground between each other because the first person to pick up the ball will be penalized.

Clarko has gone the way of Sheedy, geez obsolescence really sneaks up on you.

Edit: let's run a little book on the year that shin-guards become standard issue in AFL.

My call: 2025