How do you live on an Apprentice/ Uni wage?

Or spending pennies we don't need to.
you have more fun when you do.

i'll re-phrase that.

I have more fun when i do.

Shit, it's there to be spent.

I would hate to die with large coin in the bank.

It's good to have some savings, which I do have, but I don't see the point in having tens of thousands dollars in the bank, Never to be spent on anything until you are old & can't enjoy it.

I'm never gonna buy a boat or a caravan. I'm gonna have my first home soon, what is there to save huge bucks for after that?

understood. but this bloke sounds like he is just genuinely tight!
I wouldn't say that. The lifestyle I have chosen probably saves me more than most.

I enjoy cycling. I don't do it because it saves me money. It's just a bonus.

I don't see the point of doing up cars. I just got a cheap car that gets me from A to B without looking like a massive w***er. It just happens to be more economical - another bonus.

I enjoy chucking some steaks and snags on bbq, more so than getting junk food. It just so happens to be cheaper - bonus.

I enjoy the beach and the ocean and I couldn't imagine holidaying anywhere without one. Australia has the best beaches in the world, and I only have to drive for 30 minutes to get to one, which works out thousands of dollars cheaper - bonus.

I prefer a quieter night with a couple of close friends over than going out clubbing and partying. I don't have to pay as much for alcohol and I don't have the urge to drink much anyway - a bonus.

I choose these things because it saves me money. I do them because I prefer them.

Petrol - It's beyond me why every second P plater has a fuel guzzling Commodore. Cars were invented to get from point A to B. Why do people feel the need to spend 10's of thousands buying mags, low profile tyres, spoilers, mufflers and shitty body kits to put on there Commodore, Lancer or Skyline. I say - stop worrying about the size of your wang for a while and just buy a small Holden or Toyota. Unless i'm shopping for groceries, I ride to the shops. You save money and time looking for a parking spot.

They're worried about their egos

I'm never gonna buy a boat or a caravan. I'm gonna have my first home soon, what is there to save huge bucks for after that?
If you save now, your mortgage will disappear a lot faster. If you save hard before you buy a house, you could be debt free by the time you're 30. You can go buy a 100" LCD, a PlayStation 5, a BMW 9 series and all the booze you could ever want.

You are really lacking understanding of this situation. You might think that horse riding is the best fun ever, but I think that sailing is the best fun ever.

Who has more fun?
Who knows? It's impossible to decide. There's no scale to measure fun. All i know is that i'm having fun and you're having fun.

Good for us. Why can't you just comprehend what i'm trying to argue here and just drop the shit?

1. I spend heaps of time with my family.

2. Wish you had more experiences? Quality > Quantity. By the way, what experiences are you even talking about? Do you consider night clubbing as an experience? Low standards.

3. I think it's good food. Nothing beats a quality 800 gram rib eye, medium rare with some mushroom sauce. I said that I prefer a bbq over fast food. I never mentioned about going to restaurants etc. I probably go to Asian restaurants twice a month.

4. I don't budget. As I said, all of my savings come as bonuses. I don't do the things I do because they save money. I do them because I think they're the best and because I enjoy nothing more.

I lived as a povo student for 3 years in another state. I had some corker times living like a povo, from walking home to seacliff from the city (bout 4 hours) after a night out, skipping lunch for months at a time to walking to and from uni (1 hour each way) it would be fair to say i was pretty tight. Now however, i work in a job where i earn $70,000 first year out of uni and have nearly $50,000 in savings. I'm looking to buy a house within a year and i've only recently turned 22. The sacrifices i made at the time made me who i am. I live comfortably at the moment, if i want something i'll buy it.

I'm a uni student who has plenty of money saved up. I occasionally get called a stinge even though I'm far from it. I spend money on things I enjoy. I dont buy tickets to concerts to be with my mates if I woulden't enjoy it and I don't go on over east holidays but rather local hiking trips which I enjoy much more, but coincidentally they happen to be cheaper.

I'm currently saving up for a 6 month trip around Europe. I dont spend money on things that would give me limited satisfaction such as CD's, Ipods, concerts etc but rather experiences that add value to my life rather than pissing my money away which some of you seem quite good at doing.

I'm in my 4th year this year so I know a bit about getting by anyway!
I may in fact start some home brewing, seems like something to do.

yeah good idea, we did a bit of that.... drinking the real beers to get the bottles was the fun part..... the actual brew we made = :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:. But it still went down the hatch anyway. :D

I lived on an apprentice wage for 2.5 years out of home. $90-120 rent p/w, plus bills, car expenses, etc. It's tough, but you can do it if you don't mind eating beans! Still had ample money left over for beer and weed too.

If you have afternoon sun in your backyard/balcony, grow some vegies. You'll still have to buy some, but the savings are worth it. I got 130 tomatoes from one potted roma tomato plant which cost me a total of $5 for the plant, soil and pot.

ive been on shit wages my whole life, decided to do a mature age apprenticeship, and ive had an absolute cracker of a time. managed to put myself in 12000 debt, but my wages are doubling next week.

and ive lived out of home for 90% of the time, by myself for 80% of that time.

it can be done. it takes guts to do it tho. but u learn a lot on how to live.

and to be honest, ive learnt how much money ive wasted, and am over blowing it all on a good time, i now know and appreciate the value of not wasting all money, and how it can be saved, right before my wages double in 4 days!!

yeah good idea, we did a bit of that.... drinking the real beers to get the bottles was the fun part..... the actual brew we made = :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:. But it still went down the hatch anyway. :D
Theres a place in WA, and a few around other states too i believe that practically brew it for you. You need to have some part in the process for legal reasons but it can be minimal.. and they put it in cans for you.
They also give you beers while you brew, its the brewery of gods.

http://www.ubrewit.com.au/

Heaps of range too, almost every beer you could hope for :thumbsu:

As for the topic, I'm about to start Uni and am working 2.5 days a week while at uni (12 hours a week at uni)
thinking ill be getting paid $250 a week, but unsure because I only just started there
Already started buying cheap lunches for work and making my own brew so alcohol becomes cheaper. Living at home as well so If i can manage to budget some things I should still be able to have a good time.

Bit tougher for me in my uni days. I did live on Campus, which cost over $6500 per year for about 32 weeks. What made it difficult was that despite getting meals and internet included, the payment was taken out of my centrelink payment (Abstudy for me). Therefore I only had $42 per fortnight to actually live on. I had to rely on father buying the odd essential textbook.

Some will ask why didn't I get work? Well I was far too afraid that if I worked I would have earned too much over the threshold for payments to remain at that level, and that may then have affected where I would have lived. Plus playing footy was a 2nd preference, and because my course (teaching degree) had a high amount of compolsory practical elements involved in schools I wouldn't be certain that I would get a flexible job.

It was most difficult some weeks because 3 times a year we would travel by bus to some games, which would cost nearly $40 just for the night. $20 to get on the bus to cover hire, and $20 for the rest of the day including getting into the ground, a feed etc. It wasn't so bad when just on newstart (slightly more to play with) but still difficult to even have a good time. I'm still paying back the old man for a number of years at uni.

These days it's less of a struggle, getting just a shade under $20 an hour for sorting mail.

As often happens, this thread has diminished to be a set of personal attacks. Accept that other people live their own lives the way they choose to live them.

As for any advice on frugal living, taking your own lunch to work every day saves heaps. I am in a sound financial position with a good job and my mortgage well under control. I buy my lunch about once every 2 months. I love Subway !

How do you live on an Apprentice/ Uni wage?